paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Excellerator 6.0 / JT Excellerator 6.0 / JT Excellerator 6.0 / JT Excellerator 6.0

JT Excellerator 6.0 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Excellerator 6.0

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Excellerator 6.0
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 138
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This electronic assisted semi-automatic marker has an Information Center with Voice prompts and Vibration mode, LCD Backlit display and Double Touch Trigger, Quick Strip Pin, Vertical FeedPort, Volumizer, Regulator, Integrated Sight Rail and Custom Aluminum Grip Frame, making this the "Cash Money" marker for 2002.
Product Availability 
The JT Excellerator 6.0 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
ResQue349 Friday, December 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months25 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E-99
Marker Setup: JT 6.0, 14 in. Freak, 20 oz. Co2, Evolution 2 Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, O-rings, Evolution 2 Hopper, Batteries(Good Batteries)
Strengths: * Style
* Accuracy with stock barrel- even more accurate with a 14 in barrel
* Trigger feels like a mouse click
* Very fast
* Interchangeable parts with the spyder
* Minimal ball breakage esspecially with a Evolution 2 I tried with a revie it
chopped balls like no tommorrow, You need a very fast hopper A halo or a
evolution 2.
* Affordable
* Timer on gun comes in handy (Funny voice prompts on the gun)
* Easy to clean and to maintain
* Works great on compressed air tested it with a friends tank
* regulator is in a good place for my liking
* easy to adjust pressure
* easy to take apart and maintain

Weaknesses: Some stuff I found to be more of a dissappointment, JT really needs to pay more attention to see how the product is being given to there customers, let me start...
* Every O-ring needed to be replaced after the first time playing, I started cleaning the marker and every O-ring fell apart on my hand.
* I had to replace the lock-tite on the regulator hose fitting with teflon tape because it started to leak at both ends.
* The pressure is way to high to be standard on the gun 650-800
* No type of upgrades for this marker.
* To much blow back
* The trigger got stuck when taken out the box for the 1st time, thats when I found out you cant use a wimpy battery you have to use the good stuff, the only seems to work without a problem is the energizer E2 keep extras with you..
* Maybe a little loud but I like it gives me a rush when I hear it...
* Big handle
* Finally the most important, THE TECHNICAL SERVICE OF JT IS THE WORST..... you have to leave a message on a answering machine to receive a call 2 days later saying to send it and they will look at it, and you may get it in 3 to 4 weeks later. thank god I did'nt buy it online then i would never get it. between me and the shop that sold it we completely repaired it ourselves.
Conclusion: Overall the marker is not bad after the little glitches, thank god it was not a major glitch. But then again every marker as its problem, no marker is perfect. after all the repairs, the gun shoots excellent. It held its own on the field against the autocockers, Impulses, & angels. the marker broke a couple of balls but then again which marker does'nt, I've seen the other HIGHLY expensive markers break more balls than mine. With a few mods on your marker you have a good & sturdy marker that holds it's own and catches alot of attention when your out there both by players and people watching. with the cost in mind it's a good by I got mine for 250 with the Co2 bottle and a JT flex mask. Despite the poor Customer Service I'm still giving it a good rating because of the performance and the reliability after the repairs of course.
On the field my marker has not broke down it's always good to have extra parts and tools at hand, with any gun. Murphies Law. Easy gun to repair
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, April 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT 4.0, Spyder 99, Black Dragun,spyder EM 1
Marker Setup: Bob Long Intimidator, Blue to Purple fade.JT two piece barrel,System X drop foward with on/off,Bob long Reg,Java hpa 68/3000,Bob long delrin bolt.either a Richociet,or a 12v revy with X board depending on my mood.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a low rize vert feed have to use it some more and see
Strengths: I own a 4.0 that my kid now uses and that is a very solid gun. no problems at all. The 6.0 is basically the same gun with a electric trigger frame and what few problems the 4.0 had where fixed on the 6.0. It has a very fast trigger.I can almost shoot it as fast as my Timmy and the Timmy has the fastest trigger there is as far as im concerned. I shot 500 rounds through my friends gun and not one chop. I was using JT Maxims. As always the stock barrel was very accurate. I dont know what that guy below is talking about JT makes very good and accurate barrels. This gun also had very little kick and that also helps with accuracy.
Weaknesses: Nothing i could see maybe the high rize vert feed if your a front player as i am but if your a back player or mid it is fine
Conclusion: Im telling you right now and i own 7 differnt guns from the 4.0 to the Timmy.I will be buying this gun for a tourney back up. It is better then the EM1,It is better than the Impulse(gas hog),It is better than a shocker(another gas hog).I would say it is one step below an angel or timmy or GZ timmy but above all other electro guns. If you dont have the money to get a angel or timmy but want the best electro you can get for under $800 (My local shop is selling them for around $280) then i highly recomend this gun you wont be sorry. OH and yes i own a impulse and a EM1 and a shocker so im not just using those as examples form hearsay it is from experience
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fredbejoe Thursday, February 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year11 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: i have a nice 14" long customized barrel with an air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
this gun definitely needs a longer barrel and an air system
Strengths: this gun looks very nice and is also very intimedating. i like the electronic handle a lot its better then my other electonic handle that came with my syder imagine. and i don't know what everyone is whining about, the gun is not that heavy. it might be heavier then some guns but it's not that bad. my advice to you is go lift some weights or something and live with it. and it does not chop up balls all that much. it will do that if you turn up your co2/air to high or if ou use crappy paint. also try adjusting your bolt that might help.
Weaknesses: not all that much the stock barrel is not the best but it will do until you have the money to get a better one
Conclusion: overall this gun is nice and i would recomend it to all my friends and other people that are looking for guns.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

