paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun Basic / M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun Basic / M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun Basic / M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun Basic

M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun Basic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount M3 Paintball Products

Buy M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun Basic

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun Basic
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 133
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The world's first electronic marker under $200.00.
Product Availability 
The M3 Paintball Products Black Dragun Basic is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Durrell Thursday, December 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra..piece o crap
Brass Eagle Marauder..piece o crap even more than the Xtra
Marker Setup: M3 Black Dragun Basic- Blue
48/3000 PSI Pure Energy Nitro Tank
12v Revvy w/ X-board-black
Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop Forward w/ On-Off-chrome
Bob Long Torpedo Regulator-chrome
Recommended
Upgrades:
N2 tank because the CO2 freezes up in cold weather
the revvy is a must! i shot about 200 balls today in 30 degree weather with only 2 ball breaks.
a longer barrel
any kind of exterior body upgrades such as a drop forward or anything like that
Strengths: 1.5mm trigger pull,accurate with the stock barrell,light,hardly ever chops a ball
Weaknesses: Loud,the grips are horrible,not the best looking gun in the world
Review: This gun shoots better than it looks, but after a few body upgrades(i.e. drop forward,maybe some stickers,etc.) it's definitely worth the 200 dollars. I got an electronic hopper and the nitro and shot this gun in 30 degree weather today and only shredded 2 balls...one without the hopper turned on and one with the hopper turned on. It was not very accurate out of the box because it was shooting over 300 FPS so the balls were flying all over the place.But after a quick turn of the velocity adjuster it was fine.

Also, occasionally if you shoot really fast then you have to recock the gun which can start to be a pain..

It didnt sputter or freeze up at all..it shoots very smooth. I had to be very careful with the trigger because touching it causes the gun to fire, which also causes it to be just like a full auto when walking the trigger. i can outshoot my dad's spyder imagine when it is in full auto with no problem. this is a great gun!
Conclusion: I would buy this gun over a Kingman Spyder any day of the week. This gun shoots awesome and I haven't had a single problem with it. My little brother has the same gun and he's had it for a month and hasn't had to clean it yet. He hasn't chopped a single ball. I've only chopped about 4 , but I shoot much faster than he does so it makes a big difference.If you have the money and you can find this gun, it is well worth the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 22nd, 2004 at 10:34 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cockerfan123 Sunday, September 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippman A-5 w/ response
tippman m98
Marker Setup: black dragun basic with vl 200, pure energy c02, all stock except for a smart parts progressive
Recommended
Upgrades:
progressive helped alot
(stock barrel is only eight inches)
Strengths: Light
Cheap
Fast for what it is
Nice chrome looks
Short trigger pull
Weaknesses: Leaked air
Inaccurate stock barrel
possibly THE slowest field stripping time of any gun
Review: overall this was a fairly good gun for the price $180 for mine. unfortunately the crome on the foregrip chipped off making it not match with the rest of the gun. after some time it leaked Co2 from the fore grip. i replaced every o ring in the gun and still couldn't figure out what was happening. didn't bother to take it in to a pro shop so i don't know what caused it. sorry.

Its strengths are its quite light. it is a great gun for the low price (i dont know any other electros for under $200). seeing as it was a black dragun it fired relatively fast. i got it up to about 8 bps at the very max. i highly recomend the use of a new barrel seeing as stock is only eight inches. if you chopped a ball in this barrel you were done. very slow field stripping. when this happened i would just gave up. also this gun seemed to pinch alot of balls. another strong point was that when you unscrewed the co2 it didnt spray everywhere like on any other low end gun like a spyder/pirahna. incredibly short trigger pull.
Conclusion: Good for the price but you had to used expensive paint otherwise it would chop alot. Leaked air too much.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 14th, 2004 at 3:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Panther212 Wednesday, April 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tried several Spyder, Tippmans, and some crap guns.
Marker Setup: I'm currently running a stock Dragun basic in red, a regular hopper, and 20 oz C02.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The most important upgrades you can buy for this gun is a barrel and power hopper...

