paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Imagine / Kingman Spyder Imagine / Kingman Spyder Imagine / Kingman Spyder Imagine

Kingman Spyder Imagine Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Imagine

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Imagine
[ View Photos (49) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 704
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $180

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
STANDARD FEATURES:
IPI System (Intelligent Push-Button Indicator)
Firing Modes includes semi-auto, 3 burst, and Full Auto
LED Light Display Format
9 1/2" Aluminum Barrel
Sleek, Custom Design Receiver
Reactive Trigger Response, Up to 14 shots/sec
Vizion TM Rear Cocking System
Two Trigger Finger w/Regulation Trigger Guard
Anti-Double Feed
Adjustable Trigger Pull
Expansion Chamber with Fore Grip
Tournament Velocity Adjuster
Vertical Ball Feed
Low Pressure Chamber
Bottom Line Set-up w/ Stainless Steel Hose
Quick Disconnect Pin
Battery Indicator
External Recharge Port
Operates effectively on CO2 or Compressed Air
Elbow
Barrel Plug
Spare Parts Kit
Java 9.6 volt Rechargeable Battery
Java Battery Charger
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Imagine is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (71):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
mobbology Tuesday, March 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month94 of 146 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Low Pressure E-99
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
Running 350psi @ 295fps (more air efficient)
32* Spring Kit
Trigger Job (too light to pull now)
Maddman Rocket Valve
Psysho Drop Forward
System X Regulator
Java Vertical Feed
Poor Man Lightening Bolt
Polished Internals
J&J "14 Ceramic Barrel
12v X-Board Revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
High Flow Reg and Low Pressure Valve (Maddman or AKA Tornado)
Strengths: My buddies and I went to a local outdoor field (we all got low pressure spyder set-ups) and took out a team of Autocockers and Angels. I dont know what skill level they were but they did not look happy after the game. We rematched again and same results. We dominated even more. Our team just started playing last December '02 so were considered rookies. I love this sport!
Weaknesses: Spyder Haters! Dont get me wrong, I love Autocockers, Angels, and Timmies but those owners look down on Spyder owners.
Review: I had an E-99 with the same set-up as my Imagine. I sold the E-99 just so i can have an Imagine. The Imagine's IPI Electro grip is much more user-friendly than the E-99 Dip Switch grip. Although you get less features (which is no biggy for me), you can change your firing options with a single button.
Conclusion: If your a low budget paintballer, get this gun. Easy to use and maintain.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
83 Comments - Add Comment

