paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airgun Designs Automag RT / Airgun Designs Automag RT / Airgun Designs Automag RT / Airgun Designs Automag RT

Airgun Designs Automag RT Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airgun Designs

Buy Airgun Designs Automag RT

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airgun Designs Automag RT
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 65
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $799

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Partial List of Features: Reactive Trigger™ (RT) technology capable of an astounding 25+ rounds/sec without measurable shootdown,designed exclusively for use with high performance compressed gases, all new RT valve recharges 5 times faster than the 68AUTOMAG valve, the RT valve features a stainless valve body with a lightweight hard anodized aluminum regulator body laser-cut, precision located, roller bearing, carbide tipped Sear Assembly, stainless steel hard line - no bulky braided hose, front grip with built in air passage for custom hookups, polished stainless steel mainbodies, new tapered barrel with polished stainless steel muzzle brake, and built in filter that prevents valve contamination and performance degradation.
Product Availability 
The Airgun Designs Automag RT is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
InterNtlDelight Sunday, March 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smarts Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra w/ VL Revolution 12 volt
Tippmann 98Costum w/ VL Quantum
Trilogy Sport w/ Evolution II Loader
Karnivor Autococker w/ Evolution II Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response trigger
New barrel
Thats all
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Weaknesses: Barrel needs a little help
Trigger slows it down a little
Review: I have only tested this marker. So i porbably cant say much. This gun is good for people who want a fast, accurate, and professional. Airgun designs have always made good markers, and this, obviously is one of them. It looks alot like a shocker ultimate. Put a Halo B loader on this baby and it'll be so fast you cant keep up with it.
Conclusion: This is a pretty good marker. I'd get it if I were you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DeathBringer454 Tuesday, January 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used tipmanns,spyders,autocockers,angels,and an e-mag
Marker Setup: AutomagRT with lvl10/ freak kit/ shocktech drop /ricoche2k /68ci nitroduck/benchmark 2finger .45 frame(soon to get an intelli frame)
Recommended
Upgrades:
a lvl10 should be the first thing you get then a new barrel and a 2 finger grip frame because it would be an insult to put a single finger trigger on this gun and finally a good moterized hopper
Strengths: Everything!!! i almost crapped my pants the first time i used it, it was such a big improvement over my 98, the accuracy and consistancy and rate of fire was insane it has a higher rate of fire than any other gun out there.and it is about as accurate as my friends black magic cocker and it is the best non electric semi out there. it also is not much different from an
e-mag and it shoots pretty much the same.
Weaknesses: a little bit of a gas hog but at my local field HPA fills are free. oh and you cant use co2 but i dont care co2 sucks anyways.
Conclusion: it gives all of those expensive electro's a run for thier money seeing how it has the fastest recharging valve and highest Rate of fire than any other gun on the market and still costs alot less. it is an automag and automags are known for thier quality and cusomer service, i got my gun used and had to send it in because it was leaking and i didn't know anything about mags so i sent it in they fixed it for free even though the warrenty was out and i was the 2nd owner and i got it back in less than 10 days. thanks agd!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, September 29th, 2000
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
 
5 out of 28 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: It shoots extremely fast, easy to maintain, and pretty easy to clean. Also all the parts from AGD are very high quality, and the gun doesn't need too many upgrades because most parts made for the RT are worse than the factory equipment.

It's a bad ass looking gun, probably one of the coolest looking guns out there. AGD has one of the best service warranties in the paintball industry, they just worship their customers.
Weaknesses: Not even a high speed blender chops more balls. The RT chops more balls than any other paintball gun I have ever seen. It is HORRIBLE on paint. Most guns may chop 1 in 8000, the RT I owned chopped 1 in 150, and broke about 1 in 500. This was using high quality fresh marbalizer paint.

Also, the gun is not very accurate. The faster you shoot the RT, the higher the velocity climbs. So at 1 ball every 2 seconds, you're gun will shoot at about 260FPS. At 6 balls per second, the velocity will climb to over 285+ Feet per second. This makes the gun horribly inconsistent and inaccurate.

Also, the barrel on an RT doesn't screw in firmly, it's a quarter turn twist lock barrel. You can litterally feel the play in the barrel. You can move the front of the barrel from one side to the other about 2mm. This adds even more to the horrible accuracy. And, if the barrel is just SLIGHTLY unscrewed, it will chop every ball that goes into it.

Plus, the RT shoots the balls out at high pressure, and pressure this high is just brutal on paintball. Even fresh premium paintballs will pop when the RT bolts slams into them.

