paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel / CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel / CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel

CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount CMI International

Buy CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 93
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Speds98 Thursday, December 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
16" Empire Twister Barrel- (i'd recommend) 16" J+J Ceramic Barrel, (also great) Smart Parts All-American barrel, (awesome)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98, 21" CMI Tru Flight Barrel and a teardrop & flatline, sight rail, scope, red dot laser sight, lapco direct feed, viewloader elbow, empire loader, CAR stock, R/T system, expansion chamber, a double trigger, a 5" drop forward, and a bipod
Recommended
Paintballs:
nothing cheap, brass eagle etc. i've been using zap paintballs, all i can afford anymore, yet i havn't had one break yet.
Strengths: Good Accuracy
Quieter than stock
Consistent
Looks intimidating
Weaknesses: Little louder then I wanted
A little bit too long
Shoots a little short
Review: First I want everyone to realize that the people who have been leaving bad reviews, are all carrying a spyder or something other then a Tippmann. For me it was a stupid choice to by a 21 in barrel, who honestly even needs something that long? It's rather loud, but the accuracy can make up for it. For the money, it's a great barrel, especially for sniper set-up i have. It works great with any Tippmann Gun. For the people giving the bad reviews, check the barrel. It has more than one way of screwing together, my cousin screwed it in wrong and found the same results that most of you guys are describing. It's a little long to have to carry around for woodsball, but if you end up being a camper, its not bad. It doesn't put much of a spin on the ball, so if you are looking for something that does, try a flatline, or the Empire Twister barrel. Whether this is helpful or not, the barrel is a great choice for any paintballer, with a little lean towards the beginner side. i would use it for a few months and would maybe look into a different barrel for the upgrade.
Conclusion: It's a good buy, especially for the money.

Looks A-
Accuracy A
Noise B+
Distance B+

For a beginner- give it an 8
amatuer- 6-7
pros - (since i'm not there yet) i'd probably give it a 5
I gave it the eight because it ends up eating up the velocity on the ball, and doesn't get the distance thats hoped for, and it's pretty loud for the use that it's intended for.
So i guess i say go for it.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 5th, 2006 at 5:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Art Minnick Sunday, August 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
16 inch tru-flight thunder pig
Marker Setup: 21'' cmi thunder pig e99 with a 12v vl revolution
Recommended
Paintballs:
strong paintballs such as evil paintballs or pmi big ball
Strengths: it is ridiculously long . It has incredible accuracy w/ evil paint
Weaknesses: any balls except top of the line the balls will break a lot.
Review: This barrel is tempting to buy because of it's extreme length but like I said I understand why a lot of people are giving this a bad review and if you can/do get good paint then this is the best spyder barrel That you can get for the money or maybe just the best period.
Conclusion: Actually I was wrong the reason balls break in the barrel is because if you shoot too fast
with the 21 inch that I have the problem is that when you fire too fast, once you fire a ball and another one drops in and you fire the first ball is still in the barrel and the Co2 is creating a back pressure which makes the ball break. I will admit you need to use good paint but not top of the line, so spend five bucks more on paint and don't fire as fast and it is a good barrel and probably the most accurate. SO ALL YOU IDIOTS STOP BAD MOUTHING THIS BARREL.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 19th, 2003 at 2:27 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

-=eFfEkTz=- Friday, May 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick - Knocks any barrel out of the water!
Marker Setup: Gun
Tippmann 98 Custom
14" Dye Boomstick Barrel
Viewloader Evlution Hopper
Vertical Adapter
Expansion Chamber
Double Trigger
Response Trigger
Adjustable Car Stock with Speed Velocity Adjuster
Drop Forward
Rocket Cock
Venturi Bolt

Equipment
Dye Attack Pack 4+3
140 Round Eclipse Tubes
2- 20 Ounce co2
1- 9 Ounce co2
32 Degrees Speed Mop
Meteor Shower Grenades
Draxxus Midnight Paintballs Black Shell - White Fill
32 Degrees Barrel "Condoms"
Woodland Camo 20 Ounce co2 Cover
Dye Precision Invision Goggle System