Ivar Nelson Tuesday, January 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months87 of 94 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact, Old & New versions
Spyder Shutter, Extra
Tippman A5
Dragun TES
Marker Setup: Depending on the situation I use:
1. Spyder Imagine with:
Empire Reloader, ANS Delrin bolt, ANS feed tube, ANS Helical Expansion Chamber, All-American Barrel, ANS Valved Drop Forward Kit
2. Tippmann A-5 with ANS two-piece barrel
3. Dragun TES with SP valve to allow for HP/N2 tank attachment, Ev'lution II (Egg)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrades in order of priority:
1. Remove the sight rail. It is unneeded.
2. Adjust play in trigger with adjustment screw.
3. Metal feed tube with cup. (unbreakable!)
4. Barrel. Check the reviews and make your choice.
5. Expansion Chamber if you use CO2
6. Delrin Bolt. Check the reviews and make your choice.
7. Motorized Hopper when you get fast enough to chop.
8. Cosmetic upgrades (see below)
Strengths: Economy, reliability, ease of use and cleaning, compact size, upgradeable, electro, ubiquitous if help needed.
Weaknesses: Limited to 13-14 balls per second. Trigger good, not great. Not an "Elite" marker.
Review: The Imagine is a very good gun for the price. I like the compactness which aids maneuverability. My all black Imagine looks great to me also, with the clear plastic grips painted black on the inside to match the gun frame. I even switched the low pressure chamber to a black one from a Spyder Compact. Parts, if needed, are available almost anywhere, and when you play in a group chances are that many of them have had Spyders or clones, and can help you with any problems that may arise. The 3-shot burst and full auto modes can be fun, but if you are playing with others that don't have that capability, probably best to abstain in the name of sportsmanship. Of course organized tournaments do not allow auto modes, but it can be tournament legal if the jumper wire is changed. Field monitors can tell you how to do it.
The velocity adjuster on the back of the receiver makes it easy to adjust fps also. I do notice some change in fps in going from HPA to CO2, and that feature makes it easy to go back and forth from one to another, unlike most of the "Elite" guns that absolutely require HPA or Nitrogen. An HPA tank costs about as much as the Imagine!
Speaking of "Elite". I am a pragmatist (of or pertaining to a practical point of view) and look at the items that I purchase from a functionality standpoint as well as cost-effectiveness. Yeah, I also admit I like customizing to make a gun be all that it can be. Sounds like a previous US Army commercial, doesn't it? For these reasons I really like the Imagine. Since I am way too old (61) to be a serious competitor on some pb team, the Imagine was a great place to get acquainted with a hybrid gun that I fully intend to keep, even though I have purchased other guns since I bought it. I know that there are "better" guns out there, but for what this gun costs vs. its potential, I have to give it high marks. Having started when pumps were more common than semis, I have seen a steady improvement in guns over the years. Yes, there are some exceptions, but all-in-all I prefer to look at guns as different rather than better or worse.
It depends on the shooter, where he goes to play, and many other factors. The Imagine is a good middle-ground gun. But for the newbie, a mechanical semi like a Victor or Compact might be a better start for around $50.
At this point I am done modifying the Imagine, It is as good (and pretty!) as I need it to be. Although I characterized the trigger as good, not great, it can be greatly improved by removing the grip and turning the chromed phillips-head trigger stop bolt out just a little bit , maybe 1/4 turn, at a time! When the "slop" is all gone, and the trigger just barely touches the micro-switch button after the grip is replaced on the frame, you are good to go. When you get quick enough on the trigger, chops may occur. That is the time to get a Revvy or an Empire Reloader. The only reason for a Halo, Reloader B or Evo II is if you are planning to get a faster (Elite?) gun some time in the future. Even then you may be happy with two complete systems, rather than changing hoppers from gun to gun. Especially since it is often necessary to sand the tube on hoppers to make them fit. An Evo II, for example, needs to be sanded down to fit my Dragun TES, and many others. Then it is too small to provide a tight fit on a whole bunch of other guns, and you will have to tape it to make the tube bigger, or find some other way to take up the slack.
If you do decide to get an Imagine, you can do it with confidence. Even if you outgrow it, or want something different, chances are that it will serve you well as long as you have it. Or if you are an old guy like me, you will surely have some family that will be more than happy to either use it, or become the new owner. My 21 year old son is looking forward to tomorrow, when he can use it in our weekly games. Now I supposedly have a "better" gun. He is faster and smaller and will probably get me out 2 or 3 times as often as I get him.
In conclusion I am going to give the Imagine a 10. Not because it is the most sophisticated marker that ever came down the pike, but because it does what it was designed to do economically,competently and with a certain amount of style. And it leave things for you to upgrade and personalize. I like the black best, but colors are a very subjective choice. Get what YOU like.
Conclusion: If you are somewhere in the middle of paintball participation and skill as most of us are, seriously consider the Imagine. You might be able to do better with more $'s, but you can certainly do a lot worse.
Hope this helps. The ultimate decision is up to you.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 5th, 2004 at 3:56 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

eastwood2 Tuesday, May 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year61 of 75 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter
Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: Black Spyder Imagine
Ricochet AK electro feeder
20 oz. CO2
ACI Zero Gravity barrel, 13.5"
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
agitated hopper
Strengths: Light
Great looking
Durable finish
Reliable
Fast
Easy to strip/clean
Universal Spyder parts
Weaknesses: SIGHT RAIL EDGES CAN CUT YOU!!!
Grip covers not water proof/resistant
Review: Bottomline: excellent marker at a great price ($120 Action Village and other sights, Rocky Mountain $124)

