paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Viewloader eVLution II / Viewloader eVLution II / Viewloader eVLution II

Viewloader eVLution II Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Viewloader

Buy Viewloader eVLution II

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Viewloader eVLution II
[ View Photos (33) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 567
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The newly re-engineered eVLution II electronic feeder loader won't starve your marker, no matter how fast you shoot. It feeds faster than any other loader on the market today. The eVLution II features: a feed rate of up to 17 balls per second, special designed feeding propeller with new JVON flexible blades, a stronger spring loaded curved door which opens down acting as a funnel for faster fills and less spills, high impact resistant shell and longer neck, easy cleaning design takes after the VL Revolution�s field proven construction, LED light low-battery indicator, IR sensor controlling on/off propeller actuation and battery saving circuitry.
Product Availability 
The Viewloader eVLution II is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (57):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
UZIBO Wednesday, February 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month144 of 158 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Revvy
Strengths: This hopper is soooooooo fast! I filled a pod with paint, then dumped that into my egg to see how fast the egg would refill the pod, and it did the entire thing of about 150 balls in 9 seconds!
When I first got this hopper, I was using a Tippmann Custom 98, so I loved the adjustable speed. If you turn it down, you use less batteries, so this was awesome for me. Now I use an Impulse and I turn it up and I love it!
Nothing on this hopper has ever broke for me.
Weaknesses: Barely anything. I even got this hopper wet (BIG MISTAKE) but I got lucky and NOTHING BAD HAPPENED! It's still in perfect working condition...That has to say something. I'm not saying try this on yours, but in case you screw up like I did, wipe it down really good and pray that you didn't screw it up.

ONLY ONE BAD THING...I was in the middle of a game and the battery door opened, though I'm almost positive I just hadn't shut up properly, considering that I just had put those batteries in a few moments earlier. Just remember to close the battery lid properly and use the spacer if necessary (which you don't need if you use Duracell batteries) and you shouldn't have a single problem at all with this hopper.
Conclusion: This product is awesome...Buy it! On a beginner gun, just turn down the speed it feeds at. On a better gun, turn it up!
RECAP:
-Sturdy
-Sweet looking
-FAST!
-Adaptable
-Not too expensive if from a website
-If you're lucky, water won't fry the circuits, BUT DON'T TEST IT ON PURPOSE!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
51 Comments - Add Comment

Earlan357 Saturday, February 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months93 of 97 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revvy w/ x-board
Tested a Halo B w/ rip drive
Marker Setup: 98 Custom and Cocker both with too much $ spent on upgrades and a Nelspot 007.
Strengths: Cheaper and lighter than Halo.
Weaknesses: Not as fast as halo.
Battery door feels flimsy.
Review: I have an Evlution2 with y-board in smoke.

When I joined my paintball club they all told me horror stories of their Halo B's going down in tourneys and frantically cranking the rip drives only to shoot a couple balls before having to crank again. Only one of the 8 guys with Halos didn't have a broken shell, blender incident, or battery dump. The main reason they all haven't gotten eggs is because they dropped 130 on the freaking halos. What sold me on the egg2 was when I saw a guy in my local proshop drop an egg on concrete leaving only a scratch. <-- thats what stickers are for.

My egg's shell is a lot stronger than it looks. The feed neck is in 2 halves so it doesn't feel rock solid but it hasn't broken. I would suggest removing one of the springs for the lid and then opening and closing it while watching TV to break it in. One episode of Dave Chappelle should do it. Anyways, my guns have clamping feed necks so I didn't have to sand down the neck and possibly weaken it. I've slid hopper first into plywood bunkers, trees, dirt, and taken more hopper hits(I suck) than I care to admit. Do yourself a favor and buy a 99 cent spray bottle at walmart to clean paint off your gear with H2O. Since the hopper shell is made from the same polycarbonate used in mask lenses you should clean paint off it as soon as possible since the paint will weaken polycarbonate if left for too long. The flexible white rubber impeller is nice and soft. It wont jam or break paintballs. Instead it just flexes around any stubborn balls unlike the clear hard hook shaped impeller in the original. I like how the hopper is farther back on the gun. I can push the whole gun farther up against a sup air bunker to manipulate it. I think that's the main reason you see a lot of pros with eggs.

