paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Adco Sure Shot Red Dot Sight / Adco Sure Shot Red Dot Sight / Adco Sure Shot Red Dot Sight / Adco Sure Shot Red Dot Sight

Adco Sure Shot Red Dot Sight Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Adco

Buy Adco Sure Shot Red Dot Sight

Paintball Sights

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Adco Sure Shot Red Dot Sight
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 49
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $40

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This sight has a warranty against damage from paintball hits.
Product Availability 
The Adco Sure Shot Red Dot Sight is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Stormbringer Saturday, November 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
aiming down the barrel....
Marker Setup: as of 11-1-03
spyder tl+ w/
smart parts AA 2k3 barrel- 16inch
adco sure shot dot sight
ricochet AK hoper
Strengths: cheep
warranty
scares newbs
Weaknesses: dosen't show up well sometimes
cheep
batery holder (it's weak!)
Review: ok.. I waited a long while to write this, to see how it worked "long term" for my play stile.

Strengths:

1)- It's cheep! this both helps and hinders, but you don't have to work about breaking $80 worth of equipment. ( I got my sight for less than $30 shipped)

2)- the warranty is nice- after playing wit this for six moths, someone at my field was shooting hot ( hot enough to get kicked of the field for the rest of the day- I don't know how hot beyond that ) and my front lens had started to crack ( I'd been hit there several times before). He managed to shoot me on the front of the sight, and break the front glass (paint went down the tube- ugly mess). so I sent it in, and across country ( CA to MA) it took less than a week (4 business days) for me to get a brand new one sent back.

3)- scares the pe outa newbs - get this baby sighted in, go to the field, and after two or three games, they will all be calling you "sniper" and cowering behind their bunker every time you take a shot.

Weaknesses

1-) Ok, it's cheep. Im sure you ca buy a tank of a sight that has a better filed of vision, that will never break, and does everything but make the ball curve to you intended target- not thins sight. it's simple ( figuring out how it works is simple enough ) and made of plastic, so if you play hard ( rough perhaps) and get dirty allot, this sight is probably gonna break on you sometime in your near future ( stuff happens ), but the warranty helps, $8 = brand new sight.

2)- the battery is held in by a paper-clip-of-a-contact and it did get bent (on the one I sent in just recently) but a thick rubber band placed over he contact and around the tube keeps it on nice and tight. simple fix.

3)- the dot completely disapperes on me sometimes- Ive attributed this mostly to my polarized sunglasses I usually wear outdoors (at certain angles the dot gets filtered out) and even when im not wearing my sunglasses, it can be real weak on a sunny day. quick fix- get a pair of cheep kiddy sunglasses (the kind with the plastic lenses) and cut a circle out of them. place it over the lens and you have a cross between a red dot and a occluded (sp?) sight. take it of in low light conditions though...

4) Ugly writing on the sides- but a sharpie fixes this just fine :)
Conclusion: the biggest problem with sights, is adjusting for the flightpath of the ball, if you have a gun that just sprays, there is no point in a sight, but if you want to make that first shot count, get one.