It's also really heavy, I mean like dead wieght heavy. A RT with a bottle on it weighs about as much as a case of paint! the RT also does not take CO2, so if you dont own a top of line nitroduck bottle, dont get one.

Conclusion: This gun was the worst investment I have ever made. Do yourself a favor and spend the money elsewhere. I have shot about 10+ cases through it, and spent every day at the field constantly cleaning and taking it down. This was a real dissapointment because I saved for a long time to buy the gun.

I owned a spyder before I owned the RT, and in all honesty I love my Spyder much more. At least my spyder didn't chop like crazy, or break nearly as many paintballs. Plus my spyder was more accurate!

Stay away from this gun, buyer beware, get something else. I have heard of people having moderate success with this gun, but the majority chop and break paint like crazy. If you buy this gun, 2 months later it'll be just like mine on Ebay, selling for half the price I bought it. Do NOT buy this gun, it's the advice I wish someone would have given me.

Yes, I know how to shoot an RT, I even chopped and broke when shooting slowly. I've been playing paintball for 6+ years, and I know how to shoot a gun. This gun was just not properly designed, and is way to harsh on the pocketbook and paint.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Jupez Wednesday, May 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Speed Angel, Tippmann 98, Spyder Imagine, and a cocker
Marker Setup: Black RT Automag, 16" All American Barrel, Crossfire N2, and a Egg2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
New Frame
Electronic Hopper
Many will say Level 10 upgrade kit but i've never chopped a ball and i've shot probably 10,000 rounds through it.
Strengths: Pretty fast.
Consistant.
Accurate!
Quiet.
Weaknesses: Heavy.
Gashog (sorta).
Review: Overall, I love this gun! I won it in a raffle and ever since, i've been hooked. The stock frame sucks but that's not too bad. It is totally accurate, me and a speed angel shot at a fence and the spread on mine was not much larger than his and he had an Angel & I had the stock barrel. Although it's heavy, you're arms will "strengthen" up and you will be able to manuever it well.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone. It's probably one of the best non-electro markers you can get.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HellcatCommando Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Little to nothing at all. A league of its own.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR3 16" Double Rifled Barrel
Spyder Fasta Loader
Sig Sauer RAM 226 Pistol
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aftermarket barrel
Electric Hopper
Big Tank
Strengths: Accuracy
Noise
Weight
Weaknesses: None
Review: My Automag RT has been very good to me. The thing is laser straight at 50 feet and beyond. I have a longer barrel and the thing is quiet and really really accurate with it on. The cool thing is that since it is HPA Only (disadvantage to some) it maintains a good consistent shot. The gun is truly a league of its own. To me, the pricetag says $800, this gun is worth every penny of it. Any automag is good, but the RT is the best in my opinion. I have used it in both speedball, woodsball, and scenario and works well all around. Its a very reliable gun with minimal internal components, so it is very easy to clean. Parts are availible everywhere online or direct through the manufacturer. I would reccomend this not as a first gun, but to someone who is becoming very serious in the sport. It is excellent.
Conclusion: You will not be dissapointed if you decide to purchase this!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 2nd, 2007 at 5:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NinjaOscarFish Sunday, December 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mini Mag
Cocker
Shocker
Marker Setup: Rt Pro
Armson Barrel
Level 10
System X Drop Forward With On/Off
Intelli Frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
Level 10
Intelli Frame
Barrel
Fast Hopper
Strengths: Very Accurate, Fast Fast Fast, Compact, Easy To Dis-Assemble And Re-Assemble
Weaknesses: Weight, Needs Level 10 Bolt, New Barrel Is A Must, Short Stroking
Review: The Automag Rt stock was'nt to much fun stock. Chopped balls, short stroked, and was not accurate with stock barrel. As soon as I upgraded to the I-Frame, Lvl 10, and bought a freak barrel system for it, the Rt kicked some serious butt. It was extremely accurate and quick. Never chopped a single ball after purchasing the lvl 10. The gun is very compact and quite comfortable to play with after I installed the drop forward. The gun also had a very good feel to it when shooting.
Conclusion: I loved my Rt, It was my first marker ever and one of my favorites. I recently purchased and Emag and it still keeps up with most guns out there today. Cant go wrong with a mag
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FCinc640 Saturday, April 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
wgp Autococker
wgp oracle
68 automag
Marker Setup: venturi bolt
all american w/ freak front barrel
richochet apache hopper
benchmark trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
new trigger
very fast electronic hopper
level 10 bolt or venturi boly, both work fine
Warp feed
Strengths: very fast, 26 bps
accurate
cool lookin
best semi gun ever
easy maitnence
very sturdy