I don't know how the other reviewers only got 160 balls in this thing. I filled the hopper with 225 (I counted every one) packed in tight. I think the Halo holds about 170. I only load about 210 or so for safety. The egg spit them out in about 14 seconds (15 bps)The reason I didn't get 17 bps like everyone else is because the paintballs I used were from a 1/4 bag of blaze I spilled under my computer desk and forgot about for 3 months. The were exposed to the heating vent so most were oblong, covered in dust, dented, soft, or swollen when I finally dug them all out. The egg still fed them all without any problems except for the slower feed rate. One more reason to USE FRESH PAINT!

My only complaint is the battery door. It's quite flimsy so take your time with it. Be easy on the lid too if you can.

The Halo can feed consistently when tilted 60 degrees left or right. The evo can be tilted 60 degrees too but the angle decreases to 20 when you get down to about 40-50 paint balls. But with the huge capacity, you should be able to reload way before then.

Some think the egg is ugly. It sure looks better than a revvy though.

Finally I noticed some of the reviews that talk about problems that seem related to the original egg and not the second one. Check out a review of the evo2 in the warpig.com techincal section for a good article on the egg2's. It shows key differences in the original crappy egg vs. this one. Apparently some P00P headed dealers took the original egg and just threw the new impeller in it.

Update <--3-11-04

I didn't like the rough lid screws. I replaced them with aluminum 1/4 inch threaded posts from Lowes. They fit perfectly with a lock washer and since they screw into each other, they dont tear up the plastic. They also don't stick out of or into the loader. A little teflon tape or a lock washer helps keep them together.
Conclusion: It feeds faster than I can shoot. My buddies have had fewer problems with the egg on their e-guns than they had with the halo. The Halo and Evo2 both have their pro's and con's. Both are better than any other loaders though so its up to personal preference and $. I give it a 9 because it's not as rock solid as I'd like, and it doesn't make women drool all over me.

BTW - Why do some people that post reviews never check their grammar and spelling. I hate when a review doesn't help me because I have a stroke trying to understand the sentence.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 11th, 2004 at 12:53 pm PST
I found this review  
23 Comments - Add Comment

Timinem Friday, December 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month48 of 53 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Quantum, Revvy
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" Tippmann barrel
Flatline
eVLution II
Power-feed
Expansion Chamber
E-bolt
Strengths: This thing is CRAZY fast, adjustable speed, Looks great, infrared sensor.
Weaknesses: I accidentaly dropped it from about 5 feet onto concrete, only small scratch. Seems durable.
Review: First , I just wanted to say how fast this thing is again. I did a few test and here are the results:

Paintballs | Test # | Seconds to empty | BPS
------------------------------------------------------------

180----------1---------10.3 --------------------17
180----------2---------10.5---------------------17
180----------3---------10.5---------------------17
180----------4---------10.6---------------------16


The results were all very close as you can see. Only problem is that I was using old batteries. I'm pretty sure if I was using brand new batteries the average bps would be somewhere around 18.

The adjustable speed is really nice because no matter what gun you have or how fast you shoot it you can always adjust the speed that you prefer (the slower the speed the less batteries are wasted)

Another improvement that I notice is that the hopper kind of blends in with my 98 custom. It doesn't just stick out on top and look like it doesn't belong there, it has a sleek shape and is harder to notice from far away compared to other hoppers.

