paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Mokal Fokus / Mokal Fokus / Mokal Fokus / Mokal Fokus

Mokal Fokus Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Mokal

Buy Mokal Fokus

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Mokal Fokus
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 52
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Stacked tube design, rear cocking venturi bolt, raised sight rail with integral beaver tail, 6061 aluminum receiver, 6061 aluminum .45 grip frame with double trigger and rubber wrap-around grip, power feed, low pressure valve internals, thumbscrew velocity adjustment, ball bearing ball detent system, bottom line with gas through grip, ported barrel, and no tools break down. Comes in black, green, pewter, or red.
Product Availability 
The Mokal Fokus are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
trevthefatty Thursday, January 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
-ACI Maverick Deluxe
-Edge pg1-pro
Marker Setup: black/silver mokal fokus
14" smart parts progressive
Recommended
Upgrades:
you guessed it - a barrel
depends on how serious you are about pb.
this gun is good enough for fun recball right out of the box but if you are a more serious player looking for performance then you could do a lot to it.
Strengths: -This is gun is faily light
-Spyder clone so lots of upgrades are available
-trigger frame is 1 piece milled alluminum
-actually, everything except the actual trigger is milled alluminum - trigger is molded metal
-comes with a lot of features other guns don't - expansion, bottom line, beavertail, rearcocking
-double trigger
-crossfeed
-field strippable - just unscrew one big knob and the whole gun comes apart so you can run a sqeegee down the whole thing.
-this gun is very well built and is made by a small company close to me so they put a lot of attention into each and every gun.
-
Weaknesses: the only thing I have found to be a problem with this gun is when I first got it there was a small burr of metal inside the reciever close to the power tube that was making small scratches on my bolt. I sanded it down and polished it and now it's fine.
-small barrel - this barrel isn't bad though! I was surprised at how good this stock barrel is even though it's only 9 inch.
Conclusion: a guy above me said that it sounds cheap because you can hear the springs "pinging" when you shoot. Yes you can hear them but this is only because everything in the gun is so nice and tight (everything is secure and well built) that the springs in the trigger frame are allowed to vibrate. You know how if you have a small metal rod and you have a string tied to it and then you hit it quickly with something else metal is will ring? then if you try it with your hand touching it it will not ring because you are dampening the vibrations? this is all that is happening. to get rid of this put something like tape around the ends of the springs. this just shows you how well built this gun is.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

TonyD246 Sunday, March 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
My Old Rebel...this is better. Friends Spyders (I like this better.)
Marker Setup: Mokal Fokus Black, Red 32* Stickies, Red 32* Flame Drop, 32* Carbon Fiber Barrel, 68/4500 Centerflag 420 Nitro, Redz Red Tank Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop, Barrel...and anything else you want. I'm getting a reg next, then maybe a Revvy. Nitro I would suggest if you don't have it.
Strengths: Feel, look, how it shoots, price/quality ratio. It's nice.
Weaknesses: Not machined the greatest...not super pretty, but looks cool.
Review: It's really nice...especially for the price. Looks nice in my opinion, feels nice, shoots nice. Not exceptionally good, but real good I think. I got it because it has a nice trigger and frame (aluminum, and great trigger) compared to Spyders and the such. It shot pretty good w/ the stock barrel, and even on CO2. Today I used it with my new barrel and nitro, and it worked GREAT. Had a few barrel breaks, but no gun is perfect. That's what you get for playing w/ not so great paint, cold, and shooting pretty fast. On nitro w/ my Carbon fiber, was landing shots on top of another for like 5-6 in a row at a good length. Good gun.
Conclusion: If you are looking for something super pretty, this isn't it....while it still looks cool and feels cool and all that...I've seen prettier. I would recommend this though...great for a $90 dollar gun...just GREAT. I'm gonna give it a 9 because when upgraded just some...it will compete w/ higher priced ones good. I'd say reg, barrel, drop, nitro, and Revvy and it could be a really great gun. Not the greatest thing out there, but I like it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2004 at 6:50 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

scooterir Friday, February 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder flash(tested), rental raptor, piranha rental, tl plus(tested)
Marker Setup: stock , but I want to get an electro frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
This marker pretty much has all the upgrades you would want. It can already except nitro and CO2. A drop forward would be nice
Strengths: * pretty accurate(with the right paint) DON'T USE BRASS EAGLE PAINT!!!
*looks pretty cool
*excepts nitro and Co2
*nice feel
*all metal (wont freeze up)
*great price got it 4 $90

