paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Arrow Precision Sterling STP / Arrow Precision Sterling STP / Arrow Precision Sterling STP / Arrow Precision Sterling STP

Arrow Precision Sterling STP Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Arrow Precision

Buy Arrow Precision Sterling STP

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Arrow Precision Sterling STP
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 24
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Available in six high polished anodized metallic colors. Stain- less Steel internals (mirror polished and matched). 2-piece wood grip. 13" micro honed removable aluminum barrel. Bottom line. Stainless steel braided hose. Each valve individually set for optimum performance.
Product Availability 
The Arrow Precision Sterling STP is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
predator23 Friday, June 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom, Pirahna long barrel, Trracer, virtually every pump ever made
Marker Setup: Phantom
Strengths: Accurate, dependable.
Weaknesses: Uh . Is there one?
Review: I remember when semi's were a complete luxury and the few who had PMI3's or Icons or Tippman Pro-lites or the first mag's were considered babies because they couldn't hit other players with a pump and had to "go semi".

During this time, the sterling and the phantom reigned supreme. Sterling guys and phantom guys would eye each other warily in the staging area, neither wanting to grudgingly admit that the other's gun was great.

I was a phantom guy, but I had a sterling because I just had to see what the other half lived like. Damn, the sterling is good. Accurate, quiet, efficient, what else can you want? You're not gonna shoot 15 bps with it or any pump.

I still like the feel and design of the CCI phantom, which is for my money the greatest marker ever made, but the sterling is the like the "ice man" to the phantom's "maverick".

Both are great and either could be my wingman any day of the week.
Conclusion: Great pump, second best of all time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Protocol Saturday, February 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sniper 2
Phantom
Marker Setup: Sterling STP
ION, QEV, NDZ trigger, freak barrel
Sniper II
Phantom

Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (and that's all)
Strengths: Accurate
Light weight
Smooth pump stroke
Reliable
Weaknesses: Maybe having to take the barrel off to adjust velocity
Review: This marker is truly a dream. I've played pump for years now and could never find the perfect marker. I tried sniper 2's which I like very much. I tried phantoms also. My new sterling fits me to a T.

-Accuracy = Equal to my sniper and better than my phantom
-Reliability = All equal. sniper, phantom & sterling are all well made markers
-Weight = Lighter than sniper and a little heavier than phantom but closer to phantom
-Pump stroke = Equal to sniper and much better than phantom
-Fit & finish = Better than both. Phantoms are known for high quality and the sterling is even better than my phantom which surprised me.
-Cons = You don't have to take the barrel off to adjust velocity but it makes it a lot easier and it is still a small pain but is easier than my phantom which always seemed to bounce around a lot before I would be able to get it tuned to 280.
-Plus - It has an auto trigger feature built in and is really slick. I am able to easily shoot 5 to 6 balls per second when needed.
This marker also comes with parts to change it from vertical stock class to vertical feed and bottom line.

This marker is everything I've been looking for in a pump marker. I can probably extend the handle on the velocity adjustment tool and then I won't have to remove to barrel to make the adjustment. The stock barrel is a little loud because it's not ported and is a heavy but I haven't had a marker yet that didn't need a new barrel. Other than that this marker is perfect and brings a smile to my face every time I use it. It's off to ebay for my other pump guns.
Conclusion: As close to a perfect marker as I've found. Could not be happier with my decision to get one of these. 10 out of 10 and would rate it higher if I could.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, December 25th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
everything...SL 2`s-phantoms-and alot of other ones in between.
Marker Setup: stp...milled body...moded valve(ported..400-450 psi......280-290fps)..boblong reg mounted on a taso remote system(20 oz)+-6fps on co2,polished internals,lightened bolt,cocker anti double feed,5 barrels ported brass ,6 inch brass,jacko infinity,barrel of a f2 illistrator(big bore)spring kits ect....
Recommended
Upgrades:
nitro..regulated co2..remote..aftermarket barrel only if u shoot big bore paint..
Strengths: short, light pump,.. next to no breaks probably 20 in 2 years (this is no word of a lie ..my team still dont beleive it ..I now work on there guns LOL)
Weaknesses: price..expecialy in australia ,lack of support from manafactures
Conclusion: this is the finest pump in the world and i have proved it many many times people drule over my gun all the time and are floored by the performance of it
i have done many mods including intellie feed that anyone can do..just take care of it oil it and clean it every now and then and it will be your friend too..... BUY IT IF YOU WANT THE BEST PUMP IN THEV WORLD.......
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:18 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