TWO KEY WEAKNESSES:
1. Kingman really screwed up on the design of the sight rail vs. the bolt opening. Edges of sight rail are razor sharp (no lie) and are located exactly where you have to reach in with two fingers to pull the recessed bolt back. Amazingly stupid design flaw!!! If you reach in from a low angle, you're OK; however, if you reach in from a high angle YOU CAN EASILY GET A SEVERE CUT--be very careful. I discovered this the hard way and received a wicked gash across my thumb--thanks Kingman! Solution: REMOVE THE SIGHT RAIL and either leave it off or file it down. Do this immediately! Before you play with it. The sight rail is cosmetic anyway since this is a vertical feed gun and would block any sight. However, the rail does look nice and you will probably want to file it and put it back on.

2. Plastic grip covers on electronic trigger frame are not water proof or even water resistant. Another really dumb design flaw. The electronics are completely vulnerable to water and other crap that is found on most woodball fields, at least here in the Northeast. Come on Kingman! Don't they product test these things before they put them into production?! On my gun, the grip cover that you need to remove to access the battery (the left cover) actually bows out from the frame slightly, leaving a significant gap open to everything. The first day I used this gun, it was sprinkling off and on all day and had rained heavily the day before. We were splashing through swamp and streams. How hard would it have been to build some sort of gasket into the grip frame??? Not very.

The action on this electronic marker is fantastic. Like clicking a mouse. Essentially fires as fast as you can click the trigger on semi. Fields up here don't allow burst or full auto, but it's still worth getting even for semi mode. Also, fun to mess around with other modes. You'll need an agitated hopper for full auto or you'll chop balls, which is true for any electronic marker. Modes: semi, 3 round, full auto.
Conclusion: Despite the flaws (easily solvable or avoidable) I noted above, this is an excellent gun. It's more compact and lighter than the Shutter, for instance, with a very durable finish. The BLACK Imagine looks really cool! I'm sure the green does as well. Also, if you're interested in a great aftermarket barrel for the black Imagine, get the ACI Zero Gravity ($40 +/-) --it happens to have the EXACT same finish and color as the black Imagine! This barrel is also incredibly light, very accurate, and fairly quiet.
You'll be thrilled with this gun. A great value at $120 +/- from several sites: ActionVillage for one. Just remember, take the sight rail off immediately and either leave it off or file it down. I'm giving this gun a 9.5 for now, but may upgrade it to a 10 once my cut heals. It's a high quality gun at an affordable price.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 29th, 2004 at 1:43 pm PST
I found this review  
21 Comments - Add Comment

Nwilson Monday, December 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months31 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder agressor XT - Essentially same gun but non-electro and no ex chamber.
Marker Setup: Spyder Agressor XT - J&J 14" Ceramic
Spyder Imagine - J&J 14" Ceramic, revolution 12V, 20oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Needs a Evolution2 hopper, the revvy wont keep up on high speed full auto and new barrel (of course).
Strengths: Reliable and cheap.
Weaknesses: Nothing to complain about.
Review: Nice gun...got mine at Academy for $119. I play woodsball almost exclusively, so for you speedballers I can't say if this gun will work for you. For what I use it for it's great. Bang for your buck, Spyders won't dissapoint. Only problem I had was that I got a 12v Revolution hopper with mine and was chopping balls like crazy on the high speed full auto setting. Found out the revolution wasn't keeping up. Tried it with an Evolution and worked like a charm - no breaks, not chops. Bottom line - VERY good gun for woodsball players on a budget.


P.S. Just wanted to add this.

