paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey HALO B / Odyssey HALO B / Odyssey HALO B

Odyssey HALO B Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey HALO B

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey HALO B
[ View Photos (29) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 417
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The ultimate in loader technology. The newly designed HALO-B.
Product Availability 
The Odyssey HALO B is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (42):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
C]-[iLDe Wednesday, October 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year162 of 172 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo A
Evo 2
Revvy
Marker Setup: Champagne Fly iR3
Silver/Champagne/Bronze Fade Dark iR3
Smoke Halo B
68/45 Pure Energy OR 45/45 Nitro Duck Mega Reg
J&J Edge Barrels
Strengths: - PERFORMANCE
The Halo will feed in excess of 22 balls per second. I did some impromptu testing of my own; Over 10 attempts, the Halo emptied 100 rounds in an average of 4.2 seconds (23.8 bps). It is simply the fastest loader available today. It is not humanly possible to outshoot this loader with any gun in semi-auto mode; There will ALWAYS be a ball chambered and ready to fire when you pull the trigger. End your chopping woes FOREVER!

- CUSTOMER SERVICE
Odyssey goes above and beyond the call of duty in supporting their customers. After a customer's initial purchase, they will correct any problem or replace any damaged shells free of charge. Whats more, they are available thru email and telephone to answer questions and address concerns. Odyssey will NEVER leave you without product support.

- BATTERY EFFICIENCY
I shot about 8-10 cases through my Halo B before the batteries needed to be replaced. A word of caution, when the Halo's low battery light comes on, replace the batteries IMMEDIATELY!

- UPGRADES from 'A' VERSION
The Halo B is now easier [than the Halo A] to turn on and off, its easier on paint, its quieter, faster and comes in a variety of colored shells. The battery drainage problem also seems to have been remedied in the B version.
Weaknesses: - WEIGHT
While not very heavy in itself, the Halo B is heavier than any other loader available, due in part to the complexity of the force-feed mechanisms.

- PRICE
When I first bought my Halo B, it was about $140, although now they can be found for $100 or lower.

- LARGE FEED NECK
While its a good idea to allow players to size their feed necks to their individual markers, its quite bothersome to sand/melt/grind down the Halo neck to the correct size. I was forced to purchase a Dremel ($65) to properly sand mine down - I wasn't about to use sandpaper by hand.

- BROKEN SHELLS
I encountered an issue with my Halo shells cracking for apparently no reason. On several occasions, I observed damage to the loader even though it hadn't been hit, banged up or anything. However, Albert from Odyssey was MORE than helpful in getting my shells replaced and getting me up and running again. This seems to be an isolated occurrence; I haven't heard of many other people complaining about it.
Conclusion: The Halo is the fastest loader in the world. Odyssey's customer service is second to none. If you are serious about maximizing your ROF while eliminating chopped paint, get the Halo B. You won't be sorry; there simply is no other choice.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
68 Comments - Add Comment

dbf1066 Saturday, April 12th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months64 of 172 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
revolution X
Marker Setup: Dragon Timmy, halo-b, mac-dev, freak barrel
Angel (LCD), halo-b, freak barrel, mac-dev.
Strengths: Speed, well shaped hopper, center mount neck
Weaknesses: Neck, Torque from motor, weight, eye mechanism
Review: This hopper is extremely fast, there is no doubting that! If you are totally enamored with speed then this is the hopper for you. I believe this isn't the best hopper out there because it has many integration issues. If all you are worried about is speed then by all means by a HALO-B, if you are at all concerned with chopping/weight/integrating it with your marker then I would suggest a different hopper.

The bad-
1. The neck is so fat your not going to be able to find a feedneck that fits it. Your still going to have to start sanding until you can get it on. This will drive you mad. Additionally the only ones that are even close are the two-part adjustable feednecks that are fundamentally poor quality.

2. It feeds balls into the gun with so much force that your going to have to start replacing components to deal with this (or just chop balls) I had to replace my detents and bolt (on my timmy) to accommodate my hopper. My angel was totally overwhelmed (only 1 detent) When I investigated I found the forums filled with LOTS of people having problems with the halo shoving balls down so hard it causes problems. So big is the problem that Halo is on the 3rd mod to the halo to try and control the ball feed torque. The best adjustment you are left with is to grease the belt to reduce the torque the motor is transmitting and thus how hard the hopper is jamming balls down into the gun. Think about it, what a rotten solution this is!

