paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Avalon GT Commando 3 / Avalon GT Commando 3 / Avalon GT Commando 3 / Avalon GT Commando 3

Avalon GT Commando 3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Avalon

Buy Avalon GT Commando 3

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Avalon GT Commando 3
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 17
Average Rating: 6.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Commando 3 is the 3rd marker of the Commando line of products. The Commando 3 features a new side-vertical feed system, with the built in threaded Spin Loader system. It is the most advanced, with the most upgraded features that come stock.
Product Availability 
The Avalon GT Commando 3 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
pbking316 Friday, January 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years9 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder xtra and esprit
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
drop forward or remote coil if you plan on using a big tank because it has a stock on it
Strengths: Accuracy Side feed good stock barrel
Weaknesses: the inline regulator on this gun realy sucks threaded feed
Review: GOOD This is one of the most accurate paintball guns I have ever shot and i didn,t even buy a new barrel the stock one works fine it is more accurate than an upgraded tippman 98 with a 32* whisper barrel. The shoulder stock on it increases accuracy and can be removed easily if you don't like it. The side feed also makes it way easy to aim and you will be impressed by how much that improves accuracy I love love the side feed so much that when i went to buy a new marker i looked for one with a similar feed and i purchased an evil omen. If you have the money get one instead but they are $450
BAD The in line reg on it sucks if you adjust the pressure to low you can not shoot fast without it acting like it ran out of air but it works fine if you keep it adjusted all the way up. The hole for the the sight rail screw got striped but i like this gun without the sight rail It is designed for a threaded hopper so most other hoppers don't fit in it very good but my 12volt revy fits in it fine
Conclusion: it is way better than any spyder or a tippmann 98 custom or any other gun in its price range. I got mine from paintballgear.com for $140 and I think it is worth way more than the price!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PirahnaG3CS Tuesday, July 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pirahna G3 Core
Marker Setup: Avalon Commando 3
12v Electronic Hopper
16" Armson Stealth Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic Hopper
New Barrel
Remote Coil
Strengths: -Accurate
-Good range
-Reliable
-Doesnt hog up much co2
Weaknesses: -Needs alot of care
-Screws need to be tightened before games
-Heavy
Review: Overall this gun is great. It competes well with spyders and tippmans, etc. The gun is very accurate and has good range. A little heavy, so i recommend a remote coil. The gun does do alot of chopping if you have a reg. hopper. But once you get an elect. hopper it does just fine. It can get you out of many dog fights, without the worry of a o-ring busting, or a ball chopping, etc. The shoulder stock makes it a little hard to maneuver around with so its best to use it for woodsball. The bolt needs to be nicely oiled because it will get all scratched up from rubbing up against the insides of the gun. Screws sometimes become loose but as long as u tighten them up after games you'll be fine.
Conclusion: This gun is great and i recommend it for any woodsball player.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tom spencer Sunday, November 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing as bad as this.
Marker Setup: PMR
88ci 4500psi pure energy
evo3
JT Alpha
empire speed pack
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new gun
plus a brick so it sinks in the river
Strengths: Almost accurate if you shot from 3 meters away
Weaknesses: The trigger
The Barrel
The gun every thing to do with the gun
Review: Stay away keep you $150. This thing needs at least 1000 Psi to operate . My friend had an air system and it was almost full but the gun still would not work. Ok maybe it is pretty accurate but only if you have enough air. It weighs about the same as a couple of bricks cemented together. There is a very long trigger pull. The crapy slanting feed neck so you need an elbow for your hopper.
Conclusion: If you have bought this gun i feel sorry for you if you are going to buy it don't. It's just a tip for you to save money.
I wanted to give it a zero but the thing will not go that far down.
So all in all its the biggest wast of money since the game first started.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 23rd, 2007 at 8:52 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

brett56 Tuesday, April 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman98 - good gun but NOT field stripable
Marker Setup: Avalon Commando 3 pretty much everything stock remote line with 20 oz tank :p
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a barrel if you feel like spending money on it. It already comes with an EXP chamber, low pres, regulator Venturi Bolt, basically all the upgrades you need.
Strengths: Good accuracy
shoulder stock
upgraded items are included stock
Weaknesses: shoulder stock is a little loose but no worry
Review: Great gun for the money. I got mine as a fact refurb for 100 bucks only thing wrong was one of the bolts was a little stripped other than that it was perfect. The shoulder stock is a little loose on it because the bracket is held in place by the field strip pin rather than a screw but it won't come out or anything. The stock barrel is much better than most stock barrels I have seen on other guns. The inside is polished nicley. The upgraded features for this gun all come stock on it so if you a noob or if you intermediate it's a great gun.
Conclusion: Overall I think this is an excellent gun and I look forward to owning more people with it. accepts spyder parts! which there are a ton of aftermarket parts for spyders out there ao it shouldn't be hard to find a barrel/grip/bolt/exp chamber/ whatever.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

H8TR Saturday, May 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E99
Spyder Xtra w/E grip
03 Autococker w/E blade and Nexas Ram kit
Marker Setup: 16" thunder pig barrel
Avalon E Grip
12V VL Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Avalon E Grip
Strengths: Accuracy
Range
Shoulder stock looks cool for scenario games/intimated younger players.
Weaknesses: Leaking
Chopping
Review: Over all it was a fun gun, The accuracy and range was better than my friends Viper M1. the more I used it the more frustrating it got. It shot nice when it did work. I broke a lot of balls in this gun. Inconsistent pressure would break balls coming out of barrel (from RPS swirls to Big Ball, Nelson, and Worr). I had a Iot of leaking so I called the company , they where very polite and helpful they even sent me new O rings, but it still leaks.
Conclusion: Because of the inconsistency I got other more reliable guns later, but I kept on hoping it was going work itself (loved the accuracy)so I kept on trying to get it fixed got help from the company and a local air smith. . My friend has a commando 3 and an other has the commando 2 they pulled them out recently and we can't find a way to stop the leaking. Hind site is 20/20 if I could do it over, I would never buy it again. This was my first gun, if your looking for a starter gun I would not recommend this gun, get any spyder under $150
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

