paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Viewloader VLocity / Viewloader VLocity / Viewloader VLocity / Viewloader VLocity

Viewloader VLocity Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Viewloader

Buy Viewloader VLocity

Paintball Chronographs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Viewloader VLocity
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 50
Average Rating: 4.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The chronograph is intended for measuring muzzle velocity and shots fired. The Chronograph is designed to mount to most paintball marker barrels, although some smaller barrels will require use of the spacer provided.
Product Availability 
The Viewloader VLocity is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
alienshinubie Tuesday, May 3rd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
field chrono. Much more expensive than the vlocity chrono.
Marker Setup: 04 prostock autococker with a 68/3000 fiber tank & an empire sound activated hopper.
Strengths: It is cheap, accurate, and easy to use.
Weaknesses: It is hard to clean. Batteries fall out of place sometimes. No biggie.
Review: Other users have posted that this product does not work at all. They are wrong. I went to google and printed a review of the product that said how to operate it and had some tricks if the product didn't work like taping the end of the barrel if the chrono didn't fit snug. I recommend that you use this review. It is: http://www.stinggroup.addr.com/vl/vlocity.htm

If the chrono turns off and you cant get it to turn off then the batteries probably wiggled around. Just put them back in place. The chrono is also very accurate. The only reason you would get a reading of over 400 fps is because you are out of paintballs and are firing co2 through it, making it have strange readings.

It is really easy to use. I am 13 and I had no problem with it.

Also other reviews state that balls break allot. They only break if you don't put the chrono on correctly and VERY snug. It shouldn't wobble. Just yesterday I shot an entire hopper full of paintballs (180 paintballs) with no breaks. I would highly recommend this chrono or the yellow hand held chrono for like 70 bucks.

You can play with this on the barrel but i don't recommend it because if it gets shot then it could break. After all its made of plastic.
Conclusion: Basically it is a way to save a lot of money. It requires a little more work than a more expensive chrono. It is really easy to operate. It can be a pain having to clean it when the ball breaks, which is not very often, and is annoying having to put the batteries back in place everyone once in a while, but nothing that a bit of patience cant handle
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Nwilson Monday, December 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A fast eye and a stopwatch would be better than this thing!
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with a 14" smart parts pregressive, tapco SAW stock

SPyder Imagine - 14" J&J Ceramic, Evo2, 20oz CO2

Spyder Agressor - Stock
Strengths: N O N E - There are NO strengths !
Weaknesses: Hmmmm, well this is junk - pure junk.
Review: Let me sum it up for you - save your money because it does not work -period. It will break every ball you send through the thing and if you do get lucky enough to get a ball through it unscathed, the reading (if you get one at all) is so far off it's useless. This is the most horrible designed, cheap, hunk of junk for paintball there is out there. Sorry, but you'll need to save a little more $$$ and buy a REAL chrono. This won't get it done.
Conclusion: If you are silly enough to spend your $$$ on this call me, because I have a bridge in Arizona to sell you....CHEAP !
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Schwartz Thursday, February 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing compares to how bad this chrono performs.
Marker Setup: Impulse w/ Vision
68/45K Crossfire
Bob Long chrome drop
Voodoo VFF
New Dezigns Blade trigger
Strengths: Honestly I dont find anything good about this product at all.
Im tempted to say the price (at around $40-$50), but I would have rather flushed my money down the toilet, or better yet, given it to goodwill.
Weaknesses: Lets see:

1) Extremely high amount of ball breakage in the chrono. I tried using a tippmann stock, CP one piece, Lapco Bigshot, JJ ceramic, and SP progressive. All with the same results...Messy cleanup.

2) Very inaccurate readings. My bps readings varied from shot to shot from 220 to 290 to 340 to 160 to 850 (yes I said 850 !)

3) Difficult to clean broken paint from the inside with a squeegee.

4) Way too much money for a product that is so ineffective.

5) Will not fit on all types of barrels (my lapco bigshot).

6) Batteries need to be removed in order to reset it.
Conclusion: I have never been a huge fan of ViewLoader products, and now after using this chronograph, I dont think I will ever purchase another VL product again.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