3. It is a very heavy hopper once you add the batteries

4. You run into performance problems with the halo and dark paint. The eye has difficulty "seeing" it. On the surface its no big deal, just don't use dark paint. But this is a major problem if the tournament you are at only sells PMI premium or the like.

5. The on/off isn't exactly straight forward, you have to push it very quickly to turn it on, but push and hold to turn off. But it can be difficult to tell if its on or off. When this becomes a big problem is when you didn't get it turned on before the start and now with your gloves on it can be a challenge to get it done, especially when your bunker is under fire and your struggling to get it done. If you push the on for too long, it doesn't come on (interesting design feature)

the good
1. The hopper design principle is actually a very good one, it is a very fast and can feed balls very fast. The long track before the balls exits the hopper will ensure that the paintballs fall straight into the marker without alot of swirling or jiggle.

2. The center mount neck is also a nice feature that allows the hopper to be well balanced on the gun.

3. The shape of the hopper is nice, its a good balance between being large enough to accommodate a good amount of paintballs while minimizing the profile.
Conclusion: The hopper itself has great potential, the problem is that there isn't a gun out there (that I am aware of) that it is suited to work for. If Halo would mod the board and sacrifice one or two balls per sec to get the torque issue fixed and adjust the size of the neck to fit most feednecks then this would be the top contender. Unless that happens it will cause you alot of problems with your marker that are not easily overcome, thus I would discourage anyone from purchasing one.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 25th, 2003 at 9:18 am PST
I found this review  
74 Comments - Add Comment

BourneKiller Thursday, April 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months30 of 41 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL200, 9V Revvy, 12V Revvy, 12V XBoard, 12V XBoard w/ WAS Vortex Impellers, WAS TurboRev, Rico AK, Rico 2K, Empire Reloader, Warp Feed, and HALO-B.
Marker Setup: -Black Piranha EXT Pro G3
-10" DYE Titanium Boomstick
-White Wolf "Blitz" Delrin LP Bolt
-KAPP "Twisted" Autococker cocking rod
-Maddman "Rocket" Valve
-Custom milled striker
-Chrome CP Lightning Drop
-Chrome KAPP Railmount On/Off ASA
-AA Vigilante w/ LP Spring
-Black HALO-B
-Clear Warp Feed w/ 12V mod and on/off
-Centerflag 68ci/4500psi
-Operating pressure of 300psi.
Strengths: Very fast, durable, and easy to use.
Weaknesses: Can easily force paint past a weak ball detent. Does not "see" black-shelled paint.
Review: Excellent product.

Pros:
-Tough Shell
-Killer looks
-Faster than anything else
-Doesn't break paint from the force

Cons:
-Rather on the heavy side, due to the 6 AA's.
-Doesn't see dark-shelled, or half-dark-shelled paintballs, so it reacts like the hopper is empty, spinning, stopping, spinning, stopping... etc...
-Can force paint past a weak ball detent.
Conclusion: If you have the money and the need to buy this, then definately go for it! Odyssey is a great company and this is the Ultimate in Loaders.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Playa70 Thursday, March 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month24 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Revy w/ x-board and vortex impeller
Marker Setup: Green/ Silver Reverse Fade Splash EM1 (8-dip Model)
14" Boomstick
N-Bolt
68/3000 PMI fiber tank w/ lok socs and mountain dew wrapping (really looks cool)
Green to Clear Fade HALO B
Gladiator Reg
Micro Rock
Chrome Kapp DZIII w/ on/off
Check It Reg Adaptor
Angel low-rise
Angel Frame
Gold valve
Double detents
LPR Mod
Strengths: Ok, I just got this today and this baby is FAAASSSTTT!!!! I did a drop test and it beat a revy easily. Here are the good things:
1) really fast
2) looks awesome, a whole lot better than an egg looks
3) really fast
4) lid stays on securely
5) available in many colors, and you can dye them
6) awesome customer service, although I hope I never have to use them
7) feedback is too big so you can sand it for that perfect fit
8) did I mention that it is really fast??
Weaknesses: there are very very few bad things about this loader:
1) expensive but hey, you get what you pay for
2) batteries are a lil pain
3) only holds 180 balls
4) does't perforn 100%% w/ low balls
Conclusion: My conclusion is that this hopper is worth every penny. I haven't tested a egg II yet but I hear it is really fast. I prefer the Halo though because: looks better, is a lil faster but not much, and it's sleek design is better. But hey, everyone has their own opinion and this is mine. Later
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