this sight is nice because I don't have to worry about it (ok I fiddle with it, but I like to do that ) it's cheep to get, and cheaper to replace. it's got it's problems, but it's worth the price and the warranty helps a lot
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PBCpedro Thursday, July 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A5 sight, Spray & Pray
Marker Setup: Tippman A5, Flatline, Double Trigger, Remote, Adco Sure Shot
Strengths: Inexpensive, Easy set-up, Improves accuracy, Adjustable dot intensity
Weaknesses: Blocked by hopper, Harder to remove hopper (at first), Pretty darn big
Review: Well after reading many reviews and opinions about sights, I said what the hell, it's only 30 bucks, and bought the Adco Sure Shot. It's a nice looking sight, has that cool red front lens - increases your cool factor. Set up was easy at first, lock it onto the sight rail and it's rock solid, very durable. BUT.. then I tried to put the hopper on my A5. Bad news... it wouldn't fit. I had to remove the rear adjustable sight on the A5, which you literally just yank out. That let me move the sight back about another 3/4 of an inch. With that the hopper goes on, but it still barely touches the front corner of the sight. People that know the A5, you know you have to spin the hopper clockwise to "unlock" it and remove it. Well the sight being on the gun prevents this. You gotta' use a little muscle and twist it counter clockwise and pull it out - which really isn't a problem. So then I take a gander through the sight... first thing I notice: the hopper blocks over half the view through the sight (people without A5's this probably won't be much of a problem). BUT... having researched the sights I knew this wouldn't be a problem. You just sight it with both eyes open. keeping your left eye in line with the sight. This way your left eye sees the red dot, and your right eye sees the target. It basically looks like you have a lazer sight lighting up your target. If you move your gun.. the red dot moves equivalently, so it really feels like that red dot is dead-on right down the center line of your gun....Nice. Okay... out to test it. At first the sight was a little off, but it wasn't too bad - maybe 6" to a foot at 30 yards. I messed around a little and seemed to recall that I was more accurate with the stock A5 sight. so... I went back inside, took of the Sure Shot, put the stock sight back on and re-tested. It was definitley not as accurate as the Sure Shot. Back inside, put the Sure Shot back on... back outside...this time with a screwdriver to adjust it. I took a few shots and adjusted the sight - still at 30 yards - until I got it pretty much dead on. I'd say all the shots were going within about a 8-10 inch circle - not bad for paintballs. After the testing, I decided I'd stick with the sight. Definitely more accurate and more consistent than the stock A5 sight.
Conclusion: Overall, I'd say it's a darn good sight. It's relatively inexpensive and it seems pretty durable. But then comes the debate of whether or not you "need" a scope. I say that if you play speedball and arena type games, don't waste your money. But.. if you do scenario & woods type games (like me) then it's a good investment IF (and that's a big if) you have a good barrel. I have the A5 flatline which basically rocks the friggin' house, so accuracy isn't a problem with that barrel. We all know that paintballs aren't very consistent in flight pattern, but if you have a good barrel, and an actual opportunity to 'snipe' someone - such as in a woods game - then this sight will definitely improve (but not guarantee) your chances of getting a hit on your first shot. I'm keeping it on my gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

gimpy123 Wednesday, July 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Flatline Barrel, Pro-Team Collapsable Stock, Remote, Adco Sure Shot Sight
Strengths: I've only tested it, but i noticed a few nice things. It has a fairly wide field of view. Feels fragile at first (actually the little lens cap on the front broke installing the thing) but if you get it put on well it's quite stable. Warranty against damage anyway, so who cares. Red dot is excellent. Has 2 settings, but even the first one showed up fine in the middle of the day, unless you point it at the sun, but why the heck would you be doing that?
Weaknesses: Has a fragile feel. Doesn't fit very securely onto a flatline barrel system, but that's the barrel shroud's problem, not the sight. Also, if you have a flatline and you get the sight, you're gonna have a problem with your hopper blocking your view. I'm gonna see if I can solve that with a new elbow or an extension. Also, getting a smaller 40 round hopper may be better. If you're sniping with a sight you probably don't need more that 40 rounds anyway.
Conclusion: Definately a good buy, though a little pricey.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

woodsballer95 Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
looking down barrel of gun (not really a product....i guess..)
Swat Force Red Dot - Better than the Hot Shot, but over twice the price...
Marker Setup: Tiberius 9, Swat Force red dot sight
Strengths: Easy to put on and adjust. easy to spot dot.
Weaknesses: Not many. sometimes forget to turn off?
Can be fragile if dropped
Review: This is a great sght. I got it for christmas, and played my first game with it today.
First impressions:
Intimidating. There was the ppl i was with and another group. i could hear them murmering "woah, that guys got a laser..." and "check out that guys laser!" , stuff like that.
Everybody on my team seemed to think i was a pro becuase of it. they listened to my every command.
On to actual perfomance. Wow. This things good. Sturdy. Had no problem seeing dot at all. I took a direct hit to the side of it, nothing happened. (Except it got uncalibrated, i didnt notice untill near the end of the night. explains why i couldn't hit to much after that.) If you think this will be an issue, just bring a small screwdriver onto the feild with you. Anyway, this sight improved my accuracy to amounts you cant imagine. No more spray and pray, and i will never go back. Most of my kills used two shots, and the second shot was usually a safety shot incase the first one bounced. Headshots galore, many people in alot of pain. worth every pennie. the only problem is when your looking through just the site. I usually find my target, then put the site on them. The site doesn't have a great feild of vision, and becuase the dot is bright around it can make it hard to see whats around it. Still its nothing compared to how much your accuracy will improve.
It will improve your accuracy amazingly, people will fight over whos team your on becuase there scared of you, and its very sturdy and easy to put on. what more do you want?

