paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Psycho Ballistics Aradus Barrel / Psycho Ballistics Aradus Barrel / Psycho Ballistics Aradus Barrel

Psycho Ballistics Aradus Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Psycho Ballistics

Buy Psycho Ballistics Aradus Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Psycho Ballistics Aradus Barrel
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 26
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Aradus is the most sophisticated paintball delivery system ever designed with a collapsible inner sleeve that features a straight rifle system that will prevent unwanted non linear spin on the ball and with its twist & click sizing system, you can change the size of the bore on the fly. No more changing sleeves. The bore of this single barrel can be adjusted by simply twisting & clicking the barrel into one of it's 5 settings. The barrel has been tested to the marker it was made for and a custom tailored length was designed for that marker.

View videos of the Aradus.

Product Availability 
The Psycho Ballistics Aradus Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
warbeak2099 Monday, April 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline, Boomstick, SP Progressive, Lapco Autospirit, J&J ceramic, and CP one peice.
Marker Setup: EM98Custom (E-bolt) w/ Nitro Duck HPA tank, Aradus barrel, Ricochet 2k, remote, palmers stabilizer... and much much more . Too much to list.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablos, RPS, JT USA, or PMI.
Strengths: -Incredibly accurate
-Looks great
-No fumbling with inserts
-Quiet
-Doesn't break paint
Weaknesses: -Very hard to interchange tips (sealed on with loctite from the factory)
-Hard to find
Review: The best barrel I've ever used. It's the most accurate barrel I've ever used, quiet, great looking, and it's never broken balls on me. It's also very easy to change the bore, just twist and click. There's no inserts to fumble with. If you use Diablos, RPS, or other good quality paint, it'll give killer performance. I only wish they would allow you to interchange those tips more easily. Stinkin factory seals them on with loctite! C'mon Psycho Ballistics! And when are they gonna come back on the market again? I mean the good version ones, v1.1 Not the ones with the stupid big red tourny locks!
Conclusion: Well, it's the next best thing from the freak. If you can't dish out around $175 for the freak, buy this (if you can find it)! But that tip situation still bothers me. If the tips was easier to interchange, I would give it a ten.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 12th, 2003 at 5:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sk8erfrk180 Friday, August 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco Bigshot SS - Incredible barrel...efficient, consistent, and durable!
CP 1 Piece - Awesome barrel for the price
DYE Boomstick - Too overrated...its a great barrel and all, but the quality for the price can be beaten
DYE Stainless Steel - Decent barrel, the bore is a bit too large for the paint I normally use
Smart Parts All American - Not very efficient, but a great barrel none the less!
Marker Setup: • Black Bob Long Millenium Body
• AKA Lightning Bolt w/ rear cocking
• Fatty Internals (highly polished striker)
• Diamond Labs Valve
• Bob Long Vertical Adapter
• Bob Long LPC
• Male Palmer Stabilizer w/ Kapp Gauge
• M3 Electric Trigger Frame
• 12 inch Lapco Bigshot SS Barrel
• 12v Revolution w/ xboard (covered)
• SS Braided Hose
• Psychoballistics Pro-Blade Drop Forward
• 20 and 12 ounce CO2 tanks, 48/3000 PMI Nitro
• Maddman Spring Kit