Practice
6 Swinging Targets on a Horizontal Bar\
Helpless animals... :) Heh, heh
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paintballs, I used PMI's for a while and I never had a ball break... never!
Strengths: Accuracy, ability to not break balls, quieter than stock
Weaknesses: Still semi-loud, doesn't allow ball to spin (doesn't really make a difference)
Review: This is a good newb barrel. It's cheap, and balls don't break. Saying it is newb doesn't mean it's bad, because it isn't. It's mostly accurate, the weather didn't really affect my shot. If you started off, and you want a reliable barrel without the high price of a higher end barrel, this one is great.
Conclusion: Beginner = 9/10
Intermediate = 5/10
Advanced = 2/10
Get this barrel early in your paintball career, and upgrade in about 5 months...
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 23rd, 2003 at 3:23 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

mattelwheels Monday, March 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99
Thunder Pig 21" Bar
Agitator Loader
Red Dot Sight
Strengths: Low Price
Consitent
Accurate
Looks Intimidating
Weaknesses: lack of directions
Review: This is an awesome barrel. It's very accurate and very consistent. I've never had a ball chopped by the barrel and the balls almost never curve. The one downside I found, is that the middle section can be screwed in either way, though there is in fact a front and back. If you screw it in wrong, then there will be a sharp edge inside where the back and middle section meet. I discovered this when every ball I shot sprayed out. After I screwed it in right, I haven't had a chopped ball since. One other problem I had with the gun was that the little lip that holds the O-ring on on the back section had to be sanded down to fit right.

But my favorite thing about it is the reactions when you show up at the field with it. It's very intimidating! For some reason everybody always seems to want to be on my team.
Conclusion: It's an awesome barrel. The mixed reviews may be due to the fact that you can put the barrel together backwards and never even realize it. Buy it, it will be worth your money!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 15th, 2004 at 3:06 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

oldenburg Saturday, January 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder compact 2 in 1 barrel, stock with gun, is better that Thunder Pig.
Spyder Flash LCD, now on my gun, is 5 times better than Thunder Pig.
True Flight rifled 12" barrel, on my son's Flash LCD now, is much better than Thunder Pig 21"
Marker Setup: Spyder Compact 2 in 1, Toxic Performance gravity feed hopper, ACI Bulldog compressed air 3500 PSI tank with regulator.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Shot Diablo Dusks and Pro gel filled paintballs
Strengths: It's intimidating at first look, then everything goes down hill.
Weaknesses: Breaks every 5th ball and 3 out of the other 4 don't make it 30 yards. The accuracy is the worst of any barrel I've ever used. For straight rifling and supposed no spin, only the balls which couldn't reach the target flew straight.
Sniper barrel??? What a joke!!!!! You couldn't count on hitting anyone more than 15 yards away and then you couldn't count on the ball breaking. I had my spyder turned up and as soon as I put the Spyder Flash barrel back on I put 15 balls in 18" pattern on a target 30 yards away with no breaks or wingers.
Now which barrel would you invest in?????
Conclusion: I hope someone at CMI is reading this and at least offers to accept this 21" barrel back for refund or credit. It was tried on a Spyder Flash LCD ESP with even worse results. Next time your playing, look around at who is lighting up the rest of the players and check out what barrel they're using. It is probably a 12" to 14" mid range priced barrel, nothing fancy. Go with it!!!!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

semaj113 Saturday, April 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom 20oz 9oz this barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
ne thing works good
Strengths: accuracy speed good for sniping
Weaknesses: kind of big
Review: i think this barrel is great. i mean when i first got it i had my doubts. but now its awesome. i sit in my back yard now and then and squrriels come by i usally hit 3/4. with my old barrel i never hit none. today i played paintball with this barrel for the first time. my friend was a little scared to play with me. i hit by taking only about 3 shots each new game we played and hit him 1 out of the three. he was about 40 yards away each time. he said it hurt bad and i could c that when he showed me the welts. this shoots amazing.
Conclusion: id say get this barrel its cheap and its really good for sniping and intimidation. and the accuaarcay is outstanding
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

macktoon Saturday, February 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco Bigshot 14"( Little Better)
Spyder Stock ( Alot Worste)
All American "16 (Little Better)
Custom Products 16"( Little worste)
Cmi 21" (Alot Worste)
Marker Setup: Tippman Model 98 Custom
20 oz pure energy Tank
14" Lapco bigshot