I hear that a new regulator and running nitro makes a difference
Strengths: electronic trigger, vertical feed, drop forward, great shots per sec, overall good quality
Weaknesses: barrel accuracy, velocity not as consistent as I'd like (both easily fixed)
Review: Before this gun I actually bought a crap gun called the VL Revelation... I got it remanufactured, which definitely was a mistake. A few months later it seized.

I finally got desperate to go play pball and bought a Dragun. Got the basic model for 110 bucks and it was well worth it. Took it out the same day, and played for 5 hours. In that time, I took out a good amount of people for my skill level. Didn't have the power hopper and it still performed very well. M3 seems to be a pretty good company, so no need to worry.

Best bang for the buck, you won't be disappointed. Same as or better than much more expensive guns for half the price, you can't beat that!


Conclusion: I definitely reccommend this gun to just about anyone... It performs as well as if not better than all the other guns on the field. It looks sharp, and will not let you down. I've only used it for almost a week now, and I'm not disappointed. Take care of it, and it will take care of you.

10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PrimusSOAD Tuesday, January 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder aggresser / spyder basic - decent cheaper guns but not as quick
Marker Setup: M3 Black Dragun Basic, 200 rd loader, 12 ounce Co2 (nothing special yet)
Recommended
Upgrades:
18 inch Ironman Boom stick or anything from Dye would be fine
Strengths: This is the cheapest electronic marker that I have seen. It is very quick (double trigger) and accurate. Very nice looking gun. Out of 1000 paintballs, maybe 4 have busted in my gun and thats with the brass eagle crap.
Weaknesses: the gun is a little loud and will definetly need a new barrel. The stock barrel is only decent.
Conclusion: I reccommend this gun to any starters like myself. Ignore the 1/10 rating. He/she has only tested it. Enjoy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Spiderman33 Saturday, August 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angel's the only other electro I've shot
I've messed with electro spyders my pro shop
Marker Setup: Red 2k2 Vert Cocker
Blue 10" CP Two-Piece Barrel
Blue Shocktech Stubby Drop w/red Kapp On/Off
Carbon Fiber PMI 68ci/3k w/dye cover
Blue/Red HALO (Coming Soon)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Drop
New barrel (not necessary but it will make it a little better)
WIRE BRAID REPLACE THE CRAP MACRO LINE
Electro hopper's a must
Strengths: FAST
Great price for an electro
Barrel's better than most stock barrels, you don't need to dive for an aftermarket barrel out of the box
good looks
Mine pinches rather than chops balls when they don't feed fast enough
Weaknesses: You have to re-cock if you pinch a ball, I've had bunker moves trashed because I pinched instead of shooting
Spyder clones can be a little tricky for some upgrades
Conclusion: I'm one of the original Dragun owners, before they became huge. They became huge for a very good reason. This is the gun I tell everyone to buy if they're just going rec balling. Out of the box this is a great gun, the barrel shoots great, it comes ready for nitro if you want it, and it's electro for heaven's sakes! I can rip it too hard with that trigger and the last time I played with my dragun I made a bunker move and completely outshot my ricochet, not just a pinch, but no ball fed into the chamber. If you're looking for the gun that's going to keep you in the pack, this is it. I love my dragun and even though I have my cocker, my dragun will sit by my side too.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Gothmog Sunday, May 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Strengths: Price
Firing rate
Simplicity
Available upgrades
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Reliability? Naw. It's good.
Needs lots of oil.
Noisy
Inefficient battery usage.
Review: I've been using a Black Dragun basic with a Whisper barrel for almost a year and had nary a burp from the gun. The only ball breaks I've had were from stupid, stupid things like leaving the barrel plug in or using brass eagle paint. I even shot a half case of marbalizers that had been left open for eight months without a single break. Every single tech is amazed it is still working, though. They all say the solenoid usually breaks after a few months. Anyway, the firing rate is great. The trigger is very, very light. So light, in fact, It actually went off without anything touching the trigger when I was diving over a trench. That is a one of a kind occurance, though.

The stock barrel is, of course, cr4p. It is very possibly the noisiest gun I've heard when the stock barrel is on. With an AA or Whisper barrel is is reduced to a mercifully low thudding. for some reason it draws power off the batteries even when it is off. That limits play to only about nine hours.

