paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / M3 Paintball Products Sniper / M3 Paintball Products Sniper / M3 Paintball Products Sniper / M3 Paintball Products Sniper

M3 Paintball Products Sniper Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount M3 Paintball Products

Buy M3 Paintball Products Sniper

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


M3 Paintball Products Sniper
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 36
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $260

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Full Function LCD trigger frame, with semi, multi, nitro and full auto modes!
Product Availability 
The M3 Paintball Products Sniper is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
angrymustache Wednesday, November 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
M3 basic, Jt excellerator 6.0, and of course the M3 Stars and Stripes
Marker Setup: M3 patriot sniper, stock 12 in barrell, 12vt ReLoader. Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
People suggest Delrin Bolt, i have learned much about it and figured out it doesn't improve much. I've also heard about different Barrels, but I don't think that is necessary either, the gun shoots great with stock.
Strengths: The accuracy is magnificent, the consistency of fire, the low pressure chamber, the mouse click trigger, the LCD display, the ease of disassembly (don't be afraid to take it apart!), and it has a sharp took to it. The price is outstanding too, you can get them for around 195 now from most sites. My stock O rings haven't broken yet either, some people seem to have a problem with that. I suggest you clean out the action with a 50/50 water/alcohol solution and then put a light layer of oil down before shooting, i did and it works great. I think its helping the O rings too. ~It stores air
Weaknesses: The stock trigger makes the gun FEEL cheap. Mine came with an aluminum trigger but installing it took some work. I had to file down some of the aluminum in the trigger hole, but it worked out fine.
The velocity adjuster doesn't really affect anything, this maybe because of the low pressure system i don't really know, but it shoots accurately at 30 yards, so i don't mind.
If your using Co2 like me, you can be restricted from some of the features on the gun such as 20bps, but anybody that shoots that much deserves to pay for that much paint. ~It stores air
Conclusion: the gun is well made.. the upgrades are unnecessary but they may work well with some people. For the price and functionality its a sure buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

waffles Wednesday, September 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan XTS.
Marker Setup: m3 patriot sniper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Motorized hopper
barrel
trigger
Strengths: Price. Upgradeability.
Weaknesses: Same weaknesses apparent in any blowback design.
Review: I've decided to wait for a while before I Really wrote a review on this gun. This way I could give as accurate of a review as possible. After 1 year of use I've decided to share my insights. I've also decided to do a review on this based on MINIMAL upgrades (Barrel, hopper, trigger). And let us also keep in mind that this gun is targeted at a little higher end Entry level (I consider Brass eagle guns entry level. Nothing wrong with them for people JUST starting out in the sport). So it is very unfair to compare this gun with Angels, cockers, bushys, etc. BUT you can upgrade it to compete with many of these.

Out of the box the stock trigger is worthless. It is my personal opinion that the FEEL of a gun is 90% of everything. With an upgraded trigger like the Check-It Sweet Spot OR the Zenitram trigger you can make the trigger pull as light as a mouse click. For the price I don't think you can find a faster gun. Because of this you will HAVE TO get a motorized hopper capable of at LEAST 12-14 bps. nothing short of a revy 12v will do. I have an empire reloader, and with 14 bps full auto I have no problems with long strings of shots. Still a faster hopper would be nice (evo2 or halo B)

The frame itself is fairly comfortable, however there are little to no upgrades for the grips (ie. sticky grips). You can get replacement frame covers, but it's not quite the same. So the frame isn't AS comfortable as other options out there, but really it doesn't affect me personally. The frame also accepts Spyder Drop forwards. It is electronic with several firing modes such as turbo (fires semi until trigger pull gets fast enough then kicks in auto), semi, auto, burst. Semi and Auto are adjustable up to 20 BPS. VERY nice set of firing modes, don't have to worry about the frame limiting your speed. Takes one 9v battery. with decent batteries it seems to last quite a while. TAKE THE BATTERY OUT AFTER THE END OF THE DAY. I've been told your battery will drain if you leave it in there. If the gun has problems firing then there is a 90% chance it is because the battery is low or a sear related problem.

