paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Dragon Intimidator / Bob Long Dragon Intimidator / Bob Long Dragon Intimidator / Bob Long Dragon Intimidator

Bob Long Dragon Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Dragon Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Dragon Intimidator
[ View Photos (24) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 66
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Dragon Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
The_Tarsier Saturday, July 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month59 of 62 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angel 4 FLY, Similar yet very different
Several blowback markers, completely different
Marker Setup: -Bob Long Black/Blue fade Dragon Intimidator
-Frenzy Board
-Stock Bob long 14' barrel
-Empire Reloader B hopper
-3-A 4500 psi low pressure air
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast hopper. Anyone using a viewloader or 32 degrees hopper with this gun should be shot.
Strengths: Milling (Looks), Speed, LCD has some nice features etc
Weaknesses: Complex
Review: What can I say really... Well its a Timmy.

LOOKS/MILLING: I ordered the black/blue fade because it seems everyone had the black/red one. When it got in,i found out that the blue was much lighter than i had expected, because the only blue one i saw on the Internet was dark blue,but it was from 2002. Anyways I loved the light blue anyways,it looks pimped out and original.
-Needless to say this gun is h3lla nice looking. I think it's the best looking paintball gun out there.
-Even though it doesn't cost $1900 like an alias Timmy,because of its looks it gets much more respect then more expensive guns on the field. For example,I went with my team to a practice and everyone there was interested inn my gun,while my teammate who owns an WDP Angel 4 FLY got one or two "Nice angel comments", people flooded around me to talk about my gun. Its true what the other reviews say,this gun gets u respect on the field. Plus it has chrome
-I love chrome

Anyways onto the actual function of the gun,
SPEED: I haven't touched the trigger yet mostly because i don't yet own the microscopic hex key (allen key) used to modify he trigger settings. However, without touching it,i can still get 13-15bps etc pretty easily with the stock settings.
-The trigger feels loose and jumpy at first but i like it,because i can shoot 15bps which lays down the fire on the other team yet i don't go through TONS of paint like i would at 25bps.
-I had a frenzy board put in my gun and its quite nice. Fast and all. Like i said,i play with it around 15bps but its nice to have that 25/30bps so you can show off. Just gotta get around to trigger settings

FEATURES:
Eyes- The eyes on this gun are quite nice,in the menu option,you can set the eyes to:
-dry fire (this allows you to essentially "turn off" the eyes so the gun can fire without paint).
-Force feed (Fastest eye setting,forces bolt to begin movement before ball is 100% in, very useful o get full potential of speed but only recommended with fast hopper aka Reloader B/halo B).
-Delay (Senses the ball and delays the bolt from firing for 125% protection against chopping)

The eyes are great because they ill stop you from chopping balls and will insure you reach maximum speed.

There are many other features for more advanced users. After you've had your gun for awhile you can play around with your debounce settings (Debounce basically bounces ur trigger so the gun can reach top speeds by itself once you get it going,a nice Lil boost), and you can change ur dwell settings (Dwell is the number of milliseconds your bolt will delay itself after you pull the trigger,giving time for ball to feed properly. Lower dwell time for faster hopper, increase for slower hopper). There's also a game timer which is handy for practicing tournament play and pacing yourself.

Clamping feed neck- Allows any hopper to slide right in and lock tight.

***** UGH. Sorry if review is too long,much to talk about,want to make this review as helpful as possible *****

Conclusion: In conclusion,this gun is amazo. I love it,its my pride and joy along with my computer. Which basicly cost the same,lol. But yeah,this gun is h3lla nice looking and theres lots of options for colors (Take my lightblue and ill hurt you...must be original) and its fast right outta the box. Get a fast hopper or ill shoot you with mine.

By the way,im givign it a 10 cause this site is opinionated and in my opinion,my gun is better than yours.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

tonyg Saturday, January 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sypder E-99
Marker Setup: Bob Long Dragon Intimidator
Crossfire 88/4500 Phat Blue (450 psi) Nitro
Empire Cradle + On/Off
Viewloader 12v Revolution
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast hopper (Empire Reloader or Halo B)
Strengths: There's only 2 words that accurately describe this marker: "HOLY CRAP!!" It's easily the best looking marker out there. Looks like the fangs of a rattlesnake wrapped around a skull - it's cold, colorless, black as the caverns of hell. This thing should be in the National Art Museum, not getting soiled while ripping through enemy battalions!

