paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame / Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame / Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame / Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame / Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame

Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Mako

Buy Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame

Paintball Spyder Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 50
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Electronic trigger frame for Spyders, Inferno. Features include:2-12 Shot Burst Mode, Full Auto,Semi-Auto, Turbo Modes, LCD Display, Aluminum Trigger Frame and Adjustable Trigger Stroke.
Product Availability 
The Mako Storm Electronic Trigger Frame is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Friday, March 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra(green), J&J Pro One Barrel, 12v xboard Revy, 20oz anti-siphon co2
Strengths: Absoulutely awesome upgrade!!! I slapped this on my Spyder Xtra and went to the backyard for a test. The Xboard Rev' had no problem with 15bps until... ...(dang Co2!) the marker got VERY cold, pressure dropped, and the marker would "half-cock" intermittently. This grip frame has an abundance of modes and you can change modes in a flash. e.g.: Start in semi-auto, get in firefight, push button F1 twice, full-auto, end of story! This upgrade is a lot of fun!
Weaknesses: Funky, clunky grip panels. Almost look like they were designed as an afterthought. They don't seal the delecate electronics from the elements (much less PAINT!!!). The grip panels also feel like doo-doo compared to the wrap-around rubber grip that came with my Xtra. I am having my grip panels dipped in urathene to try to fix this shortcoming (it rains a LOT here in Louisiana!!!). Also the obscure, "oversculpted", trigger takes a lot of getting used to. I would've preferred a more traditional double-trigger shape rather than having a big pointy "peak" in the middle of the trigger. Oh, well. Time to dust off the Dremel and shave that puppy down!
Conclusion: This trigger frame ROCKS! I love it and will continue to convert and customize it more to my style. BTW: The reason the battery meter shows "empty" when a fresh 9v is installed is that the electronics in the frame are designed to measure the juice left in a 9.6v NiMH rechargeable. I have ordered the chargers and battery to save some money (have gone through MANY 9v's). Really wish they would come up with some better sealing, better FEELING grip panels!!!!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jwong Monday, March 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None similar
Marker Setup: Spyder Aggressor
14" J&J Ceramic
12v Revy with X-board
Modified Valve and Valve pin
Modified Bolt
Polished internals
Palmer Stabilizer
Strengths: Multiple Firing modes
LCD Display
Metal Frame of good quality
Adjustable trigger
Weaknesses: Poor Trigger shape
Electronics on the fritz after 4 months of minimal use
Review: Setting it up on the Aggressor was a little tricky. Initially, I had difficulty with recocking. I appeared the striker wasn't travelling back far enough for the sear on the trigger to catch. I had to use a modified washer to make the striker buffer thinner. Then, recocking was less of an issue...... until I had to increase the operating pressure to get the velocity right, then recocking became a problem again. You didn't read it wrong, I was getting recocking problem as I INCREASED the pressure. I think the problem is the sear spring is too weak and so, is not returning the sear to the catch position as the striker glides over it, quickly enough. I think at the higher pressures, the striker is bouncing off the buffer and skipping past the sear before it can return to the catch position. I've already adjusted the solenoid so that the sear will stick out as far as possible. **** I used a shortened ball point pen spring as the sear return spring, and now, recocking at higher pressures is not a problem.****Also, the LCD is behaving weird. Also, a few times, the solenoid stuck in the release sear position. I think the electronics are starting to go. *********this problem may have been a low battery******** This is disappointing as I've been extremely careful regarding the upkeep of the marker and making sure paint/debris does not get into the grip.
Conclusion: A little disappointed. If I had to do it again, I would save the money I spent on the Storm frame, for a true electropneumatic. I don't think given the problems that I've had, that the Storm is worth it's price.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 25th, 2003 at 10:21 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spyder Impulse Thursday, February 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ESP and Sprint frames.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Impulse (Black)
Max Flo Regulator (Black)
10" Progressive Barrel (Black)
Kingman Spyder Compact 2000 (Black)
PMI Perfect Expansion Chamber (Black)
Benchmark Raised M-16 Sight Rail (Black)
Mako Storm ELCD Grip Frame (Black)
Venturi Bolt (Silver)
Kingman Spyder Compact 2-in-1 (Red)
Custom Drop Forward (Chrome)
Benchmark Expansion Chamber (Black)
14" J&J Performance Barrel (Silver)
10" Stock Spyder Barrel (Black)
4" Snubb Barrel (Black)
Strengths: Fast rates of fire and LCD. Easy to use. Looks cool with my 4'' barrel and my 20 oz CO2 tank on there. Comfortable (this coming from a guy who likes to sleep on the floor). Looks intimidating.
Weaknesses: Eats 9vs like a fat kid eating a cupcake. needs 9.6v rechargable. If its low on power then it wont fire on full auto it will stay cocked but the sear wont drop.
Conclusion: Great frame. Great upgrade. I love this frame. I got mine for $145 and it came with a Spyder Compact 2000, Raised M-16 style sight rail, New bolt, PMI Perfect Expansion chamber.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Black_flag666 Thursday, December 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder ESP frame that came on my E99
Marker Setup: Spyder E99
12v revy with x-baord
14 inch barrel
E-storm trigger frame
nitro is soon to come
Strengths: I liked the fact that its LCD and buttons, not dipswitches like on the ESP, the shot counter and timer are cool but most of all is the shot burst options, and the short trigger stroke
Weaknesses: It has plasic grips, from what people say it eats regular 9vs, I put my Java 9.6 in when i first got it so i don't know but the 9.6 works well. You can use CO2 but if your looking to hit something go with nitro or compressed air.
Conclusion: Overall I'm glad i have it over my ESP frame but if you spent the whole $200 on yours you might not be satisfied( I paid $138 for mine)Overall though I'm satisfied with it on my E99 a few more BPS and a few more options. You are gonna need at least a 12v to keep up with this at full bore though.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

