paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / WDP Angel IR3 / WDP Angel IR3 / WDP Angel IR3 / WDP Angel IR3

WDP Angel IR3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount WDP

Buy WDP Angel IR3

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


WDP Angel IR3
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 84
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1500

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Angel IR3 is a truly Freestyle machine, introducing adjustable mechanics to match individual technique, and fully user programmable electronic options to generate a personal firing dynamic for its owner. It realises player potential, removes limitation, and offers a real advantage, a real edge in the game we play.

WDP combine ergonomic analysis, state of the art technology and feedback from the Worlds Top Competitors to design a package which exceeds the needs of today’s players. Yes, the IR3 is smaller, lighter and faster, but to stop here does not do justice to the 18 months of time and care taken in the development of this Angel.

The Angel IR3 is the creation of a company experienced in making the most advanced paintball markers in the world. WDP have done it before, twice, and have now succeeded for a third time, but there is something different this time, there is a presence with the IR3, you feel it as soon as you handle the marker, it cannot be denied.
Product Availability 
The WDP Angel IR3 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
C]-[iLDe Wednesday, August 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dark iR3
C+C iR3
Stock iR3
Fly iR3
Marker Setup: Champagne Fly iR3
Smoke Halo B
68/45 Pure Energy
J&J Edge Barrels
Recommended
Upgrades:
To get the most out of your iR3, I recommend:

1. Fast Loader - Halo B or EVO2
2. Consistent Air System
3. Good barrels

Aside from that, you're set.
Strengths: - LOOKS
The iR3 is a GORGEOUS marker, hands down. It looks more like a work of art than a paintball gun.

- FEATURES
C.O.P.S., the Space Frame, gated feed, 3-styler trigger, opto-board, Programable Intellifeed, multiple vibe timers and user customizable settings all help to make this marker absolutely PACKED with features and options. Each user can set the gun up to their exact preferences. In fact, there are SO MANY new options, don't be surprised if you dont use them all!

- PERFORMANCE
Excellent. The trigger and opto-board alow you to get a nice, short, sub-mouse-click trigger pull. Out of the box, the marker is fairly consistant and accurate, but it becomes even MORE so after you have shot a few cases thru it. Expect +/- 6 fps over the chrono with a new gun and about +/- 4 or less once it's broken in.

COPS does exactly what it's supposed to: stop you from breaking paint. The system performs as advertised and works flawlessly, although at time it can slow you down a bit.

The Space Frame is so comfortable and natural-feeling, I would be surprised if WDP ever manufactured a marker with a regular 45 frame again. You just have to play with it for yourself.

Besides all this, the gun shoots straight as an arrow and fast as hell.
Weaknesses: - LPR PRESSURE
One complaint I have about the iR3 is that the LPR pressure comes set too low. Mine came with the input pressure set @ about 85 psi, but the optimal pressure for the iR3 is 95-100 psi. All I had to do was re-shim the LPR, but it was something they could have EASILY done @ the factory.

- SKIN GRIPS
They peel and start looking ugly VERY quickly. They will probably be the first thing you upgrade on your iR3.

- CUSTOM TEXT
While the ability to have your iR3 display custom text in LIVE mode is cool, I would have loved to have been able to enter more than 5 characters! 'Childe' is 6 characters, ya know!

- TRIGGER PIN
VERY hard to remove. I was unable to remove mine at all.

- TRIGGER RETURN SPRINGS
With all the versatility of the iR3, I was disappointed that different tensions of trigger springs weren't included - they would be VERY useful when setting up your trigger.