This gun comes with a gas through fore-grip and a bottomline regulator. Initially I only had the option to run co2. I'm thinking the CO2 messed up the regulator because nothing I do will make it adjust the PSI. With HPA you might have better luck. Keep this in mind because you might consider replacing the regulator with something better. Added costs, but in all honesty its not a necessity. Gun functioned fine for me with stock reg.

This features a Snap-Back bolt. Cock the bolt back and the cocking mechanism snaps back into the gun and stays stationary while firing. No beaver-tail required. Kinda hard to explain but it is very nice not having to worry about the bolt coming back and hitting your mask.

Stock barrel is adequate. There are two different barrels that people have been receiving. I had the 1 piece all black 12 inch barrel come with my gun. it has a very nice mirror finish and a fairly good sized bore, making it pretty good for cheap paint. Like most all other stock barrels you will get much better accuracy with an upgraded one. I bought a Dye Boomstick 14inch. But the stock barrel DOES shoot fine if you are just getting into the sport, and don't have the option of using marbs as your choice of paint. I've been using Wal-mart draxxus paint with VERY good results (diablo dusk in particular).

The gun also comes with an aluminum venturi bolt. I upgraded to a Delrin check-it bolt for higher flow and because delrin is much MUCH easier on the internals of the gun. Plus it will also have less kick (important for tight shot groupings).

Cleaning the gun is easy. It is VERY simple to remove the bolt and hammer to clean. I HIGHLY recommend that you take it apart and oil all the o-rings after each days use. Doing this allowed me to have one of the most reliable guns on the field. So it is not AS maintenance free as say a tippmann 98, but it also is a lot more complex. Love the gun and it'll love you back :) This is good practice if you get into higher end guns that can be very temperamental.

Seeing how this gun is a spyder clone it is compatible with almost all parts (trigger frame is the exception). This makes it VERY upgradable. You can change the Bolt, Trigger, Hammer, Springs, Valve, drop forward, feed neck, Volumizer, fore-grip, etc. At the end of all these upgrades this gun does compete with some very high end guns. If you start getting serious about the sport and end up getting a $1000+ gun eventually, this will make an EXCELLENT backup. Don't have to worry about the gun letting you down. But it is STILL a blow-back and will have all the limitations of being a blow-back. Because of the design of a blow-back, you have parts inside the gun slamming around. This causes noise and kick. But it also doesn't cost that much. I got mine for $180 exactly 1 year ago today.
Conclusion: For the price and the longevity you CANNOT go wrong with this gun. This isn't a brass eagle that you buy and toss once you get a replacement gun. This gun can evolve with your skills. Eventually if you REALLY take the sport seriously you will consider upgrading, but this can be said with even the highest end markers. There are guns that operate at lower PSI, have less kick, shoot more accurate, and are much quieter, but NOT For this price. If you are looking for a gun for your children that are getting into the sport, or a friend, etc then look no further. This is perfect.

I chose this over a kingman simply because I believe in the M3 company (M3 recently acquired by dragun international). It was very similar to kingman offerings (this came out first though) but I felt it was higher quality.

With all this said I should also note that M3 is now Dragun International (www.dragunempire.com). The Patriot series and the Sniper are no longer available (they ARE still honoring the warranties and support). There are alternatives that Dragun International provides that are almost identical, so this review applies for them almost as much as it does for this gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