Vetinari Monday, August 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
grey box thingy, worked well, but disappeared
Radarchron (works good, didn't disappear)
Marker Setup: 94 Autococker, 03 WGP hinge w/ dye sticky 3, hollowpoint 3 way, Palmer micro rock, clippard ram, sheridan inline reg, 16" smartparts all american, 32 degrees small drop
Strengths: Made out of plastic, helps when washing off the paint so you can return it
Weaknesses: The hole is smaller than paint
Review: It is a shame that somebody would go to the trouble of designing, making, and selling something without ever using it to see if it works. It doesn't. The thing is actually smaller than the paint you are supposed to shoot through it. Attaching it to the barrel was more of a pain than it should have been, but I was willing to overlook that if it worked. Which it didn't. Luckily Walmart is very reasonable about returning things. I only write this review because the average score of 4.5 may be misleading some people into thinking that it must have some functionality, so I must work to discourage that notion. However, I guess there must be some out there that paint goes through, so if you are sure you can return it, I guess it couldn't hurt to try. Of course I don't know if it can measure speed if the paint doesn't break.
Conclusion: This is horrible, astoundingly, mind bendingly horrible, I mean, who makes a chrono that you have to shoot through, that is smaller than a paintball. Idiots, that's who.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spaz7676 Tuesday, June 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Field crono, don't know the name but it's the little hand held yellow one.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 w/ Red dot sight
Strengths: Umm.... looks like something that might work.
Weaknesses: Chops and STOPS balls. Hard to get an acurate reading.
Review: When I got this thing I had no idea it was made be Brass Eagle. If you look it doesn't say anywhere on the outside that it's made by them. If I had known I would not have gotten it. So I put this thing on my brand new tippmann 98 and fire. It reads ok and seems to work great. Then I adjust down and fire another shot. Nothing comes out. I thought that maybe the gun just didn't feed a ball because I only put 10 in the hopper. So I shake it and shoot again. This big cloud of paint spewed out of the crono. So I took the thing off and cleaned it out. After wards I tried dropping a paintball through it. It was too tight of a paintball to pass through. There were two more times that I stalled a paintball in it. Then the shots it did let through read in accurately. I shot 10 shots through the thing and it read a +-35 fps spread. Which made me think my new gun was a piece of crap. When I got there it read at +-10 fps. I had to adjust it too because it was reading wrong at home too.
Conclusion: If you're going to get a crono spend the extra $30 to get a good one. I wish it had said BE on the package, it's nice when a piece of crap comes with the 'BE stamp of badness.'
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pientka90 Sunday, January 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
the PMI handheld one.
Marker Setup: I have a tippmann 98 custom
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Not very accurate
Breaks easily
It breaks the ball in it a lot
Review: well my friend bought this, because we play in the woods by his house.The first time we used it the second shot the guy took using it chopped inside it. It takes for ever to clean. Then I used it and the first shot i took said i was shooting 150 fps then i shot again and it said 550 fps. And I didn't make any adjustments to the velocity. Then later that day the part where you twist it to tighten it on your barrel cracked. This thing really SUCKS! whatever you do don't buy this!!!!
Conclusion: if you could give it a zero i would but you can't so i give it a 1.
DO NOT BUY THIS
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GMONEY7 Monday, October 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Handheld Chronos and the "Red Box"
Marker Setup: Oracle Cocker - AKA Excalibur - NPS Icon
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: This product just does not work - PERIOD.
Review: I went w/ this product because it stated it mark a ball's speed after each shot; without having to reset the chrono. Great idea but in practical use the way the chrono attaches to the barrel the line up has to be PERFECT or you get a ball break. I could not chrono a gun without getting a ball break. I went so far as to use a harder shell paint (which negates the chrono as I use soft shell paint to PLAY) and still had chopping problems.
Conclusion: You will be upset if you buy this product - it does not work. Mine is in the closet and I still need to purchase a chrono.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, February 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
RadarChron, big shoot-over units at fields
Strengths: This is an inexpensive (I got one for free when my brother got a RadarChron. He hadn't even used this one yet.) In theory, it should be fool-proof because you can only use it when you shoot thru it and it shouldn't be affected by outside influences.
Weaknesses: This thing is inconsistent, difficult to use, and requires some pretty regular squeegie action when every third ball thru it breaks...no matter how well-aligned it is on your barrel. I don't think everthing BE makes is bad, but this blows.
Conclusion: Spend the extra bucks for a real chrony.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sferencz Thursday, November 8th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: price? 50 for a chron is good, but i wouldnt really consider this a chron
Weaknesses: THIS DOESNT TELL HOW FAST THE BALL IS GOING! ok what the heck, i used it and like one ball would go 135, the next 260, the next 870, the next 270, the next 230. NO JOKE! one actually said 870! this thing sucks and is NOT worth 50 bucks, when we were compairing tippmann velocities, we would have been better off all of us putting our stock barrel on and seeing how far they shoot, this is NOT ACCURATE.
Conclusion: SUCKS
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mac007 Monday, September 17th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Its handy to have your own personal chrono.

Fits a wide variety of 1" barrels with smooth ends - no tulips etc...

Ball counter is handy so you don't use too much paint at the chrono.

Easy to clean.

No chance of it being destroyed by a paintball hit as with shoot over the top chronos.
Weaknesses: I don't understand why the bore of this product is so small. If they made it a bit larger the chance of paint passing though it without breaking would be greater.

If it is on the barrel properly, paint will pass though it without difficulty. It has a tendency to move forward on some barrels as paint is shot through it. This is when paint will break, if the mounting is not flush with the end of the barrel.

Sometimes the batteries move in it turning it off. Usually when a ball breaks on the inside lip.


Conclusion: I got this as a Christmas present. Its nice and handy for chronographing and works on most of our family markers, Stingray, Bruizer, Talon etc... I've had it a year and enjoyed it. I consider it a worthwhile tool.

You don't have to wait at the chrono line to see what the velocity of your marker is.

I wouldn't leave it on the marker while playing the game.

Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media