My Spyder is setup for LP...I have a medium main spring, medium valve spring running 325 PSI at 300fps getting nearly 2000 shots from a 20 ounce CO2 tank and 800 from a 48/3k. I VERY rarely break balls (0-2 every case).
Recommended
Paintballs:
umm...what would be the point of this barrel if you couldn't use any paint you wanted? :)
Strengths: • Incredibly consistent and accurate (4 inch grouping for 10 shots from 35 feet away!)
• Can use most any paint
• Not too expensive (bought mine used for only $60...and it was in *mint* condition)
Weaknesses: • Ugly
• Adjusting wheel thing can sometimes slip out of its setting
• Loud
• Not as efficient as Lapco or CP barrels (taping up the porting holes with electrical tape helped though)
• Theres a slight velocity drop off compared to other barrels (290 with my Lapco Bigshot, 260 with the Aradus...but turning up the pressure a little bit helped bring the velocity back up)
Conclusion: Even though you may lose some FPS from your previous barrel, your consistency and accuracy in every shot will greatly increase. The Freak System or MS Pro from Equation USA may be more versatile and comprehensible, but the Aradus is an easy and cheap substitution for those who want a simple barrel with the ability to use many kinds of paint, while increasing accuracy as well. I have one of the early production Aradus's, so I do not have a Tourney Locking Wheel which is a nice feature to have (as the wheel does tend to get "tweaked" out of place every now and then). Improvements can be made for this barrel...such as preventing the lower velocity issue and possibly giving it a new style to make it more attractive and outwardly appealing. Overall, for the price and features this barrel has, it rocks! I give it a 9 because there is always room for improvement! If anyone has questions about this barrel and/or my gun setup, feel free to email me... frozenbum87@hotmail.com or AIM me: frozenbum87
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skitz Monday, May 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak System
Marker Setup: LED Matrix, Empire Reload, Torpedo Reg, Dye LPR, Crossfire 88/4500 HPA
Recommended
Paintballs:
Fresh ones
Strengths: This barrel works better than a Freak!!!
Weaknesses: Gas Hog, Adapter backs to different threads beside Spyder
Review: I have used this barrel for quite some time now, granted it is a gas hog barrel, but the accuracy is amazing. I have many different barrels and I always try them first with whatever new el cheapo paint I am shooting that day and I always always come back to the Aradus. It shoots darts with Evil. Iisports house paint, Competitive edge (aka Zap Primer), Diablo Splash work better with this barrel than my Bigshot, Autospirt, Taso Pro Freak, or a CP .689 ever did. If you are reading this and considering this barrel, Don't be afraid of change, you can do it.
Conclusion: Overall, a great product. The rifling is effective however it is just a by product of the Aradus design. Buy this and save over a Freak or ACI system. I am giving this barrel a nine overall because nothing is perfect in this world. I recommend that you only use this barrel on Spyders and clones until PHyco does away with the back thread adjuster for other markers beside spyders. Each Aradus should have it own threads instead of an A/C, A-5, Mod 98, Angel to Spyder Adapter attached at the end.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 13th, 2003 at 11:33 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

sigsauer87 Sunday, February 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye ultralight
Recommended
Paintballs:
Blaze Inferno
Strengths: The twist of the center to designate the caliber of paint your using.
Weaknesses: VERY LOUD
Review: I bought this on ebay for $35. Not a Bad barrel to buy, for that cheap, I feel sad for the people that would actually waste more than $50 on this barrel. If your low on cash, get this barrel, but if you have got the money, get something more high end.
This barrel is one of the loudest I have used. My stock barrel on my spyder was quieter than this, and sad to say, it was more accurate. I should have saved my money instead of thinking that this would have worked, since I thought it would have been better then the freak barrel system, which was a BIG mistake. If you like loud barrels, which I dont think anyone does, go with this. The barrel isn't bad, its just loud. And its a decenlty accurate barrel.
Conclusion: I have to say that it was better than other stock barrels, but way to loud for me. I didn't want to give away my position. I like staying and keeping quiet :-D
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

onlyfortheweak Sunday, May 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Roningear katana--much better version with the same concept. If you wanna freak-like system without the interchangeable parts get the katana, not the aradus.
Marker Setup: -Tippmann A-5
-Flatline
-RT/E-grip
-DOP bullet drop
-20 oz
Recommended
Paintballs:
It'll handle whatever you put in it except for really large paint--largest bore size is .692
just stay away from brass eagle
Strengths: -compact adjustable bore sizing
-freakin accurate
-somewhat quiet
-I got mine for $15
Weaknesses: -poor gas efficiency
-short range
-sizing cylinder jams
-very hard to clean thoroughly
-easily scratched
Review: As the first upgrade I made on the low budget I had for my A-5, I got this off ebay for $15. I was expecting to get a roningear katana, but I hadn't read the small text and I got an aradus. It's still an ok barrel for $15, but the suckas that paid the full $100 I pity. The sizing mechanism is pretty sweet. It'll take marbs and crappy field paint exactly the same. The tournament lock doesnt work that great, its just there for the looks. You can screw it in over the sizing cylinder as tight as you want, but when youre playing an accidental nudge will leave the surface of the barrel coated in deep scratches.

The first few games I played with it were some of the funnest games I had EVER played in my paintball career (partly because it was also the first time to play with my A-5) EVERY player I saw I took down in at the most 3 minutes (was playing woodsball). Later on in the day I started to notice the problems with the barrel however. A few balls got busted in it, and the paint slipped behind the curved slivers that adjust to fit the paintball. I poured some water down in it which removed some of the paint, but even after it dried the sizing cylinder was jammed tight. Eventually it was budged loose, but it still has that problem occasionally, and it always gets stuck on .676 (how useful..)