scooterRshack Saturday, May 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
phantom, carter
Marker Setup: gold phantom vsc- 11in barrel, 10rd mag, matching Tstock.
acid green vsc- 8 in barrel, 15 rd mag, matching Tstock.
urban camo vsc- 14in barrel, 15rd mag, black Tstock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, unless you get it with a smart parts barrel. autococker ball detent. main spring from a spyder or similar installed on the cocking rod.
Strengths: nicely built. light. not verticaly fed (maybe not a strength to some)
Weaknesses: shims for vel adjustment, may need a cutdown spring for indoors
Review: i had this a few years back and was one of the few guns ive had that ill possibly purchase again. it wasnt a badassed speedball gun or anything but was one of those dependable guns that i could pull out at anytime and it was ready to rock.

i didnt have it for long( i bought it as a test gun when i was running a field) it was only sold because i got tired of someone begging me for it and finally caved in. ive got a few phantom stock guns right now but when i do buy a non stock class pump, itll more than likely be another sterling.

the only problem i had with it was the bottom line adaptor that came with it was junk. it would cut the o-ring every time the tank was unscrewed. a new BL adapter cured this.
Conclusion: if you want a pump for rec play and want something that isnt a POS, the sterling is a fine choice. its been around for quite a while and the price still reflects the quality of this gun. there isnt a whole lot (if any) upgrades, but then again, besides the stock barrel, theres nothing that really needs upgrading.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 3rd, 2003 at 4:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

acemav1 Tuesday, March 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Red STP with diffuser bolt, 12V hopper
soon to have, red DYE IZON sight and a J&J Edge barrel system
Recommended
Upgrades:
a sight helps with the consistency
New barrel
Strengths: accuracy
feel
price, for what you get
build quality
Weaknesses: no anti-double feed
Review: This is the most accurate pump I have ever seen straight out of the box. A Phantom is up there as well but the Sterling beats it by feel and build quality. This is a drastic change from my previous gun, a PMI Piranha. I now have more range and pin point accuracy, coupled to a pump action that can be pumped nearly as fast as one can pull a trigger, without velocity drop off. I have only seen two guns more accurate, both of which have many upgrades, but still don't compare in the build quality
Conclusion: This is the best marker I have ever fired. You can feel its power when it kicks in your hand. I can't wait to get my hands on this sleeper, to make it king of all pumps.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, November 26th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have a Sniper 3 (very old) and it's significantly heavier and much stiffer to pump.
Marker Setup: Most everything is stock. I primarily use the Smart-Parts All-American barrel because it's significantly quieter than the stock (unported barrel). Other than that, a drop-forward (Shocktech) and a 47/4500 preset tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really. Darned near perfect out of the box.
I did add a spring between the pump handle and the body to reduce the handle kicking back (and chopping paint).
Strengths: Quiet (with AA Barrel)
Consistent (+/- 5 psi on nitro)
Dead-On Accurate
Lightweight
Buttery-smooth Pump Action
Light Trigger
AutoTrigger
Weaknesses: Pump Arm Doesn't Lock, tends to jump back on shot (fixed with above-mentioned spring)
Very few aftermarket barrels (although DYE is making a BoomStick for me)
Replacement parts are difficult to find (ordered mine from Great Britain)
Conclusion: Certainly my favorite pump for indoor play (I prefer the black Sniper3 for outdoor). Might be expensive for some, but I feel it's worth every cent. Looks good, shoots good, what more can a guy ask for?!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, November 14th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCI Phantom - The Sterling is slightly better mostly because the phantom is (or was) less trustworthy in keeping the velocity. As a referee I've taken 2 or 3 phantoms out of play that chronoed ok in the begining of the game but in the middle chronoed in at 350 +/-5 fps. I have never seen a Sterling do that and usually it is the velocity adjustor that scews things up for the phantom.
PMI Trracer - No Match even my modified trracer (light pump, armson, valve tricked) cant come close in any aspect.
Marker Setup: I use my sterling STP. Armson internaly rifled barrel (the original one of the first batches). Some springkits and an 9V hopper (U need it with the Sterling ;-)and Tricked Valves, Lightened Hammer, Siphon (UK-style) 12oz CO2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Siphon CO2 is a must for velocity consictency..
Springkits as well for a light pump action.
Strengths: When people write that their markers are accurate I usually just shake my head. I quote "I got 5 guys and 2 of them with headshots from 20 yrds". Well If I cant hit a lightbulb 9 out of 10 from 20m (50 yrds?) and 5 out of 10 from 30m (75 yrds?) I start cursing and stalk off to clean my marker. With the Autotrigger you can hold people down even if they do have semis, 3 accurate bps usually does that but 6 bps is my limit sustained allthough busts is faster then that.
Its a Pump so you will have to play "Pump-Style"
Weaknesses: Its a Pump so you will have to play "Pump-Style"
Its a Pump so you can´t shoot it one-handed.
The price.
Conclusion: You want the best you pay for the best, I can recomend this perfectly machineed state of the art Pump marker to any serious player our there. And as a tactical advise I would recomend this marker to any "Semi-only"-player out there as it will probably improve your game ;-)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