There is alot of talk about the bolt scratching issue. EVERYBODY who owns spyders, including pro shop guys, will tell you that your bolt will scratch. This is COMPLETELY NORMAL ! this does NOT hinder the operation of the gun in any way and will NOT ever cause your gun to fail. I'm so tired of people complaing about the bolt scratching issue. It's like complaining that the Pope is Catholic !
Conclusion: Woodsball players that want full auto or 3 round burst capability - you can't beat his gun for the price. I Highly recommend.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 15th, 2003 at 12:55 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

4X4 Saturday, March 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year29 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
e-99
Marker Setup: spyder imagine, 14" tear drop, ak ricochet hopper, 32 degrees universal drop forward,48/3000psi HPA Tank, check it products slip on feed, check it products assult block,sweet spot trigger, shock tech super fly bolt, macro line set up
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel( **this is needed badly**) The barrel that comes with it is a 9.5 inch barrel that just doesn't shoot far enough for me in speed ball, I found without an elec hopper i would not chop balls, but jam one every once and a while( not really a problem, just recock the bolt) But you should have an elec. hopper.
Strengths: Fast, fullauto is sweet, the gun is electronic




Weaknesses: Barrel, and offset frame
Review: This gun is great. It is electric which has a fast semi response, 3 round, and full auto (high and low) The gun is nice looking, durable and light. Down falls - short barrel, offset type trigger frame, and the grip should be more water proof. But all in all, the gun is awesome, got me threw a lot of wars and sticky situations, it never failed me and is running strong after about a year of use (I use it every weekend) If ya want a fast gun for a cheap price, get the imagine.

Conclusion: Get this gun
Great for beginners or anyone who are not hardcore players, even if u were hard core, i dont see why this gun couldnt be used
Good tournament entry level gun
Fast
Fun
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 30th, 2004 at 9:59 pm PST
I found this review  
20 Comments - Add Comment

Okibi Friday, April 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months25 of 35 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom - Fairly nice, I'm not too fond of them though.
M3 Black Dragun Compact - A nice marker, but does not compare to the Imagine.
Arrow Precision Inferno - Chopped a lot of paint, does not compare to the Imagine.
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
Equation Bizerk Classic 10"
CP Spyder Flame Drop
16oz Co2 (HPA soon)
Custom Grips
Ricochet AK
Check It 15* Assault Block
Aluminum Vertical Feed Adapter
Camo Tank Cover
Spring Kit
Other Upgrades And Mods
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Electric Hopper
Drop Forward
Spring Kit
Strengths: IPI System
Aethstetics
"Mod-ability"
Ease Of Use
Durability
Translucent Grips
Velocity Adjuster
Weaknesses: Vertical Feed Requires Elbow
No Dropforward
Barrel
Not Waterproof
Review: The Spyder Imagine is a great marker. It's very easy to use, the IPI (Intelligent Push Button) system works very well and you can cycle modes and rates of fire quickly. It's fairly aesthetically pleasing and with a few mods can achieve autococker status. Speaking of mods, upgrading is very easy. Spyder threaded barrels are everywhere and most aftermarket parts can fit on this gun (from bolts to regulators to drop forwards). Without an electronic hopper you may experience breaking after semi-auto mode.
Conclusion: The Spyder Imagine is utterly a great marker. It is easily modified and is tournament legal. This marker is great for anybody, newbies and pros alike. And for those people complaining about the clear grips, I admit they are pretty bad but if you tape an image in behind it, it gives a great effect. Buy this marker!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 11th, 2003 at 10:43 am PST
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

ViperXT Tuesday, July 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month24 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Avenger(doesn't even compare to the Imagine)
Tippmann Model 98 Custom(similar quality but lacking in features)
JT eXcellerator 5.0(About the same as the Imagine but semi-auto only).
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Imagine - Green
12" J&J Ceramic Barrel - Black
12 volt Revvy w/ X-board - Black
20oz Pure Energy CO2 w/ on/off

