paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Blackpoint Engineering xShort Barrel / Blackpoint Engineering xShort Barrel / Blackpoint Engineering xShort Barrel

Blackpoint Engineering xShort Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Blackpoint Engineering

Buy Blackpoint Engineering xShort Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Blackpoint Engineering xShort Barrel
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 15
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $45

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
At only 5 inches, it's not how long it is, it's how you use it. Used in tight play, short range. Available in bare aluminum (polished) or black anodized.
Product Availability 
The Blackpoint Engineering xShort Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
zipkid84 Monday, August 4th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
m98 custom stock, flatline
Marker Setup: 98 custom w/JCS 5 inch Xshort barrel, hyper star bolt, psycho ballistics drop forward w/on-off valve, double finger trigger soon.
Recommended
Paintballs:
probably evil, but premium shoots fine
Strengths: it's 5 inches long and and more accurate than the stock barrel.
Weaknesses: it's loud, that can be good or bad.
Review: i like it. the jcs xshort 5 inch barrel for the tippmann model 98 custom is short, surprisingly accurate, and it's LOUD. like i said, this can be good or bad. i like mine loud. i got mine for $22.00 on e-bay with the warrantee so you might just want to test it out.
Conclusion: i can appreciatte it. it is a pretty amazing product considering the length, great for a front guy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

IceDagger Monday, July 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Armson Pro-Dot Max Duty
Dye Rhino Tank Cover
JCS Folding Combat Stock
JBlackpoint Engineering xShort Barrel
Proteam ASR-1 Sight Rail
Proto EL Switch
Pure Energy N2 Air Tank - 68 CI, 3000 PSI
Tippmann Custom Pro
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any Good Quality Paint
Strengths: Short

Loud
Weaknesses: Loud
Review: This barrel is very good for the price that i paid for it (30 dollars). I was kinda of skeptical at first because i didn't think a 5" barrel would be all that good but i thought $30 what the hell i'll buy it. I was surprised that it shot just as well as my stock barrel on the Custom Pro and its is much shorter.

There is only one thing bad about this barrel that i can see...as soon as you start to shot everyone will know where you are because this barrel is quite loud. I like it that way tho strikes fear into the hearts of my opponents.
Conclusion: Great barrel for close combat situations or for anyone who likes to play as a Light Rifleman in woodsball or a front man in speedball...If you want an accurate short barrel chose this one!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ZimpPhiend Sunday, November 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Mokal Fokus, Mokal Drop Forward, Mokal Expansion Chamber, 20oz. CO2, X-Short Barrel, 16in. CP One Piece, BP-USA Combat Folding Stock
Strengths: It's short, accurate, not loud at all, and no loss in range. Deffinately a "sleeper" barrel
Weaknesses: Not many color choices, but who cared about that?
Conclusion: This past saturday I particapated in my high schools paintball tournament, and I played using my X-Short barrel. When people first saw it they laughed, but once they went up against it they were stupified, and I was grinning ear to ear at their faces when each of them found out who eliminated them. After I played the questions started flying, "Where did you get that?", "How much did you pay for it?", "Are you selling it?", "Can I test it out?". If you are looking for a tool for embarassment i would deffinately suggest getting this barrel. I was lucky enough to get this barrel for $25.50 on Ebay, and that price is with shipping.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bobby four Saturday, April 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: spyder compact java edition, aci 4-stage x0chamber, 16 oz co2 with anti-siphon, polished internals, custom trigger job, xhort/ terminator barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
any
Strengths: accurate
low profile
manueverable
good range
Weaknesses: LOUD AS HELL!
Review: this damn barrel shoots better than my 16 inch terminator barrel, more accurate, better range, i didnt have any breaks at all through about 1000 balls, they were cheap $40/case balls too and it looks really nice on my gun, the only drawback is that it's loud as hell.

DO NOT UNDERESTIMATE THIS BARREL!!!


The following field contains too few words.
The following field contains too few words.
The following field contains too few words.
The following field contains too few words.
The following field contains too few words.
Conclusion: buy this barrel wether you play woodsball or speedball, you might look at it and say it's too short it wont be accurate etc, but all the myths and stuff are all wrong when it comes to this barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 13th, 2003 at 8:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mk_ultra Monday, August 15th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel, flatline, 16 sniper barrels
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C, extreme rage folding combat stock, extreme rage auto hopper, double trigger, remote set-up, red dot laser site
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything and everything
Strengths: Loud. Short barrel makes maneuvering easier. no breaks
Weaknesses: Loud. not very helpful if you shoot and miss. Not long range capable.
Review: This handy little barrel shocks and awes the opponent. Useful in speedball and woodball(if assaulting). Take my word for it people duck when they here this thing. Even if the shots are not there way.
With the combo assembled above ball breaks are almost non-existent.
Extremely accurate within 50-75 meters. Players duck and realize the BOOM was for them. My only complaint would be in long range situations. Not very well suited unless you assault and get within range. You have to IMT you butt off to get close.
Conclusion: Every player should have this in their bag of tricks. It's a reliable barrel with big attitude. It gets noticed and gets results. I give it a 10 because it does EXACTLY what it's suppose to do. If you wnat range buy a bigger barrel
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 15th, 2005 at 5:24 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Metallix6403 Tuesday, April 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder TL Plus
Total Freak
Boo Yaah E-LCD
AKALMP Lightning Bolt
Drop Forward, Folding Combat Stock, Bi-Pod
Multiple Upgrades

