paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Esprit / Kingman Spyder Esprit / Kingman Spyder Esprit / Kingman Spyder Esprit

Kingman Spyder Esprit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Esprit

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Esprit
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $190

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Esprit is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Mac007 Wednesday, May 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month39 of 42 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bruizer Fugitive
Recommended
Upgrades:
A bottomline, either an expansion chamber or a vertical gas thru grip, a 13 ball per second capable electronic hopper.
Strengths: Good features and value for money.
Weaknesses: Marker comes without screws and nuts for attaching a bottom line
Review: Both my 16 year old son and I are pretty impressed with this Kingman marker. I purchased it for my son as a gift. He already had a Spyder compatible Bruizer Fugitive (which was similar to the Spyder) and since electronic grip frames are as expensive as buying a new marker we decided to get a new paintball gun.

So far we have not been disappointed with our choice. You get a rechargable battery, battery charger, some spare o-rings and seals, allen keys, and a vertical clear plastic hopper adapter with the marker. It comes with a nice little manual.

We plugged in the battery, connected the charger and allowed the marker to fully charge overnight, 14+ hours.

Out of the box the marker is nice to look at. We simply moved our Nyte Stikk barrel, bottom line and gas through grip from the Spyder compatible Bruizer to the Esprit. The marker shot 245 fps with these additions so we changed to a stronger main spring from our chameleon spring kit. See what advantages there are to using a similar marker design and compatible parts!

We have a first generation VL Evolution hopper (Eggolution) so we added that and turned it up halfway. In testing my son did break one ball in the barrel in the default semi-automatic mode, high fire rate, at the hopper's half speed. Is that a mouthful! Not a too surprising result.

So, we decided to turn the hopper feed speed up all the way just to make sure that a ball would always be there. With the hopper turned up all the way the marker does not outstrip the ability of the hopper to feed to it. We found that the 13 bps hopper was able to keep up in all firing modes at the high fire rate, at the hoppers full speed, without breaking paint.

The Esprit is the first marker I've tried that feels as exciting as the old Tippmann SMG-60 in full auto mode (set to the Esprit's highest rate of fire) and it has a larger paint capacity hopper!

My impression is that the Esprit can rip out paint like crazy. I noticed it didnt' take long to empty the hopper. At 13 bps in one minute you have the capability to let loose 780 paintballs. Of course this far outstrips the actual capacity of any hopper. You could theoretically empty a 200 round hopper in 15.38 seconds. The Eggolution carries something less than 200 paintballs so you can see from this that the three shot burst and full auto modes need to be used with some thought and care. Of course if you carry lots and lots of paint your wallet is the only limiting factor - paint buying Dads and Moms everywhere beware! :-)

We had the opportunity to watch some other players at the chrono rip though paint with competing brands of electronic markers. Not every cycle of their markers produced a paintball going downrange. My son and I felt that the Esprit was much better in this respect when combined with the Eggolution hopper. Every trigger pull consistently produced a ball in all modes of firing.

We liked the simplicity of changing between the three firing modes and the push and hold for rate of fire settings. It is very simple to use and the directions were understandable. The three coloured lights used to indicate battery level, mode and fire rate were simple to understand.

Velocity adjustment is the same as usual in Spyders, compressing the mainspring.

It is my hope that my son will develop a sense of courtesy and be thoughtfull when using these fire modes in rec-ball situations, particularly when young players are present. He is planning to play some speedball with players his own age (16+) which tends to be somewhat more agressive at close quarters in terms of the volume of paint used. In this respect I am confident the Esprit will keep up.

The Esprit uses a ball and spring for its ball detent rather than a nubbin - this is new for Spyders. I'm hoping spares become available...

Field stripping for cleaning was typical for a Spyder, although to re-insert the assembly you have to remove the grip panel (3 screws) so that you can push the electronic coil-set forward and allow the action to move forward into the marker. Perhaps in future Kingman will drill a small hole in the grip so you could insert an allen key and push the coil-set forward without removing the grip.

