paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Ultralite Autococker / Dye Ultralite Autococker / Dye Ultralite Autococker / Dye Ultralite Autococker

Dye Ultralite Autococker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Ultralite Autococker

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Ultralite Autococker
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 35
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Dye Ultralite Autococker is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
badfish314 Sunday, August 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Many many cockers..........
Marker Setup: E-Bladed Black Magic Autococker totally hot-rodded
Dye Ultralite Autococker
Recommended
Upgrades:
The "Grip" feed tube and a nice Kaner Barrel Kit...other than that if the paint you shoot fits the UL boomy just the Grip..
Strengths: Weight-Quality-Size-Colors
Weaknesses: Bolt replacement, mini-block(tell you later)
Review: This is one sweet cocker. Put a 45/45 and a Egg2 and you have one heck of a wrecking machine in your hands. I recommend the "Grip" feed tube to secure your hopper of choice to the UL. It cycles as smooth as any other cocker out there and the swing frame gives you a decent ROF. Milling is first rate as is the anno. The quality of this marker is unreal. The hyper regulator that comes with it straight up rules. With a good paint to barrel match I see +/- 2 at the chrono with many times it being flatlined. The Izon sight is kinda goofy but it works...just to hokey for me.

Now to the slightly bad points....
The bolt is a one off of it's type..meaning you need to buy another DYE bolt should anything ever happen. I have heard that some company has a delrin replacement but I have yet to find it.

The asa on the front block looks fragile. I have had no problems with mine but it looks as if one hard superman dive might snap it off.

This might just be with my UL. The cocking rod comes loose constantly, I am buying a new cocking rod to see if that's the problem. I have to tighten it before each game to make sure it won't come loose.
Conclusion: Great marker for a good price. It really lives up to it's name and it is a pleasure to shoot. A super quality marker by a super quality company. If your in the market for a high-end cocker take a look at the Ultralight, it might be what you want..peace
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dye_punk456 Saturday, October 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Ironman series Angel, Dye Autococker (standard), Wgp2k2 Autococker,Blade Autococker, Shocktech Sfl Autococker, And standard shocktech autococker, Wdp L.E.D Angel, Wgp Black magic autococker, but of course none compare to this gun!
Marker Setup: Dye Ultralight Autococker, center flag in line regulator, center flag dynaflow air system, microline kit,Center flag drop forward, Dye swing frame and stickies, dye tank cover, dye izon sight, Ricochet hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well a good reg (because unfortunately you don't get one with the gun) A micro-line, and no its not macro line (those stink because te hoses are SO big they don't fit in the sockets) And a good drop forward, otherwise this gun is customized to the max.
Strengths: Just about everything. You get the gun customized to heck once you pull it out of the box!
-Dye Ultralight Barrel
-Dye front pneumatics
-gun is very durable
-doesn't scratch easily
-super smooth trigger pull best i have ever felt
-Gun Customized to the max right out of the box
Weaknesses: Nothing except for two REALLY SMALL problems, it doesn't come with a regulator, and this gun is kinda pricey, but don't worry it is worth it.
Conclusion: This gun is one of the best guns on the market. The only two guns that are comparable in a far second is the Shocktech SFL Autococker and the Works Autococker. In all my days i have never had a gun so fulley decked out with good parts. over all i think this gun is perfect for front to mid players. it is really durable and will work or you always!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Rukkuz Monday, February 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Matrix, Angel, STO autococker
Marker Setup: 2002 Clear to Blue fade, Mac Dev Gladiator Reg, Shock Tech ram, Palmers Rock Reg, Elcipse Electronic Trigger, Maxflow 88cui 4500psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Mac Dev Gladiator Inline Regulator, Freak Barrel System, Eclipse 3way ECLIPSE ELECTRONIC BLADE TRIGGER!!!
Strengths: This marker is quick and light. It is one of the lightest cockers that I have used. The Dye swing trigger has the best feel and trigger pull than all the other mechanical swing trigger systems. It shoots fast smooth and quiet. I put on the Eclipse E-Blade and this thing rocks. People say that because it's a mini cocker style body that it does not have enough flow because of the missing chamber. DON"T LISTEN TO ANY OF IT !!! This thing shoots great with quick recharge and no drop offs. I suggest getting a Mac DEV Gladiator reg to keep this gun consistant. It is 2nd best high flow, consistant reg that I have tried out. The other reg would be the maxflo reg but it's hard to get it in different colors to match the gun.
Weaknesses: The only thing that is bad about this gun is that there are no upgrades for the body available. The body is custom cut to accept only a certain type back block and the bolt can't be replaced because of it's design. Although they opperate great it would be a lot better if you're able to change these things out just in case something happens. Also the 3way needs to be repalced. It was giving me problems after a few cases of paint. I changed it to the eclipse 3way and it shoots great now.
Conclusion: In conclusion this gun rocks. I would suggest this gun to anyone who wants an autococker. The cuts look better than the orracle and with the right reg and front pneumatics, and the e-blade this gun is unstopable!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 28th, 2005 at 4:46 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