magsrule Monday, March 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year15 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
revvys, ricos, warpfeeds
Marker Setup: gloss black Xmag w/ black Smart Parts all American 14", Black Halo B, AGD flatline with black tank cover
Strengths: FAST (20+ bps)
Weaknesses: sucks on some guns (read review body)
heavy
Review: These things are great. with brand new batteries, they will feed around 23 bps. even with almost dead batteries, they can feed around 20 bps. If I want to outrun it, I have to try at it.

On some guns (especially closed bolts) these things are blenders. Since it has downward pressure on the ball stack into the breech, the bolt will sometimes knick the second ball if the balls are small bore so when it's loaded into the breech, it's damaged and is likely to break. This is also a problem with powerfeeds, because there is so much pressure on the balls, it doesn't have room to drop out of the feed neck and into the breech. thats all that keeps this thing from getting a 10.


of course, a center feed mag with lvl 10 will alleviate these problems easily.
Conclusion: by this if your revvy is no longer cutting it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 3rd, 2003 at 1:50 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jjohnson Tuesday, February 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
eVLution II, definitely not as fast as Halo B.
Tested my friend's Empire Reloader B, its about the same only it detects darker paint.
Marker Setup: Ion
Pure Energy 72/3000
Smoke Halo B
Q-Lock
Strengths: -Simplicity
-Speed (22bps)
-Strength (Thick polycarbonate shell)
-Customer Support
Weaknesses: -Nothing
Review: I ordered my Halo B from ANS Extreme Performance. I opened it up and was already happy. Odyssey was kind enough to put the Halo B on a thick pad of foam and wrap it in plastic. I opened it up and did a drop test. 22-23 bps over 4 trials. I went to my field two days ago and man, does this thing rip. I shot four cases of paint (played for almost 7 hours) without the low battery indicator coming on. No breaks. Excellent product.
Conclusion: Great product, but you have to pay top dollar for it. It's one of the fastest and it's extremely simple. I'm glad I bought it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

CaptainFuzzy Wednesday, August 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revolution, Quantum, Ricochet and eVLution
Marker Setup: Pre-Serial Silver BKO
- Vapor Valve
- CP Lightning drop with on/off
- 12" CP 2-piece
Strengths: VERY fast, sturdy, nice looking, features!
Weaknesses: Needs lots of batteries, heavy, can't use black paint
Review: What to say about such a product. I can honestly say that this thing is frickin' AMAZING. It will feed nearly any gun reliably, it completely ignores blowback because of the force fed... there's just so much good about it. The design is fairly simple, if you get paint inside it or something you'll have an easy time cleaning it out and reassembling. The Halo's shell is made out of quite strong plastic, mine's survived numerous drops and smacks all over the place. The Halo feeds with very little battery power and is pretty darn efficient. I have NiMH recharables and they'll last for a very long time, my longest time without falter is 10 cases, but it could probably have lasted longer if I tried. The motor on the Halo B is near silent, you can't hear it when it's feeding. I like my Halo a lot more than my revvie because when I use my Halo I KNOW that balls will keep feeding and I won't chop (regardless of how fast I shoot), I don't have that certainty when I use my revvie... Plus the Halo looks REEEEEEEEEEEEALLY cool.