Dont get me wrong though, this barrel is pretty freakin accurate.... for 50 feet. Gas efficiency is a definate issue with this. The little slivers on the inside of the barrel have to leave a slight crack for sizing, so when a paintball is fired down the barrel a good amount of pressure is lost through the crack. Until psycho ballistics can solve the problem I'll probably stick with the flatline.
Conclusion: I wouldn't recommend this barrel to anyone for the MSRP. If any reason to get one, get it for the cheapest price and for a backup barrel. If you really do want a relatively cheaper and much more compact version of the freak system, get a roningear aradus. Read a few reviews of it for yourself.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 4th, 2003 at 6:25 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

stray bullet Sunday, April 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All American
J & J Crermic
Eagle Works
Nite Stick
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5
Mini Expansion Chamber
Recommended
Paintballs:
Good Quality
Strengths: The first thing that struck me about this barrel was the overall quality of the manufacture. To give you an idea of what I'm talking about the threads on the barrel adapter and barrel are machined so precisely that when you barely begin to thread the pieces together and then quickly spin the adapter from your fingers it will screw itself all the way onto the barrel without any other help. After selecting the proper ball to barrel size using Diablo Blaze balls at .680, a 4-inch circle 5 shot grouping was hit from 45 feet in a kneeled unrested position. To say the least and state the obvious, the accuracy was dead on.
Earlier in the review there was an adapter mentioned and this adds to the total value of the barrel. All of the barrels are made with Spyder base threads and the adapter is screwed on for other types of markers. If you have more than one marker like me, a Black Dragun, now I can use the same the barrel for both markers without any more money out of pocket. Say that one of your markers is Low-Pressure and the other is High Pressure, no problem. Psycho Ballistics will sell you a different tip. Just screw off, screw on.
Important Info:
Psycho Ballistics informed me that they usually Lock Tite the tips and adapters to keep them secure. If for some reason that the pieces came apart they wouldn't be responsible for the lost parts. You "must" hold the barrel upright to change tips in order to keep the precision dowel pins in place.

Now we enter the Double Jeopardy round.
Answer: 3 Piece barrel with interchangeable tips and thread adapters for multiple markers, sleeveless adjustable bore with the option for laser engraving.

Question:
What is the Aradus
Weaknesses: The Bad:
I was testing the Aradus with some Pro Ball that was about 3 months old from the time that I bought them it a local shop. Because of the 20mil, 668 counter seam, 688 across the seam difference I think that we can all agree and call these "footballs." The Aradus shot 2 out of 6 of these balls with a mad curve. Not sure if a regular barrel would shoot them any better because they almost all broke when I tried them in my Smart Parts All American.
Currently I use electrical tape to hold the adapter & tip in place. It doesn't look bad because the all black blends together but I would like to see the option of different tips fully exploited by using o-rings to secure these options in the next version of the barrel.
The barrel won’t aim itself. I’ve also tried and tried to get the auto trigger to work in the digital enhanced human silhouette detection mode. Maybe it would work if I put batteries in the thing but I can’t find out where they put that compartment. I want them to make the porting in the tip ten times bigger because it took me forever to stir the corn bread mix before it was ready to put in the baking pan. This would also be a definite plus around clean up time.
Conclusion: Other than the nonsense this is a great product that should help the evolving sport of paintball. If you are going to D-Day Oklahoma and are on the German side don’t buy this barrel. I’ll be in the 1st Div American side ;)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kwizatz-Haderah Wednesday, June 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tear Drop
Progressive
Freak
Marker Setup: Dye 2k2 Reflex Auto-Cocker with Grey to Silver Finish
Matching Dye 12 Broomstick
Dye Flow Ram
Dye Rocket Reg
Dye Hyper In-Line Reg
Chrome Eclipse E-blade
Clear Halo-B
PMI Pure Energy 45ci 4500psi Nitro Tank
Freak with Stainless Steal Back
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any it's accepts 5 different bore sizes
Strengths: Light-weight
Easy Bore size changing
Weaknesses: None
Review: THis is a great Barrel system. You can change the bore size instantly right from the barrel with out fiddling with inserts. Dead On Paint Ball also makes interchangable tips for it. Some say that it hurts your velocity, but that was the older modell, all of the new ones work great. they are very accurate and shoot wonderful.
Conclusion: Definitely a worthy Barrel System. It gives you all you need in one small package. It's light wieght, it has a two piece design and it shoots great. What more could you ask for in a barrel system? oh yes and it's nice to be able to change bore sizes rigt from the barrel with no inserts.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

