paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann E-Bolt Kit / Tippmann E-Bolt Kit / Tippmann E-Bolt Kit / Tippmann E-Bolt Kit

Tippmann E-Bolt Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann E-Bolt Kit

Paintball Custom 98 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann E-Bolt Kit
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 24
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $295

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Ebolt (electro-pneumatic conversion kit) uses a electronic control board that controls a solenoid valve. The solenoid valve operates a pneumatic hammer that opens and closes the valve. After being inactive for 10 minutes the system will go into sleep mode, with an instant awake on the first pull of hte trigger. The Ebolt has the following burst patterns: Response: fires on the pull and the release of the trigger Full Auto: 4 to 13 shots per second Turbo: starts as Semi Auto, goes to response mode as trigger speed increase past 5 times per sec. Burst Mode 1= 3 shot bursts Burst Mode 2= 6 shot bursts.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann E-Bolt Kit is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
arson51 Monday, December 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months15 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
non electronic m98
Marker Setup: 2002 cocker, chrome palmers pneumatics, freak set, hinge trigger
model 98 custom with ebolt psychoballistics drop, double trigger 14 inch sniper barrel.
Strengths: easy to install, less kick,its very fast. makes your trigger pull an adjustable mouse click. it lowers operating pressure becusae it uses a pnumatic hammer to hit hte valve pin instead of a solid hammer. it has lots of fun modes you can mess with and an adjustable ROF
Weaknesses: its a hefty 200-250 it dosent make the model 98 more efficeint because the valve still blows back even though it no longer needs too to recock. the marker still has feed tube blow back which is bad becuase with the increased rate of fire you are even more likely to chop.its LPR hose is also exposed on the outside of the marker.
Review: get it! it increase consistancy. speeed, decreases kick, and it makes the trigger really really nice. you will need a halo unless you want to play at 8bps setting. get it with an lp kit and you will have one exepnsvie badass 98 custom. current consistancy with no inline hpr is 15+- (HPA not Co2) i do recomend getting a inline reg as quickly as possible if you havent already
Conclusion: price isnt an issue this the best upgrade for the 98c and is for the true 98 enthesiast. if you arent ready to put away yoru 98 this is the upgrade for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 10th, 2003 at 8:20 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

bafrank@att.net Wednesday, April 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Have used Apex, Hammerhead Pro, Stone Cold II and Flatline barrels. 90/4500 HPA, , Stainless screw kit (removed the soft Lapco screw kit), BSA Red Dot sight, Dead on Drop, Rufus Dawg bolt, Palmer Stabilizer, Modified GTA LPK
Strengths: Eliminates the mass of the heavy hammer through the firing/re-cocking cycle. .
Weaknesses: Discontinued...Are still available from some stores online.
Review: I HAVE JUST BEEN INFORMED BY THE TIPPMANN TECHNICAL DEPARTMENT THAT THE E-BOLT HAS BEEN DISCONTINUED...TO BE REPLACED IN A FEW WEEKS BY ANOTHER ELECTRONIC FIRING SYSTEM. I was in the process of buying two of these units for both my and my son's markers. With two new Battle Stixx barrels and Halo-B hoppers we expected to be on level with the Angles out there.

-UPDATE- 6/13/05

We have now been using the E-Bolt in two 98Cs for over a month now. About 16 hours of speedball play time on each marker. First let me say that the difference between the mechanical hammer and the electronically controlled pneumatic ram is like the difference between night any day. The reduction in "shake' of the marker upon firing is dramatic. The rear bolt (hammer) moving back and forth in the original 98C tended to move one off target. The high rate of fire is awesome with a double trigger and the ability to "walk the trigger."

After initially setting velocity, I am impressed with the ability to adjust the ball velocity by adjusting the pressure the to the ram. The lightness of the trigger pull is perfect.