saintjayme Sunday, April 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
dimond gt, tipman 98
Marker Setup: commando 3 w/ empire hopper, scoop, pure energy remote w/ quick disconnect
Recommended
Upgrades:
pure energy remote w/ quick disconnect, i have never broken an o ring with this remote
Strengths: it looks cool, it shots strait, it intimidates my friends, gage, stock
Weaknesses: heavy, hard to rush with, stock uncomfortable
Review: I bought this gun because it had a stock build on. After i received it in the mail i used up all my paintballs i left in the trunk of my car for a year or so and expected the gun to break some of them because they were warped and all stuck together, to my surpirise and joy none broke. I heard this gun broke alot of o-rings so i hooked up my remote with quick diconnect and i have yet to break one with it. It is a heavy gun but when you are arcoss the feild picking off your friends who needs to run fast. LOL I am going to switch to commpressed air and see how it works but for now i use co2 and it use it fast. I also love the gage on the side. Realy no good out playing but between games you can see if you need a fell before next game so you don't run out of air. And the removable stock makes it easy if you do not need it for the game you are playing.
Conclusion: I say for the price i paid for it, i love it. A great 1st gun for anyone. Not recommended for speed ball unles you take the stock off. In the end i would say buy this gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tippmaster2009 Thursday, February 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Model 98
Marker Setup: New: Avalon GT Commando 3
Old: Tippman Model 98
Recommended
Upgrades:
***Remote***
-Straight Elbow
Strengths: -Looks
-Accuracy
-Stock Parts
-Price
Weaknesses: -Chews up the O-rings everytime you put one on...
Review: This gun is a very good gun, thats what it all comes down to. I reccomend buying a remote due to the reason that it eats up your O-ring. I have noticed that with a remote it does not leak CO2 and also it does not mess up your O-ring everytime you put a new one on.
Conclusion: In conclusion I would have to say buy this gun! If you want to make it better and not go through many O-rings than buy a remote when you buy the gun. Also you may want to buy a straight elbow because the stock elbow makes you hopper go off to the left or right side and it does not feed well.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

op_dan Tuesday, May 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Defiant with PDS anti-chop eye W/:

Clamping feedneck
Werworx bolt
Boomstick Barrel
Zenitram 15deg asa
Microrock reg
Macdev LP Gauge
Vaporworks asa
Macdev sonic red valve
Powerlyte Gripstyx trigger frame
Check-it Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion chamber, bolt, trigger
Strengths: Solidly built and wont break easily
Weaknesses: Faulty parts, horrible regulator, loud, leaky bottom line, heavy trigger pull
Review: I got this gun as my first marker mainly because I knew it was a Spyder clone and this thing looked awesome with the stock. Little did I know that Avalon has bad quality check. First thing that went wrong was the expansion chamber was leaking the first few weeks i had it. Called customer support at Avalon but they can barely speak english and are horrible. I ended up just replacing the expansion chamber with a brand new 6 stage ACI subzero. Then a few months later the bottom line started leaking. This gun is actually pretty accurate with the J&J ceramic barrel i put on it but it is pretty loud, spyder loud not tippman loud. The trigger pull is hideously heavy too, its like tugging a boat.

Pros:

-Solid feel
-Accurate
-Looks great with shoulder stock
-comes with padded gun bag, barrel plug
-threaded feed neck keeps threaded hopper in place well

Cons:

-Loud like a spyder
-BAD QUALITY CHECK
-Threaded feed neck can't fit other hoppers easily
-Customer support is very very very horrible
-leaky bottom line
-bad expansion chamber
-chops if firing too fast
Conclusion: I normally like to support the underdog companies but in this case I rather not. They had bad quality check and their products are subpar compared to Spyders. If you are looking for a good entry level gun, go for a Spyder.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Skeeve Saturday, April 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bone Daddy GT
Marker Setup: Commando 3 with 16" Tru-Flight barrel Laser Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, bolt (chops a lot)
Strengths: Adjustable stock
Accuracy
Distance
Weaknesses: Chops a lot of paint
Review: I got this gun for Christmas and I love it. It shoots great and has good accuracy. I can easyily keeps up with my friends modified A-5. We recently played paintabll a couple weeks ago and the barrel was awesome on this gun. I highly reccommend a CMI tru flight for it. Modify the barrel and the trigger and your set to win. And I recently found that if you buy really good paint it reduces the chopping in 1/2.
Conclusion: GET THIS GUN! It may chop but that can be eaasily fixed.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 21st, 2004 at 1:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bear2176380 Sunday, May 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Spyder Compact 2000 2-in-1
Marker Setup: Tippmann model 98: 16" armson stealth barrel, GTA double trigger, GTA expansion chamber kit, colapsible stock, crosman scope, 32degrees universal dropforward, ERA 1200 psi gage, rocket cock 2, star fire bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, if anything
Strengths: looks friggen cool
comes with cool case
shoots good, when it does
Weaknesses: Chops like crazy
twist in hopper
bad for speed ball
Review: I remember my first war with this gun. Everyone was saying that it looked cool and it shot good before the war, but as soon as I got in there I wish I had a talon or anything else. I have never seen a gun chop so much paint in my life. I can only get off 2 to 3 shots without it breaking. I tried to get the best paint money could buy and it still cops like mad. I regret ever buying this gun in the first place, but not all is lost, I got this gun for free on the internet.
Conclusion: Don't buy this gun it constantly chops paint.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media