paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Titanium Paintball Longbow Barrel System / Titanium Paintball Longbow Barrel System / Titanium Paintball Longbow Barrel System

Titanium Paintball Longbow Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Titanium Paintball

Buy Titanium Paintball Longbow Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Titanium Paintball Longbow Barrel System
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 27
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Longbow is a two piece interchangeable barrel system that has patent pending Hardbore Finish, the smoothest, hardest barrel finish available. Bases are made out of Titanium,Stainless Steel, And Aluminum, and currently come in .684, .687 & .690 bore sizes. Tips are 10", 12", 14" & 16" and come in a variety of colors.
Product Availability 
The Titanium Paintball Longbow Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
prep21 Sunday, November 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
TiBoomstick, J&J, JT Set, the usual suspects...
Marker Setup: C&C IR3, R2K, System X Drop, PE 68/45
Recommended
Paintballs:
Hellfire was used for the test on the 684 back. Very sweet!
Strengths: The Good
The Longbow is a featherweight, wow! While the Ti/Al construction is not completely new to paintball, this is by far the coolest homologation I have seen thus far. I was fortunate enough to be able to test this system while playing X-Ball down at World Cup 2002, and under those extremely harsh playing circumstances, the Longbow proved to be the most able system I have seen yet when it came to shooting through breaks. The two (and only) times when my IR3 chopped paint, the Longbow made quick work of the fragments and mess in no more than 2 shots! What made this even more amazing is that it did so without turning the gun upside down and using just air to clear the breach/barrel, rather it cleared while continuing to put rounds down range and on target no less! Additionally, the precision and accuracy (they are different) of the Longbow system are top notch as well.
Weaknesses: The Bad
For me, the first odd chord struck by the Longbow was the bore size selections. It would seem that the more common and traditional selections of 684, 688 and 690 were traded in for 687 and 689 (684 was retained, as that is what I tested). Undoubtedly, the engineers at Titanium Paintball had reasons for this selection. However, in terms of performance, this seemed to be a non-factor, as I saw no problems with fit whatsoever.

Naturally, as with most gear in paintball, cost is always an issue. The Longbow's amazing performance in accuracy and ability to shoot through breaks does not come cheap. Again, we are back to a saying that my Dad always told me: "Son, quality only hurts once." If you can be disciplined enough to put those desires for immediate gratification on hold and save up to acquire the Longbow, you will not be disappointed as it will deliver time and time again. Despite the seemingly high cost of the complete system, Titanium lets have the option to build the system over time (unlike other companies that make complete barrel systems) if you so desire.

Speaking strictly in terms of performance, there are no serious downsides to this system. It is merely a simple cost-benefit analysis as it relates to your game and your pocket book.
Conclusion: The Conclusion
There is little doubt that with the Hardbore finish and the use of high-grade Titanium, the guys over at Titanium Paintball are really on to something hot. If you are a serious player, be it in tournaments or recreationally or in scenarios, this barrel system will not let you down. As I previously stated, this merely comes down to a simple cost-benefit analysis on a personal level: how much do you want to reach a higher level of performance on the field? If the answer to this question for you is a resounding "a great deal," then you need to find a way to get this system. Period. A 9.5 would be my ideal rating, price and appearance would be my only issues preventing the Longbow from achieving the coveted "10." I think that a fine muzzle break could help the Longbow a great deal and the price issue is player to player. As I stated before, for the serious player with a serious gun, there is no reason that this barrel is too expensive. Just think about how much you spend on entry fees...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

