paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Adco Hot Shot Red Dot Sight / Adco Hot Shot Red Dot Sight / Adco Hot Shot Red Dot Sight / Adco Hot Shot Red Dot Sight

Adco Hot Shot Red Dot Sight Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Adco

Buy Adco Hot Shot Red Dot Sight

Paintball Sights

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Adco Hot Shot Red Dot Sight
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 37
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This sight has a warranty against damage from paintball hits.
Product Availability 
The Adco Hot Shot Red Dot Sight is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
woodsballrocks Sunday, June 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sure Shot- Only Tested
The Sure Shot is for players who prefer a closed tube sight over an open. Other then that they are pretty much the same.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Collaspible Stock
Tippmann Double Trigger
Adco Hot Shot Sight
Soon to come- Flatline, a real hunting scope and maybe a bipod
Strengths: price, multiple dot brghtnesses, paintball warranty, durable
Weaknesses: dirty fast, gets glare, and dot gets dull with sun
Review: Strengths

Affordable Price- At my local paintball store I found this sight for under $30 and they even installed it for me in under 2 minutes. I've seen it on plenty of websites for even less sometimes.

The Switch- On the right side of your site you will notice you have the on and off switch. There are actually 3 options to put it on. Off (all the way to the back), medium brightness (the middle option for low light situations), or high brightness of the dot (all the way in front). It gives you a variety of options so you wont always waste you battery with it on high.

Paintball Warranty- This is the thing that puts Hot Shot (and Sure Shot) higher then any other paintball scopes. If your scope gets damaged in any way you can send it via post office along with $8 to cover shipping and the warranty slip enclosed in the package back to the factory and they'll send you another one.

Durabilty- Although this sight comes with a paintballl-proof warranty, I dought your going to need it. My sight has been shot several times. Every time it has it has still worked perfectly.

Weaknesses

Getting Dirty- Since this is an open tubed sight dirt gets in it easily and often. Especially for snipers like me who are always crawling around on the ground.

Glare- Again since this is an open tubed sight it can catch a glare (more then Sure Shot). Once the sun gets in the right spot thats it for you unfortunately.

Sun- When your playing in high light situations since this is an open tubed sight (again) the sun will rush in from all angles making the dot seem way duller to the point you may not even be able to see it at all. With the Sure Shot that will never happen.

Conclusion: Overall this is a good product. But for around $5 dollars more get the Sure Shot. I am rating this a 7 because it has flaws. But its great for players who dont like to spray and pray.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, March 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Adco Red dot sight
Marker Setup: 98 custom
smart parts proggresive barrel
phyco ballistic drop foward
Adco hot shot sight
14 and 9 oz. co2 tank
Strengths: - Big red dot
- easy to see
- doesn't fade when in bright weather
- easy to mount
- two different lasers
- works great on any gun and looks awesome on all guns
- small and compact
Weaknesses: - plastic
- hard to clean
- can get a glare
Conclusion: This product is very good if u want to get better shots.
All around good product.
I would reccomend this product for any expeirenced player.
It is a good upgrade for $35
I love it i use less paintballs and i have bettershots.
Works great for any gun.
Looks great on any gun and works great for any gun.


Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, October 6th, 2001
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Not that expensive, almost guarantees a hit if you have a clear shot and a second to aim it right.
Weaknesses: Gets awkward to see through if too much splatter hits the lens. Won't adjust up and down far enough without modifications. You still have to adjust for range, as the paintball will drop further at longer distances.
Conclusion: Good, well-priced red-dot sight. Won't make you hit everything you shoot at, but it helps your aim and allows you to aim faster.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BlueWater Friday, April 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Armson Prodot Sight
Marker Setup: BeautyDYE Carter Buzzard Stock & 4oz (with Adco HOTShot red-dot)

BeastSpyder E-99 (Hardcore Uber-modded)
Strengths: Accurate
Super Bright at Night
Warranty included
Weaknesses: Battery lookslike can fall off. Can't adjust without screwdriver. Loud
Review: Now, I'll be honest. I haven't tried it in a full on game yet. I am a converted to stock-player who likes to take people out in Speedball. My opinion will be based solely just on me pointing and shooting away from the night I bought this. A total of 30 rounds were used to calibrate and test shoot.
Well, I've only tested this in-depth at night to be honest. During the day I shot with it on highest brightness intensity. I did not notice glare, but I also did not use a mask. So I am not sure how the glare on this is like other people reported.

