paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Avalon Combat / Avalon Combat / Avalon Combat / Avalon Combat

Avalon Combat Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Avalon

Buy Avalon Combat

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Avalon Combat
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 12
Average Rating: 6.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $130

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Combat is the newest marker offered by Avalon Manufacturing. The Combat features a new vertical feed system, with the built in threaded Spin Loader system. It is the most advanced, with the most upgraded features that come stock. It also comes with 1 free spin loader hopper.
Product Availability 
The Avalon Combat is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
super_rocket_12 Thursday, June 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
gt commando 2
Marker Setup: just bought it and put parts from my rebel on it (rebel is sold)
32 degrees gel grips
32 degrees flame d/f
32 degrees 16" sniper barrel
32 degrees 12" quiet riot barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel and a d/f
Strengths: 1. it is fast firing
2. it has a short trigger pull
3. very good for woods play and for speed ball
4. it comes with a hopper
5. its light
6. its durable because its not so big
7. extremely easy to upgrade (takes spyder parts)
Weaknesses: 1. does tend to chop paint but not that much
2. the stock barrel is loud
3. the range is not very good
4. short barrel
5. chopped 3/2000 paintballs
6. it should have a shoulder stock like the commando guns but it doesnt
Conclusion: its an excellent gun i think. when it chopped paintballs if you dry fired the gun it would clean out the barrel so its easy to clean. i think if you did get any upgrades for the gun it should be a barrel and maybe a d/f. and if you get a barrel get a longer one for better range
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

drum4dalord Monday, January 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann pro/carbine w/ 14" CMI barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: nothing, except maybe the fact that the hopper is threaded is nice for noobs so they dont waste tons of paint buy droppin it. it kinda has a good rate of fire. and, it looks cool does that count?
Weaknesses: chops paint every single time. stock barrel sucks, but even with a better barrel, the gun still sucks. bottomline leaks, which may just be a defect in my gun. ok, get this, me and 2 friends all bought these guns, and none of ours hardly works. and, even when they did actually not chop the paint, they were horrilbe accurate. here, maybe this will help u get a mental picture of how horrible inaccurate these so called 'paintball guns' are. i was pinned up behind a bunker with two guys advancin on me, one of them was about 15 feet away, the other about 40. i shot 20 times at the guy 15 feet away and missed him EVERY SINGLE TIME, and believe me, its not because i dont know how to shoot, this gun is horrible when it comes to accuracy. if u dont believe me, go buy one for ureself.
Conclusion: this is a horrible gun. most people would probably recommend it to noobies, but i woulndt even do that. the only people i would recommend this gun to are people that just wanna waste 120 bucks.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Sniper II Wednesday, October 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Decked out stingray 2 with 16" spin free riffled sniper barrel- 3 stage expansion chamber, custom extra under barrel grip, ghillie cover and scope! Decked out Winchester Durango with 16" spin free projection rifled sniper barrel- bottom line adapter, a co2 gauge, and custom 6-color desert camouflage painted. Griffin B/L just now getting upgraded. Ordered a new silenced 14" barrel and a co2 gauge that both havenít arrived yet.
How do they compare with this product?
The answer
Everything stock sucks until upgraded!
This product is known for being crappy. I know believe me.
Marker Setup: SNIPER RIFLE! A fully decked out GT Commando 2 with the new 21" 3-piece thunder pig spin-free projection rifled barrel (Extremely Accurate), Co2 gauge, scope, and ghillie covers. The barrel is actually rifled. You can look down it and see the straight grooves!
Recommended
Upgrades:
The new 21" 3-piece barrel from thunder pig and a co2 gauge.
Strengths: You can upgrade the thing to were not only looks like a sniper rifle but shoots as wells as a sniper rifle. It isnt that powerful though. I fixed that problem by replacing the spring with spyder shutter replacement spring. It is a very course spring so your fps goes up a lot more. I am really suprised the look alike beetween this and the syder itself. Its Avalons version of a spyider.

IT TAKES SPYDER PARTS
IT IS A SPYDER
Weaknesses: Stock barrel sucks. Needs a new spring for more power. Avalons Copying the Kingman Spyder!
Conclusion: Well worth the money. Biuy it if your interested! It takes spyder parts.
Buy all your upgrades
The barrel is only 45.00 - the 21" sniper barrel that is!
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 12:50 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