Backup marker:
Brass Eagle Avenger
VL200 loader
9oz Brass Eagle CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Agitated hoppper should be number one for automatic modes.
A new barrel will increase accuracy and improve noise.
Strengths: Inexpensive, excellent trigger, good choice of firing modes and easy to change amongst them.
Weaknesses: Grip isn't terribly comfortable, sight rail can be a hazard, loud
Review: This is only my second paintball marker. Up until recently I had been using a Brass Eagle Avenger that did decently well for a beginner. However, after upgrading to a better barrel and electric hopper I wasn't getting the performance I wanted so I decided to buy a better marker. I was initially going to buy an Tippmann M98 but I really liked the idea of an Imagine, which has an electric trigger with several modes and an x-chamber for about the same price as the M98.

First of all, the look and feel of the marker. The Imagine is a fairly good-looking marker and is not too heavy. It is heavier than my Avenger but not nearly as heavy as a JT 5.0. When using the fore grip the marker is very well balanced when a larger(12oz or greater) CO2 tank is used. The cocking mechanism is also very cool, working internally and being ambidextrous. The sight rail looks cool but it sharp on the edges. Many people seem to think that a sight rail is useless on a vertical feed. However, red dot sights can be used with both eyes open; allowing use to "see through" the hopper. The stock barrel is acceptable but an aftermarket barrel is a considerable upgrade in looks and performance.

The electronic trigger frame is the star performer of this marker. Using the IPI system, one can select the various firing modes. The modes availible are: semi-automatic, 3 round burst(normal or turbo) and automatic(normal or turbo). In semi-auto the light trigger makes high rate of fire easy. I can easily reach about 10 balls per second. In turbo autmatic the ROF is just insane, 13bps I believe. My 12volt Revolution loader, with the X-Board, keeps up with it without chopping though. The burst mode is nice too, it is just like automatic except it stops every 3 shots requiring you to release and re-pull the trigger to fire another burst.

Since the marker is still similar to other Spyders in all ways except for the trigger, the performance is similar. This can have its disadvantages. For one, it is fairly loud, especially with the stock barrel. With a decent aftermarket barrel(such as a J&J Ceramic barrel) the noise is reduced considerably. Velocities are fairly consistent due to the x-chamber, but on long bursts of automatic firing slight variances in velocity are noticeable. The marker also has a slight “kick”, nothing comparable to that of a real firearm but enough to have slight effects on your aim. With the exception of the slight kick, accuracy is excellent. A managed to shoot a small 2” circular disc on my second shot at 25 feet, pretty impressive considering no sights were used. When I shoot the marker at a 45 degree angle you can see that the paintballs (I am currently using Zap Sport Series) travel very straight without curving like other markers I have tried. My main complaints about the marker can be remedied through upgrades, making this a great marker to upgrade as you have the money available.

Accessories: The marker also comes with an AC adaptor to plug in to the marker to charge the (also included) 9.6V rechargeable NiMH(Nickel-Metal Hydride) battery. A vertical plastic elbow is also included. It is transparent which allows you to see the feed path and is adjustable on the top and bottom. Using a coin or flat blade screwdriver you can adjust for a tight fit on the feed port and hopper.
Conclusion:
In closing, this marker makes a great marker for a novice(but not total newbie) to paintball. The electric trigger may be too touchy for first time players though. The performance you get for the price is amazing. Highly recommended.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

supergun0 Sunday, February 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years17 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
a-5
pimp kit
98 custom
bob long intimidator
e-99
talon ghost
tippmann pro-carbine
amp generator
system X special edition 45-c
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Imagine-S Paintball Marker
flatline kit (spyder threaded adapter)
electric hopper (250 rds)
remote kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel
flatline
Strengths: Everything. its ALL good full-auto is pimp
Weaknesses: Nothing, can only shoot 4 bps with gravity feed.
Review: This is by far the best gun i've ever used. This is the best small investment ever. These 2 years ive used it, it only chopped balls once when i was in the snow. even then I took on all the other guns. I've been to many tournaments and between games I'm the only one ready to go while the other people are cleaning they're 700$ piles. Good gun.
Conclusion: I've used $2,000 guns, traded them in for a car and this awesome gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