toon Friday, August 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP 1 piece, JJ ceramic 14" & 12", Lapco Big shot, 32 deg whisper, 10" broomstick .
Marker Setup: Bob Long Intimidator- shocktech drop, clamshell, SOB/equalizer, single body reg, stickies, delrin bolt, torp reg, jj ceramic 12" & 14" barrels, CP 12" barrel, crossfire 68 4500 nitro, etc
Tippman M98- RT, LP, centerflag reg, dble trig, red dot sight, PB drop,
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything
Strengths: -Great idea, I got the ' pro- design' I think its called.
-Reasonably accurate,
-Doesn't break paint in the barrel
-Nice machining. Very well made. Talk about high tolerances. But............(see the bad).
-Made with Syder threads but with an autococker adapter for mine. I can loan it to my friend for his spyder.
-Cheap for 5 sizes but.............................(see the bad).
Weaknesses: -I chronoed my TImmy with my 12" JJ ceramic & got on ave of about 290 fps. I take it off and put the Aradus on, 'hotest' shot goes down to the 260fps range. This is done with a few shots each. I try different settings but no luck. Fps only goes downhill. I take off the Aradus and whack the JJ on and I'm back to the 290 fps range. What gives?
-I can't seem to lock the two last sizes. That means I paid $100 for a reasonably accurate 3 bore barrel that can't shoot above 260 fps.
-I cut my hands unscrewing the adaptor off the back. Damn those threads are well made! Not really the barrels fault but just be carefull!
Conclusion: I personaly would not buy it again. Good idea but needs a lot more development. I'd rather see them develop something traditional like JJ's edge or maybe even a 'delrin?' bolt.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Shoe3 Tuesday, August 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomsticks-Almost as accurate. Cant shoot multible bores
Freaks- Nearly as accurate. Less convinient than aradus. Smart parts customer service =poop
Nite stikk- Large bore and not as accurate
and many others that are not as good
Marker Setup: Owner of "The Gato-Cocker"its a 2002 Verty Green Cocker with a PMI 48/3000 pure energy, Blue psyco ballistics drop, and a psycho ballistics chrome Aradus shorty barrel with "Gato-Cocker" laser engraved on it. And yes, it shoots darts.
Recommended
Paintballs:
all, its a multi bore barrel
Strengths: Man! This thing royaly rocks. I mean it shoots darts out of cockers, and it is a multi bore barrel. changing bores is a snap. It is the best barrel i have used. Period. the chrome looks sweet, spend the extra money and get chrome. Its really worth it. If u go to their website, u can get custom ingraving in many fonts.
Shoots even crappy paint well. very versitle barrel. it is kind of quiet. It is very efficient. It rarely breaks paint, and if u do, it shoots through breaks very very well. I am very impressed with this barrel. Oh yea, It is less than half the cost of a freak! That is awesome. This is a great deal. Ironicly, it is also the best barrel i have used. Ever.
Weaknesses: they dont make one for mags, so my bro cant have one
Conclusion: buy it now, it is so very very worth the money. It does not even cost a lot. It is one of the great deals in paintball i give it a ten out of a possible ten
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

go0ty Monday, April 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT 2-piece
Marker Setup: Piranha STS Core, stock everything except for the upgraded Venturi bolt.
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Premium
Strengths: *Looks good
*Adjusts on the fly
*Locks into place
*Great Alternative to Freaks
Weaknesses: *Does cut down on velocity
Review: I was looking for a good barrell and I didn't feel like spending 200$ for a freak set so I started looking for alternatives, and ran into this barrell. It shoots great and is a great price for having an adjustable bore like this. It clicks firm into place and I haven't really had any problems with it coming loose or anything like that. It doesn't shoot too loud for me (or too quiet). But the main thing is that compared to other 2-piece barrells (like the JT 2-peice or freak junior) you get the adjustable bore size without having to carry a case of inserts. If you are looking for a decent price barrell, this is definately a great choice and I would recommend it to anyone.. I just wish it didn't have the velocity problem, but I can deal with it if it's going to keep giving me such accurate shots.
Conclusion: Good for the price, shoots great, adjustable bore size... I recommend to anyone looking for a great barrell without spending 200$ for a freak set. If i were into hardcore tournaments or anything, i probably would go a little higher quality like a freak or something, but just playing rec ball in the woods, this barrell shoots better than anything my friends have equipped.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media