The accuracy of the Tippmann 98C with the correct barrel puts it in a class equal to most high priced markers. With the E-Bolt we now have the ability to lay down a rate of fire on level with all the other electro markers out there. The heavy trigger of the original limited our ability to return fire when playing in advanced level speedball. Now we can walk the trigger so that when we can pop out to shoot we can finger three to five balls on target. Overall we have discovered that we are using less paint than before due to more on target paint.

When Tippmann finally comes out with an E-Grip conversion for the 98C I think it will not bring the marker to the level of that accomplished by the E-Bolt. The lower moving mass and the reduction of wear on sear and hammer notch maintains the ruggedness of the Tippmann and the shoot-ability of a Cocker or Angel. The E-Bolt is an expensive conversion and they are becoming scarce on the market, but we now have top competitive markers with the total cost spread over a couple of years.

This past Sunday I played the whole day in the advanced field. Very much higher level of play compared to intermediate. But, for the first time I was competitive. Stayed in the game longer than ever before. Finished several games with no one out on our side. Wouldn't ever go back to a stock firing system. Well worth the cost. Several Internet stores now list it at $229.

One little last comment about the cost. Many people seem to think it perfectly acceptable to drop $250 to $300 on a HPA tank. Spending money on this inexpensive marker takes it from a pretty good solid rugged marker right up there with to the spectacular level...while maintaining its durability and long life. Except for the flashy geegaws and the blinking lights you now have a marker that is in every way equal to the top priced markers...and you have spent a total of less than $500

Further UPDATE 7/20/05 reprint

My son and I play speedball almost exclusively, playing at least once a week. We both started out with the basic 98 Custom and over time added Flatline, Hammerhead and Stone Cold II barrels.

Having modified competitive firearms for decades I set out to improve the triggers on our markers. After several tries and some short lived success I gave up. Even those changes that worked reduced the dependability of the marker.

After reading up on the E-Bolt and the E-Grip I concluded that one or the other was necessary to really improve the marker. Since the E-Grip was available only for the A-5 and would require modification to the 98C, I went looking for a good price on the E-Bolt. Just my luck that Tippmann decided to discontinue that accessory about that time.

After several weeks of Internet searching I found a dealer with stock and place orders for 2 of them. The dealer called me to say that he actually no longer had them. After some discussion he said he knew a warehouse that might have some and would get back to me. I lucked out in that this dealer found two and shipped them to me about a week later.

Before we installed the E-Bolt in my son's marker we had installed the Palmer Direct Stabilizer and also bought the Palmer Mini-Rock regulator (the Mini-Rock to supply the low pressure air for the E-Bolt)

With the Palmer we found he could drop operating pressures to about 500 psi and the marker worked perfectly and much more quietly. A few days later we installed the E-Bolt...what a difference!!!

Suddenly we had a crisp light trigger pull. That by itself was significant to me, but an E-Grip would also accomplish that. We noted that there was less recoil/movement of the marker due to the lower mass of the pneumatic ram.

Now the real advantage. Without the need for the higher pressure to blow the bolt back to the cocked position we found that we could adjust the Palmer Stabilizer to even lower pressures. Ball velocity could be maintained by adjusting the controls for dwell on the board and the pressure to the ram with the Mini-Rock. Ram pressures are limited in that if you go too high the system starts to leak, but it has been no problem to maintain the field limit of 270 fps.

Last Friday, after adjusting the Palmer to set the fps during chrono, my son realized that the gage was reading only 300 psi. The marker is operating in a whisper quiet mode. Now the Stone Cold II barrel is part of that. The way it is ported reduces report even standing right next to it when he is firing. At fifty feet away the noise level is as low as that of his friends brand new Angel.

The marker is extremely effective on the speedball course now blowing the minds of those who are firing the high end markers, Angles, Ions and Cockers. Sunday he went to Bear Creek Pursuit to play woods ball. People kept asking what he was shooting. It looked like a Tippmann but was too quiet.

