paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Blackpoint Engineering Model 98 Folding Stock / Blackpoint Engineering Model 98 Folding Stock / Blackpoint Engineering Model 98 Folding Stock / Blackpoint Engineering Model 98 Folding Stock

Blackpoint Engineering Model 98 Folding Stock Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Blackpoint Engineering

Buy Blackpoint Engineering Model 98 Folding Stock

Paintball Stocks

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Blackpoint Engineering Model 98 Folding Stock
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 17
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $65

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Fits Model 98 & 98 Customs. Bolt on part guaranteed. No gun modifications required.
Product Availability 
The Blackpoint Engineering Model 98 Folding Stock is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
techietaichi Saturday, April 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
M-16A3, AK47, SAW, M-60, etc., etc.
Marker Setup: TIPPMANN 98 Custom
14" J&J Ceramic
APP Foregrip
Ricochet 2K
LAPCO Dovetail Raised Sight Rail
Daisy Electronic Point Sight
GTA Double Trigger
System X Sticky Grip
CMI Micro-Coil Remote
JCS Combat Folding Stock
Strengths: Stabilizes your marker
Looks great
It folds
Weaknesses: Excessive head tilt
Uncomfortable without the proper mask
Review: The folding stock is a very nice upgrade to include with your 98. It stabilizes your marker extremely well and gives you the confidence to aquire and hit your target in-close or at max distance coupled with a good barrel of course. Having it fold as well is a very unique feature compared to other competitors stocks. For rec play I'll usually fold it because of all the running, sliding and junping we do, but during jungle/or scenarios, out it comes. Another fine feature is the ability for the stock to slide to a much larger size to accomodate our more "Bunyan" sized players. Twist a knob and sliiiide. Since I've started using this upgrade, it's greatly enhanced my firing capability, whether stationary or on the move. The only downside that I can think of is the need for a mask that can conform somewhat to the stock itself. At first I used a Spectra Proshield, but it's stiff and rigid. I then changed to a Flex 7 and now I can sight normally because of the flexibility of the mask. Problem solved. I really like the folding stock and would recommend it to those military types or anyone that likes the feel of a rifle in their hands. You'll love it.
Conclusion: If you're military like myself, you can really appreciate this up. Not very expensive, looks great, folds for close quarter battle, leave it out when you're on the hunt, extends via slide for larger players. Other than the need to change your mask so you can sight better, definately a must have.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2004 at 4:25 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Sniper07 Sunday, April 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: Piranha EFORCE EXT-PRO 2K3.
CP Drop Forward
Evil Pipe
12 V Revy w/ X Board
Smartparts Low Rise Clamp
68/3000 PMI HPA
Strengths: Allows the shooter to utilize the rear sights. Turns marker into a rifle type layout.
Weaknesses: None observed.
Review: Since putting the Blackpoint engineering Combat Folding Stock on my marker, it has allowed me to utilize my marker more efficiently and to improve my aim. Since my marker has a 20oz Co2 tank, I felt that the tank could not compensate for a true shoulder stock feeling. In my 1st paintball battle, I found myself having a hard time adjusting to the accuracy of my shooting. Being a former Marine, I searched the websites and came across the mentioned company at BP-USA.COM and decided to review their product line. Their customer service representative turned me over to a technical specialist, who covered the details in terms of material used, and the durability of the product. Within 2 days of receiving my Combat Stock, I decided to test it out on a wooden reindeer display that my neighbor uses for practice. Being able to pull the stock out, and allowing me to use the sights on my Pirahna, my shots were within 2 inches of were I was aiming. A considerable improvement. The folding stock also folds nice, and allows for easy storage. The 20oz Co2 tank does not even interfere with the stock resting in my shoulder.
Conclusion: This is a well worth product in terms of quality craftsmanship, and design. This company listens and answers your questions with concern. They know they have a great product, and are proud of it. For $49.99, it was well worth the investment.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 4th, 2004 at 2:53 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Slimz Tuesday, September 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various car stocks
Opsgear's old plastic G3 stock.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 (Old-School)
Rufus Dawg Bolt kit, Palmer Stab, Evil Pipe.

Raider hand guard + Raised Weaver Rail
Opsgear Mag kit, vertical front handle.
Strengths: Strength - Durability - Flexibility - Comfortability (is that even a word?) ;)
Weaknesses: Aluminum construction, as opposed to titanium.
Note quite perfect locking mechanism.
Review: 1) Strength: This thing is indestructable - even if you vice-griped your 98 and took a hammer to it, I doubt you'd do much.

2) Durability: Aluminum construction (not as strong as titanuim, but who really expects them to make a titanium stock?), means no rust, light weight and long life. The finish may develop a few scratches after about four or five years, but thats to be expected.

3) Flexibility: Some dolt on the front page claims the stock "wobbles" and you "cant use the sights". Allow me to do some myth busting. On the older JCS stocks, the aluminum frame plugged directly into the back end of the 98, putting it perfectly level with the sight rail. While this looked rather cool, it rendered the sight rail useless because it was simply too high to see straight. So what did JCS do? They added a drop saddle (a 1/2" by 1" piece of fitted polymer) to lower the stock by about an inch and a half - making it a perfect fit. (In my opinion they droped it a hair too low, but I'm used to firing rifles, not paintball guns.)