lookbehindyou Tuesday, May 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
all sorts of guns.........but my friend has a similar gun, the e99, and he hated it because it was extremely inaccurate and unreliable so he sent it back.
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
stock barrel and 14" Smart Parts Teardrop barrel (black and sexy)
20 oz CO2
Scott Hotshot Thermal Mask (i love that thing......it saves my butt if i get shot in the mask)
Rufus Dawg Marker Hardcase
32 degrees coiled remote and harness
Recommended
Upgrades:
-a new barrel-definitely (I recommend 14" Teardrop-I have it-I love it-It rocks)
-An agitated hopper if you plan on seriously using the high rate of fare on full auto
- new bolt ......I mean the stock one is OK, but a new one will increase accuracy and air efficiency.
Strengths: sleak........cheap.......firing modes(see review)
Weaknesses: sight rail is pointless and stock barrel is a pile.
thats all.....
Review: I have had it about a month and have only had a chance to test it out on one occasion and that was last weekend..........we played all day long........and I love it........

The stock barrel is crap, but that's ok. Every gun's stock barrel is. Don't let people that own autocockers,angels,timmys,mags and mess like that try to put spyders down and say they're not good guns because they are. I mean there's nothin wrong w/ autocockers because they're awesome, but they have no right to talk about us ppl that aren't rich who have spyders. So far, I think this gun is great. It's got a lot of ease of use and accuracy. It's a sturdy gun and has good parts(except for the barrel). It also has a very very sensitive trigger(for a spyder at least). Put the safety on when walking to your starting point or you might brush it against your leg or somethin and shoot somebody.......lol....(oops) I love the three shot burst which is great for speedball and when you're in a jam. I love the price, it's reasonable. Get it.........that's all i can say........it's a good gun !!!!!
UPDATE (6/16/2004):
I have now played 4 more times with it, and have broken zero balls during gameplay. I even played in the pouring rain yesterday and the electronics suffered no damage. I have experienced zero problems with the gun and it has been very reliable. I just wish I could get an HPA tank so that it would run cleaner. But CO2 is fine for now. BUY this gun and it won't let you down. Mine hasn't.
Conclusion: Of course........i'm gonna give it a 9 because it's not a perfect gun........but it's darn close...........the quality is good...........and ppl will envy you once you light em up w/ the 3 shot burst.......buy it and have fun........that's all i can say
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 16th, 2004 at 7:47 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

daveyheath Tuesday, July 20th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year14 of 51 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BE Stingray
Tippmanns
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
KO barrell kit
12v Revi
CO2
JAVA feed neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrell
A new bolt
A new feed neck
Oil
Probably new springs
A regulator?
Strengths: You got me?
Electric Trigger?
See review
Weaknesses: Innacurate even with artermarket parts
Gas HOG
Leaks all over
Poor machining
Review: Ok... First off... I am not one of those people who diss Spyders because the're cheap. I try to keep an open mind about everything I try.

To keep a positive note I am going to go over the good parts first. Because the trigger frame is essentially a button, the trigger pull is light. That is nice for shooting fast. And the push button thing is easy to use.

Next... The bad... I got this gun because it was inexpensive and I was hooked on paintball. And from day one it has given me nothing but trouble. When I first got it I went out with a friend and played some one on one. He shot me with his BE from a range of about 35 yards. I was shooting paint like crazy and it was going everywhere but where I wanted it to. So I solved that with a 32 Degrees Whisper ($50). Then, when it got more accurate, it started chopping like no other. I tried to fix that with a 12v. Revolution ($45) and new feed neck ($15), figuring it was a feed problem. It wasn't.