aidanb Monday, May 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom, Thunderpig - Less accurate, not such a smooth, easy action.
Marker Setup: Sterling STP - No mods (11" brasslined barrel, syphon bottle).
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new barrel.
Strengths: I bought my Sterling about 8 years ago and use it 2 or 3 times a year for recreational ball.
-Constant velocity (haven't adjusted since I bought it).
-Reliable (no parts required since I bought it).
-Accurate
-Beautiful smooth action allows a volume of fire that will challenge a semi.
Can take the bolt out in the field and put a pull-through squeegee right through receiver and barrel.
Weaknesses: Difficult to adjust velocity.
Conclusion: I prefer playing with a pump than a semi because there's just a better feel to it. Pump play seems a more skillful and tactical game - you can't just sit and pepper them. Also the satisfaction of taking on semis with 'just a pump' and shooting them out is wonderful. So if you're going to play with a pump then it absolutely, positively has to be a Sterling. Accept no substitute.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

oldskool Wednesday, March 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sterling Bronze
PMI Tracer
Marker Setup: Sterling STP (silver)
J&J Edge Barrel System
Viewloader Revolution
Air America Apocalypse 45/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrels are hard to come by, so the only kit I found out there was the J&J Edge Kit.
Adjustable Air System
Strengths: Light, durability, consistency, accuracy
Weaknesses: Hard to find aftermarket parts
Review: Been playing for about 12 years, and always wanted a Sterling, but never could justify getting one. I didn't play pump a whole lot until now. There's nothing like shooting out a player with a Sterling, or even a pump, when playing against a semi or electro gun.

Extremely accurate and consistent for it's size. Build quality is top notch. Pumps are great because it requires a player to be a smarter player, when going up against semis and electro guns. If you can find a Sterling STP either used or new, you should just buy one. They are so hard to come by, and I was very lucky to get a hold of a brand new one that was probably made 8 years ago, but was never used. You'll never be disappointed with a Sterling.
Conclusion: When you get your first kill against someone shooting at you with a DM5, Timmy, Angel or Shocker, you'll understand.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ptle Saturday, November 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
CCI Phantom
PMI Traccer
Sheridan PGP
Marker Setup: Black Arrow-Precision Sterling
- last 100 produced
- spyder threaded
- Winchester 48 round hopper
- 3.5oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
A small hopper
A small tank (3.5oz or 9oz)
Strengths: SMOOTHEST PUMP STROKE OF ANY PUMP
balanced weight
no upgraded needed
regulated
cheap price
Weaknesses: None
Review: The Sterling has the smoothest pump stroke of any pump there is. Period. To cock the gun takes little effort at all. I've seen trigger pulls that are harder then the pump action of this gun. I can just hold the gun up by the pump, and the gun will already pump 3/4 of the way. If I had to guess the pump stroke is only about 8 pounds.

The accuracy on this thing is awesome. I have one of the last 100 made so they are spyder threaded, but the stock barrel is dead on accurate. .689 bore makes it compatible with most of the paint out there. This thing is sick in accuracy.

It comes stock with hogue grips (very comfortable), a trigger shoe, bottomline, and its regulated! At first the velocity will go everwhere, but once the reg gets broken in, you can use CO2 in the winter and still get +-4 FPS over the chrono. It's unbelieveable.

The body is milled from a solid block of aluminum so you don't have to worry about low quality parts. The only thing plastic on this gun is the pump arm, and thats not gonna ever break.

This thing is also quite since it's regulated at a lowe pressure, its very accurate too.
Conclusion: Overall, this is a sick paintball gun. The price is so cheap, only at 220. This thing is much better than the phantom. I'd even say the pump stroke is 3x smoother than the phantom. Thats the best quality of the Sterling, the pump stroke...

If your look for a pump, look no further. Go out there and get this pump now.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media