But looks aren't everything - performance matters more. And that's where this gun shines. It's Fast, it's Long, and it's Accurate. Did I mention Fast?

You DON'T want to get DRILLED by this puppy! This thing is so fast, that by the time the vanquished opponent can squeal "I'm hit," there will be no less than 55 splats of paint marking the precise spot where the surgeons will need to operate!!!
Weaknesses: Don't expect fast customer service or accurate directions. The only manual available for the Dragon is the 2002 Intimidator. There's lots of differences between the 2 guns, especially the electronics. I wish I could get something specifically for the Dragon. It's difficult to contact Bob Long - no phone # listed, and emails go unanswered for days.

But having this marker is still worth it - just need to figure out certain things on your own.
Conclusion: If you have the money and you don't mind people constantly staring and saying "DANG!", then buy this marker. You won't be disappointed. It has jaw-dropping looks and performance to match. One person put it best when they said "If that thing shoots half as good as it looks, I do not want to be your opponent!"
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

dbf1066 Tuesday, May 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angel LCD, Tippmann A-5, Various Field Equipment
Marker Setup: Timmy, mac-dev, freak, EVO II
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stiffer detents, and slotted bolt, definitely get a second pressure gage for the high pressure side, it will help in fine tuning and break-in.
Strengths: How about FAST, LOOKS, Design, performance, JUST VERY SWEET
Weaknesses: Requires regular maintenance (greasing various components)
Review: This marker is awesome, here are my favorite things about this marker
1. It can keep a very high rate of fire without breaking balls.
2. The looks grab alot of attention, and will definitely get you some nice compliments on the field.
3. The trigger is very sweet with a quick short pull to ensure your rate of fire is fast.
4. It is very, very light.
5. It has a simple modular design, so you can make upgrades as you wish, and is pretty intuitive on how it works so you approach it with some confidence as you break it apart.
6. Service, the guys at BLAST are great, thanks Terry!
7. High quality construction and durable internal pneumatics (no external tubes all over the place just begging to get pulled/broken)
Conclusion: This marker sits atop of my list of markers out there. Its simple high performance design makes this marker pretty untouchable. If you want a marker that will give all the performance and has looks too, then definitely add this one to your short list for consideration. I PROMISE YOU WILL NOT BE SORRY!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Stang Racer Friday, January 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker, Automag RT, Classic Timmy, Tipp 98, Spyder, Angel.
Marker Setup: Red to Black Dragon, Freak Barrel, 68ci 3000psi, Halo B (Only hopper that could keep up) Chrome Flame 32 Deg. Drop forward. WAS ver. 2.2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel and a very fast hopper.
Strengths: The rate of fire you can get with this gun is insane!! I have had this gun checked at every field I have gone to, by refs wanting to see if it was on full auto. This gun is also one of the most reliable ones I have ever owned, hands down, I have had not one problem in the 6 mothns I have had it, none.
Weaknesses: Nothing. Just know you WILL be going through much more paint, that's really not a bad thing, just gets to be expencive.
Conclusion: This in my opinion is the best Gun I have ever used, as far as: performance, Accuracy, Looks, Quality, and just the look on people’s faces when you walk onto the field with a Dragon. This gun is also a "limited edition" so you won’t see to many other people with your gun. Overall I am happy with every penny that went into buying this gun. If you have the money, and can still find one to buy, I would defiantly recommend buying this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintbalpsycho Saturday, November 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dark angel
Marker Setup: bob long dragon intimidator/with revolution 2,wgp nitro tank,torpedo drop forward/WGP 03 outcast,revolution 2,nitro,torpedo drop forward,with eblade
Recommended
Upgrades:
get a torpedo drop forward, its really up to you what kind of upgrades you want on your gun...
Strengths: very fast,its really compacted everything is proportion.
Weaknesses: the little spikes at the bottom of the trigger guard can become a problem,
Review: All around this gun is a very good gun. When I first saw dragon I was amazed at the by the milling and carving of the frame. This is probably the best gun I have ever owned. As I became more accustom to the gun I was 100% more accurate and faster.
Conclusion: If you decide to buy this gun I would recommend you shoot it around get used to the sensitivity of the trigger and the accuracy. Just so you can angle it cause some guns when you shoot it the balls tend to drop or swerve left or go any which direction.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 17th, 2003 at 7:21 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