Anyway... onto my usage.
I've used an Armson from a friend. The red dot on that is very small, and is almost impossible to see at night. It's great because it is very small and compact. Doesn't look like it can break either.

However, I have a slightly cheaper budget than my friend, and I decided to get a ADCO HOTShot. Now.. at first, I thought the thing might break, and it seemed sketchy because I noticed the price was much much cheaper than other red-dots and stores who sold them.. So I called 4 other paintball stores and some friends and asked about ADCO. They said they make great products. I was really looking for a closed tube, but they were out of stock. So I got this.

Now at first, I thought it was too huge and I was so used to Armson. However, I mounted it to my Buzzard, and was impressed. I did not fire any rounds while calibrating the eye. I calibrated the eye in less than 2 minutes. Just put my eye down the middle of the hole, lined up the red dot to my head position, and then decided to test fire.

Now... I noticed with this, that the Armson needed a little more effort to look through because it was so small. However, with this Adco... I just lined up the middle and prayed for the best.

The Situation
Low and behold... I load up a fresh 12-gram, and my first tube of paint. I stood up to 100 feet away before I notived any "1foot" off target shots. It was night time. So I took aim, took my time, lined up my eye... looked at the stop sign, aimed for the circled loop of the P in STOP. And once it was in the middle... BANG! Not 1 inch off.

I immediately started cheering as if I fought a waged out war and won.
Looked too good to be true. So I took aim... FIRRRE!!!
I hot the water-nozzle of a fire hydrant 80 feet away. Tag, right on the nut of the bolt.
Calibration: 9 out of 10
I am not sure if I got lucky in calibrating (not sure why people have hard time calibrating, maybe it is their guns or paint they are using. Only thing I didn't like was having to use a screwdriver. I like the armson

Physical Warnings:
Some people say to make sure to not lose the screws on cocking handle. So OTTERSC recommended I put small O-Rings on the screw, and they have not moved a millimeter since.
30 rounds of testing:
After shooting 3 tubes... My Buzzard with the site hit the same spot each time at 80 or so feet.. The furthest ball was 6 inches low. The rest were on the money. Nuff' Said. Get it.
Conclusion: If you have a Buzzard, the center will hit dead on with the dot lined up.
You don't even have to be prefectly behind the eye or tilt your head in a special position.
As long as sight is near the middle of the circle, that's where it will hit.

I gave it a 9 because I haven't play a whole game with it. I will post a review after the game.
________________________
4-23-04 Friday night game post-followup.I had to re-calibrate the sight. Took about 15 rounds before getting it right.. I was at an actual chrono target station today. After zeroing in on the dot, The furthest distance the ball went off coarse was maybe 2 inches at 80 feet.

Took a direct hit to the plastic. It didn't even get scratched. Didn't notice glare at night.
The red-dot is awesome. I love using this more than the armson because the zoom circle is so big.

I don't know why people are complaining about low-battery life span. My co-worker lleft my red-dot sight on today at 12 noon. I open up my marker bag, look through, and notice the sight is still on.

I played all night with it, and it didn't phase one bit.
This site looks big at first. But when I played some hardcore speedball, it helped alot.

By then end of the night, people on the other team were screaming, watch the stock guy! and doubling up on me.

If you don't want to spend lots of money, get this thing.

The site didn't let me down tonight. And worked fantastic with my Buzzard. I give it a high-9. Only because they don't make chrome colored ones to match my gun :)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 24th, 2004 at 1:14 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
AimPoint, Bear, ,BSA - Red Dot Sights & Red Dot Scopes
Marker Setup: Tippman M98 Custom
14" Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Ricochet 2K Hopper
Blackpoint Engineering Combat 98 Folding Stock
Psycho Ballistics Rocket Cocker
Psycho Ballistics Double Trigger for the Custom
Pro-Team Products Intruder Expansion System w/ 14 oz Co2 attached
32 Degrees Wooden-Camo Grips
Adco Hot Shot red dot sight
Strengths: Warrenty
Weaknesses: -Optics: The coated optics are too dark for playing in the woods. Glare across the Optics make tagets "disappear
-Range of Adjustments: The verticle adjustment will not allow for the centering of the Red Dot to the Optics past 25" on my marker. After 25" the dot is high.
-Price
Conclusion: I've used the "Red Dot type optics on my firearms, and I would have to say that Adco built this to spec's of s real firearm, not a paint ball marker.

