paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Excellerator 5.0 / JT Excellerator 5.0 / JT Excellerator 5.0 / JT Excellerator 5.0

JT Excellerator 5.0 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Excellerator 5.0

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Excellerator 5.0
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 151
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Excellerator 5.0 with Electronic Double Trigger and LCD Information Center give just about everything you need to get the job done right. We use only the most advanced materials available to make our markers. Exclusively designed by our JT Team for Beginners to Tournament players, this semi-automatic marker has a Quick Strip Pin, Vertical FeedPort, Volumizer, Expansion Chamber, Integrated Sight Rail and Die Cast Aluminum Grip Frame, but these are only a few of the incredible features this marker has to offer.
Product Availability 
The JT Excellerator 5.0 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
foxmckenna Tuesday, February 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months27 of 35 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: JT Excelerator 5.0 - Stock, 12volt revy hopper
Tippmann 98 Custom with all american barrell 16" and expansion chamber
Spyder Victor - Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
12 volt revy hopper, an excellent marker stock with some minor tweaking
Strengths: Fires extremely fast, fairly quiet, very light trigger pull, stock barrell very accurate, looks trick. Marker feels very nice in when holding and firing action feels solid. All metal construction and easy to field strip.
Weaknesses: A little on the heavy side, flashy colors make it an easy target, hopper sits in the way, trigger so very light that it is easy to fire by mistake. Electronic trigger and handle does not include burst or auto modes. Shot counter and timer are pointless. And finally most importantly, this guns is horrible out of the box. Any time you start to rapid fire it immediatley chops balls. But I fixed that, keep reading.
Conclusion: There are several reasons this marker chops balls, which are all fixable. When you fire this marker there is an extreme amount of blowby gas that travels out the feed hole into the hopper. This causes the paint to rise and then fall back down into the chamber. If you are rapid firing, then there is not enough time for the paintball to chamber before the bolt starts moving forward. Because of this it only allows the paintball to get halfway down before the bolt shears it in two and your cleaning it out. I drilled two 1/4 " holes in the loader base that helps relieve the pressure before it enters the hopper. Doing this allows you to shoot much faster, but it will still chop balls occasionally. So next I bought a 12volt revy loader which helped immensley, but still rairly chopped. I had a straight adapter from a spyder which attached from the hopper to the loader and was made of plastic. I installed this on my hopper which makes it sit about 1" higher but allows for more paintballs to be loaded ready to go for rapid firing. Since doing these modifications to the gun I have not chopped a single ball in over 4 months of regular use. The gun will fire as fast as you can pull the trigger.

In conclusion, I would recommend this gun after the mods are made. It fires fast and solid, its accurate and an all around excellent marker. I prefer my tippman 98 custom over this only because the JT is easier to spot because of its chrome colors, and the hopper sits higher. Other than that, buy it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

WestsideHimself Wednesday, May 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months13 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Auto Cockers, Tippmans.
Marker Setup: JT 5.0 with Warp Feed, 12 Volt Revi with X-Board and Vortex Impeller, Bob Long Expansion, 16" Boomstick, Homemade rubber grips, Benchmark Craddle , Nitro and Co2 used, and several internal upgrades.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel is the main upgrade you need for this gun. i went with the boomstick and had no problem with the 16" it adds. It dosen't screw in all the way but stays tight and no need to be cut. Also the warp added a lot to my game and if you are going to run Co2 get an expansion chamber...the stock one isn't good enough to stop freezing of internals.
Strengths: Fully upgradedable
Rookie to pro gun
Electro
Sweet trigger pull
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel
None avaliablity of after market grips
None shut off power
Review: I don't break balls with it. It has been very reliable with me and only 1 o-ring in six months and I have shot cases and case of paint. I like the feel of it and it has a very sweet trigger pull letting you snap shot really well. It is also a great gun for tourny players even though some may say it's not. You can get everythign you want upgraded on this gun. Or even leave it stock with just getting a barrel and you have a great gun for in the woods. I play both with mine all the time. Cool ball count really helps. It's not to heavy or to light. JT has some of the best online help and costomer service around.