TheChinest Sunday, May 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra with a CP barrel and with 45/4500 PMI tank "Mini-Me" ... this marker had WAY too much kick. The high kick made a difference in my accuracy while firing at a high rate of fire. The dragon has far less kick. That is the key difference between the two in my opinion.
Marker Setup: BobLong Dragon Intimidator
Green to Black fade
CP chrome flame drop forward
Air America Apocolypse 2k 45/4500 tank
evolution II egg with Y board (19 bps)
Delron Bolt
added bob long micro low press gauge for low press reg and swapped out Ascroft gauge with a bob long micro high press gauge for high press reg
Took out trigger spring and installed a Techna Trigger Rapier
Recommended
Upgrades:
bob long micro gauges (the default ashcroft gauge is huge)
Barrel system (the default Long Shot barrel is ok... but I shot with "The Freak" before and there was a HUGE difference.)
Delron bolt (Just so you don't have to mess with the O ring lube all the time... wish i could find a delron hammer for the same reson)

Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Looks
Weaknesses: Manual outdated. even online.
lowpressgauge?
menu buttons difficult to use
32DegreesLogo fell off grip
Review: The best looking in my option...
I was told only 27 green to black fades were made so i'm 1 of 27!
Milling and finish... unbelieveable!
LCD screen is great... you can see the exact battery voltage left, how many balls per second you have shot since gun turned on, timer, and temp gauge!
Wish the eye sensor covers were flame to fit motiff.
The electronic eyes which prevents ball chops is great... just make sure in correct setting first.
The two finger Trigger with contact is perfect for extreme walking speeds... have gotten up to 18 bps.
The 32 degrees logo fell off my grip within the first 2 days I received, poor choice there.
Conclusion: Was worth the dollars to have the ultimate in speed, accuracy, and looks.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 26th, 2003 at 8:59 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