baseball06 Sunday, September 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Owned: Tippmann Model 98 Custom,Piranha STS G2 Tested: 01' Angel LCD C&C, 00' WGP Autococker, Shocker Sport, Tippmann E-Bolt
Marker Setup: JT Excellerator 6.0
68/30 PMI HPA Tank
12 Volt Revolution w/ X-Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA Tank
Electronic Hopper
Strengths: Shoots Fast
Stock Barrel is very accurate
Nice Bolt
Looks cool
Trigger is awesome, it's like a mouse click
The pressure gauge helps a lot.
Game timer helps especially when you've got the refs who never tell you how much time is left.
High rise vertical feed, not like those ones on Spyders.
Sturdy, doesn't feel like its going to fall apart like the Spyders.
Relatively compact.
Weaknesses: The talking prompts are stupid, but just don't use them.
The Drop Forward isn't great, but it works for me.
Some people say they have a problem with blowback, but I haven't had that problem yet.
Conclusion: This almost the best gun I've ever shot (second to only the Angel) It's cheap and can keep up with other guns people payed 800 dollars for. Buy it. It's extremely cheap there. Also whatever people say don't buy a Spyder E-99, they suck compared to this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 12:59 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

netwizzerd Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mags (Auto, mini), Spyder E-99
Marker Setup: JT Excellerator 6.0 w/ custom ported ball feed, shaven bolt, modified ball detent
Recommended
Upgrades:
AT LEAST all the upgrades I have listed on my gun above
Strengths: Great looking gun, fast trigger.
Weaknesses: CHOPS CHOPS CHOPS!!
It is absolutely rediculous how much this gun chops, even after I have had the ball detent moved back 1/8", had the top of the bolt shaved down, AND drilled holes in the ball feed to reduce the blowback into the hopper.

I am so disappointed in this gun and with JT for not doing a factory recall on this gun. I have lost a considerable amount of respect for JT. They should have never released this gun to the public knowing how badly it chops. The ball detent is too far forward, thus allowing a piece of the ball ABOVE the one in the chamber to be chopped off by the bolt, and because of the intense blowback it sprays paint up into the hopper.

The stock barrel stinks, and with broken-ball-paint in it all the time, it is almost hopeless.

I have put a tremendous amount of extra money into this gun (AFTER already paying the hefty sticker price) and when you take away all the bells and whistles this gun offers (talking/vibrating grip, shot counter, etc) this gun would be outperformed by a Stingray.
Conclusion: I would most definitely not recommend this gun. My brother owns an Excellerator 5.0 and hasn't had any probs like I am having...but I would definitely recommend a solid, reliable gun like the Spyder E-99 or the new Electra is SWEET.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

m_trilus Monday, June 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: JT Excellerator 6.0
-eVLution II
-3A 47ci 3000psi
-10" Blue Freak w/ Stainless Steel Back
Recommended
Upgrades:
The stock barrel shoots very well, but if you are looking to step it up, I suggest spending some money on a high end barrel.
Strengths: -Style
-Price
-Speed
-Nice Regulator
-Electronic Frame
-High Rise Vert Feed
Weaknesses: -Talking Trigger Frame is annoying (but shut it off)
Review: Great marker! I wish it came in more colors. Good electro for not a lot of money. This gun can shoot very fast. When I bought it I didn't expect it too shoot as fast as some more expensive markers. You need to buy a fast hopper to keep up with it.
Conclusion: This is a nice marker for whatever experience level you are. I have seen tournament player use this marker. It is an all around, great looking marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jason4108 Monday, August 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: At the Moment
Excellerator 6.0
Dye Boomstick
12-Volt Revy
Ronin 4+1
CO2 with Remote

Wish List
Nitro Tank - I need to know which one will fit a Ronin Gear 4+1!
A Regulator of somekind