V. Marshall Tuesday, November 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
any spyders
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, response trigger, lapco bigshot barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel is a must!
Strengths: I just bought this gun to so I would have soem kind of cheap something for my friends. I has turned out to be a decent marker. This works if u need something but it definetly isn't my weapon of choice. Once you replace the barrel it has significant improvment in accuracy. The hopper that screws in is quite handy, really prevents beginners from knocking it off and wasting alot of paint.
Weaknesses: It has chopped alot of balls and it is a paint to clean. The stock barrel is total crap so don't use it, The bottomline had a small leak but it was just a small defect in my marker.
Conclusion: I guess I'd give it a 7, it hasn't broken, it works if u need a marker temporarily. Just slap on a new barrel and you should have pretty good accuracy. With chopping balls, just turn down the velocity a bit. Overall just a good gun for a begginer to start with or for temporary use
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AVA_Combat Tuesday, July 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I've fired some of my friends' Spyders and a few Tippmans.
Marker Setup: Heh, I'm kinda new with Paintball, but along with my stock Avalon Combat I have a Smart Parts 14" Teardrop that improves my accuracy like hell :) A new hammer and springs would make this a great semi-auto
Recommended
Upgrades:
With this gun, you definately need a new barrell, new bottomline cause the stock is leaky. My personal prefrence would be a drop forward with a stock. lol Even a new bolt would be nice. Possibly a delrin or nylon :D
Strengths: Nice eye-candy. Read in my summary!
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is crap, get a new one asap, leaky bottomline
Review: I don't reallly know what to say, I mean, as I have already stated, this is a decent gun. Don't listen to the reviews that say that this gun is useless. The biggest thing is to get a new barrel. This gun has almost no plastic, weighing it down and making it cumbersome at first, but you'll get used to it. I this this gun is pretty cool as-is. I hope this gun lasts awhile, cause i am broke.
Conclusion: A 50-50 gun that, with a little love and care, can beat the crap outta any Spyder and Tippman. Woo-Hoo!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Humboldt Hitman Thursday, May 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
various stack tube blowbacks
Marker Setup: spyder electra dx w. checkit 15*assault block, whisper barrel, gunhead stock, q-laoder boblong torpedo reg, supafly bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
i guess if you wanted to upgrade it, you could get a new barrel, maybe a bolt
Strengths: Its light, its affordable, its got a nice grip frame.
Weaknesses: It's innaccurate, it chops paintballs, its awkward to hold, gas hog, leaks.
Review: when i first started paintballing, someone told me that this gun is just like a spyder but cheaper, in a way, i guess it is, in the fact that it takes spyder parts, but spyders tend to actually shoot paintballs. this gun doesnt. i bought it for 60 bucks, and it came with a hopper a mask, and a co2 tank. i dont know whether or not i got a lemon or what, but this gun sucks, BAD. when i got it, i gassed it up, and took it out into my back yard, i shot at some cans, the first hopper of paint went through wonderfully, i couldnt wait to dominate my freinds with this gun. then i used it in a game of woodsball, when it wasnt chopping balls, they were curving after about ten feet, i couldnt hit ANYTHING!i went like 0 for 6 on kills. it devoured gas like rosie o'donnel eating a snickers bar. i got like 600 shots off a 9 ounce, (later i found out that i had a gnarly leak in the asa). i used my brass eagle marauder for the rest of the day, and did way better.
after i fixed the leak, i used it again, it still chopped balls , but it was still better than the brass eagle i have. after a couple of games, i startyed to notice excessive wear on the bolt, i put it bak together and bought a spyder electra dx, and it was way better.
Conclusion: With some work, this could be an alright gun. but why waist your time trying to make an inferior gun compete with far better peices of equipment when its still gonna suck? get a spyder, they are wayyyy better, i cant even express my hatred for this poorly crafted piece of junk. ill give this a 3, thats way more than it deserves
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 25th, 2006 at 3:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

horay Saturday, July 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
any spyder really
Marker Setup: VL/ pro series 12" custom barrel
avalon spyder expantion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel definetly
Strengths: Light and small
Fast rate of fire
Uses spyder parts
Weaknesses: Horrible stock barrel
Review: Overall its a good gun for the price but u need to get a new barrel cause the stock barrel well trap ball in it also i donno if it was my gun or what but balls would fall out of the end of the gun if i held it pointed at the ground
Conclusion: If ur a nood u should get this gun and a better barrel and its a good gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ddawgpballer Saturday, April 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A lot of my friends have GT Commandos and they seem to be pretty similar to this gun.
Marker Setup: It is a lot like a spyder and I put a new barrel on and it was a lot more accurate.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, maybe new trigger frame
Strengths: Pretty accurate with a new barrel. Uses Spyder parts.
Weaknesses: Chops paint a lot. The barrel it comes with is crap.
Review: It's a pretty solid gun. Okay for newbies if they don't get too frustrated with it. I think it could be pretty sweet with alot of upgrades. It takes spyder parts so it is pretty upgradeable. I think it is a lot like the GT commandos and they are pretty good guns if you upgrade them too.
Conclusion: Pretty nice gun for a small price.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

turtler1701 Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 - about the same in ability
Brass Eagle Avenger - cant compare
Marker Setup: Avalon Combat, 16 inch whisper barrel, custom drop foreward, Spyder e-grip CAMD trigger frame, Ricochet Apache Electronic Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, nothing over 16"
A new bolt
Strengths: Relatively Cheap
Accepts spyder parts
small & light
looks cool
relatively quiet
Weaknesses: Powerfeed is threaded, so other hoppers dont fit well
barrel isnt too good
Review: I got this gun for my birthday and I was a little nervous before bringing it out into the field after reading some reviews. When I got there, however, i was pleasently surprised. It was light compared to my old tippmann 98, and relatively fast and accurate. When I got a new barrel it helped a lot, and with the e-grip and electric hopper I can shoot 16+ with ease.
Conclusion: Overall, I would reccomend this gun, but it might be good to just get a regular spyder, just because the threaded hopper is very annoying and the customer service at Avalon is horrendous.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jordan303 Saturday, August 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
any spyder
Marker Setup: cmi quiet barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
THE BARREL
Strengths: 1.good price
2.takes spyder parts
3.short trigger pull
Weaknesses: 1.stock barrel is crap
Review: i don't know why the rating is so low on this gun, i can snipe people from where they can't even see me. the stock barrel is garbage get a new one. i love my gun but not many people have heard about it but they all want to test it and most of them are impressed. my gun has never failed on me in a game i was able to take out to e99's and i love the fact that the vertical feed is to the side letting you actually aim not like most guns.
Conclusion: this is a great gun especially for the price but you must get a new barrel.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 11th, 2003 at 8:51 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media