Armotech Zeus R.I.S.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any will work though I usually use All Star or Marballizer
Strengths: Short
Pretty Accurate
Weaknesses: Loud (Not that big of a prob)
A wee bit pricey
Review: I love this barrel. Its not at all as accurate as my Freak but I needed a barrel for close combat situations. In the past I would do fine with my Freak at very long to medium distances. But it gets very difficult when you are in a fire fight ten feet away from the enemy flag with an 18 in barrel. Now with this I just switch barrels 3/4 down the field and I'm ready to go. Its awesome for tight corners and if you ever plan on doing urban combat, this is the only way to go. I have to admit though; It is loud. But hey, when you are with in 15 feet of the enemy its not like a quiet barrel is going to hide you.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a close quarters barrel, this is it. On the other hand if you're looking for a overall good barrel skip on this. Go for a Boomstick or a simple Freak. Its a bit over priced but I'll get over it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 6th, 2004 at 4:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iI_eNeMy_Ii Sunday, December 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel 16" cmi tru flight, Trinity 14"
Marker Setup: A-5 w/E-Grip, JCS Dual Blade Trigger, Special Ops air thru stock kit, 88/4500 Centerflag Dynaflow adj. reg.

Smart Parts ION
Evil Pipe Kit, Q-lock clamping feed, Violent Products Scythe Trigger, Smart Parts 68/4500 MaxFlo Adj reg.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Chronic, for the quality but if you can get proball It's quality is just as good now and the bore size is a better fit (this is a large bore barrel) .691-.692
Strengths: Accurate 45- 50 feet
Easy to manuever
Looks great
Weaknesses: LOUD!!!!!!!!!!
not very accurate after 45-50 feet
Review: short easy to manuver it's perfect for close quaters buildings and my brother used it for speed ball and he wont play any other way. Great for any situation where you need to wrap close or if your a point man and need to stay tight. Great for the A-5 because it compensates for the long body design. If you dont used large bore paint you lose a lot of distance and fps Better than that horrible stock A-5 barrel
Conclusion: Buy one if you play close quaters or if your an adrenalin junkie and like to be in front and in tight situations Great barrel to have
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vash357 Friday, July 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
14" J&J Ceramic- only slightly better than this barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
xShort barrel
J&J ceramic 14"
E-grip
JCS VooDoo RVA stock
JCS Adjustable dual trigger
DOP 8-stage x chamber
Recommended
Paintballs:
I only used marbalizers with this barrel, they worked pretty good.
Strengths: Makes the gun compact
Weaknesses: Loud
Review: This barrel is only 5 inches long and has no porting, so its alot louder than other barrels, but I personally like it to be loud. I shot 3-5 shot with my J&J then shot 3-5 shots with this and had nearly the same grouping at about 80 feet, the J&J was a little more accurate. I also have a stock on my gun, so it looks hilarious with the short barrel and stock.
Conclusion: I think this barrel is a great addition to any collection, its great for close quarters and ok at long range.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

the_only_rhino Thursday, September 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
numerous stock, jt, cmi, dye, smart parts most big brands
Marker Setup: 2002 right feed cocker
16" jt 2 piece
waiting to get it upgraded more
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything with a medium large bore
Strengths: Very small, amazingly accurate and very light
Weaknesses: nothing really just a little loud
Review: My dad mainly uses my old piranha with a verticle 4oz co2 and the x-short(for the purpose of this review i am goining to refer to it as stubby). He pretty much just shoots it like a pistol. I works great it is accurate and very light. The only tke this barrel doesn't shoot like a dream is if you break a ball cuz u r using crappy paint. This barrel is the greatest barrel in the world of you want compactness
Conclusion: I give it an 8 cuz nothing is perfect. nothing deserves a ten. Sometimes it breaks paint and sometimes if you use hte wrong paint it will suck, but when your barrel is dry and you are shooting good paint this baby rocks!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PureAsPaintball Tuesday, August 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Anyother sharp, short, accurate barrels ( Like a Dye Boomstick but short)
Recommended
Paintballs:
I found that RPS paintballs work very well with this marker. I would play a couple days before a break!
Strengths: You wouldn't believe the sharp shooting you can do with such a small barrel! I would of never predicted in all of my life that at the end of the game i would be the only one not hit by a paintball because I was the one spraying the furry at my fellow enemies and hitting them. Great for turning corner sharply, light and low profile. Packs a big punch for such a small barrel. ( Don't let the size fool you)
Weaknesses: I would say the only bad thing is that they are a little hard to find.
Conclusion: Awesome barrel for your money. Buy it you'll be Happy. Incredible range, very low ball breakage, and will keep you in the game hunting longer becuase you will be shooting at you enemies at such a low profile! You will be amazed at what you see in this barrel!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media