Kingman Spyder Aggressor
20oz pure energy Tank
16" Cmi Thunder pig
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pmi Premiums
Diablo Dusks
RPS Super Swirls
Strengths: The good about this product is the accuracy for the price. People can say what they want about this barrell i didnt expect much for 25 dollars. After we Put it on the aggressor we definately saw the diffrence it made. I would reccoumend this barrell for any begginer.
Weaknesses: It is a Little Lengthy But its all good. We have it one an aggressor the damn thing is so loud makes my ears ring. Takes alot of Velocity to get the ball out of the barrell but when it gets out its all worth it.
Conclusion: It is very loud. Cost is very effiecient. Id recoummend this barrell to anybody who wants a cheap barrell with fair accuracy. Id still take my Bigshot over it any day But for the price its still great.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BubbaGump19 Wednesday, July 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
Viewloader eVLution 3 with Z Board
32 Degrees Heavy Duty Coiled Remote
21" CMI International Thunder Pig
20 oz. Co2 Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Nothing To Cheap if its real soft dont buy them
Strengths: Quiet
Accurate
Greater Distance
Tighter Pattern
Spin Free
Weaknesses: To Long
Review: I bought it the other day and i thought i ordered it the way the picture look (silver black silver) but they sent me all black... no problem tho.Very Very Quite Compared to 9 1/2 inch Stock. Extremely Accurate. No more curved balls they all fly very strait and the balls will go very far. i would not recomend To cheap of a ball this barrel does not to well with cheap balls.
Conclusion: Very good buy
I am Very happy with it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

benbomb85 Saturday, September 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder stock barrel. Junk compared to this. I would take the Thunder Pig anyday over the cruddy stock barrel.
Marker Setup: Spyder TL Plus, CMI 14' Thunder Pig Barrel.
2 - 12 oz CO2's.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pretty much anything decent. PMI Premium works awesome in it. (No breaks so far). I wouldn't recomend getting any ZAP paintballs, cause I have had nothing but probs with it. JT Elite is pretty good, not as high quality as PMI Premium.
Strengths: This barrel is awesome compared to my 12' Muzzle Brake Spyder stock barrel. It hasn't broken a ball on me yet! The stock barrel I had before chopped thru paint pretty bad. I was getting 3-8 breaks for every 200 or so paintballs I was using. Today, I went out and shot 700 rounds (using the same paint from the same box) without a single break. I was astonished. The accuracy of the Thunder Pig is great and it is quieter than the stock barrel.
Weaknesses: Nothing so far. It is an incredibly good barrel for the price I paid.
Conclusion: Incredible accurate, high quality barrel. I won it off of an eBay auction for 15.50 plus S & H. You can't beat that price for the performace it delivers to your game.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vicious666 Thursday, August 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none (thank god!)
Marker Setup: procarbine, 14" bigshot, houge grips, polished internals, air tipps hammer, silenced and polished back bolt, extensive trigger work, madd man springs, custom dragunov style stock, vertical adaptor.
Recommended
Paintballs:
those that are blessed by god to not break (that is what it would take)
Strengths: None unless you hate accuracy and like a flame thrower affect
Weaknesses: Innaccurate, as long as a broom stick, zero balls make it wont take it back.
Review: ok, to start off dont think that the streight rifleing in this barrel works, IT DOSENT if you think im full of shat then put some two color shell paint in your gun turn down the fps so u can see and observe the obvious strobe affect imparted by the SPIN when u fire. this brings me to my next point the ridge down the center of most paint acts like the seam on a baseball it imparts drag on the air surrounding it if it spins your gun is throwing a CURVE BALL (a realy bad thing) and it always spins the ball. and that brings me to the next point it sprays paint like a air brush dont know why. we put it together in the right fashion in the right directions and it
spit every time I think it does with all the rough edges in the barrel and the made in mexico quality . Also 21" in a paintball gun is pointless all it does is cause more drag on the ball and a average pb gun does not spit enough gas out to fill the barrel completely so by the time the ball reaches the end of the barrel it actualy slows due to friction and a vacuum behind the ball (not a prob if the barrel is ported) 14" is the maximum usefull leghth also there are lots of burs in the barrel that throughly blends the ball before it exits. this barrel is a disgrace to the word sniper.
some say it is intimidateing but I think it makes u look like a paint spraying moron.
Conclusion: Get a barrel from brass eagle or something made in a sweat shop it would most likely perform much better. Too bad there is no minus rateings
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media