- PRICE
As much as it may be worth it, buying this gun will still hit your wallet pretty hard.
Conclusion: All in all a SUPERB Angel, worth the price and a good value. Shoots straight and accurate and is LOADED with cool features to experiment with. I would HIGHLY recommend this gun to anyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

theidiot Thursday, March 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
matrix, timmy, e-orracle cocker, bushmasters, 2k2 shocker, 2k1 impulse.
Marker Setup: stock ir3 c&c with a crossfire 88/45oo @ 800 psi.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, cobra bolt, volumizers
Strengths: this gun rips!!! it is just as accurate as any cocker or shocker with a new barrel but the stock barrel is okay, it is +4-4 on the chrono, co[s rocks, and it is simply the best looking and best shooting marker i have ever used.
Weaknesses: the price!! and there is no bad in this gun other than you should fine tune the lpr because mine was really low.
Review: i just got this gun a two weaks ago and i have had no problems with it. it shoots really fast (20 bps) and ji found mine just as accurate as my shocker with a good barrel like a boomer or a freak with an all american tip. it is extremely consistent especially after you run around 2,000 or 3,000 rounds trough it. i shot 4000 rounds trough it already and i never chopped, and it looks SWEET. it is the best marker out there.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to everyone that wants to quit screwing around with other markers, rec ballers, scenario players, and tourney players alike. BUY THIS AND YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Osiris Tuesday, September 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Ironman Angel
Angel 4
Angel Speed
Stock Impulse
Nasty Impulse
Impulse Vision
Diablo Matrix
Kapp Matrix
E-Orracle Cocker
Black Magic Cocker
Dye Ultralite Cocker
STO Cocker
Lasoya Intimidator
2k2 Intimidator
Stock Vert Cocker
Tippmann A-5
Tippmann 98/98 Custom
Spyder Flash
Marker Setup: Angel IR3, Dye Volumizer, Dye Sight Rail, Snatch Grip, 4500/68 Pure Energy N2, 12V X-Board Revo, System X Black Drop forward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recommend a drop forward and a volumizer. There pretty much areb't any other upgrades than that. Other stuff is just cosmetic.
Strengths: C.O.P.S
MROF
Space Grip.
Reliability
Company Service
Weaknesses: ONLY weakness is the innitial cost of the gun.
Review: The gun itself just looks cool. The features and reliability make it, I think, the best gun on the market. No other gun comes close to having all the features that the IR3 does.
Some people say some features are useless, but they just haven't tried them out yet!

The Space grip is actually much more comfortable than the widely used .45 grips.
Extremely easy to maintain. You only have to oil this baby once or twice a year! Almost no maintainence is required, other then keeping it clean and out of humidity and water. Just like any other gun.
Software. The software in the gun is great. I love all the programmable modes and features.
Reliability. Never have I heard of an Angel being un-reliable. Personally i'd say Angels are the most reliable gun of all.
Plus! Angels support and service is great! I had a leaky RAM when I bought the gun, I shipped it out to the nearest Angel Tech and had it back in 3 days fixed! And he even did a beautiful trigger job on it for free!
Conclusion: If you're hardcore into paintball, playing tourneys, and have some money to spend, I would defenitly buy this gun. Little to no maintainence, besides keeping it clean, and the battery is good for about 10,000 cycles before it needs a re-charge! Wonderful company and a wonderful product
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sonnemann Thursday, July 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Let's see.
Vikings: more reliable, heavier, less sexy [unmilled at least.] MUCH less maintenance required than Angels, though WDP isn't bad on that.
Timtims: More awkward feel, about the same amount of maintenance.
Trixes: Different feel...I tend to like the IR3 more, though. A better feel to it IMO.
Marker Setup: The IR3 I used to own.
Ice blue CnC
Chaos/ACE mod
Dirt trigger w/ magnet mod
CCM feedneck
Dye UL
All AKALMP internals, regs, etc
Z-egg
68/45 Conquest
Recommended
Upgrades:
ACE! ACE! ACE! It makes it a completely different marker, and in a very, very good way.
AKA regs
JAM bolt
Strengths: FAST w/ ACE
Light and sexy
Very cheaply had
Ease of maintenance
Weaknesses: Wiring and internals= intimidating
Stock regs= hassle
TONS of money to get them teched.
Review: The IR3 I owned a while back had a Chaos/ACE conversion installed. The reader must understand that the ACE conversions will turn these markers into completely different operating systems, far removed from the [inferior] stock WDP ball detection systems and software. My favorites are Predator II, Chaos, and WAS, in that order.

