paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Ground Zero Intimidator / Bob Long Ground Zero Intimidator / Bob Long Ground Zero Intimidator / Bob Long Ground Zero Intimidator

Bob Long Ground Zero Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Ground Zero Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Ground Zero Intimidator
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 83
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1000

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The GZ Intimidator was designed exclusively for Team Ground Zero. Knowing that a top professional team would be relying on this marker, Bob Long made sure to include everything a top player would need. First, it has a lightened body and custom milling. Playing all day with a heavy gun is no way to win a tournament. Second, the GZ Intimidator comes with a vertical regulator to fine-tune the velocity and prevent velocity spikes. Also, a pressure gauge comes standard so you know what the operating pressure of the marker is. Most important is the trigger, and there is no doubt about it the GZ Intimidator is lightning fast! With three distinct adjustments on the trigger you are sure to find a setting just to your liking.
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Ground Zero Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Outlander Sunday, June 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing but blowbacks.
Marker Setup: Timmy GZ | WAS 2.7 | Dye Boomstick | ANS Gen-X Reg | Egg II | CP Adjustable Ram Cap | Bulldog 47/3000 Tank | Reaper Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
WAS Board, Adjustable Ram cap, a new reg if you feel like it
Strengths: Fast
Consistent
Accuartate
No chops in "Forced" mode
Efficiency
Quiet
Weaknesses: Stock reg (I didn't like it)
No LCD
1st shot dropoff
Review: Let me start by saying that this is the best gun I've ever used. I've owned several blowbacks and tested cockers and Shockers (just as accurate/reliable/consistent but Shockers are gas hogs).

The accuracy on this gun is incredible if you have the right size paint. It will shoot within a very small radius at about 100 ft. Consistency is a plus too, the ball goes almost the same distance every time. If you put the gun in forced mode you will almost NEVER chop a ball because of your bolt. One may break in the barrel, but that's a different story. The gun is also very efficient. With my 47/3000 i get around 700+ shots. This gun is also one of the quietest I've ever heard.

I didn't like the consistency of the Torpedo, but it's good. Don't buy another one unless you've got cash to spare. There is no LCD in the gun, so you have to program if via the LED, which is a pain. There is also some 1st shot dropoff. Not a big problem, but annoying.
Conclusion: You MUST MUST MUST MUST buy an adjustable ram cap. This will insure that the ball always breaks the eyes because the bolt isn't putting it in a weird position. Buy this gun, you won't regret it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

wdpball8706 Wednesday, December 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel LCD , LED, dye cocker, 2001 cocker, impy vision, shocker
Marker Setup: GZ Timi with full freak, 68ci 4500 psi maxflo and ricochet
Recommended
Upgrades:
fast hopper, even though the gz has an eye its never fun to misfire or miss that one shot that can end the game
Strengths: The gun is really fast and accurate. The gun has an eye that only allows that gun to shoot 1 ball per second when there is no paint in the breach. The gun is very light yet durable. The trigger is easy to adjust.
Weaknesses: THe foregrip is moved too fat to the front making the gun uncomfortable to shoot sometimes, it might just be me in that case. THe gun also has a bigger kick than my angels but its not too bad not to play with it. Changin the battery is a hassle when u have to take off the grips and then the left side cover. The batter is also too close to the bottom of the grip frame and sometimes a long screw that holds on a bottom line will go into the battery and kill it.
Conclusion: Overall good gun, i would have made some minor changes to it if i was Bob Long. Shoots great tho and doesnt chop, only occasional breaks. Fast and accurate.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bushyman2 Sunday, January 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
matrix lcd, basically everything
Marker Setup: 2k2 gz red to black reverse fade 14in black freak kit warped sportz drop w/ a 32* on/off a 45/45 crossfire lpr tank egg 2 loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
u dont need ne thing but if you want ne thing really
Strengths: everything i love the rate of fire the gas efficiency accuracy everything is just great about this gun
Weaknesses: the only thing i found wuz that the bolt hit the second ball and then wut happened wuz the balls would be shot back up to the hopper but easily solved wit the egg
Conclusion: great gun deffinitly reccommend it to ne one cuz its an all around great gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbwriter Saturday, March 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
all bob long intimitadors
Marker Setup: gz timmy wit 68 3000 psi tank glidator drop and the evvolution 2(eggolution) oh yeah a j&j full tilt 2 pice barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
u need a fast hopper like an egg a warp feed and a new barrel preferably J&j
Strengths: its really really fast it dosnet brake paint and is precise
Weaknesses: it really dosent haVe any if u need it done this gun can do it
Review: this body is perfect it is really good looking and provides all the strengths u need to win this is the best marker out there pretty much and a great price so u shold get this when my dark cocker was broke i borrowed this from a friend and used it then took it to a tournament and came in 2nd place which was pretty good and i won prize money so get this and eveyone will stare they will say hey look at that guy wit the gz timmy he must be serious about paintball and he must be really really really good
Conclusion: this gun is supper awosome it gets everything done its fast precise and accurate there is nothing wrong with it i give the gz timmy a 10 bec it is just one of the best markers out there and the price is really good(even though i got mine brand spanking new for 500 $) u shold get this if u want to win
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