One maintenance tip to be aware of: you also have to blow air through part of the coil-action to keep it clean after every use - something players will need for their tool kit.

My son, ever the planner (or is that a schemer?), began to comment on possible additions, grips and regulators, etc. for Dad to buy. In many respects the Esprit is complete and doesn't really need much in the way of accessories. Since we already had the Nyte Stikk barrel, gas through grip and bottomline these complemented the marker nicely but were not necessary for play.

I pointed out to my son that the grip is wider than those normally found on paintball markers and that it uses three screws. Also, if he tried to put on another grip he wouldn't be able to see the mode or fire rate indictor lights. That ended that discussion, and in case you were wondering the grip is comfortable - no real need to upgrade it.

We use CO2, its the most convenient, readily available at the fields we play on. The gas through grip is adequate for the level of play he is now involved in so no real need to make any changes there by using a regulator to limit the upward velocity. If the velocity is kept at a decent level (275 fps) I figure any climb in velocity due to the firing rates should keep the Esprit under the field speed limit. We'll have to test this theory to be sure.

My son does like the barrel that comes with the Esprit. Its a shortie but a goodie. It has a basic muzzle break at the end. I can see him using it more than the Nyte Stikk.

My only real complaint about the Esprit came when I needed to attach a bottom line. I soon found myself wishing the Esprit came with the nuts and bolts to attach the bottom line. The grip is not threaded so you can't simply screw on a bottom line. It has holes in the grip for nuts but you are limited to a particular "tiny" size. I would have used 6/32 nuts and bolts but a standard 6/32 nut will not fit in the grip. I spent some time looking for compatible square nuts to fit inside the grip, no easy task.

Also, the grip is set up for a Spyder style bottom line, with the opposed hole fittings, so you do need a Spyder compatible bottom line duckbill ASA.

There is a typo in the manual where in the re-assembly procedure it identifies the coil set by a particular part number. The actual part number for the coil set in the parts list and on the parts diagram is different. I had to consult the parts list under "coil-set" to identify the correct number to look for on the parts diagram so I could understand the re-assembly procedure properly.

June 1, 2003 - We charged the marker 14 hours and took it to the field two days later. The battery indicator light came on during the day, we played about 4 hours. We'd only put about 200 paint through the marker so we were a little surprised. The marker did not quit shooting at the field by the way even though the red battery low light came on. We discovered that the esprit will drain the 9.6V battery if it is left connected and the marker is left to sit for an extended period of time. We did a little test, charging the battery for an hour to its full voltage (just about 10 volts) and let the esprit sit with the switch off; 9.5 hours later the voltage had dropped to just over 9 volts. At 9 volts the red (battery low) indicator light will come on if the esprit is turned on. So, we're going to do a few more little tests and post the results here. At the moment it appears that we should charge the battery right before going to the field and disconnect it when not using the esprit for extended periods of time - but thats just our preliminary conclusion. It might also be worth having another 9.6 V battery for a spare.

June 4, 2003 We haven't actually played enough yet to see how long the battery will last, and continue to allow the Esprit to function. As far as I'm concerned this is the only real test of the battery function so I'm not concerned as yet about the battery. Out of curiosity we did test the 9.6V battery a little more at home. As with our previous test, we discovered that if the battery is left connected in the Esprit it will discharge, thats only normal. We disconected the esprit 9.6V battery and left it for 10 hours to see if it would stay charged. It lost about a 1/2 volt in that time. So we're going plan to put the esprit on the charger, for its 14 hour charge, right before we go to the field, and disconnect the battery until we need to use it. This way we should have good power for the day. I'll post more later when we have a complete day of play under our belt.
Conclusion: We're pretty happy so far. We'll certainly do more testing over the summer. The price is certainly unbeatable for the features this marker has.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 4th, 2003 at 7:38 am PST
I found this review  
35 Comments - Add Comment