In conclusion, with a slightly modified Tippmann double trigger he is able to reach 12-14+ bps. The marker is full competitive on the speedball field. The operation of the marker as it is now could not have been accomplished with an E-Grip. Quiet with low gas consumption and low recoil along with about a 4 ounce trigger pull while retaining the dependability of the Tippmann make this a formidable piece of equipment. Tippmann has made a mistake by not continuing to produce this accessory and offering it in the 98C or the Custom Pro. To equal the performance we'd have to spend $1200 to $1500 on another brand of marker. My advise, if you can find an E-Bolt, snap it up.

I love the Tippmann product, but as our playing skills have improved, had we not been able to make this upgrade, we would have moved on to a different brand of marker.

Update 7/19/06

With the low pressure kit installed there is no need for the blow back gas. That allows me to adjust the pressures to really low levels...just what it takes to propel the ball at the desired velocity. With the Hammerhead barrel and Nelson Hemorrhage paint, I maintain 275 fps at only 140 psi!!!
Conclusion: Hope TIPPMANN has something "ASTRONAMICAL" with which to replace it!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 19th, 2006 at 9:37 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

jamin Saturday, November 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Blue bead-blasted 98c, e-bolt, palmer stab /w vert. adapter, toxic performance 2x trigg /w lapco guard, 14'' dye ultralite, lapco drop/stock, dye stickies, revy 12v, polished internals, madden spring kit, delrin undertow bolt, 3000/68ci HPA /w black Redz cover.
Strengths: crazy fast
quiet
less parts
more consistent
Weaknesses: takes batteries ; )
price
Review: This is the greatest upgrade for the 98c. If you want your gun to stand out and beat up other tournament grade guns then buy this! Now you have the durability and reliability of a tippmann and the speed and consistency of a full auto tournament gun!! All my friends are now afraid of me and my 'little friend'!
Conclusion: In conclusion.....BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tippmann_expert Sunday, July 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
reponse trigger and a lot electronic guns
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
2003 32 degrees expansion chamber w/ vertical adapter
16" 32 degrees carbon fiber barrel or flatline barrel
E-bolt
lapco direct feed
evlution II loader
double trigger
32 degrees flame drop forward
Strengths: Fast, light trigger pull, cool look, several different speeds and settings
Weaknesses: Expensive and don't get it wet
Review: This is the greatest part for any tippy. i love it. Its so fast my friends are scared of it. It is really fast and powerful. but you will need a electronic or motorized loader for it and a powerfeed. Takes out most of the parts and makes the gun simpler. This part is need for tourney players. If u use co2 you will need to carry allen wrenches with you so you can keep the psi at the right level. See if the psi on low pessure hose is too high it will leak and that isn't good, it will run down all ur co2. but when the psi is set they cant touch ya. Oh yea you will need to keep spare batteries in your bag, but i haven't changed mine yet.
Conclusion: All in all this part is great for 98 customs. i love mine and i think every one needs one. I love tippmanns, when i bought it everyone was like "why dont buy a autococker instead". i told them that 98 are better be cause they never tear up and if they do it wont cost much to fix and when i when got my e-bolt they wont stand a chance. I give a 10. if i could rate any higher i would.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