This stock also uses a rather unique locking ring that screws down onto the 98 rear plug, making it impossible for the stock to move in any direction. Now if you vice grip the 98 and twist the stock with a monkey wrench, you can eventually get it to rotate a little. Fixing this is as easy as losening the locking collar, rotating the stock back to the chosen setting, and re-tightening the locking ring. The only way it can "wobble" is if you decided you were already an expert and didn't need to read the directions. If you back uscrew the collar all the way out, of course the stock going to wobble! That's like saying "I left the lid on the hopper open, and all the paint fell out."

So, bottom line, the sight rail is more than useable, and the woble is a myth. This is the most versitile stock on the market. It's there when you need it, and not when you don't. The hinge mechanism is simple and rock solid. Whether open or closed, this thing doesn't budge an inch until you puch the button.

4) Comfort: They padded the end of the stock with this strip of space-age looking rubber material that feels really cushy. :)
Conclusion: If you're looking for a stock, this is a must. forget the car stocks, forget the "mp5" wannabes. Go for the real deal - you won't regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 20th, 2005 at 6:50 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

HamstersForRent Monday, June 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 98 Custom, Hyper Star, Flatline(awaiting delivery)
Strengths: Solid Construction, Easy Installation, Adjustable, Folds up with the touch of a button
Weaknesses: cannot use a rear velocity adjuster.
Review: This product is very well designed. The folding mechanism is very solid, and when locked in either extended or folded position, it holds the stock in place with no shaking or rattling.

The length is adjustable, from a minimum of 11.5" to a maximum of 14.5" (from the rear of the gun to the rear of the stock)

When folded, the stock locks into position along the right side of the gun. Overall length when folded is increased by a mere 2". Very solid.

As far as aiming goes, the stock greatly aids in keeping the gun stable. Although as others have mentioned, some mask modification, or raised sights will be needed as the angle needed to sight down the (stock) marker sights is both uncomfortable, and with most masks i know of, physically impossible.

Finally, it looks really cool.
Conclusion: Great product, I definitely recommend this to anyone considering getting a stock.

Great Vlaue, Great Design, Great Looks
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

palmerxxx Tuesday, November 23rd, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
i guess co2 but plate......
Marker Setup: m98 custom double trig blackpoinfolding stock red dot site progressive barrel
Strengths: nice
light
FOLD FOLD FOLD
multiple lenths
Weaknesses: Wobbles kinda ugly cant use sites, useless in speedball
Review: Last year i decided to upgrade my stock m98 and i went with this stock along with the previous mentioned setup. i origonaly wanted the car stock but ther guy at the store said go with this is its better. i was skeptical cause i dint like how it looked. i went out and used the gun and i dint see much difference, honestly the stock did help with the consistancy of my aiming on the run but other than that its just looks.
Conclusion: I give this product a 7 cause u dont need it but if u buy a stock this is the way to go
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

outoftowner Friday, February 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-32 degrees sliding stock
-BT-4 car stock
Marker Setup: -BT-4 combat
-red lazer cross hair sight
-flashlight on lower rail
-9 oz CO2
-standard 200 rd hopper
-JCS folding stock
Strengths: -Really strong
-Comes with parts that can change the angle
-Very comfortable
Weaknesses: -Hard to tighten on so it doesent twist
-Instructions need some revising
Review: To start this all off, this stock is amazing, it is made of aircraft grade aluminum and it gives great comfort to the user, when it is in the folded position it is completely out of the way even if it is fully extended. That brings up another thing, this stock has way more variation in length even more then a sliding stock. Another great thing is that they send some parts that change the angle of the stock, from flat to a good 20 degrees. One thing that has to be done is for someone to look at there instructions, it says to keep part 19 loose until you put it on, but it is actually part 16, and another bad thing about it is that when you tighten (i forget what it is called) to keep the stock tight, you need some vice grips and a towel to tighten it(the towel is for the paint not to come off) and let it sit for 15 minutes and it will be tight.

EDIT: Ok I found a fix for the rotational issue, all you do is put an appropriate size o-ring between the part that you twist to keep it tight and the back of your clam shells, this way the rubber in the o-ring gives enough friction so it will stop the rotating, oh and you don't have to do the vice grips and towel thing with the o-ring, this way you can do it finger tight.
Conclusion: Buy this stock, it is totally worth it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 24th, 2008 at 5:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

matt_conti Wednesday, December 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Umm the air tank
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom ACT
smart parts progressive 14 inch barrel
cyclone feed system W/standard 200 round hopper
20 ounze C02 tank
BSA RD30CP red dot scope
NXe 4+1 harness
PMI remote line
responsive trigger
jcs combat folding stock
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Strengths

looks great
all metal
folds well, even with the cyclone (for the c98)
can extend for different seze people.
sturdy when open