amz370 Sunday, April 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
timmy with unkown upgrades and stock timmy
angel and impies shockers
cockers f5
Marker Setup: 98 tricked out cocker, bob long reg and barrel, free flow internals, kapp cocking rod, custom trigger frame. custom milling and anoedizing 88ci/3000psi cross fire tank, nw on off adapter and nw spoon drop. rock reg. free flow beaver tail
Recommended
Upgrades:
e loader, good air system will help few things here and there don't know that much
Strengths: i got like 14 bps
anti chop eye
looks sweet
2 fps movement in like 5 games
cumfy wumfy
one of the easiest litest pulls ever
accurate
uses cocker threads (just like any timmy but my friend who has it had a cocker so he's got some good barels
looks tight
lite
Weaknesses: i want it, can't have it can't afford it
semi only, but who wants to shoot that fast ne ways plus i can already do it
ur gonna have to face 1
Conclusion: get i u can, they are worth it, best electro that ive ever seen
let me put it this way
my friend who has it has an angel for back up (look to see him kick ass this weekend in la rooky devision
he chose this over a free flow with a race gun grip and many other electro choices

i wish the scale went higher than 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jonnysmoltz Tuesday, March 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Cockers
Angels
Spyders
Tippmans
Marker Setup: GZ Timmy
68-4500 Crossfire
System X - X-ten Long Drop
12v Revvvy w/ x-board
Several different barrels
Recommended
Upgrades:
A halo b or a evo 2 is a must.
WAS board
Barrel system
Strengths: This thing is amazing. Accuracy of a cocker and the speed of an angel. Cost effective.
Weaknesses: The only bad thing is the amount of paint you will shoot and I guess that's not all that bad:)
Review: Great marker! I've had the pleasure of shooting some really nice guns and I believe this is my favorite yet! Very fast in fact its faster than any angel I have shot, and as accurate as a cocker. Everyone says its very quiet, I'm just happy I haven't been on the recieving end yet. Its also effiecent. I could shoot a hopper and 3 pods on a 2500 fill out of a 68-4500 tank.
Conclusion: I believe this is the best gun (timmays in general) on the market. Go ahead and get one, you know you want it:)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

cardude1 Saturday, October 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
cockers
timmys
spyders
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath
T-board
many other things
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck
Barrel
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Weaknesses: Kinda Heavy
Feed Lock was too big for evo 2
Review: At Ben Davis field at a rookie tourney, someone let me use this extraordinary gun. I put on my halo and let this baby rip. I barely touched the trigger and then started walking it easy. I got it at least up to 18 balls a second very easily. It is a bit on the heavy side though with nitro and everything else. The feed neck also has some problems. My egg didn't even stay on so i kept the halo on.
Conclusion: Very good gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blue Baller Thursday, August 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Matrix- It was a lot heavier and more ineffecient. Ball on ball accuracy though.
Angel Speed- This gun had a big disadvantage in that it had no eyes stock, but it was extremely fast and I found it easier to snap with. I never once chopped even with no eyes.
Other timmies- The new models feel tighter and a lot more balanced, but in the 2k2 generation, this timmy is on the same level as the rest. Shoots just the same.
Marker Setup: GZ intimidator, 2 piece 16" CP, LCD Clamshell, WAS 2.6, PBK Ram Bumper, Twistlock Feedneck, Unimount
Recommended
Upgrades:
*New barrel
*New board
*Clamping feedneck
*Aftermarket trigger

The rest is really preference. Stock this gun works great for me, but if I were to pick up some Violent Products delrin pistons, I have a feeling I could go a bit easier on the lpr and reduce the kick and sound signature a bit.
Strengths: Fast, very light, effecient, easy to maintain.
Weaknesses: Not that it has effected me ever, but feels like a toy (kind of).
Review: I have owned almost any high end gun out there, be it angels, matrices, and several timmies. I keep coming back to timmies for some reason (this is my fourth intimidator). I get a kick at how simple these things are, and yet how great they shoot. The operation is simple enough to understand, and I find them pretty easy to take apart.