eqseal Monday, June 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
RT Mags, various Cockers, Angels, Spyder Amg, they are are fine guns. I have to say that the Dragon is by far the best marker I've used, 2nd place goes to the X-Mag.
Marker Setup: Black Dragon Intimidator, Egg hopper, CP drop and on/off, PMI PE 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'm going to look into a Freak or Boomstick, although the stock barrelhas got ot be the best stock barrel out there.
Strengths: Fast, accurate, light, fast, accurate, great looking, fast
Weaknesses: I had to pay for it.
Review: I'll keep it simple, it's the best out there. I've used it once in addition to testign someone elses Dragon. I'm only going to like it more and morea as I get used to it and play around with it a little. If you can afford to spend this much on a marker this is it. You will be assured that you have the best. It's still sinking in that I have a Dragon Intimidator. Cool!
Conclusion: Buy it, if you don't, someone lese will and you'll be jelous and cry.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PS2Paintball Tuesday, August 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angel IR3, Angel 02 LCD, they are awesome but I prefere the Dragon over any gun.
Marker Setup: Red/Black Bob Long Dragon Intimidator
Dye Boomstick
32 degrees flame drop w/32 degress on/off valve
Halo B
The Grip feed neck from WGP
68/4500 Crossfire Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
FAST HOPPER!!!!!!!!!!
Boomstick, the stock is awesome but you do notice a difference with a Boomstick on it.
FAST HOPPER!!!!!!!!!!!!FAST HOPPER!!!!!!!!!!!!FAST HOPPER!!!!!!!!!!!!FAST HOPPER!!!!!!!!!!!!
The Grip feed neck
Did I mention FAST HOPPER?
Strengths: SPEED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Accuracy
Weaknesses: The Manual, but every manual sucks lol
Read Conclusion
Review: This whole gun is awesome. I think that the best gun in the world is the best one for you when you fire that gun you need to have that click with it, and for me my clcik is with this gun. If you ask anyone that knows me " What is Miguels(me)favorite thing about his gun", they will just laugh and say SPEED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love speed and this is awesome I hit 24 bps on this thing . This thing flys and it does have great accuracy.
Conclusion: Best gun for me!!!!!!!! and you will find the best gun for most people is either a Inimidator Angel or Autococker.
Only thing that is bad but I dont think so is Looks and amazes people so much you will spend alot of time talking to people about it and they will be in just standing right by you when you are loading up for the next game with there jaw dropped and drule dripping from there mouth, but about every 5 min the with wipe there mouth and say SWEEEEET then there jaw drops again and that goes on for the rest of the day.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 25th, 2004 at 6:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, May 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
dye autococker, 2k1 cocker
Marker Setup: red to black dragon timmy w/ chrome cp flame drop
black stickies, pureE 68/4500 preset nitro
all black 12in freak set, 12v revvie w/x-board & vortex imp.
dye tank cover
my dye cocker is now a back-up
Recommended
Upgrades:
freak set (haven't even shot stock barrel yet)
dye stickies, i don't care what anyone says there is a difference
good nitro tank, fast hopper, SOB BOARD (free swap)
matching gear, cuz this marker is toooo sweet to dress ugly
Strengths: THE MILLING! the weight, speed, accuracy with good barrel set-up, anti chop eye really works, aluminum eye covers, clamshell frame, this gun is so light and easy to handle it's ridiculous. the feed tube seems made for my revvie, i don't need any tape! you can guarantee everyone from newbees to tourney playas will want to look at this baby. it doesn't NEED any upgrades or parts to go and play. does not chop paint. i repeat does not chop paint. my last gun is a 2k2 dye cocker and let me say this gun is much better, in virtually every respect except maybe that it's louder. bob long's customer service is awesome. he sent me a replacement eye at no charge even though it was my fault. i didn't know the operating pressure for this gun and i got a personal call from bob asking me if it worked o.k. (even if he did wake me up on saturday morning!) bob is offering a free swap for sob board for dragon owners too.
Weaknesses: the maintenance kinda sucks for me. my first electro and i accidentall disconnected a.c.e. while taking apart marker. does not come with up to date manual. loud... not as bad as stock timmy but still loud. gun is a bit of a pain to disassemble. gripframe must be taken apart to change battery. expensive.
Conclusion: if you got the money and want a sweet looking gun and don't want / like a gz then definitely buy one... if you can find it. this is a gun for players like me who try to intimidate players by looking good and having a scary gun because i'm too fat and old to whip you on skill alone. hahaha.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

stoporIllshoot Friday, December 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
lasoya timmy, tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: black to orange fade dragon, eigenram, hybrid ram cap, hybrid volumizer, 2k5 frame, m6 imfamous, lazer eyes, redz clamping feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
all personal, rips out of the box, probably a barrel kit of somekind
Strengths: Shoots very smooth, looks great, easy to maintain, super reliable, efficient
Weaknesses: Initial price, ignorant people, hard to stop buying cool things for it,
Review: This is far and away a great gun, however this can be said about any of the bob long intimidators . They pretty much all shoot the same, have the same efficiency, The main difference is the milling, and this is where the dragon shines.

This gun is very accurate, easy to maintain, and always reliable. Just an occasional lube job, and the beast is off and ripping. It is very reliable, have played in the heat, cold, and even rain, and it was always on the go. It is the tippmann of the electro world. I still have a tippmann, but since i have gotten the dragon, the tippmann has not been used.

Conclusion: buy the gun that you think looks the best, in my opinion it is the dragon, I have a texas storm too, but I like the dragon, all personal preference, and we all know how something can seem better because we like the way it looks. Bottom line just buy bob, and you will not be dissapointed. By bob, I mean bob long, hope you knew that.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 29th, 2006 at 2:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media