ONE_SHOT_KILL 1 Saturday, July 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
many differant barrels
Marker Setup: wgp orracle
ss longbow barrel system
evlolution 2 with new board
88ci 4500 psi niro tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
any paint (even old piant shoots great) oval pait will shoot great to but wont clean out like round piant
Strengths: extremely accurate
quiet
looks great
hard-bore
extremely durable
Weaknesses: none that i can see
wont shot oval paint clean ( but what barrel would)
Review: when i was looking at all these barrels and barrel systems i had no idea which one to get. everyone told me that theirs was the best. when i asked why they couldn't really give me a direct answer. then i was at a tournament and i saw titaniumpaintball. i asked them why theirs was the best. they didn't even hesitate.
they said
all barrels on the market today are micro-horned (which is like sanding the inside of the barrel) this process leave small imperfections in the metal that produce friction and these small little pores also hold paint so extremely hard to shoot clean. now our barrel is hard bore finished. this process dramatically gets rid of those imperfections.
they said that this hard bore finish would allow me to squeeze paint like put a .689 paintball into a .687 barrel and not break and shoot great. they also said that if a ball did break the longbow would shoot clean no problem. and one more thing that was really amazing was that this hard bore finish made the bore stronger. so basically this barrel wont wear and scratch. titaniumpaintball said they did a test and shoot cat litter through their barrel and a boomstick. there barrel came out without a scratch and the boomstick came out all scratched up.(so the longbow will last a long time)
now also the longbow is titanium or stainless steel si unlike aluminum barrels it wont stretch and expand (which is very important)
also the longbows tip screws over the back so that it is always centered. and there is no little gaplike found on some 2 piece barrels. and a added bonus this also makes the longbow o-ringless.
then is thats not enough there tips are staged bore so it slowly gets bigger allowing the ball to return to the normal shape.
now while i was a the both they let me test fire one and i saw a 1 year old demo barrel no scratches and when i test fired it is was perfect.
when i go it home it was amazing no problems. did everything that they said it would do.
the only problem i ever saw was that it wasn't cleaning out this oval paint i was using when it broke( but you could see the paint was oval in your hand and in the bag so i think it was the paint because it was so oval)
but this is absolutely the best barrel system there is
super accurate i mean ball on ball 100 feet back
super durable
wont expand in the heat
perfect due to the extrem engineering og titaniumpaintball
Conclusion: id buy this barrel in a minute personally cost wasn't a big deal because it was only a little but more than other barrel systems
buy this barrel and another thing titaniumpaintball is awesome at customer service
this is the bet barrel ever made i buy it in a minute if i got to do it again
e-mail me or IM with any question (this is the best)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 26th, 2003 at 5:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Los Tuesday, March 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boom Stick, SS AA stainless
Marker Setup: Cobra Mamba IR3 - Dust Black with tatoo
68/4500 Air America Armegeddon
14 inch Titanium Longbow set.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything that is good and fresh
Strengths: The first thing I noticed about this barrel is the interior finish. I haven't seen a finish like this in the other barrels I have seen It looks like a mirror. I thought the system was going to be loud due to the LP porting, but it isn't that loud at all. As far as shooting through breaks it took about 5 balls before it shot clean again ( that was with rainy conditions, so it may be better when the weather is better). It was cool to see sparks come out of the barrel when sand or dirt was in the barrel!! The shots are very consistent and with a good paint bore match it is very consistent.
Weaknesses: I was told that there would be a case for the set, and it was on the way. Would like to have had the set when it was shipped. If you get make sure to ask about this. I think that once this barrel gets out there more you will see more of them. Some of the colors look ugly. I have the nickel and black satin finsish tips, which I like just fine. The blue and yellow look ugly to me.
Review: Overall I like this system and will not be purchasing another barrel system. The only purchases I would make would be other backs or tips for my next Angel. It is the right length, it is made well, and I am very happy. The shots were right on top of each other, and I had a rope that lasted as long as I had paint in my hopper. Great snapshooting action.
Conclusion: If you have the cash, this is a great investment, especially if you get down and dirty. It won't wear out.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 11th, 2003 at 1:54 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jabbster Tuesday, July 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick
SP Freak
Ultralite
JJ Edge
Marker Setup: Dust Black Speed Demon
2k3 Conquest
Halo B
Titanium Longbow System
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any will work great, but I used kick'n premium and they were awsome...
I also used inferno at a team practice and they shot good as well
Strengths: Liteweight, accurate, cleans well after a break, and about everything
Weaknesses: None
Review: I got it used, and I could have sworn it had never been shot, it is very durable. I used it in a tourney last weekend, and it was the most accurate barrel there. Guys were like what kinda of barrel is that, you dont even need to lay paint dude, one shot one kill. Amazing accuracy, and it looks good too. I would reccomend that you get this, I have tried them all and this is the best. Period.
Conclusion: Get it if you can afford it. It is the best barrel out there, and will last for a long time.
Best barrel I have ever shot, owned, seen, heard about, ever.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HattoRJ Monday, August 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
X-cel,Boomstick, numerious others
Marker Setup: X-Mag LX
4500-68ci Flatline
Warp feed
Egg2 (on order)
Shocktech long drop
Longbow barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Zap-Chronic,tourney
Draxxas, all types
Strengths: It will shoot out well if you break, adds a nice balance to the marker.
Weaknesses: Expensive. Over blown performance hype
Review: Disclaimer: I have the Stainless Steel version with all three back sizes.
Ok I do LIKE the barrel but I do NOT love the barrel.
Yes it does have good accuracy.
Yes it does have a controlled reliable range even with odd size paint.
It does shoot out good after a mid barrel break.