*Another year of use and no major problems. Price is much much lower now.
Conclusion: Probably the best gun in it's price range. I got mine for $90. Just make sure to put liberal amounts of oil to the bolt and such before play.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 11th, 2004 at 1:51 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

slicknck2007 Wednesday, December 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none really...mayb spyder imagine
Marker Setup: - Dragunfly Mech w/ bottom line,regulator,custom beaver tail, drop forward
- ACI graffitie series patriot 14 in. barrel
- PMI 48 ci / 3000 psi
- Richochet 2k hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
-new barrel
-nitro
-12v revy hopper
-spring kit
Strengths: electronic trigger, runs good with co2, sensative trigger
Weaknesses: low velocity sometime (new spring kit), triger sometimes is too sensative
Review: overall it is a very good gun for the price...it is a good gun for beginners to amatures......I recomend getting this gun if you are looking for a cheap and fast gun. Just if you can get the stuff i recomended and you will have an excellent gun...
Conclusion: I think you should get this gun while the price lasts because it is cheap and i see electronic guns coming up and will be huge soon in the fture so get this while you can.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pbfranx8 Saturday, October 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder e-99 is really the only one that i have used that is similiar and in my opinion it is much better.
Marker Setup: stock e-99
Recommended
Upgrades:
i dont really know about upgrades but u should have an electronic hopper with any electro
Strengths: fast
looks good
has a gauge
Weaknesses: poor quality
breaks down often
many co2 leakage problems.
Review: i do not own this gun but i have used it a few times and my friend USED to own one of these guns but he sold within 1 month of owning it.( i will explain). well this gun is fast it looks good and a gaugue is nice to have. thats all ill give it. my friend had nothing but problems with his gun. everytime we played he had to wait 5 minutes after putting in his co2 for the leakage to stop and by then he was nearly out of co2. this made things hard to play. finally we went to play he plugged in his co2 waited for leakage to stop and went to fire his gun. as soon as he pulled the trigger it made a funny noise and uncocked. he tryed again. same problem. he oiled the gun looked at o-rings, they were fine. plugged co2 back in and fired. same problem. finally he used a different gun that belonged to my friends dad that was a 98custom. it worked with no problems. he immediately sold his gun because it was goin to cost too much to fix. i advise u all go out and sell this gun if u own it and get something new unless u have already dumped money into fixing it. this is one of m3's first guns so give em a break but that doesnt mean u should waste ur money fixing it. buy an e-99 they are just as fast and look just as good but they are also good quality.
Conclusion: i would recomend this gun to someone who likes to pour money into replacing parts that should not need to be replaced and having to send into your shop every time u use it. but it is fast and looks good im gonna give it a 4
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Slayer357911 Sunday, June 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spider victor
spider imagine
Marker Setup: black dragun basic with 4 peice empire barrel system
delrin bolt
68 cu 4500 pci crossfire nitro
gravity hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
delrin bolt
new barrel empire 4 peice work incredible with the marker
new regulator
Strengths: Very reliable and accurate, very tappy trigger, easy to clean, light
Weaknesses: Very tappy trigger for just a gravity hopper
Review: I have owned my black dragun for 2 years and in all that time i have only chopped like 10 balls. The gun shoots incredibly fast for a semi automatic. The gun is incredibly acurate with no matter what barrel i used but i noticed it was better with the empire i bought. if you play woodsball the gun is not loud but loud enough to get yourself noticed. i noticed when i put in my delrin bolt it got a lot quieter.
Conclusion: This is a really good marker for a beginner or for someone who cant afford a really expensive gun. Plus the gun is easy to upgrade cause it uses spyder parts.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

arnold16890 Thursday, November 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder e-99
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
electric hopper
aluminum trigger
Strengths: cheap
fast
looks cool
easy to take it apart when cleaning
Weaknesses: trigger is plastic
sometimes it chops without electric hopper
Review: i've used this gun for a few months and never had a problem. only the first time i went playing, this gun chopped once, i had no idea why, but then one of those pro told me that i need an electric hopper.So i got an empire, then no matter how fast i shoot, i never had a chop after.

This is an AWESOME marker!! it shoots wonderful!! I highly recommend this marker!!
Conclusion: awesome marker at low cost!! BUY BUY BUY!!! u can buy it online for around $150
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 27th, 2003 at 6:12 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media