Now the bad:
- You cannot use paintballs with a very dark or black colored shell because the eye won't see it and will try to keep feeding, makes for bad stuff happening. Simple enough solution... don't use black paint!
- Heavy. No one can deny that the Halo is the heaviest loader out there, but it's a difference of a few ounces, you don't really notice a huge difference with a full hopper and air system.
- Batteries. Takes 6 AA batteries instead of the usual two 9v batteries. This makes the Halo a bit heavier, but more efficient and relable since each battery will continuously supply 1 and 1/2 volts each.
Conclusion: This loader is THE fastest hopper on the market and def. the coolest looking. It's heavy, but IMO that's the ONLY downfall, and not one I hold it accountable for... besides, you can always get lighter batteries. Way to go Odyssey!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jaska Sunday, August 3rd, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revolution 9volt/12volt, Evolution2
Marker Setup: GZ timmy HaloB or Evo2 5000/45 Tank
Strengths: Very durable plastic, easy to open, very fast
Weaknesses: If it goes down, you are screwed, heavy, needs 6 batteries, cost alot
Review: My review is a mix, I got my first HaloB for a tournament, the thing went down on me at least 4 times in matchs, once costing our team the game and got me bunkered.
I got a bad one and got a new HaloB, the new one so far has yet to go down on me.
It is the fastest but truth be told I don't use it and I use my Revolution over it, hey my gun has anti chop eyes for a reason. The loader is just too big for a tiny lil GZ gives it a top heavy feel.
Conclusion: My first HaloB is the worst peice of paintball gear I have ever owned. My second preforms just as advertised, because of my first Halo and the game it cost us for the semi finals, I can not give HaloB anything over a 3, if they can't get it right half the time, don't bother and the fact I still use my 4 year old rev over it.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

pblover124 Saturday, November 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
egg w/ z board- only other loader that is force fed.
Marker Setup: silver angel speed
kapp low rise
blue halo b with z code
freak system
blue maxflow
Strengths: speed,speed,speed. So far it is yet to be outshot.
Weaknesses: alittle on the heavy side, feeds extreamly strong
Review: I got a halo b when my egg broke apart. The halo is THE FASTEST LOADER EVER. People say that the new z board for the egg is faster. The halo Drop tests in the air at 21 or 22 bps. When it is accually on a marker, the pressure of it being force fed accually adds on another 4 or 5 bps. You do the math, that is fast!! My only warning is to strengthen your detents and get a low rise if you have an angel. I learned the hard way. It feeds so strong that it feeds right past the angel detents and double feeds during high rate of fire. If you have an angel, just take the detents out and stretch out the springs. Also get a low rise to have less force on the detents. Any other marker you wont have this problem so dont worry. Also, all the new halos come with the "z code" which help fix jams in the loader. This truely makes the Halo the most hassle free loader I have ever used. The only bummer is the 6 AA batteries you have to have.
Conclusion: With the z code and rip drive, It never jams and it is extreamly fast, making it easily the best loader I have ever used. The only downside is the weight and the 6 AA batteries. With the low rise and stronger detents, I had no problems yet. really a 9.5 for not thinking about the poor angel guys but 10 out of 10 is fine.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

smurf69 Thursday, April 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
12v Revy with X-Board
Ricochet 2k
Marker Setup: Tricked 2k1 Autococker
-Shocktech SupaFly Bolt
-Titanium Pump Arm
-KAPP Stainless Steel Hammer kit
-Shocktech RAT 3:16 Valve
-KAPP Reflex Trigger Frame
-KAPP F.A.T. Ram
-Palmer Rock Reg.
-Shocktech Bomb 3-Way
-Air America Messiah
With a Stainless Dye Boomstick, Freak kit, Max-Flo and Halo
Strengths: Look Nice
FAST!!!!!!
Reliable
Durable
Energy Efficent
Weaknesses: Looks so cool it draws fire
Lid is a bit stiff when new
Review: This loader is awesome. It has an insane loading rate, Has never ja,,ed or broken down on me and the battery pack lasts a long time. The jewl colors will also go with just about any color setup you have or want. The only downsides that I can mention are the price, which is a little steep (but what isn't in this industry?), the fact the the lid is hard to open fluidly before you have been playig with it for a bit and that this nice pretty blue blob at the top of my rig always seems to draw most of the other teams fire (kinda hard to be sneaky). Otherwise I'd recommend it to anyone.
Conclusion: Great loader even if ti is a little pricy and has a few minor imperfections.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (42):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media