My first impression of firing the Angel was: WOW. It's quiet, with little kick [though 95 psi LPR pressure is the highest of all Angels to date.] With a fast loader properly set up for rollback and a good board inside, these markers can throw paint at astonishing speeds. The proper trigger setup allowed me to consistently max out my Z-board Egg, which I seldom do on other markers [with the exception of the Tadao M5'd Viking that I currently own, and a few choice others.]

Maintenance means a little lube here and there and good treatment overall. One of the HUGE disadvantages of sticking with the stock WDP software is that the boards are prone to frying and so forth, and if your marker is out of warranty then you're out of luck, and have to cough up exorbitant amounts of cash to get a Master Tech to fix it. This, in addition to the incredible advantage of having eyes [I truly cannot stress this enough] is reason alone to plop down 200-350 for an eye conversion. It is very worth it.
Also, this means that it is very easy to tech the wiring yourself [post-conversion.] No longer do you have to worry about LCD ribbons or pots or any of that nonsense; every conversion involves just a few wires and you're ready to go [and aftermarket board harnesses are much friendlier and cheaper to work on than the WDP thing.]

My Mini-reg never worked. It had a leak that I did not want to address. I threw in a Sidewinder and was shooting clean, consistent ropes all day long. Moral: get AKA regs, or at least get your Minireg working and tuned right. I was [and am] privileged to own a very rare AKALMP delrin LPR, which eliminates the pesky shims and is in general a good thing to have. Lesser mortals [hah, only kidding] can use the FF ERA mod and a great LPR such as an AKA SCM or Palmers Rock to get great consistency without the hassle of internal adjustment.

Efficiency was average, with 13-1400 off a fill. Still not Viking or Timmy calibre in that sense, but efficiency doesn't matter to most people these days, myself included.

The vert frame is love/hate/ I could not decide; with a rail and Conquest it was perfect for tucking in but was not as good for running and gunning as the good old .45 setup is for me. That can all be swapped around; user preference is the key word here.

If you don't have the cash to upgrade to eyes and a new board, your best bet to avoid chopping it the JAM RAS bolt. Mechanical anti-chop never hurt nobody, and it lets you keep seeing what the temperature is on your stick WDP board...heh. Again, only kidding, for the sake of ragging a little on my English pals.
Conclusion: With an ACE conversion, these can be competitive with anything out there today. And that's the point: they may be 'old', relatively heavy, outdated, etc, but with eyes and good programming they will sing as fast as your fingers can bid them do so.

One of my favourite markers over the years, and I do regret trading it away.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 7th, 2005 at 8:19 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