The maintenance isn't bad at all. Every other case, I'll re-lube my ram and after about a month, my reg pistons. It doesn't take a whole lot of skill at cleaning guns to do so. The barbs can be picky but I've only ever broken one, and it wasn't even me who broke it. Just be careful with them and they won't give you any trouble. My intimidator has never gone down on me.

The thing I like most about Intimidators is that they all pretty much shoot the same. What's good about this is that you can buy a cheaper Intimidator, like a GZ, and put a few upgrades on it, and it'll rip. At least I know mine does.

Did I mention they shoot fast?
Conclusion: I'd recommend this timmy or any other. No matter what, you're getting a solid gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mtbclay Sunday, January 5th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98, reliable but no comparison. E99 Spyder fast but not as fast as the Timmy.
Marker Setup: GZ polished red to black fade, stock barrel, eVolution 2 loader, trigger upgrade
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, an air tank that can be regulated down to 500 psi
Strengths: I decided to make a big jump after using a stock tippman 98 for the last four years, Mainly because I wanted to start playing more seriously than I have been.
I went with the recommendation of my local store and decide on an Intimmidator
I wanted to get an Ironmen or a Dragon, but settled on the GZ for its simplicity. It will shoot just as fast the Ironmen or Dragon but for less money.
I bought an E99 for my daughter, I thought it was fast, that was until I bought the GZ for myself. I love the way it shoots (fast). Now I just need to improve my skills to keep up with the GZ.
I was amazed during the first day of use that a ball got jammed in the bolt but did not break just a bit tweaked, but that only happened once. I shot about 1300 rounds that day.
I found the owner manual to be pretty detailed with schematics and directions on disassembly and assembly , and a geat section on trouble shooting.
Weaknesses: The first day that I used the GZ it developed on air leak, I cycled it a few times and the air leak seemed to stop . The second time I took it out I charged the air tank and I could hear a more serious air leak. Upon disassembly I found that the solenoid was leaking. So I was not able to use it and had to resort to using the Tippman 98 again.
The tigger grip area is really tight on the inside so care must taken with the length of the screw that are used to secure th drop forward and the grips (however the owners manual does point this out)
Conclusion: I love the way the GZ shoots, I am hoping that adding a barrel upgrade will dial in the accuracy a little tighter. Like anything else the GZ needs some preventative maintenance (cleaned and greased) to keep it at optimum level.
I am hoping that the solenoid problem is just a small gliche that can be ironed out. .
I feel that the GZ is easily self servicable with the exception of the solenoid (the owners manual advises against disassembly of the solenoid) which needs to be replaced as a unit. I don't know how expensive that will be once the warranty expires. So I am going to give the GZ a 7 rating (for now) until I see what is going to happen with its reliablility of the solenoid.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

kokoklownanr Monday, September 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing electronic, so nothing really...
Marker Setup: 2002 Ground Zero Intimidator that has been 2K5'd
2005 Critical Frame
2005 LPR block
M3 Infamous Tadao board
Hybrid ram sleeve
Hybrid ram cap
Clamping feed neck
CP Regulator
Bob Long On/Off ASA
CP 14' .685 classic one piece barrel
Crossfire 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everything to make it 2K5'd
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Smooth
Classic
Fun to use
Simple to maintain
Weaknesses: Heavy
Bulky
Tall
Review: Well I traded a Mac-1 Anihhalator with tons of up's for this puppy. I had to get a new solenoid, full set of barbs, and a new membrane pad, but after those it works flawlessy!!!! My set up is the Timmy, a CP one piece, a VL Revy, and a Crossfire 68/4500. So with a Revy as you all know all I can shoot is 12-14 BPS.....Oh well, this gun is freeken awsome and I would recommend this gun to anyone who can find one for less than $350'ish.
Conclusion: Awsome gun, rips just as fast as a brand new gun!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media