btopunkrock Friday, March 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock spyder trigger, autococker wanna be
Marker Setup: Spyder Tl+ deluxe, 12v revolution with x-board, mako storm trigger, 16oz chromoly Co2, 14" SP All American soon, regulator soon
Strengths: High rate of fire
Tiny trigger pull
Easy to switch modes
Many modes
Weaknesses: 9v Batteries last 'bout 5000 shots
trigger a little wiggly
Review: This trigger has an incredible short pull with allows you to get at least 4-6 bps in semi. Has semi, selectable bursts(2-12 balls per pull), turbo(switches into full-auto after certain number of pulls per second), and full-auto, all able to have the rate of fire adjusted from 5-15 bps. Has a game timer, and shot counter... kinda nice when you have a limited amount of ammo.

My hopper says it can keep up with up to 12 bps so really anything over 12 bps will turn your gun into a paintball blender... not a nice thing... on semi and trubo it sometimes fires twice and chops a ball... NOT WATER PROOF...


Conclusion: Its a good trigger.. pretty fast... nice elcd... chops unless you got a halo b or keep a low bps.
Personaly i think its great considering i got it for about $70 on ebay.... however retail it goes for over $200... i dont think its worth that kinda of money.. if you can find it cheap buy it!! but anything over $150 isnt worth it.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

robdamanii Tuesday, September 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
IPI frame
Marker Setup: Spyder SE, Taso turbo valve, Mako Frame, freak barrel kit, Bob Long Torpedo reg, polished internals, Rocochet 2k
Strengths: Excellent trigger pull, rliable
Weaknesses: Eats batteries quick
Review: This frame is very good. Mouseclick trigger pull, which makes pulling 10BPS pretty easy. It is fairly sturdy in terms of construction, however might be a little uncomfortable to small hands. The modes of fire are nice, but more or less useless since almost every field outlaws multi-ball modes. As for fitment on the body, it fit perfectly and fired without any adjustments.

For weaknesses...it NEEDS a hgh mAh battery, prefereably 9.6 volts. It also drains them incredibly quickly. The battery charge graphic will not display a full battery with a standard non-rechargable battery.