compy222 Tuesday, February 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock impulse with vision, a-5 e-grip
Marker Setup: Model 98 Custom w/ a double trigger, e-bolt, evo2, CP mini-reg,
crossfire 68ci/4500psi tank, red paint (looks good), tear drop 14" or J+J 12" ceramic
Strengths: Very Fast!!!
More accurate
Doesn't Chop
Draws looks
More Consistent
Low profile
service/reliability
Weaknesses: Heavy
Uses 9v's but not often like one per 5 cases
Review: I bought mine used with a beautiful red paint job. The thing absolutely flies, got an evo2 to keep up with it and i was wondering why it misfired a lot. Took it to the shop absolutely baffled...turns out i was outrunning the evo2 and e needed a z-board. Tried a halo, but thats a little too fast for it, it double feeds. The bolt doesn't chop as much either, its a much lighter action than a mod such as the RT. The pull once adjusted is easily the equal of a stock impulse and just as fast. I don't fool with the fire modes, semi-auto is the only thing i use, but full-auto will easily outrun a revvy. Also the gun has a low profile, unlike many guns such as the impulse which are really tall, this gun is much like a shocker, though longer it is roughly same height. The gun overall all is a true joy to shoot, it will draw more looks than an A4 or timmy, and besides, no one believes me that you can walk the trigger, until is shoot them with it. The only downside is that the gun overall is rather heavy, but so is anything with a full hopper and tank. It is still lighter than a Gen-X cocker and a heck of a lot faster. Lastly Tippmann has legendary customer service, if you have a problem, call them and if its under warranty, they can send you a part or have you send your gun in and get it fixed and turned around in 24hours! So if you do manage to break it (don't ask me how) they can fix it.
Conclusion: Overall this is one of the few products i could give a 10. It is so much fun to see people point and laugh at a kid with a newbie gun. This thing is a true equalizer, you can take on people with twice the money put into a gun and still be at even with them. I can't say enough how much fun this thing is, i have had people walk right past a guy with an A4 to ask me about my tippmann. The thing rips, i was out shooting an evo2 with Y-board, thats at least 16-17bps. It is also frighteningly reliable, the only thing it doesn't like is water, other than that, do what you please, its not one of those guns that if you sneeze near it, it will break. For a truly dependable, accurate, and fast gun, this is the way to go for a reasonable amount of money.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 17th, 2004 at 10:50 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

etippmann98 Thursday, June 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
electronic spyder sear tripper crap
Marker Setup: Model 98, e-bolt, shockteck drop, bob long torpedo reg, proteam powerfeed, double trigger ,12 volt revvy, lapco bigshot ,pmi 45/4500 nitro
Strengths: Stealth, very quiet, accurate, nice rof, modes, looks
Weaknesses: DO NOT USE IN THE RAIN! BOARD WILL FRY!
Review: Once i got this i took it out to shoot, gassed it up, shot, shot like 350 fps had to turn reg down and set the rof and dwell in the gun. shot it again. like a dream it was very consistent with my reg, realy qiuet too, easily outshot my 12 volt, gonna get a halo soon. i had lpr problems had to send it back to tippmann, got it back in two days! i live in ohio! they sent me a whole new reg for free since i had a 1 year warranty. is fixed now and i love it best money ever spent on my tippmann. this is way better than the r-t anyday!
Conclusion: This is the best upgrade for your tippmann. can compete with any progun trust me ive had my tippmann for 5 years!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

james52 Friday, February 4th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Respoce, E-grip
Marker Setup: Z Intimidator
Strengths: Nothing
Weaknesses: Where to start
Litterally everything
Review: This was not my gun. This was my friends gun. anyways he wanted to get the ebolt trigger for his tippmann. he sent it in to get it put on at the local paintball shop. and bought the ebolt for 300$ Can. I don't even know where to start. We took it to the field turned it on and pressed the trigger about 4 balls just drop off out of the barrel. Some gameswe couldn't get it to work. Huge bounce problems. Pull the trigger once and like 2-3 balls come out. Then some games it wouldn't even work. We never found out why. Obviously it wasn't working right so we sent it to the tippmann plant. oh it only took 2 months to get it back. One of the worst services ever (tippmann). When we got it back it didn't even come with a blade gaurd. weird, we put c02 on it and it still hasn't changed. Still some major bounce problems. oh and yes we had it on semi not 3 round burst. So we really don't know what tippmann plant did other than take the blade gaurd. We opened the trigger and there was one of the tape worms leaking like crazy. The bolt got stuck half the time also. You have to open the trigger to change mods, which to me is retarded in my opinion. This is a piece of garbage, maybe it wasn't installed right, I don't know but from my experience this is a really bad trigger.
Conclusion: If i could i would give it lower than one but i cant so i give it a 1. I recomend this to no one, on this piece of garbage. Get a recponce, i had an a-5 with responce and it was awsome.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