weaknesses

modding requiered with atc ( see review)
needs a rail to aim


review
i picked this stock up a little while ago, and i was so happy to finaly get it. i rushed home to get it instaled and i noticed that the piece that goes into the gun only has one hole... and the 98C with atc needs 2 holes because it has two springs. this caused some problems. i took it to my dads workshop and simply found a drill bit that was the same diametre as the middle hole, mesured .5 cm from the end and started to drill untill it was a deep as the hole on the little end cap they give you with the gun. it was a little frusterating finding out i spend 70$ for a stock, and still had to mod it a little. but even with that minor problem, it was amazing. if you have long arms, this thing can extend for you, and when its extended it can still be closed easy, even with a cyclone on, which is good for me. the folding also comes in handy because i dont have a rail yet. when i need to aim, i just fold the stock and use my scope. another problem is its hard to tighten. once you put it on, theres the knob you have to turn to tighten it, and let me too you, its very hard to do with your bare hands. i recomend using some gadjet to tighten it, or wear gloves with grip
Conclusion: All in all, this is an amazing stock for rec ball and senerio players. ill give it an 8 because of the hastle i had to go thought to make it work ( i went on the jet city specialties web site and they just made an ATC version of this stock)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RustySniper Tuesday, March 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with Blackpoint Engineering rifle butt, high tension spring kit, 18" smartparts progressive barrell, Winson 4X15 scope, 16oz tank with smartparts valve.
Strengths: The fold,
The feel,
the power trip it gives you.
The extra tilt for snapshots
Weaknesses: Can't think of any
Review: Thing thing rules.

It's not very expensive, which at first gave me doubts to it's actual performance abilities, but once I slapped it on my 98 custom, it gave my game a whole new dimension and my snipering capabilities were increased tenfold, I don't go to a game without it. The tilt may be excessive, but for close-end firefights, it can prove to be a lifesaver when pulling snapshots at your opponent, giving you more stability while keeping the gun mounted to your shoulder. That and it looks cool, and intimidates the hell out of those poor newbies.
Conclusion: Buy it, it's well worth your hard earned cash.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Herb Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pro team products -Car stock.
CO2 tank but plate.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Flatline/ 32 degrees Carbon Fiber, Folding Stock, 32 Degrees remote, Scope (sometimes) , and M16 standard issue bi-pod ( army surplus ).
Strengths: Folds, shortens/ lenghtens, light, good mobility with it. Most sights work with it when folded.
Weaknesses: Some parts get loose after heavy/ extreme use.
Review: The Good : Fairly good and solid. Does its job (keeps your marker steady). Folds, which is very useful if you use a sight or like to use your "iron sights" (the sights that come with ur Tippmann). Allows me to use my sight (rifle scope) and iron sights when folded. When used along with a remote coil gives great mobility. A fairly good price at 65$. Holds up fairly good, almost as well as my old Car stock did. Cool locking mechanism/ easy to use.

The Bad : After a full day of paintballing in the Bush or on a speed ball course, it will sometimes need a bit of tightening on its screws/bolts. Also when using and its un-folded the pressure put on it tends to make it rotate (The little ring that holds the stock in its normal position if not tight, then the stock will be loose).

Conclusion: All in all though this is a fairly good product and is worth the 65$. It preforms as one would expect and works good. The problems about the stock being loose or rotating is fairly trivial and can be fixed during the game by just tightening the ring on the front of the stock with ur fingers. As for the loose bolts you need an allan key for that, but it just makes the stock a tiny bit wobbly and doesnt really affect ur gameplay. Not quite as steady as my old Car stock but it is a trade off between being 100% soild and folding, the capability of folding wins out.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005 at 8:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MisteR JoshuA Friday, April 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is the first stock I have used.
Marker Setup: 98 custom w/ 14" J&J 1 pc Ceramic barrel, GTA expansion chamber, Blackpoint Engineering model 98 combat folding stock, coiled remote
Strengths: Gives a rifle like stability, folds for close quarter maneuvering.
Weaknesses: CAN NOT use sights or scope without raised sight rail and stock spins in place
Review: I love the look and feel of this stock. It gives the 98 custom a rifle like feel and stability. The locking hinge is awesome, folded or unfolded it is strong and sturdy. I have not had it that long, but I can tell you that this is very well made. My only gripe (which really is a MAJOR one,) is that unless you have a raised scope mount, any sights or scopes are useless, unless you want to tilt your head a full 90 degrees. To fix this problem without buying anything else for my Tippy, I fabricated a 7/16" x 2" x 1/4" piece of aircraft aluminum. When installed between stock and joint it drops the stock about an 1 1/2" which is perfect. It fits perfectly with ANY mask. Blackpoint Engineering has just released a stock which already has an 1" drop in it, but it costs more and I personally don't think an inch is enough to accommodate any and all masks. Another thing is where the stock fits into the marker, it doesn't snug down so it can spin sometimes. But it's all gooooooooooooood.
Conclusion: This is an awesome stock, sturdy and good looking. If you don't use sights or scopes this is awesome. If you want to use a scope or even the iron sights on the Tippy be prepared to do a little fabricating or buy a raised scope mount. In my opinion despite having to fabricate a little, and even though the stock kinda spins in place it still rocks.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media