After finally going to some web forum and asking what was going on I realized that the bolt didn't fit the chamber, and so gas was escaping the bolt and traveling up the feed neck. This gas pushed the balls up and so they took longer to come down. On a follow-up shot you would chop the paintball because it took too long to drop into the chamber. If you have a stock bolt take off the back plate and the barrell and stare down the chamber. Even with O rings on I was able to see light around the bolt. This is an example of poor machining and poor design. I remedied the bolt issue with a Shockteck Superfly ($39) which increased accuracy A LOT, stopped some gas from going up the feed tube, and was quite a bit tighter. When I removed the bolt I also noticed a significant amount of wear on the bolt's top. This made me a little suspicious of the actual motion that the internals made.

I recently got out my gun to go play and dry fired it just at the house here. I noticed that there is still gas coming out of the feed neck, and when I put paint in it still chopped. I figure that has something to do with the internal timing of all the parts and the fact that the bolt starts moving back before the gas reaches the paintball. You could probably fix that with something like the 32 Degrees spring kit.

I have also had several incidents when my gun siezed up. The only reason I can think of for that is icing and absence of lubrication. I can rule out icing as the reason because whenever I shoot the gun it the winter it works great. I can rule out lube because I keep the gun well maintained. I oil it well after every time I play and, if it's acting up, even before I play.

As for accuracy? If you want to be able to hit a watermellon at 20 feet... don't get this gun. I recently bought a KO barrel kit and even with the appropriate sized backs I wasn't able to hit anything. The electric trigger makes up for that though, you can throw out 4 or 5 rounds before he gets to any cover. Unless he's out there a ways... Then hell just laugh at you, because you have no range, and shoot you in the face.

Finally the gun itself.

1. The Spyder Imagine is HUGE. This gun is a full 11 inches long not including the barrell. That's Tippmann size. I'm not saying Tippmanns are bad, in fact I love Tippmanns and suggest them to anyone as an alternative to this gun, but a gun with a speedball theme should not be this size.
2. The expansion chamber is a complete hoax. It is nothing but a high volume gas-through foregrip. It has absolutely no baffles or anything to prevent liquid from going into the gun.
3. The velocity adjuster isn't all that effective. Get a spring kit.
4. The gun leaks air around the pin that holds the seal into the gun when fired. That's jsut bad design.
4. The electric trigger system maxes out at 12 or 13 bps. My grandma could max that thing out.
5. The mounting bolts on the trigger frame are loose. You can fix that with a little JB weld though I think.
6. Last but not least. The trigger frame is HUGE. It's almost uncomfortable it's soo thick.
Conclusion: DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES BUY THIS GUN!!

I ended up spending about $150 more on this gun and it still doesn't work well. I am not going to spend another $150 to see if it works better then. Take your $225 and spend it on something else.

I play mostly woodsy speedball but have not found that the IMAGINE has given me enough performance. It's range isn't comparable to tippmanns or even other low end guns, It's accuracy is comparable to a Brass Eagle, and it chops paint soo frequently that it is almost not worth it to even enter the field. I am upgrading to an Autococker within the week and hope it will give me better performance. With the amount of maintanance this gun requires it may be a relief to only have to time the Cocker once in awhile. I am unsure, though, if I may ever get my money back on this gun. I cannot conciously sell it to any of my friends for fear that it may give me a bad rap at the field.

My final reccomendation is to save a little more money and buy a Tippmann. If you are really set on a Spyderlike gun buy buy a Spyder with a mech. trigger and no foreward handle and tweak it. Better yet a friend of mine has a Pirannah and it's pretty nice. Still, the mech. trigger will make you learn to shoot faster, and you can build those dinky finger muscles.

I am soo embarrassed to go onto the field with this gun that I have started using my stock Stingray again. And whenever I see someone with one of these guns I deleberately hunt them down as an easy kill.

I give the Spyder Imagine a 2 out of 10 because it's shootable and probably fixable but sucks with any of the regular upgrades. All those drops and assault blocks and stuff everyone else has is mostly just cosmetic and for personal touch. The gun shouldn't need any of it to operate properly.

And anyone who says I'm a Spyder hater needs to get their head checked.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (71):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media