http://teamblueballs.tripod.com/Westguncombo.jpg
Conclusion: I use it in tournys and all. Some players say it looks cool and some say I made it look so cool to help out with it's so called lack of performance. But many times I have snickered back while hanging the flag while there in the dead box! Any help you need just contact me.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 26th, 2004 at 1:35 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Scheme84 Tuesday, May 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tipman 98c, A-5 E-grip, Impulse, Shocker, Angel
Marker Setup: JT 5.0,
12v Revy,
High-rise Angel feed-neck,
32 Degrees 6stage Expansion chamber,
16" Demon barrel,
20oz PMI Pure Energy CO2,
Gas thru stock,
32 Degrees Remote Coil,
3/8 offset,
4x-32 BSA scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
12v Revy,
High-rise feed-neck,
Drill 1/4" holes in feed-neck,
Change all the O-rings.
Strengths: Light trigger pull,
Very accurate,
Easy field strip & clean,
Feels solid,
Works perfect after mods.
Weaknesses: Horrible out of the box,
Chopped paint before mods were done,
Very flashy.
Review: This gun is horrible out of the box, every time I started to rapid fire it would chop more paint then a blender. But I decided to do some research and now after the mods this gun is perfect and hasn't chopped one ball of paint in over 8 cases and more.

1. You definitely need a 12v revy or better.

2. You MUST change all the O-rings on this gun, and don't forget the O-ring on the hammer. JT makes probably the worst O-rings.

3. I was trying to unscrew the feed-neck and ended up messing up the threads on the aluminum feed-neck. I tried looking for a replacement JT feed-neck online, but no luck. So I ordered a chrome Angel High-rise feed-neck (was very nervous if it would fit), the threads fit perfectly. Although, I had to sand down the middle body of the feed-neck. Angels have the same size feed-neck threads, but a wider hole for the feed-neck itself. So went out to Home Depot and got some metal sandpaper and started sanding the middle part of the feed-neck (the part above the threads and below where you put the hopper).

4. After I fitted the new feed-neck, it is a MUST to drill at least 2 holes in the feed-neck, approximately 1/4" holes. You drill the holes in the middle body of the feed-neck. The reason for this is because there is immense amount of blow back of CO2 into the feed-neck, which causes the paintball to jump up. If you are shooting rapidly, the paintball rises and begins to falls back down, but does not go down all the way in time before the bolt is fired so the bolt chops the ball when it is half way in the feed-neck and half way in the chamber. By drilling the holes you are allowing the gases to escape without causing the paintball to jump and having a high-rise feed-neck prepares more paintballs to be lined up for firing, so you can rapid fire like crazy without chopping paint.

5. There is a sight rail on the JT 5.0, but it is useless because the vertical feed-neck is in the way, so I ordered an 3/8 dovetail with a 1 inch offset. When first got the offset it worked good, but the screws wore out and became useless because it wouldn't stay tighten to the rail. So I ended up Krazy Glue the offset permanently to the rails, which has worked wonders. And now with the scope mounted, I can pick off peoples elbows and legs when they are hiding behind trees, no to mention the head shots I can take.

6. This gun is very accurate with the stock barrel, but I went ahead and got a 16" sniper Demon barrel. Which works great and no complaints there. JT's are compatible with all Spyder barrels and many other parts.

7. The 32 Degrees 6stage expansion chamber is good and reliable. No complaints there either.

8. I got the remote coil because I usually play for 8 hours or more and the guns eventually gets heavy and the remote also allows the liquid CO2 to be more efficiently converted to gas. But just with the remote coil the gun wasn't very stable, so I went out and got the gas thru stock. Which worked perfectly, the gun is now very light, accurate, fires great, and most important does not chop paint at all.

9. Also make sure you get a good battery, I recommend the Energizer E2.

Other than that this gun is now prefect, the only down side I see is the colors on the gun which are very flashy, but if you know how to move and play it doesn't really matter.
Conclusion: Overall I spent $300 total (with the gun included) in perfecting this gun to my liking. Most likely you won't be interested in all the extras like the scope or the stock. The MOST IMPORTANT things you need to do to this gun is:
1. Change all the O-rings.
2. Get a 12v Revy or better.
3. Drill the holes in the feedneck. (this is a MUST)

I can use this gun to compete against angels, shockers, autocockers, and all most of the other expensive guns and I don't have to baby it either. I'm not in any way bad mouthing any of the guns listed above. all I'm saying is why spend 800 to 1600 for a paintball gun when you can get about the same amount of performance outa this one. Although I would trade this gun for an Angel any day. I would have gotten nitrous, but the closest place for refills is about 25 miles away.