kblaster Thursday, March 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
used only my modified VM-68 until a month ago when I broke down and bought a lighter gun.
Marker Setup: Esprit 10" Custom Products 2 piece barrel,32 degrees blow forward block,12volt xbaord rev hopper, Xtreme Enterprise X-10 Drop Forward, ACI gas through foregrip, 47 / 3000 cross fire C/A tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
right out of the box I would recomend the bottom line. If you have a C02 setup go for the Xchamber helps make the most out of your air and gives a nice look to the gun. I went with the grip because I have no use for the Xchamber but got used to it so.....
next I'd say get yourself a upgraded barrel, then If your planning on taking advantage of the AWESOME trigger response get your self a rev hopper. or you can just open the box and go enjoy this great gun AS IS. But thats not MY style = D
Strengths: PRICE,QUALITY and upgrades available
Weaknesses: A little light....other than that none
Review: Great gun for any caliber of player. Fun to upgrade comes very plain jane so your able to personalize the hell out of it. Although it is still nice enough out of the box for new commers to the sport to enjoy without getting caught up in the never ending modifications available.
Conclusion: If your new or youve been around awhile this gun is WAY worth the dough.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 3rd, 2003 at 12:51 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

landon2003 Friday, May 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
maruader avenger raptor tippman 98 spyder E99
Marker Setup: nitro, new barrel, i got a reg. on it now bottomline adapt. and a electro hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
what i have for my setup
Strengths: its fast accurate dont chop paint i havent chopped a ball yet
Weaknesses: nothing really
Review: this is a great gun, very durable, its so fast, and you can contend with all the guys out there, this gun is good for newbies, and advanced players, its has a great price and doesnt chop paint. the stock barrel aint half bad either. The gun has great electro adju. its has the 3 shot bursts, but that doesnt matter that much cuz you cant use it on most fields. I really recomend this gun to anyone.
Conclusion: its great. get it for like $130 and you have yourself a great deal this is a real nice gun and worth about any price put on it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sPyDeRdAwG Tuesday, October 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom- its good but has to long of a trigger pull
Marker Setup: Spyder Esprit
12 inch Teardrop Barrel
Ricochet AK
Expansion Chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Fast Hopper
A foregrip if you want one
Strengths: Fast
Light weight
Upgradeable
Gas efficient
Weaknesses: Loud
No foregrip
They stopped making them
Review: This gun is so awsome. Its fast, small, and really upgradeable. It doesnt come with a foregrip but you dont really need it unless you want it. Its pretty gas efficient i get like 850 shots with a 12 oz co2 tank. Buy this gun. (if you can find it)
Conclusion: I reccomend this gun the beginners and experienced players alike.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 30th, 2004 at 10:27 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lurker27 Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Victor, Sonix, TL
Marker Setup: Mach 404 hopper, 20oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel...the stock one is OK, but not too accurate, IMO.
Strengths: Great features, quick, and man oh man is it cheap! has the potential to run with the real big boys almost completely stock. It can really shine with a bunch of upgrades, apparently.
Weaknesses: No bottomline, if you like that kind of thing. Personally, I like vertical CO2...saves the trouble of antisiphon, xchamber and the like. No 6 rnd burst, but it has 3 rnd burst, and is it so hard to pull a trigger 2x???
Conclusion: For the money, the *best* marker you can buy. It gets a 9 because it has some baggage, like its CO2, but its mostly a matter of preference...the price is right, so come on down.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RDG Saturday, December 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Imagine - same as Esprit, except chops more, E99 - also chops more, comes with crappy stock parts you'd upgrade anyways... Dragunfire - same thing, only slower and with plastic grip frame
Marker Setup: Stock Esprit with JJ 14" Ceramic, Empire Reloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
- New Barrel (MUST)
- Possibly Electric loader, although there's actually not a huge difference, even on full auto
- New front block
- Regulator
Strengths: Never chops, accurate, fast, excellent gun to upgrade.
Weaknesses: Stock bolt scratches easily, horrible stock barrel, alot of recoil.
Review: I got this gun just recently, as an upgrade to a Spyder Xtra. The reason for this was because I realized how stupid it was to buy a Spyder that comes with alot of stock parts. I had the money for even an E99, but I decided to get something basic rather than get something with a whole bunch of stock parts I'd replace anyways.