shorty42o Monday, July 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel LCD, LED, matrices, Speed, Fly IR3, impulses
Marker Setup: IR3 with CP barrel, Dropzone, 45/45 Crossfire , egg
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel and an egg
Strengths: COPS, decent accuracy with stock barrel, Speed, trigger pull, easy to maintain, space frame
Weaknesses: Well i guess its long range accuracy is outclassed a bit by some guns.
Review: The IR3's space frame is extremely comfortable and once you play a day with it , you wont want to go back to a 45 frame ever again. You dont notice how comfortable the space frame is until you go back to another gun. The gun is amazingly fast with a 3 point pivot adjustable trigger pull that is incredibly short. The LCD has some nice things like a ROF meter, COPS setting, temperature etc. It even tells you when it needs you to clean and service the marker for those of you who are lazy like me. The COPS eye will make sure you won't chop, but you should get an egg or HALO B so it doesnt slow you down at all. The stock barrel is ok but you should get another one. It doesnt really need any other upgrades and WDP gives you a macroline and the fittings out of the box and one hell of a manual. Like any other angel there's no open places for dirt to get in the gun for you aggressive front players.
Conclusion: You can easily pick an IR3 up these days used for like 700 so price isnt even an issue anymore. If you want an extremely reliable top end marker that is very fast and accurate and has a ton of features than get an IR3. If you would like a lighter smaller IR3 then get the FLY but otherwise the normal one will do just fine
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FallenAngels Sunday, November 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eclipse e-class, dye autococker, 2k1 angel lcd, angel led
Marker Setup: Black Angel ir3
32 degrees flame drop
68 cu 3000 psi nitro duck tank
dye tank cover
12v revolution hopper(soon to be replaced)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast hopper (halo b)
Strengths: -Speed
-Accuracy
-features
-C.O.P.S.
-Sexiness
-Gated feed
Weaknesses: -Price
-ur paint costs will defiantely go up lol
Review: Ok i just got this sweet sweet baby. And although it takes a little bit to learn the adjustments its worth it. You can get the trigger so short. the double trigger is really easy to walk. The gun is accurate as hell. at 40 feet i got a 5 or 6 inch grouping. The Cops system works perfect. Im known as the really fast shooter on my team (i play back and used to have a dye cocker) and i can't outrun the cops system, go ahead and try but i assure you, theres no way you're gonna chop. The gated feed works perfect, does exactly what it claims to do. I shot the gun completely upside down and u could still get a shot in. And as for features this gun is crazy. After a day of shooting the gun informed me "oil service recomended" this things almost to smart for its own good. The only real weakness i've found is its price. This gun is by far worth a chance. I loved my autococker but the ir3 runs so much nicer
Conclusion: All in all this gun is excelent. its well worth the money. So if you got it, buy this gun. You won't be dissapointed
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbking0101 Friday, August 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most autocockers
vikings
spyders
alot of angels
etc
Marker Setup: Blue IR3
Blue Revvy
CP Flame Drop
CP On/Off
Blue Dye Rhino tank cover
Nitroduck 68 4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
New board
eyes
volumizer
low rise feed neck
NEW TRIGGER
Strengths: B-E-A-UTIFUL GUN
Well balenced
Weaknesses: No eyes
horrible trigger
grips are ruined easily
Review: I have had my ir3 for about 4 months now and when i got it i was very pleased. when i took it out for its first time on a field in my hands, i realized it did not have eyes. from that point on i was extremely disappointed with this gun. for this gun a revvy or halo tsa will NOT cut it. you will have to spend the big bucks and buy a halo b or egg. also if you are a fast with fingers, you will need to buy a different board, most common is the fly or predator boards. This is very capable of being a high grade tournament gun. Overall the gun has a very excessive battery life of 250 hours, saying that it carries 3 batteries on it. I do like this gun alot and believe it could be a wonderful ripper. all it needs is some fine-tuning and i will run great.
Conclusion: Read description- 7/10 for this gun
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DragonJedi Saturday, December 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder Java 2in1 - 1st marker was a noobs dream.
32 Degrees Rebel - Ok intro marker Definately needs electronic hopper to shoot good. but after market bolts are hard to come by.
Smart Parts Impulse w/Eye and MaxFlo - First High performance Marker Started out Sweet and chopped nothing. A few upgrades later it shot like Hell. Do not use Evil Bolts with this marker.
Angel Speed - Very Sweet and Lite first tourney played was with a speed and it felt great.
Marker Setup: Angel IR3, A4 SoftFace Bolt,Shocktech on/off drop forward,
Evolution II
Smart Parts barrel kit
3-A 71cu 4500psi fixed HP output Reg by centerflag
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get the A4 SoftFace Bolt and a new barrel kit like evil,SmartParts, or Powerlyte's, as well as a new trigger if you'd like. Everything else would be cosmetic upgrades like back plate, pull knob, drop forwards, and as recomended a twist lock feedneck, it accomodates more hoppers than the stock feed neck.
Strengths: Fast and accurate when tuned correctly. Very sexy milling available from different companies.
Weaknesses: It's got a weakness? oh yeah extensive tuning required to get it just right.
Review: What else can I say that has not been said? This marker is fast as heck and easy to maintain. I've owned it for a year and as time went by I found it wasn't shooting nearly as well as it did, and I've done alot of fidgeting with it. However it is very important that you read the instruction book because it holds all the secrets to fine tuning your marker as it should be. As an example, I was breaking alot of balls in a 4 month period and I thought I've tried everything I possibly could to fix it but no luck until I read the manual and found a little section that said. DO NOT SET FIRE RATE FASTER THAN THE HOPPERS RATE OF FEED. Lo and Behold once I set it to match my hopper I was in the NO CHOP ZONE. I started getting crazy playing front after that cause I had more faith that my marker wasn't going to jam. I didn't like the stock trigger that came with it so I moved on to a cobra flat trigger which helped a bit. Over all this marker is as fast and accurate as any marker I've seen or shot. The New A4 and 05 speeds may be faster and lower pressure but I find my IR3 as fast and as reliable as any of those and then some because of it's upgradeablity. i.e. you can put an A4 board in it or a Fly board with the new EyeQ laser eyes, therefore making it virtually a very current and very fast IR3 FLY for only $400 bucks. Granted that the price of an IR3 hovers between $300 and $450 you could get away with saving the money and getting an 05 speed which is $100 to $200 more than a FLY'd IR3. I recommend this marker to anyone who's moving up from a Mid grade marker like spyders or piranha's but doesn't have the $1500 for a brand new timmy, Shocker, or A4 and up.
Conclusion: Buy it. Don't wait. Any noob with $300-$450 in his pocket is going to be happy to move up to a high end marker for less money. Ir3's are still pretty much current and sexier than most markers and mostly likely won't break your wallet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