One of my most favorite features on the eVLution II is the infrared sensor. In the top part of the neck it has a little sensor that reads how you are doing on paint and reacts to it. When you have plenty of balls then it won't feed or will feed but little by little. When you are shooting quickly and running out of paint it starts feeding constantly. To me its really nice cause first of all it doesn't waste as many batteries and it doesn't make that sound all the time that can attract attention of other players.
Conclusion: I would have to say that this is definitely one of the best hoppers out there. I recommend the eVLution II to anyone with any kind of gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 1st, 2004 at 3:33 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

TwitchyTrigger Tuesday, May 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months46 of 54 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revolutions
HALOs
Marker Setup: 2k2 Impulse with upgrades
Strengths: Very Fast
Decent Design
Durable Plastic
Weaknesses: Large profile
Bad Lid
Battery compartment is bad
Review: In a recent test of the eVLution II, I compared it to it's older brother, the revolution. Here's how it went...
Both hoppers were filled with exactly 180 balls, and shared the same fresh duracell ultras. The eVLution II can fit about 15-20 more rounds than the revolution.
The revolution started. Note that this revolution has a 6 blade impeller and the x-board. It took a little over 15 seconds to empty 180 balls.
The eVLution II, with the same batteries and paint used by the revy, emptied the paint in a little over 10 seconds.
What does this mean? The eVLution is capable of over 17 balls a second, while the revolution falls short at a little less than 12.
So the eVLution can feed abou 35% faster. So what other advantages does it offer?
For starters it has an adjustable feed rate, though I don't see why you'd ever want to set it for less than 17bps. The hopper can carry more paint, and won't break off at the neck like revolution hoppers. How do I know this? Because I tried to do it, and instead of the hopper breaking, the feed neck stripped out which was being held in by red loctite. What does that mean? It's super tough.

Flaws include a pain in the rear battery compartment that requires a battery spacer. The profile of this hopper is extremely big, so a low rise is recommended for those who can use them. Also, because of it's shape, barrel condoms/jimmies are very difficult to put over and around the hopper.
It's complex design also makes cleaning it extremely annoying.
In addition, the lid has been made semi spherical, and the lid opens downward. This has several problems:
The hopper can't be filled full without being very careful.
The lid has the very easy ability to crush paint when being opened (especially when full)
Since the lid goes down and isn't spring loaded, you have to jank it down until it locks. When you've reloaded, the lid can spring back up but still requires force to close
Because the lid is so low, the marker must be tilted considerably forward to actually keep all the paint inside the hopper.
Unless you force the lid down and back up into it's locked position, paint can easily spill or be broken by the lid. This also slows down reloading time.
Conclusion: There are some actual design issues to be delt with, but the hopper feeds amazingly fast without jamming. Getting used to it's high profile and reloading with it takes some getting used to, but for the additional $20 over a revy, you get a 35% increase in loader speed, assuming you're using the 6 blade impeller and the x-board.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
19 Comments - Add Comment

Chevy4life8 Thursday, June 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months26 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo b
Revy
Halo B/rip drive
Halo tsa
Marker Setup: Shocker Q-lock feedneck 14"AA barrel halo B /rip drive 45/68 tank hybrid grips
Strengths: Holds 190
Pretty fast
Weaknesses: See review
Review: This is a really good loader for the price u pay I picked mine up online for about $60 if i remember right. I like it but I got a bad one my electrics were all screwed up and the springs were backwards. But when it works its a great loader to get the upgrade dramatically increases the performance of the loader a MUST if u are using a high-end marker.

Strenghts:
1.Fast
2.Semi reliable
3.Great customer service
4.Holds 190 which is nice ((halo holds 170))
5.Easy matinace
6.Spring door
7.Door makes a funnel so almost all your paint makes it in the loader when you use pods

Weaknesses:
1.Is really bulky and wide
2.Size makes it awkward to carry
3.Breaks pretty easy
4.Battary door is a B*****

