paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Java / Kingman Spyder Java / Kingman Spyder Java / Kingman Spyder Java

Kingman Spyder Java Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Java

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Java
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 7.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $180

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Java is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
ncoulter2 Wednesday, October 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact Deluxe
Tippmann 98 Custom
Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: Spyder AMG Classic
Ricochet AK loader
68ci 3000psi Crossfire Nitro tank
Coil remote(if I feel like using it)
Smart Parts 14" Teardrop barrel
ACI metal vertical feed riser
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Gas through fore-grip/expansion chamber
Sticky grips
Strengths: Very light, compact, and dependable
Weaknesses: Fruity color
Review: My friend uses this gun regularly, and I find it to be a very good marker for beginners or intermediates who are looking for dependability and lightweight. I mean this marker is really lightweight, to the extent that it almost feels like a pea shooter compared to my much heavier AMG. However, although it is not a cast-metal Tippmann, it is very sturdy for the type of marker it is and is easy to maintain and clean. The flush-cocking bolt is very nice as well.

The stock barrel needs to be upgraded, Smart Parts Teardrop or the Dye Xcel are excelent cheap alternatives. One drawback of this marker besides the color is that unlike most Spyder models, it uses 1/8" threaded input for the gas source, which will make it considerably more difficult to find upgrades like an expansion chamber or gas through fore-grip unless you are willing to by an adapter, which are actually not very expensive.
Conclusion: In short, if you are looking for a semi that is light enough that you could easily shoot with one hand, tank and all, that is also pretty accurate and durable, then get this gun as it sells for less than $100 now--if you can find it! As far as I know, Kingman has stopped making them and they are very rare, even on EBay.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shorty23 Tuesday, May 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Spyder Amg
Nitro
boomstick
Evolution II
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Electric Handle
Hopper
Strengths: pink
Weaknesses: Everthing
Review: My first time went paint-balling my friend Jack let me borrow this because he just got a shocker 4*4 i started to try to cock it but this POS wouldn't cock so the first ten minutes were spent trying to cock it after that the paint lobed swerved and dipped.
Conclusion: this gun is great it only swerves about ten feet with a teardrop as good a a gold turkey (brass eagle) that has a great name behind it to cock and only takes ten minutes the gun is so good that it only breaks 99/100 shots if i have enough money to buy this i would buy it because it mite make a good toilet if you really have to go bad
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 6th, 2003 at 4:03 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Tearstone Sunday, September 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Custom 98, Tracer, PMI SR
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Java Edition
All American 14" Barrel
Electric Agitating Hopper
16oz CO2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
14" Barrel
Tank Valve
Maybe some sort of front grip
Screw-Clamp hopper bend
Strengths: Light, Looks Nice, Reliable, Excellent Grip, Easy to maintenance, Rear Cocking Bolt Design
Weaknesses: Barrel is iffy, Bolt wear on the ball feed, long trigger pull, No Front Grip
Review: I bought this marker last week (yes in the year 2004) at a Army Navy store where there was an abundance of them here. They had the price marked down drastically, and it had a few key features I was looking for. I started playing paintball again recently, and I wanted to stop renting those horrible markers at the paintball field and have something of my own that was actually accurate that I could take care of myself. I did some limited research and they said that Kingman Spyders are good for the budget concious weekend warrior. So, I made the move and purchased this marker.

My first impression of the marker was that I really liked it. I'm not a "back end" player where I have lots of money to go through a case of paint every game, but I'm more of a "one shot, one kill" kind of person (mid or front game). I hate the beaver tails on the other Spyders, and this bolt doesn't move since it is rear loaded. I don't mind the purple so much since I used to race R/C cars and my company of choice was HPI and they used all anodized purple in their aluminum parts. Color was not an issue for me, it lured me more to it since it was so unique.

Barrel upgrade was mandatory, I had some really tight groups after purchasing my all american 14" barrel. I think I made a mistake getting such a big tank 16oz since I still have not emptied it after shooting nearly 800 balls through my marker at around 250~270 fps. I checked my tank after playing deep into the night and I still had a lot of CO2 left, I don't even think I was too far past half of a tank. Luckily there is already a forward bracket that comes stock in this unit, but a smaller tank would work out fine since it is so efficient with CO2.

Besides the barrel, the only issue I have with this unit is that I don't really have a place to put my left hand per se because holding onto the CO2 line is not the most comforatable of things to do.
Conclusion: I recommend this product for anyone getting into "Recball", and really wants something reliable and works well. Good luck finding one, and if you really want one, there is a place here that I can get one for you if you are truely interested. This is indeed an old, rare unit which I do not regret buying at all. The reliability should serve me well as I do not plan on investing too much money into this hobby at the moment and I just want to play for some good excercise, fun and a outlet for aggression.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 14th, 2004 at 6:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PhatDaddy3 Sunday, June 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Talon Ghost by Brass Eagle (lol - no comparison)
Spyder Compact 2 in 1 - fairly similar but not as good
Marker Setup: Stock Java w/ 16" Thunder Pig barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, like on any gun
maybe a bolt if you get into serious play with it - i played for fun
bottom line kit if you dont like it without, i didnt mind
Strengths: Feather Light, few broken balls, fairly accurate all stock
compatible with all ball types
Weaknesses: Long trigger pull
no bottom line (but i like it that way)
Review: Hmmmm, where to start.... Overall a great gun - I got mine off Ebay with 14 oz. tank for under $70. Nice beginners gun and for a rec player. Can compete in tourneys with
E99s and Tippmans (A-5 and 98 Custom with flatline). Well worth $100 for the gun by itself.
I like the idea of no bottom line kit on it, but i wouldnt reccomend too big of a tank because thats the main grip ( i like my 12 and 14 ozs).
Stock barrel is alright, and put against other stock barrels not to bad at all but an upgrade in the barrel departmend is always a good idea. I could go into detail about what barrels to get, but I'll leave that up to you to decide.