The quality is okay, but Bear & BSA make 30-40mm Red Dot Sights of higher quality for the same or lower cost. ADDTIONALLY, Bear & BSA have 30-40mm Red Dot SCOPES for sameprice to $10 more. this one is real not effective on the built-in sight rail of the M98 Custom. If you hgave a 98 Custom, I recommend finding a different sight.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mikaspyder Monday, October 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle laser sight, adco sure shot
Marker Setup: spyder e99
pmi drop forward
adco hot shot
9 volt revy
cmi tru flight barrel
Strengths: hmmm........ i quess it makes your gun look cool(lol). If your play in woods, it can help you, nothing else
Weaknesses: the adco hot shot is sortoff useless. I thought it would help me, but it doent. I never have time to actually look though it when im playing. maybe if someone it running from bunker ot bunker it will help u line up your gun with the target
Conclusion: i would save up and get a laser sight, or just a raised sight rail. For the price, your really not taking a gambit. I bought mine for 12 bucks of a forum. If you,like playing woods, go for it
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Howlin' Mad Sunday, May 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14in Barrel
Expansion Chamber
Adco Hot Shot
Response Trigger
Custom Paint job
Pure energy coiled remote
Strengths: -Looks cool
-Accurate at close range
Weaknesses: -Innaccurate at long range
-Small on/off switch
Review: While its not a bad red dot sight I just dont find my self using it because you dont have enough time to use it as you'll get shot up if you do. I do use it for quick close range engagements though. Its VERY reliable and battery efficent.
Conclusion: Get it if you want to but i'd reccommend a red dot sight with a larger diamater veiwing port.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Snake54 Wednesday, June 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann Procarbine
16" Taso Winforce
Adco Hotshot Sight
Strengths: See Below
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is one of the Best sights!! This sight allows you to aim your marker with both eyes open just by lining the red dot up on your target. The two intensity levels allow you to see the dot almost any condition. The sight is easy to zero in, all you need is a Phillips screwdriver and a target. The sight is very sturdy despite the cheap feel. I have to admit i had doubts about whether or not the sight could survive a direct hit with a paintball but the other day it got hit right below the optics and other than being covered in paint the sight was just fine. It was very easy to clean as long as you don't mind taking it apart to get the inside. The battery life is excellent as long as you don't leave it on for weeks at a time and the batteries are very easy to find at Radio-shack.
Conclusion: Excellent Sight for the price. A must for any player that wants to be able to quickly line up shots.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, January 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Adco Champ, Adco Imp and sure shot. various winchester scopes, brass eagle red dot, various laser pointers.
Marker Setup: 2001 Autococker, Ans 45. double trigger frame, all titanium pneumatics with boreing, porting, and honing and 5 cc expansion chamber. Aka Tornado valve, palmer stabilizer regulator, ADCO Hot shot sight, various barrels ( usually a 12 inch dye aluminum ) lapco drop forward, homemade shot computer and shot selector (semi, full auto @10 BPS, 2round, 3 round,5 round 7round and 10 round burst) and homemade M1tactical paint grenade launcher.
Strengths: Excellent field of view, larger than the imp... Excellent paintball warranty. variable brightness selector. Looks awesome. and is God awfully accurate at any range. Heres how you do it- get an accurate gun with consistent shot velocity, and red paint. Point the red dot at something at any range up to 130 ft, shoot once-Walla the red dot stays on what you shot when sight is removed.
Guaranteed the best sight out there
Weaknesses: Dot is too dim for day use. Glass lense is tinted. all plastic construction, yes I am very hard on reviews (the highest rating I have ever given is 8 on anything)
ADCO, make a new sight with same design, but make it out of metal, make the lense only reflective on one side for the dot, and don't tint it. and make the dot 5 times brighter, but keep the variable brightness switch.
Conclusion: I don't care what gun you have or what type of recball you play...get one-and that goes for you pro teams too-Dynasty, and IronMen- all of you!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pmfman Wednesday, June 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used a hotshot, tasco, and vulcan
Marker Setup: Vulcan Series 5000
Tippman A-5
Icon-X
Spyder TL-X
Brass Eagle Blade (great hell-raising gun)
Strengths: Durable
Compact
Easy on batteries
Weaknesses: Easy to accidently bump switch on
Takes patients to perfectly calibrate
Review: This sight is very durable and reliable but when i carry it in my paintball bag i commonly find that it was accidently turned without me knowing, but since a battery goes a long way and still get afew months out of a battery from playing an average of 5 days a week for atleast an hour.
Conclusion: It is a good sight which i would recomend to players of all experience level that don't need zoom
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media