**IF YOU THOUGHT THIS WAS HELP FULL PLEASE RATE IT**
Conclusion: Its a good loader but i personally don't like it im a Halo kind of guy. But if your looking your something fast,reliable,holds alot,and good price definitely buy this loader.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 29th, 2006 at 12:06 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

v4M-PACK Saturday, July 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months26 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
9 volt revy (good for Low end Mechanical Guns) 12 volt Revy with X-board (good for Low End Electro Guns and High End Mechanical) Evolution II (Great for Everything has adjustable speeds 4-17bps)
Marker Setup: 2003 Black BKO with Vapor Valve, Dead On Drop, Pure Energy 48 ci 3000 psi, and Evolution II. Soon to come: Selling BKO and getting a CCM Series 5 (An awesome Autococker) with CCM Hinge, CCM drop, Pure Energy 68 ci 3000 psi N2, and 12" DYE Ultralite.
Strengths: Adjustable Feed rate Conserves battery life if set to lower setting. Shape, weight, Speed.
Weaknesses: Batteries are hard to put in, Feed Neck needs to be sanded down.
Review: I really like this loader as it is Lighter than the Halo B and Holds more balls 190-200. This loader is perfect for my needs and is plenty fast. I really like the locking lid, its a nice feature for back players who just flip the lid back and hammer away on the trigger, while the balls feed and stay in the loader. They are Much cheaper than Halos too!
Conclusion: Go out and Get one you wont be dissapointed, my Evolution II has gone through some abuse particularly the feed neck, but it still functions flawlessly.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

chipschneider Wednesday, January 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months19 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader 12 volt Revvy with X-Board
Marker Setup: 2001 Angel, 68 300 tank, freak with blue front, clear breech with blue bolt. cobra high rise, trigger job with blade trigger.
Strengths: So many people have had really bad opinions about the new EGG. If you read this review, don't listen to them. Nothing has broken, it feeds at amazing rates. (says 17 but it feeds fine near 20) If I can't outshoot it with an angel, it has to be good right? Sturdy consturction makes for a good rough-housing hopper. If you pick up any magazine and flip through the pictures you will see a trend of more and more professionals using the EGG. That has got to say something.
Weaknesses: The only thing I would have to say is bad is the plastic bowl on the inside. This allows for gravity to feed paint into the impeller. It tends to be a little noisy when the paint quantity is low . It seems to rattle a bit. Nothing big. A little on the fat side. This is almost better though. It is much shorter than revvys and the feed tube is in the front rather than the middle. You can even twist it a little and not have anything sticking out when you snap shoot.
Conclusion: Some people like them, Some people don't. I went out and bought it, then three of my friends are going to get them, Conclusion- If you have a fast shooting marker and your old hopper is lagging behind, this is a must have. I give it a 10 because I am very pleased with my purchase
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

kangaroodent Saturday, December 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Ricochet 2K-I can outshoot it really easily... But it's VERY reliable, and the only problem I've ever had was solved by taking it apart and putting it together (and nothing else). Durable as heck.
Gravity hopper-it can't compare. It just can't.
Marker Setup: VL Prodigy E-Grip
Pure Energy 68/4500
Ricochet 2K

And I also used this with...
Spyder Fenix
Viewloader eVLution II
47/3000 HPA tank and 12oz non anti-syphoned CO2 tank.
Dye Excel.
Strengths: -FAST!
-Farther back=tighter to your bunker
-SILENT!
-The lid
-No chops!
Weaknesses: -Looks extremely odd, but since everyone has them, whatever.
-Hard to tell if it's_on_or_not.
Review: I used this today in a 5-man tourney instead of my Rico2K, which I know I can already outshoot, so I figured I'll give up the cool functions of the Rico for some speed today. I wasn't dissapointed. It fed very well. Kept a stack ready at all times. The only problem i had with it was that I had no idea if it was on or not, because the LED is really freaking confusing. it never was really on, it only pulsed once everytime i turned it on and off. Since it did it both ways, I couldn't tell that way. I soon learnt which way the switch had to be to turn it on, so whatever.

I don't think it skipped a ball once during the tournament, but I wasn't shooting too fast, so I hadn't had the chance to test it to it's full potential. It helped me a lot to get out the damned liquid co2 from the gun, without wasting paint when it was turned off, because then it basically doesn't feed. Verry nice loader, I recommend it to anyone with any marker. Don't even bother with a damned 12v Revvy, just buy this.

Also, it is almost completely silent. I could only hear a faint whir when it was feeding, that was probably the best feature of this loader. My Rico2K is waaay too loud.