POINTMAN~DDT~ Friday, June 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All most all spyders, and medium grade marks
Marker Setup: M3 Sniper, Check-it delrin blot, turbo valve, palmer stabilizer, ultralite barrel, rev hopper, nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
refer to my set up
Strengths: Well where to start..........First of all it's not to badly priced anywhere from $249-$320. As it is stock, it'll be just fine for any of those just starting the game or just looking for an inexpensive marker for rec ball. It is a easy gun to upgrade and depending on what you upgrade the prices aren't to bad for the upgrades. I have a palmer typoon and if there is anyone who has played long would know that palmer is know for how accurate their guns are. This gun stock can not compare to how accurate the typoon is, but I expected that ! So I set out to see how accurate I could make this gun. First thing I did was get a check-it delrin bolt,(majorly reduces recoil of the gun), also installed a turbo valve (note the turbo valve does not come w/ a cup seal and the color of the o-rings are back wards causing alot of people to install it back wards and leak city follows soon after, pay attention to this and it'll work great). I noticed a huge difference with this upgrade ( that is after I got the major problem fixed, refer to "the Bad") and would have been just happy with those upgrades, but I was on a mission !While playing rec ball I came across a kid wanting to get rid of a new barrel he bought (ultra lite), so with a couple of $20's I bought it off of him (I felt alittle bad about how much I paid for it but that was all I had on me, Oh well I'll live with it : ) Note to any new player out there, I can't express how important barrel/paint combo's are. No matter how good of a barrel you have if you don't have the right paint for that barrel it won't matter. Let's see, now my gun was extremely accurate and I was really cooking. But I wanted to add just one more thing ( And it had to be a palmers product), so I added the palmers stabilizer and got the PSI down to 300. When the gun first comes to you it runs about 700 to 900 and is pretty loud. Chopping balls only exists if you try to shoot the 20 rds a sec with out the right feed system. With the rev hopper I can shoot bout 13-15 with no breaks( outstanding!!)After the upgrades I did it more than cut the noise in half. SO what can I say is good about this product, well I now have a Gun ( after upgrades) that can shoot as fast and consistent as a Angel and it also is as accurate as my typoon, which still amazes me cause I did not think I could get it that accurate ( even with the up grades) but I was wrong.
Weaknesses: When I first got the gun I could not shoot it above 210-230 fps. So I tried getting a new spring kit for it. When I installed the heavy spring in it the gun would no fire, the counter would show I fire but the hammer would not release. I informed the tech support for M3 a guy named Mike (good people) helped me out. I explain to him what the probelm was and he was not familar with the problem I was having ( seems I got the one out of a million gun with a problem). Mike asked me to send it back to him so he could inspect it for himself, so I did. M3 sent me a new gun back (with a new tourney board, for my trouble) while they looked at the one I had a problem with. Soon after I began upgrading. Other then that one problem this gun has been great. Most likely you will not get a gun with the problem I had, and if for some reason you do , the tech support is great and the overall trouble is worth it cause this gun rocks (kicks butt b4 upgrades and just plain rocks after upgrades)
Conclusion: Well let me just say that I have been trying to convince my self that these high dollar markers are just a hype and that you can match this high end markers for a fraction of the price. I though I was wrong, until M3 can out with this gun. All hope has been restored and I loved the speechless dumbfouned look on those tourney players with their high end markers ( you just know these guys are trying to think of a way to justify how much they spent on their gun lol). Well one quick note having a great marker is just half the battle skill is the rest of it, but I can honestly say I have found the half I'm looking for and the other half....well just ask the guys walking out of the game with their guns held high lol. Great gun easy uprages even with the trouble I had early on I still have to give this a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zujin Sunday, June 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tested e-99
other blow-backs
Marker Setup: Soon to come Impulse
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel although not needed really.
A fast hopper. (REQUIRED)
Strengths: Easy to use
Easy to work on
Nice features
Weaknesses: Kicks like mad at high ROF
EXTREME blowback up the vert feed
No sticky grips
Review: After using this gun for 3-5 months, I would deffintaly recommend it to anyone wanting a gun. The only major problem is the very bad blow-back up the vert feed cuasing a lot of chopping if not carefull.. This can be solved by setting the BPS to around 8 or buying a force feed hopper (Evo 2 or Halo). My experince with the Evo2 is that it is only realiable upto 13bps due to blowback. As of yet no one makes any kind of grips for the M92 frame, but the stock one isnt all that bad. The game timer and shot counter are very nice features for tounery ppl on a budget(cant afford expensive guns). Also the gun can be put into safe mode withOUT turning it off.
Conclusion: All around this gun is good for newbies as well as experinced players. Simple realiable design with the speed needed for todays games. i give it a 8out of 10 b/c its a blowback but a very nice one at that.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TRO Friday, March 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmans, VM's, Automags, Autocockers...
Marker Setup: M3 Black Dragun Sniper LCD
Check-It Products Full Force Delrin Bolt
Check-It Products Straight Stick Trigger
Smart Parts 14in Tear Drop Barrel
OE Barrel
VL Revi X-Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
A Delrin bolt, and all metal trigger.
Other than that, the gun is pretty reliable.
Strengths: Extremely fast, conserves Co2 well, from a 20 oz. Selectable rates of fire.
Weaknesses: Soft aluminum on the Ball detent & on the flush cocking system & hammer rention.
Review: When I first started using the marker, I was instantly impressed by the suppressive firepower it has. Scoring kills it not a problem, and switching it to full auto and dumping at a group is terrifying. But...
Some parts on the gun are made of cheaper materials than I've come to expect.
The ball detent got some swab material in it and was mauled up while removing because it's lok-tited in place and round. (could be fixed by going over to a autococker style detent)
The high velocity of the bolt's movement has caused the soft metal of the flush cocking system to get a uprising that I've had to remove with a dermel. (could be fixed by making it out of steel, not aluminum, or ditch it and tap the back of the bolt for a 10-32 autococker style cocking rod.)
I swapped out all the o-rings upon recieving the marker.
Other than those material issues, the gun has always performed as expectated.
Feed neck has a nice tight fit
I could tell no difference between the Smart Parts Barrel and the OE barrel which looks like a DYE Boom clone.
Withering rates of fire and very reliable.
Conclusion: Right from the box it's very good. Some things could be improved.
It's excellent for a reliable back-up weapon if you've already got something.