MK-ULTRA Sunday, January 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Dye Ultralite Autococker - Red to Silver Fade
Dye Ultralite Barrel
Evlution II loader
Nitro tank (?)
CP regulator
Dye long drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger Frame
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: I got this gun second hand on ebay for about $250. i was looking to upgrade my gun and to get a gun which i might be able to use in speedball or competitive play. When i first got it, there were a few things wrong with it - it was second hand, but once i figured those things out, this gun really worked well. I had to fix my three way and there was somthing wrong with the asa so i got a new one.

Strengths:

-Quiet
- When i would play with my friends, everyone would say how quiet my gun was. I didn't realize until i switched guns for a round with one of them. You can barely hear this thing. Definate strength.

-Accurate
-Obviously this gun won't be as accurate as some of the guns you can find now, but for any gun in a 200-300 dollar price range, it kicks ass. You can still be outshot by some guy with an angel g7 or something but how often do you see those. If you get this gun, you will not be disappointed by it's accuracy

-Light
-Hence the name, this gun is incredibly light. I'm not really sure of the actual weight, but this thing is easy to carry and doesn't strain the arm at all.

Weaknesses:

-Fragile
-I haven't broken anything on my gun yet, but i have to say, the three way does look like it could snap off if you dropped the gun. Also, the trigger jammed on me today when i went paintballing; i could still play but i couldn't even achieve semi-automatic- i had to push in the front end kit after every shot. This may not happen to everyone, but i am just warning you. I figured out after i got home that it was because the screws on the front end kit were too loose, so i loosened them, and now it's shooting fine.

-Trigger Frame
-I haven't gotten around to doing it yet, partially because of the cost and partially because of my laziness, but i think a wise investment for this gun would be a good trigger frame. I am looking at the Planet Eclipse E2 Frame, but it would probably cost more than this gun; one plus of this is that it allows you to sell it for much more. The 45 Frame just isn't working for me. It doesn't really allow for walking, and it jams often.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a good autococker for a relatively cheap price, than you wouldn't be wrong to get this gun. If you are buying it second hand, though, which you probably will, make sure you ask the owner if there is anything wrong with it, and what tips he has for you while using it. I'm going to give it a 9 out of 10 because personally i was a little disappointed, but nevertheless, this gun is top-quality.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cant dye dead Saturday, May 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
too many to list
Marker Setup: Dye Autococker Ultralite tricked out, E2, Empire sound activated hopper 4500psi Pure Energy tank .ect....
Recommended
Upgrades:
E 2 and nice hopper
Strengths: 1. Accuracy. 2. Weight.3.looks.4.speed
Weaknesses: The trigger jammed often and 3way leaked and feels fragile
Review: This is the abosolute most accurate gun out there. It's very light. It has got to be the smoothest sharpest looking gun out there. When you put and e2 on it and a nice hopper such as an Evolution it is Angel fast. After that it becomes reliable and much more fun to play with.
Conclusion: It's a darn good gun. Period. If you got some resources and are nuts about paintball then this is the gun to buy. Without the e blade I give it a 7.5 out of 10. With it, I give a 9.5 out of 10. Because of the fragileness it seems to have I won't give it a ten.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

qazyhoods Saturday, March 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing that compares (spyder)
Marker Setup: ultralight cocker
boomstick
egg
nitro duck 68ci 3000psi
all custom pneumatics
Recommended
Upgrades:
a good tank and a fast hopper
Strengths: accurate!!
dye hinge trigger
light, ultra light
High Quality
Weaknesses: made of aluminum so it dents easily
Review: This is a light, accurate autococker made with Dye quality. It's the same as the reflex but much lighter. The Dye hinge trigger is the best non-electric autococker trigger out. I can shoot pretty fast with it. The gun also come with a thin trigger frame that you can't buy most anywhere.

The bolt can not be replaced by an after-market bolt; this may be a problem for some people, but I find the bolt to be just prefect as is.

Dye took their reflex cocker and shaved off some extra weight, but this took away from the density of the gun and made some parts seem like they would snap off with a hard hit, like the Asa adapter on the front block (but has that really ever happened to anyone). For the weight Dye also made the gun completely out of aluminum that dents very easily. I banged up my ultralight barrel that came with it, so I had to switch to a boomstick.