Edit: I've used this hopper quite a bit, and I haven't chopped a ball or had any problems with it. The battery door is something you don't wanna be hit in, though, as a guy on the team I was with got hit there (along with another dozen places, damn overshooting) and it broke :
Conclusion: If I hadn't just bought the Ricochet 2K, I'd have one of these too right now.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 28th, 2004 at 6:26 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

f2f4 Saturday, September 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year11 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
- VL 200 gravity-fed hopper
- Empire Reloader
- Halo B
Marker Setup: If you REALLY wanna see my setups... which I doubt, go to:
http://www.freewebs.com/f2f4
Strengths: - Good hopper for a decent price
- Innovative lid design, helps with feeding
Weaknesses: - Some don't like large profile
- Previous ones had strength problems
Review: This hopper feeds pretty fast, but can be found for cheap. Stock (with the Y-board), it's only good to ~16 BPS. The Z-board improves this number some, but only up to 19 BPS tops. I also like the way the lid opens up, which is downward instead of upward. This greatly assists in reloading with pods, as it acts as a "funnel" in which to pour the paint into. Be sure to remove the lid springs, as it will greatly reduce stress on the lid. Otherwise, the sudden stop when closing the lid could weaken the area around the hinges, causing cracking...

The Evo2 is pretty infamous for it's strength, or lack thereof. Some people have reported their raceways breaking, as well as the shell, lid, and every other possible part breaking. Personally, I haven't had a problem with it so far, and I'm pretty rough on it too. My best guess is that ViewLoader took notice of the complaints, and started using better plastics (or a better curing process). Either way, I haven't had any issues.

As for the shape, that's really just personal preference. Some people hate the way it looks, some people like it, and some are in the middle (like me). If you like the looks, good for you. If not, well, that's just another reason to start saving up for a Halo B...or Reloader B.

Another debatable topic is the weight distribution. In case you don't know, the Evo2's feed-neck is at the VERY front, which shifts all the weight to the back. For front-heavy markers, such as Spyders, Tippmanns, Piranhas, etc., this actually helps a lot, letting you balance out the marker for a much more even feel. For neutral markers, such as Intimidators, Angels, and Freestyles, it's more of user preference (it won't offset the balance enough to really affect anything). However, for markers that are already a little back-heavy, such as most 'Cockers and the '03 Shocker, this can be an absolute nightmare.
Conclusion: For most players, this is more than fast enough. It can feed RELIABLY up to ~16 BPS with the Y-board, 19 with the Z-board.
If you tend to shoot very quickly (18+ BPS) and can spare the change, however, I would get a Halo B (with Victory board!) or an Empire B.
Overall, it's still a good product.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 18th, 2005 at 9:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyderp8balla Thursday, February 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity fed hopper
Marker Setup: E99 Avant with:
>20oz CO2
>Egg II
>14in SP Teardrop
>Kingman ACS Delrin Bolt
>32* Expansion Chamber
>Dye Stickies
>Shocktech Blade Trigger
Strengths: >Fast
>Nice, flexible propeller blades
>Consistent in speed
>Strong housing
>Adjustable speed
Weaknesses: None
Review: OK, let me start off by saying how fast this hopper is. I did time trials myself and came out with these results:

Trial--------Paintballs------Sec. to empty-------PBS/SEC
1------------------200---------------11.4-----------------17

2------------------200---------------11.0-----------------18

3------------------200---------------11.2-----------------17

4------------------200---------------11.1-----------------18


Besides speed, this hoppers housing is very strong. I was outside one day, getting ready to clean the inside of the hopper (a little greasy from the paintballs). Then my dog started to sniff the hopper, and eventually knocked it over onto the cement. It was roughly a 4 and a half foot drop. I was so mad until I picked it up to see that there wasn't even a scratch on it! I was amazed by this, because the hopper doesn't look or feel like it is that strong, but it is. So if you want a strong and fast hopper, this is the hopper for you.

Conclusion: I recommend this hopper to anyone who wants a good quality and fast hopper for their fast gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 24th, 2005 at 4:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (57):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media