EDIT: please keep in mind im not rambo. I don't run up and get into firefights. im the kind of guy who hangs back and makes his shots count. If your rambo, you probably shouldn't get this sight. If your a sniper, and you like making your shots count, this is for you. And oh ya, the battery didn't look like it would stay in to great, but some electrical tape fixed that up. You can't even tell i have the electical tape on it.
Conclusion: Buy it. Right now. Invaluable. Im not joking. Ill shoot you from were im sitting right now at my computer. And ill hit you becuase i have that sight.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 14th, 2007 at 11:34 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dd12dd Thursday, December 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
REgular sights
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom, RT trigger, rocket cock, universal drop forward, remote setup, double trigger, red dot sight. Terminator barrel
Spyder Fenix, Lapco Bigshot Barrel, Crossfire 68/3000
12V rev w/x-board
Strengths: Very accurate, was shooting screw heads from about 20 feet away
Weaknesses: takes time to dial in, but once it is adjusted its very accurate
Review: I think this is a great sight, price means nothing, I think this would be a good sight for double the price. Contrary to what others post, their are two intensities for the red dot, and on the highest intensity it can easily be seen outside on a very sunny day
Conclusion: If you are looking for a sight get this one, can not go wrong for the price, plus its extremely accurate and it mounts easily and comes with a warranty
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ByPermitOnly Monday, June 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Adco Hot Shot (Better in some ways, worse in others, I will explain in the review)
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom with 14" Smart Parts Tear Drop Barrel, Ricochet 2K Black Hopper with counter, Worr Gas 70ci 4500psi Nitrogen tank
Strengths: Attaches easily
Looks cool
Pretty Cheap
Weaknesses: Not very Durable
Red dot is extremely weak
Sub-par performance
Review: This will be the first review I've ever given such a low score and there is a good reason. I read all the reviews on this product. All positive and above a 7. Don't be mislead by the reviews. In all honesty, the sight that comes built in to my tippmann 98c is more useful. The Adco SS sight sits well above the gun and even after a lot of adjusting i was unable to line up shots from about 50 feet away to a target about the size of a human torso. The sight broke my first time out when I slipped and fell. But even before it broke, the red dot is NOT visible outdoors and only faintly visible indoors. The sight ends up getting in your way more than it does any good. Unless your gun has no sight I wouldn't spend your money on this. You could spend your money more productively than I did.
Conclusion: If you're dying for a sight this is said to be one of the better ones for a good price. But for sight newbies (like I was), keep in mind that sights have no zoom and can be next to useless other than their looks. Honestly, I would have taken the cheaper Hot Shot over this as the built in targeting for the Hot Shot was way more visible than the Sure Shots Red Dot which was rarely visible. Below Average but not horrible.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Kingfisher_X4 Friday, January 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Red Dot
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom w/14" J&J Ceramic Barrel, 12" DYE Ultralite Barrel, ADCO Sure Shot Sight, Dead On X-Core Expansion Chamber, Psycho Ballistics Drop Forward, Lapco Rear Velocity Adjuster, GTA Double Trigger Kit, Response Trigger System, Ricochet 2000 Electronic Hopper

2 ArmoTech Zeus Pistols (Sidearms)

Tippmann Pro/Carbine Stock

Pure Energy 20 oz. CO2 tank w/butt plate, Pure Energy 12 Oz. CO2 tank w/butt plate, Pure Energy 9 Oz. CO2 Tank w/butt plate

*Coming Soon: ArmoTech Mars EVO*
Strengths: -Closed in so you don't get a reflective glare from the sun
-Great brightness settings for different areas and sunlight
-Can see the dot even in the middle of the day
-Durable
-Batteries are cheap and easy to find
-Good field of view
Weaknesses: -Plastic, but they all are, so that's nothing to count off against it
-Little bit on the tall side, but its nice if you don't want to buy a raised sight rail or you have a long neck
-Weird ripple effect as you're looking through the sight, but you can still see well
Conclusion: Definitly a good buy. Very cheap, and a good addition to any support or overwatch player. And hey, I use one and I'm a mainline player. It's great!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

newmann_360 Saturday, February 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 98c sight
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c, 32 Degrees coiled remote, Adco Sure Shot red dot sight, TAPCO adjustable stock, Cyclone hopper, LAPCO Big Shot 14" barrel
Strengths: Fits securely to the 98
Very simple to use
Cheap
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Difficult to clean
Can be annoying to adjust
Review: First off, if you're going to buy a sight, make sure that you have a good barrel.