It how ever is extremely overpriced. $229.00 for 1 barrel and 3 SS backs+ shipping.
I don't fell that I got $229.00 of quality and performance out of it. I purchased it because alot of people on all the web sites were selling there kits to try and get the Longbow. Fair enough.
Being stationed in England it is very hard to try a product out before buying it. I called the company and made an order. It arrived 3 weeks later all banged up and corrosion on one of the backs. The barrel was in a poor state of condition even if it would have been used, but it was new (kinda).
I called the company explained my concern and got the feeling that I was being called a liar. I sent the barrel back (at my expense) and waited 3 more weeks for a replacement. New set gets here and only 1 nick to be seen, on the black tip (again charged for shipping).
Fed up with the poor customer service I decided not to call and complain. In the end I got a new-er barrel was charged $30.00 overall shipping and paid too much for a tip with 3 backs.
Barrel Quality was good (2nd time around anyway) not great, for $229.00 anyway.
Customer service was very poor during the whole transaction and I would not recommend buying the barrel new ( at least from the company ).
Conclusion: Overall the BARREL system is good not great. It does not full fill the hype around it. The titanium backs may be a whole other story, but I just will not ever deal with the company again.
Very little value for money on the stainless steel version.
Barrel system quality 4
customer service 0
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 9th, 2003 at 7:35 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Machiavellian Thursday, September 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Ti's-Boomsticks-Ultralights
Jt's
Cp's
Freaks
Marker Setup: Rat Impulse
LPR
Vertical Max Flow
Blade
ND Delrin
Slick Shot Hammer
Dart Valve
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything with the Kit, perfect match every time :)
Strengths: Umm....Where to start???
Everything!
LP porting helps on efficentncy, more consistent over the chrono, velocity increasment. SHOOTS LIKE NOTHING ELSE! Once you shoot one youll wonder why you dont own one. Worth every penny! It actualy shoots rite through breaks! There are not enough words in the english language to desribe this barrel. Just go out and shoot one! Gauranteed to be amazed!
Weaknesses: Bad? Longbow? yeah right
Conclusion: All the guys at Ti Paintball are great and easy to deal with. This is simply, hands down the greatest barrel ever made.Go out and shoot one, youll never go back to anything else. The hard bore finishing does what they say it does! I wish i could give it more than a 10 because it deserves so much more!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

impulseGUY Wednesday, September 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye xcel, progressive, freak, terminator, boomstick, all american, cp, longbow
Marker Setup: 2k2 impulse vision, blade trigger, freak system, voodoo full flow, cp flame d/f, vert maxflo, etc...
Recommended
Paintballs:
severe
Strengths: i have been playing for two years and have gone through several guns, barrels, etc. the ones that stand out are the ones that i post about. since i started playing and stil mostly play in NJ, im aquainted with the paintball fields, shops, and other paintball related things in that area. when i got ahold of my longbow, i was wodering if the 140 bills i put out were worth it. when i put it on my gun and went to practice, i was amased. snapping was a dream. shots were ontop of eachother. consistancy was improved. i shot through breaks easily. overall, much better than my freak. and most of all, the barrel was 689 and i was shooting 683 paint...just imagine with right fitting paint.
Weaknesses: looks are ok. if you get it in a color that matches your marker, its as nice as anything else.
Conclusion: 100%% pure good barrel. definitely sometihng to buy. since its titanium, the hard finish will last forever, even through sandy play. you have choice of porting so you can get a front to match your output pressure (ie low pressure marker). if you want the best, get this. i know its hard to believe a new barrel off the market with not many reviews is this good, but you wont either when its on your gun and you just snapped 3 players in the last minute and your team is running the flag to the flagstation.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