I want to get a venturi bolt, but having a hard time finding anything compatible. Any ideas
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 25th, 2004 at 11:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mattratt06 Saturday, July 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter
Tippman 98 custom and Bruizer outlaw
Marker Setup: JT Excellerator 5.0 with 20 co2 and a Ricochet Akwith a teardrop barrel and a physco ballistics drop forward with gauge
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ricochet Ak with teardrop barrel
Strengths: +easy to clean
+great accracy
+doesn't break balls
and it looks really cool!!!!
Weaknesses: -double feeds sometimes
-doesn't shoot far
good for people who want a
electro marker
Review: Great Gun
I think you should go out in buy it especially if you want a electric gun for cheap and works really well for me. So if you have 200 bucks I would go out and get it if I were you because the bad things that this gun has isn't really anything I just had to find something that was bad about it.
Conclusion: I think this is the best gun I have ever used but I have only used 3 guns other then this one and the other 3 are great guns also but I like this gun a lot because all my friends want to look at it because it is so awesome
and is better then all there guns so you should really get this gun and get the package that it comes with because that is were I got mine they are really good with shipping so go there and get this gun because you won't regret it believe me you won't!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 1:15 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jt Xtreme Tuesday, November 30th, 1999
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, BE Blade
Marker Setup: Jt 5.0, Raised feed port, 20 oz co2, 12v revvy!
Recommended
Upgrades:
Raised feed, revvy
Strengths: This gun is beastly!!! All metal and electronic by Jt to top it off. You can actuall screw off the vert feed and install the 6.0 feed by screwing it in! Yes it uses enlarged tank threads on the feed. Game timer allows to keep games short if you like. The number of times you fired lcd display is EXTREMELY helpfuf to keep track of your ammo. Light a$$ trigger pull is somewhat odd to get used to but in the longrun, HELPS. Also you'll get lots of "lemme see's" at the feild AKA Eye Candy.
Weaknesses: Make sure you dont screw in the vert feed too far or it will rub on the bolt. This is why some ppl say it leaves little shavings, just loosten the feed up a bit. Also the game timer and stiff isent in your face, so if your not paying attention, you'll forget about it. Battries- my first one died after 2000 rounds. Weird eh? My second batt lasted over 70000 shots same with the 3rd and 4th batt.
Conclusion: Great buy! Personally I belive its more a advanced players chice but if you even kinda know what your doing its a good bigenners gun. You'll get lots of "lemme see thats" at the feild too. TO CONCLUDE MY 2 CENTS, GET IT!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ulyanov Sunday, October 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Angel - Way Better than 5.0
VL Genesis - 5.0 Better
Marker Setup: Stock with 12v VL Revolution, 12oz CO2 w/ On/Off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer Barrel, 14inches optimum, Revie Hopper
Strengths: Shoots as fast as an angel, doesn't break balls usually.. Excellent CO2 efficiency, IT SAYS MY NAME! Has ball counter and game timer in grip. Relitively light weight.. Cool design. Trigger is VERY sensitive.
Weaknesses: Chops occasional balls when using a very high ROF and velocity. Doesn't have the full auto or shot burst feature I was looking for for fun. Trigger is almost too sensitive.. missfires if not careful. Jammed occasionally but was easy to fix.
Conclusion: This product is great, I love it, and it was relitively cheap, I got it for $420 with a 12v revie after taxes. I say it is one of the best electro markers you can buy for cheap $$$!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

mattatack Tuesday, March 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha E-Force, Nothing else compares to its domanance
Marker Setup: JT Excellerator 5.0, VL 9 volt hopper, 12 inch Tear Drop Barrel DONT GO LONGER THAN 12 INCHES
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Electronic Hopper is a MUST
-A Barrel is also necacery
Strengths: -Very Accurate
-Fast Trigger pull
-Hard Shot
-Strong and rarley fails me
Weaknesses: -Chops balls, until getting electro hopper
-Stock barrel is weak and gets scratched very easily
Review: This gun is great you must buy it, and at such a low price you cant get a better deal. Shoots so accurate and so fast after necacery add-ons. I hit a pole from 200 feet away in two shots with stock barrel. This gun is also very light and very manuverable. I recomend that you use Diablo or Zap paint with this gun. There is nothing bad about it, and you can get it for $120.00 If you do not buy this gun you are making a mistake
Conclusion: GET THIS GUN. JT HAS MADE AN AMAZING MARKER, FOR BEGINNERS OR EXPERIENCED PLAYERS GO AND BUY IT.... Don't pay attention to the people that say that the tank is hard to unscrew, and that the battery is hard to get out. They are all wrong.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2004 at 6:41 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