enjoi2ball Wednesday, October 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Tippmanns, autocockers
Marker Setup: 2002 C & C Angel IR3
CP Barrel Kit
CCM Feedneck
A4 soft face bolt
Check it ON/OFF
70/45000 Worrgas
Recommended
Upgrades:
A4 softface bolt, so nice
maybe a barrel, but stock isnt bad
fast loader
Strengths: FAST
ACCURATE
LIGHT
Great looking
its an angel
Weaknesses: Paint price goes up, but who cares
Review: This is a great gun, especially since you can get them cheap now. They shoot so fast and so accurate that they are easily one of the best guns on the market. Once youp gas it up and start shooting, you will be amazed. Definitally worht the money, so get one now.
Conclusion: Buy it and love it, will now be disapointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

s0l0pro Thursday, February 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
a4, various cockers, timmys, bushys, impys u name it
Marker Setup: angel ir3, psychoballistics drop, jt 2 piece barrel, mem 6 cops 2, dye volumizer, and shes currently at the bonebrake factory being loved by the great Dan Bonebrake.
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a new barrel, but she shoots great out of the box.defintaly get a volumizer or 2, they look tight, and save u a lil gas.
Strengths: Accuracy, speed, triggerpull, maintainence, its all great.
Weaknesses: get avolumizer for less air usage and a new barrel for more quietness. Thats it
Review: Lets see, this gun is great. Incredibly fast, but id recommend getting a trigger job on it if uv used a timmy before, theyll be better. The lcd screen is amazing, its got everything on it, u can even put ur name (if its short) right into the gun. and did i mention it practically talks to u? how dope is that? i was shootin around and after about 18 bps it said on the screen, "You can do much better than that..." I was like woah. but yeah. id probably recommend getting a new barrel,volumizer, and to really give it that edge, send it up to the bonebrake factory to really give it sum bad@$$ factor. to be honest this gun is much better than my texas storm timmy. while timmies are outragous fast, their pretty much crap. they just have a cheap feeling. But the space frame on the angel gives u a real connection with the gun that no other frame can beat. I HATETHE TIMMY FRAMES. Their sooo uncomfy compared to this. u gotaa try it. get this gun and ull be up there with the best. You Will Not Be Disappointed.
Conclusion: GET THIS GUN. these babies are from europe,their quality is the best. This gun has everything to keep u shootin fast, and keep those hits comin(while they say thegun is 10% of the player and the player is 90% of the gun or whatever, this still kicks some major ace. . by the way, as soon as u pull this baby out of ur bag, the kids practically form a bubble around u, and they all want to shoot it, which sucks somtimes. but hey, u da man right?
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 28th, 2004 at 6:46 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media