Weaknesses: manual sux
price
there is nothing that bothers me its a great gun.
Review: ok, i saw my friends wgp 2003 vertical autococker, and i thought it was the best gun out there. he could stand about 50 feet away from a target about 5" by 5" square amd hit it dead center. once i got my automag rt gassed up, my opinion about my friends gun changed dramadically. I gassed it up and fired the fasted i hade ever shot in my life. it was very easy to adjust the velocity, just a quick turn of a valve and i was done. i have taken it apart, cleaned, and lubed up the gun after every use and i have'nt had any problems yet. now i compleatly dominate over my friend in fire power.
Conclusion: best gun ever!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dark Rendition Saturday, November 24th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Strengths: The RT is a VERY accurate and reliable gun. Don't listen to any one who tells you that this guns breaks alot of paint, that is total bull sh*t and they don't know what they are talking about, if you own one or have used one and it broke alot of paint there is ussually a few things wrong that can easily be fixed.

1. The gun has highrise feed, this causes very bad feeding of the gun and can often brake paint (this is usually on the older RTs), if you have this type of gun feed then you can send your gun to AGD to have the body replaced for free. AGD has VERY good customer support.
2. The gun is using a bolt (usually ANS venturi) that requires and "foamie" and the "foamie" has fallen off of the bolt causing balls to sit too far back in the chamber. When the balls do this it can often let the first ball in the powerfeed feed half way into the chamber causing the bolt of the gun to break the ball. To fix this problem you must accuire a stock RT bolt which can be purchased from AGD for 20 or so dollars.
3. You are using a paint with a very brittle or thin shell. Marbs will break very easily in the RT becuase they are very brittle. The RTs bolt opperates a very high pressure. Paints that I would suggest are Proball (reg or platinum) and RPS All Star, the all star are very, very good. They are accurate, round, break on target, and consistent.

If you are looking at buying or trading for an RT you will most likley have to buy it used becuase AGD no longer produces these guns, they only make the RT PROs. Make sure you don't buy a highrise RT, if you do sent it to AGD to be fixed, they should do it for free.

If you have any more questions or would like to correct me on something I have written please e-mail me at :

darkrendition@hotmail.com

I will answer them as best I can or direct you to someone who can.
Weaknesses: -It is a little on the heavy side.
-Very high pressure, so it will break some of the more brittle paint.
-Must run on nitrogen or compressed air
-Tends to use more gas then other guns, this problem isn't a big deal, just don't buy a 47ci tank and expect 500 shots. This guns works best with a 88 or 114ci tank or a 68ci 4500psi tank.
Conclusion: Great gun for Newbie or Pro.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AGD_Richie Tuesday, October 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing really, maybe the Tac-one, but nothing really compares.
Marker Setup: Automag RT Nickel powerfeed left

16' SP progressive
12 volt revvi
freak jr black tip and crome back
freak all american black
clear elbow
48/3k
Recommended
Upgrades:
New foregrip
Revvi
barrel ( stock is crappo )
Strengths: Balenced out, its small, i can put it in the gun case.
Weaknesses: Exept maybe may be a bit heavey for a someone who just got it
Review: I love this gun, I mean i just got mine like a week ago and i just love it. It needs compressed air or nitro eaither works fine. Uhm well this may not be an issue for anyone, but if u are low on dough for a drop forward i would suggest the deadon, becus the tank isnt all up in ur face. You wil need a revvi hopper becus this thing will seriously outshoot ur grav hopper. And with the new hAir trigger frame its going to be able to rip madd!!.
Conclusion: BUY IT, BUY IT.... Have u bought it yet? lol, anyway, i think its a good buy, always ur back up gun to ur angel, i personally think this gun is ur next angel or the RT pro ule.

Still buy it.,
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tonyr Sunday, December 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
68 mag, and most other non-electro semis
Marker Setup: agd rt
68 3000 flatline tank
benchmark double trigger frame
12v xboard revvy
lv 10 bolt
other stuff
Recommended
Upgrades:
a good regulator and new barrel.
Strengths: It is the best non electric semi i have shot, aside form some very high end cockers, but i love mine. It has a sweet spot and everything, and since i had the lv10 put in i have not chopped once.
Weaknesses: Mags can be tempromental. If it starts to work good, don't touch it.
Conclusion: If you like to tweak your gun and are not stupid like me, it's a good buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media