So, first day I got it, I plugged in a C02 and a non-agitated hopper, and loaded about 100 paintballs. A skinny 9oz C02 works amazingly, because it can also act as a grip (if you put something around it so your hands don't freeze). I put it on full auto, 13 balls per second, and shot all 100 paintballs at a tree, and never chopped a single one. I mean, without and electric hopper.

The vertical bottle feed is great, and really keeps the gun consistant. You see, vertical bottle is better than any expansion chamber or regulator for keeping out liquid, because as long as you keep the gun in a vertical position, the liquid can't make its way into your gun. Hence, the Esprit is a relatively consistant gun right out of the box. Even with the stock barrel, you will find this little gun pretty accurate.

The trigger frame it comes with has its advantages and disadvantages. The speed is definitely enough if you're using semi-auto. It's a metal frame, so it's pretty tough. The IPI system is very convenient, because you can switch between firing modes very easily. However, on the down side, this frame is HUGE. If you have small hands, it will dirve you insane. I have gigantic hands, so this isn't a problem for me. But, I have heard people complain about it. Another thing is that, if you're a cheap-arse and you like full-auto, the rate of fire isn't adjustable. There's just a "fast" and "slow" setting. I, personally, only use semi-auto so this isn't a problem. *You can't buy new grips for the frame, and the stock grips are just awful, but it's not a huge deal.

This is a durable gun, like any Spyder. It's completely aluminum, so you won't have problems there.

One of the best things about a Spyder is the upgradability. I have plans to make this gun low pressure by next year, and I'm having trouble deciding which of the many highly rated parts I should use. Spyder barrel threading is also very common. You can even change the feed adapter if you want.

The stock barrel, as said, is awful. It's not so much the accuracy as it is the distance. But, hey, most guns don't have good stock barrels anyways, and that's an easy fix. Upgrading the barrel should be your first priority. I use a JJ Ceramic which is not only cheap but a very good barrel.

The combination of no low pressure chamber, no bottom line setup, and a short barrel, make this a LOUD gun out of the box. VERY loud. It's probably louder than most handguns. But this problem, again, is easily fixed. The barrel I use makes the gun much quieter, and doesn't cost much.

The biggest problem, I found, is the recoil. As a relatively high pressure gun with C02, this gun has alot of recoil, and it will throw your aim off. You can fix these easily with a new front block and regulator/bottom line setup.

Vision cocking is nice (doesn't get in the way) and the velocity adjuster is convenient. Sight rail is useless, get rid of it. It will only block your sight.


I guess that's all I have to say. I hope you found this useful. I will update this when I convert to low pressure (as in, I will be adding a regulator, drop forward, and valve).


*Edit: apparently there is aftermarket grips, as pointed out by Sonneman.
Conclusion: For practically a steal (they cost less than $100 American, $130 Canadian on Ebay) you are getting a VERY good gun, that resembles and functions much like the "tournament grade" guns when upgraded properly.

- Very cheap for an electric
- Fast
- Functional
- Not excessive

Keep in mind when you decide to spend $400 on an Electra DX that you're only buying stock parts that you'll probably get rid of anyways. All Spyders have the same basic body design, and all can be upgraded to the same level.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 20th, 2003 at 9:16 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

tim88 Friday, May 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 , spyd. E99, brass eagle silver raptor , maruader, avenger.
Marker Setup: nitro, new barrel, i got a reg. on it now bottomline adapt. electric hopper (definent)
Recommended
Upgrades:
what i got on mine
Strengths: fast trigger like 13 bps , can upgrade
many shots/charge, great $
Very fast charge
Weaknesses: nothing really maybe get a bottomline adapt.
Review: its got a great frame, nice durable, really light, its fast. great to bunker someone with. ITs definently a good deal. Its is really quick and its can play with the guys using their angels, its definently a top conteneder. this gun has a really fast trigger pull. it is a solid all around gun, and it doesnt lack in anything.
Conclusion: this gun is one of the best spyders made, that and the E99, spyder has really made some great guns, i think that this is one of their best guns.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 23rd, 2003 at 8:45 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