P.S. I'm not sure of the year but it made me put one up there ( i bought it used in June 2003)
Conclusion: Highly recommended to any player, especially a beginner not looking to spend too much on the sport. Overall a great value and has much bang for the buck.
When compared to all guns on the market i'd give it an 8 or 9 but the actual quality of this gun is an easy 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mtssk8er69 Sunday, February 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
impulse, spyder amg,
Marker Setup: 2 barrels 1 12', 1 14',
electro frame
xpansion chamber
drop forward
mac dev- nitro system
aci-HVC (high volume cylander)
revy
new port valve(for low pressure)
Recommended
Upgrades:
ever thing that i have on the set up. but works great stock, but get a trigger! wow. x chamber or nitro evey gun works better with N2 its just the way to go
Strengths: whoa fires fast, dosetn chop, accurate, non moving cocking pin you dont have to worry about the side cocking hitting your thumb or haveing a beaver tail in your face!
Weaknesses: nothing its sweet
Conclusion: very good gun easy to upgrade, cheap stock, spend a few bucks and you can make this a turny quality gun! GET IT solid 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CrAsHDuMmY1331 Friday, January 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
a blade pump (crap gun in know)
Marker Setup: stock spyder java no upgrades yet
Recommended
Upgrades:
definately a new barrel, expansion chamber, and some type of sight
Strengths: it is a great gun for the price

it shoots pretty fast

it doesnt chop balls very often
Weaknesses: i broke a lot of balls at first

bad on co2

the hose is crap to hold on to

Conclusion: this is a great gun for the money, i recomend spending a little bit more money on this gun instead of getting a crap brass eagle from wal-mart
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ingramo70 Sunday, December 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Triton
Marker Setup: all stock spyder java
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, expansion chamber or gas thru foregrip
Strengths: Cheap, reliable, hardly ever breaks, never chops paint, is fairly good on gas, easy to take apart, decent trigger pull and rate of fire, comes stock with drop forward, fairly quiet.
Weaknesses: stock barrel sucks a$$, it curves all over the place up, down, right, left, sometimes it parts come loose and you will lose them if not tightened properly, I lost a screw to the trigger frame and just recently lost the cocking bolt, hose is not very comfortable to hold on to. It comes in a fairy purple.
Conclusion: Good starter gun, and with a few upgrades can be an intermediate gun. If you want a reliable gun then this is the gun for you. Just get it and try it for yourself.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

scnv Wednesday, December 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
when i first started pball; shutter, tippman(s), lots of spyders, xtra,
NOW I USE; works autocker completley pimped out and on of the best guns on the market today. VERY hard to find.
Marker Setup: i dont remember, prolly stock with a steel boomstick.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, bolt, grip
Strengths: for teh price.....pretty good
looks OK
doesnt shoot bad(for price)
Weaknesses: loud
there are a lot of things i dont like but yet again, this is a less expenseve marker so its expected...
Conclusion: IF YOU ARE JUST STARTING AND WANT A DECEANT GUN FOR A GOOD PRICE YOU SHOULD CONSIDER THIS MARKER, if you wanna spen a little more then go wit the shutter and upgrade it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

m9872189 Wednesday, December 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 cutom
Point Zero Model83
Marker Setup: Spyder stock
Quiet Riot Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good barrel
Electronic Handle
Strengths: This is not the best gun, yet it does have some key features:
Light wieght
Looks hip and happening
Does not waste Carbon Dioxide
Weaknesses: It is made of inexpensive material
Inaccurate
Breaks balls
Conclusion: This a fairly good gun for a starter or an experienced player. I would definetly recomend this gun.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mintond Thursday, June 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
'01 Cocker, Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: 01 Cocker, 14" Freak, Evolution bolt, Drop forward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Expansion Chamber(if using co2), Trigger job or frame.
Strengths: Good value for your money. This was my first paintballgun, and I didn't have a large budget for it. I've never had a serious problem with it. When you cock the gun(its rear cocking), the back part of the bolt goes back in so when you fire theres no outside moving parts. Comes with a short drop forward. Theres plenty of upgrades available if you need them.
Weaknesses: Barrell. Its not really bad, but like most stock spyder barrel's its cheaply made and is a little loud. Another other thing I didn't like was without an X chamber, it ate c02 pretty fast. Also, the trigger pull was fairly long. There are several places on the internet that tell how to do a trigger job.
Conclusion: In my opinion, one of the best markers in its price range. Looks good, Shoots good, and very few problems. For somebody just getting into the sport, or just not wanting to spend too much, this is the gun for you. And with a little bit of investing, you can upgrade it to a pretty competative gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media