Weaknesses: *pretty short barrel only 9" (looks a lot better with longer one)
*you must use good paint (same with all markers though)
*ive had some problems with trigger frame my fault though
*trigger frame isn't the best quality
Conclusion: Great beginners gun. Great price and quality. Seems pretty durable. Accurate
Trigger not the best but easily fixable. Overall great gun. A 9 because its not the best but stilla great gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Canadian_paint Sunday, November 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Pirahna sts g3 - its ok
Brass eagle marauder - One one BE's better guns, but still sucks
Marker Setup: Black Fokus with 12 inch Progressive barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
The stock barrel isn't really that bad, but a new barrel would be good
Strengths: -consistent
-good on CO2
-strong
-doesn't break balls
-easy maintenance
Weaknesses: -stock barrel sometimes curves
Review: This gun was my first gun and i still use it. It is very consistent and will hardly ever break a ball. It is also very durable, being its all metal and such, the stock barrel is pretty good for a stock barrel, but if you have the cash u might want to by a new one. I have a proggresive and it shoots beatful now. Even in very cold weather it dosnt frezee up or chop balls even with CO2. It's a spider clone so its really easy to find parts for it. The only i recomend not doing to this gun is use brass eagle paint. 1 out of every five BE balls would get stuck in the feed and you have manually push them into the chamber. any other paint is fine.
Conclusion: Very good gun for the price. Cheaper than my friends used piranha and performs way better. If your beginner or intermediate it is a very good gun to get.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jon jans Friday, October 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
pmi black max , custom 98, tribal bbt(for sale)
Marker Setup: mokal focus
-jrj concepts bolt
-mokal electronic trigger frame
-68 3000 centerflag nitrous tank
-sp all american barrel
-empire tank adapter
- large shocktech drop
-x-board revi
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
fast hopper
electronic frame
Strengths: fast
reliable
easy to assemble and clean
Weaknesses: my ball detent fell out during a game and the sear wore out too
Review: this is an awsome gun for the price with the electronic trigger you can set it up so it has a mouse click trigger that shoots rely fast i personnaly reach 15bps with an evo 2
i made my own bolt for it that has a screw in cocking knob so that the bolt doesn't hit you in the gogle lense because i removed the dove tail because the bolt kept falling out and because it looks cooler with out it
Conclusion: when i switched to the electric trigger the hammer and sear wore out after 2000 rounds so i had to grind the sear to a different angle and replace the hammer but now it works perfect (20 cases thru it and no problem)
it is a very reliabl marker almost the same as a custom 98
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jacobw69 Friday, December 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
e-99, piranha ext pr0, powerfeed aoutocoker
Marker Setup: black e-99 with 14" silver teardrop barrel
3000 psi compressed air
12 volt revy with x-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
-new barrel
-drop forward
-9 or 12 volt revy
-
Strengths: Pretty cool looking
with a new barrel the gun is very accurate
if you can pull your fingers fast enough you can get to 10 bps or over
doesn't chop paint even without an electronic hopper
it is really powerfull
Weaknesses: stock barrel is terrible
thats about it
Conclusion: If you want a good cheap gun that fires fast then get this gun
its worth the money
my friend got his for 210(canadian) at area 51 paintball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KYC Monday, December 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder compact = no match
Piranha = Also no match
Marker Setup: simple:
Fokus
14" CP barrel
I fire, people get hit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depending on what you wanna use this marker for...
Rec speedball play, this gun is pretty decent stock... pull the trigger, it fires a paintball
Pro play, you probably wanna pick up a new barrel for greater accuracy
New grips (I recommend sticky) if you have sensitive girly fingers that need moisturizing every other day of the week
Strengths: Short trigger pull compared to a JT accelerator (b!)
Easy to maintain, there is a crack on the connector of my bottom line, I applied tape, Fokus still works
Comes with decent accesories stock (double trigger, bottomline, regulator, beaver tail)
Stock barrel is actually not that bad. Putting on a new barrel makes the gun look much more expensive though. I was testing the barrel aganist my cp barrel, and didn't see much of a differnce. But maybe that's because I was playing outside, and the wind took everything away any way.
Semi-quiet
So far, I've never chopped a ball
Foregrip is comfortable and far from the trigger (good or bad, you decide)
Weaknesses: Looks cheap completely stock.. of course not as cheap as a spyder or pirahna stock
It's tough to find a velocity screw of you lose yours, which I did
Not quite sure which spyder parts fit where; barrels fit, but velocity screws do not
Like any stock gun, you probably wanna get a drop foreward or the gun is a little bulky
Conclusion: This marker is definately good for its price. Don't let the price decieve you, this gun is much better aganist a spyder compact. Then again, a stapler looks good compared to a spyder compact. Why am I knockin spyders? No reason. Mokal's just starting out so if you wanna buy a product from them, now's the time becuase they are selling cheap.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