Like most autocockers it is very accurate and with the Dye hyper in-line reg. it is very consistent even without an adjustable tank (helpful hint: always find the right paint that fits your barrel to improve accuracy). I can't say much about the pneumatics because I got the gun off ebay with all custom pneumatics already installed; but I can say that my ultralight has never chopped a ball and the orracle 3-way makes timing very easy( adjustable by hand)

Oh yea, One more thing that I find to be bad is that the gun is not very upgradeable, the body is specifically designed for the ultralight. The only thing that you could upgrade would be the internals and the pneumatics.You could also put an E-blade on it.


Conclusion: this is a very high grade gun (thats to be expected from Dye) at a reasonable price. It is VERY accurate and light. Overall the goods largely out weigh the bads and is a very good buy if you are looking for a good tournament cocker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigbsd420 Sunday, January 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
angels, other cockers, and matrix.
Marker Setup: Full body ultra lite with all the aminities
Recommended
Upgrades:
A delrin bolt and if you have the money a race gun trigger.
Strengths: very light, very accurate, and the marker is beautiful to look at.
Weaknesses: The price!
Review: This is one bad ass marker. I used a couple of autocoker before this one and I tell you I would not trade it for any other cocker out there. The millings, the style is great on this marker. The valve is great, its very consistant and save alot of air. Over all with the right set-up this gun is flawless!
Conclusion: If you love cockers, you have to grab this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyeautocker2187 Friday, November 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP autococker, WGP Outkast
Marker Setup: Dye Ultralite with Kapp Drop cradle w/on-off. Java Edition 68/4500 tanks. Blue 12volt revy.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Other than an E-blade and an ans front kit, nothing. ANS has just been working with pneumatics a lot longer than dye has. More experience = better product. Oh, and use an electronic hopper like a revy or halo.
Strengths: Very accurate, very quiet, looks awesome, and extremely light compared to WGP products.
Weaknesses: Kind of expensive, and the 3-way may leak, i'd get an ANS anyway.
Review: If you are looking for a more advanced gun and you think you are ready to upgrade this is the gun for every paintball guru. If the Dye front kit leaks, just switch to an ANS and don't bother trying to fix it. So, if you are willing to spend that kind of money and you want something worth you hard earned cash this is the ultimate gun for you. I would definately recommend this gun. A++++++
Conclusion: Great gun if you can get it for a reasonable price, very light and accurate. Recommended for a player with experience (autocockers can be frustrating if you don't know how to take care of one or fix one).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BUS Saturday, October 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 C
Marker Setup: Stock with CP reg, drop forward and 68/3000 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Accurate, dependable and never breaks paint.
Weaknesses: It uses a DYE specific bolt.
Review: This auto cocker shots accurate and fast. The DYE swing trigger is fantastic and best of all it doesnt need batteries. I have never chopped a ball. It isnt a fast as the electos but I never feel out gunned. I have played in a tournament with the ultralight against electros. I played as a back player and could put out alot of paint when I needed to.
Conclusion: If you are looking for an autococker this one is hard to beat.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NrKissed Wednesday, August 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
STO
GenX 3
Misc cockers.
Marker Setup: '03 ultralite Clear to Orange - Stock, Hyper Reg, Dye Mini Drop, WGP Clamping Feed Neck,32 Degrees Macro Line, 3A and Crossfire 68/4500s, Halo B, E-Blade, Evil Pipe.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo B is a must
E-Blade is a God send.
Barrel system helps with larger bore paint, but the Matching Ultralite rocks for med-small bore paint.
Strengths: Light, acurate and quiet. The milling turns heads and everyone wants to try it.
Weaknesses: No upgrades avaliable for most parts, Bolt would be nice to change. But none needed.
Review: Wow, I tried Orracles and Reflexes before buying the Ultralite. I was primarially attracted to the size and weight as I have used a 99 mini-cocker for several years. The Ultralite with paint and air still weighs in at about my 99 with nothing on it, not even the barrel!

The Ultralite is equal to the Orracles and Reflexes in accuracy and speed. I got mine with the E-Blade installed by Portland Paintball. The setup honestly blows people away. I can't believe people still pay more for the full size cockers. Save your work out for the post game 12 oz lifting!

For the other reviews.. I have never seen a 2003 sell without a regulator. I guess that was an old deterrant, but no longer.

Only real weakness is the look the rec-ballers give you when they try to get out of playing against you.
Conclusion: Performance of an Orracle or Reflex in a lightweight package! Plus not everyone and their dog shoots one. Its not easy to get a game in with so many gawkers trying to shoot your marker! Buy one now!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 20th, 2004 at 9:06 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media