(I always shoot my pump sniper and take out the guys with the Bob Longs..., but I know when to grab the full-auto and make my competition pee thier pants.)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fuquero Tuesday, October 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
WGP E-Ranger, Bob Long Timmy
Marker Setup: 2K2 Autococker Vert. 32degrees Carbon Fiber Barrel, Shocktech Super Fly Bolt, Shocktech 3:16 RAT, System X Swing Trigger, KAPP Pneumo with Power chamber, Bob Long Torpedo Reg, Nelson Springs, KAPP Back Block, KAPP Cocking Rod, etc...
WGP E-Ranger with a Bob Long Torpedo Reg., Spring Kit
M3 Black Dragun Sniper, Bob Long Torpedo Reg, Check It Delrin Bolt, Spring Kit, CP Flame Drop...
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Bolt, Reg, new trigger
Strengths: Shoots very very fast! It's pretty light weight. With a CP barrel, the shots were pretty accurate with cheap rec paint. It's got multiple firing modes, but I only use the semi mode. There's a lot of upgrades for this marker available, and most spyder upgrades will work with the Dragun.
Weaknesses: When I pulled this thing out of the box, the first thing I noticed was that the finish wasn't that great. I had a hard time getting the sear just right so it would fire every time I pulled the trigger. Even when adjusted porperly, sometimes it would fire more than once when I pulled the trigger leaving me to believe that the sear isn't catching right all the time. The sear looks to be worn out already. Maybe I tinkered with it too much, but it took me a while to get this thing to fire at around 280fps.
Conclusion: For the money, it's not a bad marker, but I think it could be better. The trigger is sweet on this thing. I can easily out shoot my revvie with this thing. If you're gonna upgrade the bolt, you have to transfer your bolt lug and set screw. The stock cocking screw is soft and broke off when I was removing it. I had to hunt and find another screw.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