toto_dave Sunday, December 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
E-99 ,Shutter, B.E. Stingray (Please don't tell anyone)
Marker Setup: Spyder espirit, 12" cmi barrel, 9volt revolution.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bottomline, x-chamber, Barrel, electro hopper.
Strengths: I like this marker, It was hot right out of the box. The trigger is great you can adjust it to nearly 0 trigger pull, you can shoot forever on a single charge and is much easier to change modes(semi,3rnd slow,3rnd fast,full auto slow, full auto fast 13 BPS) Than the dip switch guns Ive shot. The cocking is easy and nothing hanging off the back. You can shoot this gun quite fast without chopping balls thanks to the vertical feed. But a electro hopper does help alot. Breaks down easy and is very reliable about 10,000 rounds and no problems. It is very efficiant on air you can shoot 800-1000 rounds on 12oz co2. And best of all it is less expensive than alot of electro triged markers.
Weaknesses: It is semi loud, But an x-chamber will fix it along with a better barrel, The stock 9 1/2" barrel is a little short but good for speedball, The "Deluxe beaver tail sight" is useless,(It's a vert feed )
Conclusion: This is a great marker , It delivers right out of the box and is very upgradable. Perfect for anyone who doesn't want to get out gunned but does'nt have big bucks to keep up with the Jones'
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

david8439 Monday, November 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None; This is the only gun I have.
Marker Setup: Spyder Esprit
Java Expansion Chamber Kit
Java 12 Co2 Tank
14" 32 Degrees Quite Riot barrel
14" Smart Parts Teardrop Barrel
32 Degrees gas thru for grip
Zap electronic hopper
Steal elbow
Check It Assault Block
Recommended
Upgrades:
The number #1upgrade, a new BARREL!!!!!!
After that it is up to you. An expansion Chamber kit will really help you air flow.
A steal elbow will save you money because the plastic ones brake.
Strengths: Great gun for a noob.
Great gun to upgrade.
Easy to take apart.
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is a great gun for the noobs out there. My Dad and my Brother played paintball and when they came back my Dad said he was getting me a paintball gun. After doing some research I saw an ad in the paper for an Esprit stater kit. It came with the gun, an elbow, barrel plug, squeege, mask, co2 tank, 200 round hopper, battery and battery charger. it only cost about $150.00 when it was on sale. When I first played I said to my self that my gun was the best. After geting more into paintball I saw that my gun would need some upgrades to help me to better in the field. I asked some friends what I should do and they said go out and buy a new barrel. So I did and I got a gas thru for grip at the same time (If you don't know a gas thru for grip does not help your gun at all, it just gives you a grip to hold on to instead of grabing the wire). I had a few problems with my air flow just last month. So I went out and bought an expansion chamber kit that came with a new bottom line. It fixed that problem and I got better air flow. Last time I played these guys had teardrop barrels and I saw how good they were so I went out and got one for my self.
Conclusion: Over all this is a great gun. If you are a noob like I was, I would tell you to go and get the starter kit like I did. With the right upgrades the Esprit is as good as any other gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 15th, 2005 at 2:36 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

saxoph0neking Friday, June 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle stingray
Marker Setup: spyder esprit-stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel.
Strengths: accuracy and rate of fire
Weaknesses: barrel
Review: this is the gun i use right now and it was my first one i got. GET IT NOW! better then stingray and it is very good so just go out and buy it now instead of procrastinating untill u talk ur self out of getting one. once u buy a gun you will wonder why u ever thought of not getting one and i have to have a certain amount of words
Conclusion: buy it now or buy some other one that is the same price but is not as good
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 25th, 2003 at 4:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media