anticuss Wednesday, May 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: FOKUS made by MOKAL a MOKAL drop forward and expansion chamber ,Smart Parts 14" Progressive Barrel, AKALMP Spyder Tornado Valve, 20oz Co2, Ricochet-2k Hopper and a CMI R-2000 In-line Regulator
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel for sure also A drop forward expansion chamber or regulator A Ricochet-2k Hopper and A AKALMP Spyder Tornado Valve for low pressure
Strengths: The price and the looks were the reasons for buying this marker but when I played my very first game with it at my local indoor field (where I bought the marker ) I was impressed the trigger pull is nice has a metal trigger, shoots fast and straight, no tools field strip, easy thumb screw velocity adjustment, rear cocking venturi bolt, easily upgradeable with spyder parts and is very quiet with an after market barrel.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel is to short it makes the marker loud but does not effect accuracy
Conclusion: This is a very good marker it is less expensive then other markers and is A high quality marker I think this is the best marker for the money and I have even impressed tournament players and the people at my local field with my marker
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pirahna man Sunday, August 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
pirahna, spyder
Marker Setup: pirahna vtl, 14 progressive barell, 9 oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
new gun
Strengths: this gun has an ok stock barell and the shots go reasonably far. The hand grip for the left hand (part of the bottomline) is great.
Weaknesses: This gun sucs and i will tell you why. The red, green, yellow and blue versions give you away like crazy. My friend has a clored version and this alone has gotten him shot up at leat 10 times. This gun also has no power! I think a well hit ping pong ball to the back would hurt more. The gun is heavy. The gun has cheap internal parts and you will find this out when it breaks down 3-4 months after you purchase it. Uncomfortable to hold. And I seriusly dont know what gun big hicking is talkin about because this gun is horrible and i would rather be shooting a brass eagle pump
Conclusion: Get a new gun if you own this
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

woodsballer2007 Thursday, August 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader triton II, Tippman 98, spyders, piranhas.
Marker Setup: Mokal Aura (all stock)
48/3000 air tank
Evolution 3 hopper
Redz tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
I suggest a longer barrel just for comfort. the stock barrel is too stubby.
Strengths: Reliable
Easy to maintain
looks cool
thumb screw velocity
Weaknesses: Too wide of a grip frame.
Review: This gun is great for a mechanical. It is the most reliable gun i have used.
It is also very quick and easy to maintain. most parts of the gun are just thumb screw (no tools needed). It is compatible with CO2 and air. The only problem with the marker is that the odd time, the bolt won't go all the way back but that is common among the tippmanns and viewloaders. All you need to do is pull back the bolt again.
Conclusion: I reccomend this gun to anyone looking for a mechanical marker because it is reliable, looks great and unique.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media