Strengths -


Fits securely to the 98 - This is pretty self explanatory. Once you tighten the screws on the sight, that thing isn't moving.

Very simple to use - It's pretty straightforward, screw the thing on, and once you go zero it in all that you have to do is flip the switch and you're good to go.

Cheap - I got this sight for $32 at specialopspaintball.com. I think $32 is a good trade for the increase in accuracy that you get with this sight.

Accuracy - After zeroing in this sight, I can hit trees that are about 3 inches in diameter from 20-30 feet away on my 2nd or 3rd shot.


Weaknesses

Difficult to clean - I always clean all of my equipment after I go paintballing and this sight seems to have alot of little crevices that dirt can get into, and the lenses can be a little difficult to clean around the edges. For the lenses, I use a couple Q-tips to clean the smudges of paint from them.

Can be annoying to adjust - To adjust this sight, you need a screwdriver. I went into a game and my sight was off by about 3 feet to the left and I don't carry a screwdriver around with me in a game so I couldn't adjust it. It can just be a little annoying to adjust sometimes.



EDIT: 6-19-07

I recently took this with me to Oklahoma D-Day, a week long scenario event. At this event, I got shot in the gun several times. That paint got on my sight and my battery. I believe that, because of my battery being covered in paint, my red dot was very faint. I would suggest covering the battery with something to keep paint and other junk out of it. Other than that, I have found that I use my red dot almost every time that I shoot.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this sight to anyone with an accurate gun that is looking for just a little boost in accuracy.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 19th, 2007 at 9:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lineazy89 Saturday, November 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann stock sight
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, flatline barrel, adco sureshot sight, coiled remote, tippmann car stock, 20oz co2
Strengths: can always see the red dot
LOOKS AWSOME
warrenty
installation is a breeze
Weaknesses: Battery holder a bit weak-but not a problem
Review: I wanted to improve my tippmann and figured that a sight was a way to go. I came home after buying it, took it out, read the directions(it took 2 seconds it had to be only 50 words) and put it on. It was really easy. I went outside w/ a screwdriver and calibrated it.

First thing, installation is a breeze, don't worry about installing it, even a caveman can do it.

Second, it works! I had i calibrated in a few minutes and i can aim, fire and hit within an inch of where i aimed. You have to give it a break, its only a sight, not a scope, therefor its not gonna pinpoint the same spot every time, you need a scope for that but this site is really good at improving overall accuracy (if you are shooting at a person, and inch shouldn't even matter unless your aiming at a finger or something, cant see when you would do that.)

Third, its got a warranty, how great! EVEN AGAINST A SHOT FROM A PAINTBALL! how can you go wrong! if it gets broken for ANY reason, you send it to them and they send you a anew one.

Fourth, its durable. Ive dropped my gun a few times w/ it on and it has landed on the sight but it didn't break, its very sturdy, doesn't rattle or anything.

I havnt tested it on the flatline yet, but i plan to and i doubt that the sight will be blocked by the Hopper as some say. Ive held the hopper where it would be w/ the flatlin and it didnt seem to matter.

The only possible problem is the battery holder but i dont think it really matters, its not like it would fall off, its just that its a small metal piece.

As a side note, the site, mounted on a tippmann, looks awesome. I can tell you that new players are often scared when they see things like a red dot site and this this looks intimidating. Having a weapon that intimidates the opponents has won a good many paintball games because the noobs tend to run away from you.
Conclusion: I definatly recommend the sight. GET THIS. its loads better than the stock sight and will improve your accuracy. I give it a ten out of ten because i can see almost no flaws. Its cheap to.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FOXRCNG11 Wednesday, June 6th, 2001
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: I think that this is a very reliable scope, it is very accurate and stays very consistent. It is very easy to see the bead even in the brightest of days.
Weaknesses: I think that it could be made out of a stronger material, I took two bad spills and this thing just fell apart...But I don't think that there's many other things that they could make it out of.
Conclusion: I really like it, it is a great scope but I could also use a little bit of improvement durability wise.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media