Future Wishlist
Evil Paintball Omen
Evil Pipe Barrel System
Can you tell I like evil? Can you? Can you?
Recommended
Upgrades:
12-Volt Revy
New Barrel but stock is ok
Strengths: Great Trigger Frame and Pull!
Comfortable Grips
Cool Marker Design
LCD with Great Features
Weaknesses: I've shot about 5,000 balls and only choped about 3 balls, so none.
Review: Ok i got a great deal for $149 with no regulator and just a guage at II Sports. LCD comes with total shot counter, game shot counter, game timer and personal greeting message. I think it is one of the best first guns you could buy. This is a great gun go buy now!
Conclusion: Great Gun! I highly recomend it for a first gun, I doubt tournament players would find any use for it though unless they upgrade it alot.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 13th, 2003 at 10:40 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

BZSentinel Monday, May 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E99
Electra
Automag
Marker Setup: JT 6.0
Evil Pipe Barrel Kit
Remote
Evulution II
Recommended
Upgrades:
*Barrel
*Electric Hopper
*Energizer E2 batteries
*If using co2 (remote or anti-syphon tank)
*Otherwise, and Nirtogen system
Strengths: *SPEED SPEED SPEED, I can shoot faster than most peoples full automatics
*Accuracy
*Looks
Weaknesses: *High Rise feed is too high, IMO, but that is fixable
Review: Well, I honestly love it. This gun does not chop, as other people have said. When the marker was first made, yeah, it did chop alot. Now, the later models have fixed the major problems. Once you get a better barrel on it, you will have a tournoment gun that will stand up to just about anything else.
Conclusion: Spend some time with it, learn how it works, and you will be extremley satisfied. I would recommend this to anyone
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 24th, 2004 at 1:12 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

dandman779 Monday, March 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Bone stock jt excellerator 6.0 with a 12 volt revy,14" j&j pro 1 barrel coming soon
Recommended
Upgrades:
At least a 12 volt revy, a new barrel
Strengths: Very Very fast, game timer, shot counter, vibration, and voice
Weaknesses: Uses batteries fast, high operating pressure (around 650psi minimum)
Review: This gun is so fast, nothing compares to the speed of this gun unless you spend over 500$. I found the gametimer and shot counter to be very helpfull. You can find the number of shots per second your gun is shooting( had mine going at about 10 at the fastest). And the average number of shots per fill. When you first take the gun out of the box you are going to break alot of paintballs, with or without a revy. I beleive its a barrel problem. when you put a new one on it never breaks paintballs. You will use bateries pretty fast (On a Duracell ultra about 1200 shots per battery).
Conclusion: I belive anyone wanting a high quality low matinence paintball gun for under 200$, this is your gun. It will keep up to autocockers, and other guns. The stock barrel is great on acuracy and the gun is beutifully colored and designed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

red dragon Monday, March 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha E force, Spyder E-99
Marker Setup: JT 6.Blow, 12v revolution, Nitro, smart parts barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
The key to having fun with the JT is to replace it with another paintball gun, throw the JT in the trash.
Strengths: -Looks nice.
Weaknesses: -Chop star! You will be dazzled!
-See below.
Review: -Chops balls to death. I’m talking at least once a match you have to stop, drop, clean your barrel, and hope no one runs up and destroys you. Going 12v hopper and nitro helped a little bit but there is definitely something inherently defective with the 6.0 design.
-Doesn't always shoot straight because you can never clean the barrel enough during a game to keep a consistently straight shot because of all the ball breaks.
-Does not shoot faster than a fairly priced Sypder or piranha.
-It’s so shinny everyone can see you coming from a mile away. Don’t even bother with cameos with this gun. Instead, get a blue helmet and people might think your from the movie Tron.
-It’s so loud everyone can hear you coming too.
-Voice, vibration, and digital display are absolutely useless. Plus you’ll feel real stupid if your hiding somewhere and the voice prompt start yelling “go, go, go” in some funky Asian voice.
-If you try and shoot too fast the battery’s power drops too quickly causing the gun to misfire or better yet shut down for a like 3 seconds. I never tried using a 9.6V battery but I shouldn’t need to.
Conclusion: So you’re probably thinking, “why’d you buy this gun dummy?” Sorry I was a Noob at the time. Everything that I thought was cool with this gun turned out to be the stupidest reasons to buy it. Had I found this website at the time I would have chosen more wisely. Pbreview is the next best thing since bagel bites cause I needed a place to vent.
-Look through the reviews and pick a gun that has had at least 100 reviews and is rated at least 9.5. I bought a Spyder E-99 cause of the reviews but also because my brother has one and they never break balls even without an electric hopper he’s had no problems.

11-10-03 To the few clowns who think I didn't know crap about crap. It's been several months since I wrote this review, and I still think the JT sucks. I've improved my E-99 to be ultra fast and it still won't break balls.
PS.. LITTLE KIDS, IF YOU THINK ALL THE 10s PEOPLE ARE GIVING THIS GUN ARE FOR REAL IT'S NOT. I'LL BET ANYTHING JT MARKETING IS TRYING TO HYPE UP THERE GUN. DON'T BE FOOLED. I'M JUST CALLING A BAD APPLE WHAT IT IS. A P.O.S.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 10th, 2003 at 1:40 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media