gunner75 Wednesday, April 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders cockers mags
Marker Setup: jt 5.0 48ci 300psi tank smart parts aggressor barrel 12vt revy
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel compressed air bolt
Strengths: FAST ACCURATE GOOD LOOKIN
Weaknesses: stock bolts BAD
Review: ok lets get it out in the open this gun sucks if you got the stock bolt that has the hole alll the way through it. it will chop balls like a mad man,accuratcy will suck. NOW then if you call jt and tell them that you have the bad bolt they will send you the new style bolt. i got mine not to long ago and MAN ALIVE WHAT A DIFFERANCE. this gun IS VERY ACCURATE EVEN WITH THE STOCK BARREL and FAST. i can go HEAD TO HEAD with cockers and angels. i can out shoot my 12vt revvy easily. with the new bolt and longer barrel this gun can run head to head with 600-1000 guns and i should know cause i do it every week. so all those who says this gun is junk i say you just dont know the gun and what to fix and there is 3pro teams that i play with that will agree with me.now dont get me wrong they aint givin up their guns but they almost all bought a 5.0 as a back up gun since cockers and angels ten to brack down ever now and agin(although so far my 5.0 has not let me down like their higher doller guns has lol)
Conclusion: if you want to get serious but don't want to go broke THIS GUN IS A MUST COMPRESSED AIR AND AT LEAST A VT REVY IS A MUST.this gun is priced right and the quality is unbelievable like i said make sure you have the good bolt and if you dont call jt they will send you a new one. THIS GUN ROCKS and CAN I REPEAT THIS GUN CAN GO HEAD TO HEAD WITH THE BIG BOYS i wold give it a 12 but 10 is as high as it goes
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jokester Sunday, September 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
BE Avenger, 32 degrees 02 Rebel, Tippmann 98 custom w/ psyco ballistics d/f, response trigger, double trigger, 16'' all american, 12v revvy
Marker Setup: JT Excellerator 5.0, JT 2 piece barrel system, 12v vibration control revvy, psyco ballistic d/f, 47cu/in 3000psi crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
a good barrel, a fast hopper, and possibly a reg. although my velocity stays pretty constant. for comfort a larger d/f
Strengths: This marker can shoot incredibly fast and has a very short trigger pull, specially after using a 98c. It is also fairly light and comfortable to hold, although I preferred a larger d/f. This marker is also very accurate, but that is more of a barrel to paint match and the user, and it also has good range, I can shoot the length of the field with mine.
Weaknesses: At first I was breaking alot of paint but my local field owner found the problems. You need a fast hopper to keep up with your b.p.s. and you have to use a thicker shelled paint. Also I was using a VL barrel at first that I had for a BE Avenger which had a few sharp points on the end. One last thing, if you get yours in a players kit, it doesn't come with a speaker for the audible game time warnings, I thought that was kinda dumb.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this marker to anyone that doesn't have a load of money but wants to go electro. It is a very solid marker and in the right hands very lethal. I can usually keep pace with an angel or timmy. Well worth the $175 I paid.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AnchorBluePimp Sunday, September 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none... becuase nothing to compares to this gun!!
Marker Setup: JT 5.0 I got in a kit with a 12 volt. revvy hopper and 9oz tank, stock everything
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing really, stock barrel is great but if you have a few extra buxs laying around sure buy a new barrel
Strengths: were to start....
-looks great!
-200 buxs for an a great elctro gun!! thats highlight
-not to heavy unless your a wussy and cant left 3lbs (if it even weighs that much)
-stock barrel rules
-mouse click trigger pull
-great accuracy
-LCD is fun to play with

My friend has a Tippman Custom 98 (125 buxs) which when he first got it suxed compared to mine, however he bough an E-bolt (300 buxs), a 12 volt revvy hopper (50 buxs) and another barrel (50 buxs) and now is gun is a bit better. We origonally set a brick on a post 25 feet away. It took me 2 shots and him 5.. once buying everything else it took him 1 or 2 shots each time. My point is that he spend a total of approx. 525 buxs to where I spent 200 and my gun is just as good! Which would you rather have?
Weaknesses: hmm... well when I first got it there was a few problems but that was because I was dumb and dint read the manual and be careful screwing in the CO2!! Also another pointer when you get a 12 volt revvy hopper make sure when you set the gun down to take the hopper out because if you don't you could break the neck of the hopper because of the angel that it sits at! but other than that it is a great gun!!
Conclusion: Buy it!! for all you other ppl that rated this gun less then 9 are dumb and probably should be playing paintball anyways!! espically dont make a review if you are a newbie!! so Buy it best gun in its price range!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media