pbfdex16 Thursday, April 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
um just about every gun u can thinks of
Marker Setup: 32 degrees model 98 jt two piece and a hydro flow n2 tank
Strengths: FAST!! and light trigger
Weaknesses: COST!!!!!! who wants to put 300 bucks into a $120 gun?
Review: this product is sweet it makes the 98 so fast i mean i can RIP!!! on my 98 without it but......... it makes the trigger pull so light and really cuts down on the kick and makes it easier to keep your gun on target i really like it but it is really all just personal oppinion
Conclusion: i think this is a GREAT! product but........ the price i think is crap if u are really into 98's or u want a good back up gun or heck just have the money to spend get one but if u are just shooting a 98 till u can afford a better gun then wait and get a better gun and if u are really just looking for speed then a double trigger helps a LOT!!!!! i'm going to give it a 8 because it is a great product but it is very expensive but i hear they are going to lower the price
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Intimidator_980 Friday, August 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 98 custom, E bolt, Vertical tank adapter, Phat inline reg, Crossfire 68/45, Superfly bolt, Tippmann blade trigger, 32 degrees Whisper barrel, Lapco direct feed
Strengths: Durable and reliable the most solid gun ever
Weaknesses: Slow r.o.f. and a paint to clean and maintain
Review: The E-bolt is a nice upgrade to any 98, you'll love the modes of fire (respons mode) and the fact now you're once stock sear 98 is now an electro pneumatic. it is so much better than a stock and you don't have to worry about you fingers fatiguing as much. The bad thing is the battery is a tight fit unless you can find a different kind of battery that still takes a 9v link or something like that. you will have fun with this upgrade

The best thing about it as well is that it replaces that heavy hammer for a much lighter and smaller one and another problem is you cant put it on a drop forward or something because of a little hose that connects the tank adapter with the board inside to the solenoid valve behind the hammer.
Conclusion: Any way i'll get to the point, this upgrade is a nice and quick uprade for you'r 98 its too bad they dont make one fot the A-5(besides the E-grip) this upgrade is a must have

I give it a 9.5 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 6th, 2004 at 10:24 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JWMS Perk Friday, April 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Fenix
Spyder Imagine
Marker Setup: 98 custom, e bolt, low pressure kit, boblong torpedo regulator, dye boomstick, Kapp Mini Apocolypse Drop Forward, Crossfire 68ci 3000psi Nitro tank. 12v vl rev, coil and harness, adco sure shot.
Strengths: 6 firing modes, very reliable, long lasting, very fun
Weaknesses: Busts up in the rain, (like anyone besides those crazy pros would play in rain)
Review: I have had this kit for 3 years, it has never failed me in any way. It stays quiet with my lp and boomstick, it soots crazy fast with turbo mode, give it a try. You never have to cock it. I have won many games with this one. It works for speedball or woodsball, and has very fast bps. This is one of tippmann's best upgrades besides the lp kit. I also highly recommend the lp kit with this so you won't hog all your air. It is better than spyders in ters of maodes and also you cant cheat with it. With spyders, people can say they are on semi auto, and then go full with the push of a button without notice. With this kit, it isnt hard to change, but you have to remove the grip, so you can't cheat. I'm not saying that spyder users are cheaters, and spyders are great guns, I have 2, but I prefer tippmanns over spyders.
Conclusion: I highly recommend htis product, but only if you are worthy of it. It's getting annoying these days when people who ahve never played paintball spend 1000$ on a gun. Just know yourself as a player, and have fun with this kit, it has so much capability, it may be expensive somewhat, but wouldn't you pay 200$ for 6 different awesome firing modes in one kit?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media