Conclusion: All in all, a good investment. If you can get a decent price on it (less than $125) I'd go for it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cala2424 Sunday, November 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
First Electronic LCD frame
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter
14" AA barrel
Twisted LPC
Some 60$ drop foward (forgot name. blah)
Rear cocking venturi bolt
revy
Storm LCD Frame
Strengths: -nice to change modes on field
-extremely small pull
-modes can be altered to fit gun and personal preference
-timer
Weaknesses: -Cold sucks, cold will kill the frame - trust me
-I hear the sear has a lot of problems, I didnt have any. or maybe im missing something
-some people complain about the frame, it doesnt bother me
-battery sometimes can crap out
-hmm thats about it
Conclusion: Pretty much this frame is good. Can really piss you off sometimes when it breaks at the beginning of the game, because there is no other shooting, backup option. If the frame goes, your done, thats it, game over. I dunno its a nice thing to have when it works.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yoky2008 Saturday, November 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
regular ESP frame
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine 04 (removed venturi)
4 stage X chamber
16" Smart Parts Boss Progressive
Physcho Ballistics Drop Forward
32* Rocket Pressure Chamber
Ricochet AK
Strengths: Fast
Cheap (for me)
LCD
Short Trigger Pull
Weaknesses: Eats 9volts for breakfast
bottomline holes
Review: OK this trigger rips. you can shoot 15bps in full auto. It is fully versitile. You can change it from 2-12 round burst. There are some bad things about this frame thought. Like how if your screws are to long for your bottomline. With universal inline screw holes if you put the screws in to far they will hit the LCD screen and make it change modes whenever it feels like. The frame litteraly eats 9 volt batteries for breakfat lunch and dinner and it never gets full. I would suggest a 9.6 rechargeable for this frame. It has a stock charging plug like the Kingman ESP frame.
Conclusion: If you can buy it off a rich kid who dosen't know what he has for cheap get it. If not i wouldn't have paided 200 buck for it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Russtee06 Thursday, March 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Esprit Trigger Frame
-LED
-Not as many fiering modes
Marker Setup: Core Hammerhead w/gas thru foregrip and drop cradle,Mako Storm Trigger,RIchochet AK hopper
Strengths: Many Firering modes
LCD
Tourny Lock
Burst fire/Turbo Fire Progamablitiy
Adjustable Trigger Stroke
Weaknesses: Grip Leaves a tiny opening
Doesnt come with Charger
No sound with Timer
Review: This trigger is awsome it has 2-12 shot burst, Semi auto mode, Full auto mode , Turbo mode, Tourny Lock, Lcd display, Machined Aluminum frame , Adjustable Trigger Stroke,
Countdown/up timer, shot counter 5-15bps programablity. EASY TO USE AND EASY TO INSTALL!!! i love this trigger!! it turns ur low end semi into a Tourny beast!!! itz great for tournaments cause it has the tourny locks eliminating all the illegal features...(such as Full auto burst fire etc.) The grip is a lil frustrating cause it bulges out a tiny bit leaving it open for rain drops... dont worry i played out in moderate rain with it and it dint effect it at all. The timer is kind of pointless i mean itz better to have a timer than no timer at all.. but at least with a sound timer...u wont be distracted from the game..because u wont have to look at ur timer every minute or 2. i have it on my Cheap Hammer-head and I took out a Spyder Fenix, Spyder Esprit and even an STO with an E-blade. Then again itz the player that makes the gun.. so dont be hot headed with this trigger. They couldnt phase me with their 300 to 900 dollar markers!! GET THIS TRIGGER FOR NE MARKER USING SPYDER PARTS!!
Conclusion: GET THIS TRIGGER FRAME!!!!!! It truly is a work of art!!! The grip is annoying and they dont have grips that came out for it..but be creative itz alwayz fun to be creative. I got two rubber sheets and cut a grip for it and now it flawless and plus my very own.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pabll1224 Tuesday, March 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Strengths: Speed speed speed!
Weaknesses: Lots of them. Disapointed with many design flaws.
Review: THE GOOD:
When it works right it is an amazing frame! Fast Fast Fast! The lightest trigger pull ever! So light, in fact, that you have to be careful not to hit the gun from the rear too hard or it will fire! I love the features available on the LCD screen, The Ball Counter and Game Timer especially. I almost always use the unit in tournament mode because I play at certified fields so I don't have live experience with it in full auto or 3 shot burst mode. And I feel that the turbo mode is just a waste of time.

THE BAD:
On my frame I've had problems right out of the box. The wiring harness is loose at the connector to the circuit board and requires that I jam a wad of tape behind the grip to hold it in place to function properly. I will have to ship the frame to Mako to have this repaired. I also had to drill the holes for the function buttons to a bigger size because the buttons were binding against the sides which prevented operation. The side panels of the grip are cheesy and do not keep the internals protected from moisture or paint.
Conclusion: OVER ALL:
It's a good idea, but I see a TON of room for improvement in the design and engineering of this frame. I wish I could work with Mako to design a much better frame. (My wannabe mechanical engineer side poking out)

RECOMMENDED IMPROVEMENTS:
--Lower profile or differently positioned electrical connector to the circuit board.
--More ergonomically designed grip. It's currently too square.
--Lower profile trigger. The separation between fingers is too large for most people.
--Rubber grip side and panels and front and rear of frame.
--Moisture sealing around side panels, function buttons, and charging port.
--More easily accessible Battery compartment rather than jammed in along side the electronics of the gun.
--Include 9.6 volt rechargeable battery and charger with unit.

I realize that changes of this type may double the price of the frame but after all of the bad experience I've encountered with this unit it would be WELL worth it!
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 16th, 2004 at 12:09 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media