madgoat33 Monday, August 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Flash LCD(Not nearly as good)
Marker Setup: M3 Patriot Sniper, 20 oz. C02, Warped Sports barrel, VL 200.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Richochet Hopper
Strengths: VERY light trigger pull(click your mouse, okay thats what thetrigger pull is like)
Good stock barrel probably one of the best out there
The rate of fire is insane
Doesn't chop balls
VERY VERY easy to use
Weaknesses: The instruction manual, but the website (www.m3paintball.com) has videos that explain everything.
Fairly heavy
Uses up 9v. batteries fast(after about 1500 trigger pulls the marker doesn't always fire)
The stock barrel is pretty loud, the accuracy makes up for this though.
Conclusion: This marker is good for beginner to advanced. The light trigger pull, great rate of fire, stock accuracy, and that it is easy to upgrade make it a very good marker for the money. Remember to keep it well oiled and clean and it should last a long while. If you want a new marker i would definitely suggest you at least take a look at this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Booglysnot Saturday, March 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Core Sharc
Marker Setup: smart parts stainless steal barrel
revvy hopper with x board
Recommended
Upgrades:
i dunno
Strengths: shooots very fast
Weaknesses: my hopper cant keep up
Review: its the fastest gun ive ever shot.... thats not saying much though... havent shot a high end gun yet but this thing rocks. sometimes i have to check my lcd to make sure im not on auto cause it has such a sensitive trigger, sometimes i pull it once and three balls fly out like its on full auto... thats really cool so i can just use the first to aim and then really quickly get the next two right on the guy im shooting at.
Conclusion: its really good and i got it real cheap. i take good car of it and it hasnt failed me once. its a great gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

opey2001 Tuesday, October 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel,cockers,automags,spyders....almost any good gun out there
Marker Setup: 68 automag,16" boomy,venturi bolt, hurricane lab rear valve,lvl 10,wood 45 grip,12v revy w/x-board,68ci 3000psi nitro tank,smart parts gas through grip,smart parts double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel,nitro tank,new bolt,new trigger if it doesnt come with one.....thats about it
Strengths: This gun can fire outrageously fast (as fast as any high priced gun out there)
Accuracy is not to bad.....with new barrel its very good
Looks great (similiar to old angels)
Feels very balanced
Easy field stripping
LCD is nice....has nice modes too
Super light trigger (just like clicking a mouse)
Great price
Weaknesses: The stock barrel is not that great
Kinda loud (while shooting balls it quiets it some)
Can still see circles from the milling, but you have to look really close
Trigger pin is super hard to get out if you want to change triggers
The trigger that came with mine would not fit...i had to drimmel it out
Conclusion: This gun is great for anyone. With a few upgrades, this gun is easy at competition lvl. Do not try to shoot over 13 or 14 bps without a halo-b. Great price for this gun also. I do think it is the (poor man's angel)
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

m3drgaunman Friday, June 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have used the tippmann 98c,2003 cocker,m3 dragun sniper
Marker Setup: m3dragun sniper
evo2 electronic hopper
pmi reg
new trigger frame
freak barrel (getting soon)
Recommended
Upgrades:
def a electronic hopper such as the evo2 and up
Strengths: nice looking,intimidation,powerful, VERY fast,
Weaknesses: not very consistence,velocity jumps around.
Review: this gun is built solid but has some big problems such as the battery drains AL OT, had problems with the trigger so i got a new 100 dollar frame. Also the trigger is very wobbly and moves alot. This gun is built very nice but has some bad problems. The whole body of the gun or the screw on the side can come lose and your parts may fly out. The best part of the gun is its speed with my evo2 i can shoot around 16 to 17 balls per sec and without a electronic hopper it is going to be hard to fire this gun unless it is on semi auto.
Conclusion: i would buy this gun but you have to keep in mind it is discontinued and is going to be hard to find
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media