wyldbillnj Saturday, July 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used in the past a DYE Boomstick, the CP Aluminum Bore Sets and recently a Smart Parts FREAK system. Comparatively speaking, The Freak and CP 2 Piece pro Set do not hold a match to the Longbow System! The Boomstick runs a close 2nd in overall quality but the Titanium Boomstick (never used or owned one) is priced MUCH HIGHER than the Titanium Longbow. This Titanium 2-piece barrel performs outstandingly. Accuracy is excellent and shot to shot consistency is top notch.
Marker Setup: I have 2 markers.. a Freeflow Autococker and recently an Eclipse Impulse. I have shot the Longbow on Both markers with various types of paint. The Freeflow operates at about 200psi with Palmer Pneumatics and a Tornado Valve. The Eclipse Impulse is right out of the box.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I would reccomend average to high quality....you get what you pay for!! BUT, in the case of this barrel, it is much more forgiving with lesser quality paint. Breaks in the breech that send paint down the barrel are cleaned out very quickly due to the Hardbore finish inside. Have not broken a ball in the barrel yet!
Strengths: Good about the Longbow System: Excellent interior finish surpasses all microhoned barrels. Overall Quality is excellent. Lots of engineering went into the creation of this product. Choices of 3 different bore sizes to come....with the availability of different length interchangable tips as well. Available currently for most major marker types. Lightweight is a plus.....Titanium for the $$$$ of a Top Notch, HEAVY stainless barrel is a huge plus! Not to mention the ability to change your bore size.
Weaknesses: Only thing I can honestly say is that the styling is kind of plain. But if you're into more style than performance...well. Little hefty pricing on the extra Tip lengths unless you buy them in the set. Longer tips not available yet...but on the way I am told!!!!
Conclusion: Since switching over to the Longbow Barrel System, I have noticed a remarkable improvement in my shot to shot consistency over the chronographs in both tourney and rec play. Whether I'm shooting shag paint for practice or high quality for tourney, the barrel does help. it is able to take a .692 ball in the .689 bore and NOT BREAK in the bore. Pretty good for a barrel to do that.
Accuracy wise....its excellent. The longer tips though will help with the percieved accuracy and ability to aim. If I happened to chop or break a ball in the breech and spray paint down the barrel, it cleaned out quickly. Large choice of popular colors for tips as well as the ability to order a RAW Aluminum tip to have annoed to match your own marker.
Pricing is great....webiste is cool!!! Thumbs up on that for sure!!
Good luck to everyone at Titanium Paintball and thanks for the excellent product!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rkasp Monday, August 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Teardrop, (Alright) Progressive, (Same as teardrop),PMI Razer, (HORRIBLE)
Marker Setup: Angel Speed
-------------------------------
Evo 2
12.5 inch low pressure titanium longbow
CIP clamping low rise
volumizer
nw drop forward
crossfire 68/4500 lp n2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evil, Premiums, Big Diabolos( but premiums are better)
Strengths: Accurate, Light, Low pressure tip is cool,
Weaknesses: Unanodized, makes your gun a little louder, (but not to bad), Price $140.00!!!!
Review: This is a great barrel. Its accurate, ligt, and it looks cool. I just wish it was less money and the backs were anodized. When I played with this my first time I was amazed. I was raining paint down at the same bunker and they landed almost exactly in the same place as the first shot. The low pressure tip makes the gun a little louder but still not as loud as some others.
Conclusion: Definantly get this barrel. It's accurate light, and awsome. but try and find it somewhere for cheaper than $140.00
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Maddog316 Friday, June 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
J & J ceramic, T.E.S. stock barrel
Marker Setup: 2004 Dragun T.E.S. w/ Longbow Barrel System (and hopefully a Halo loader soon)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything that is round and is not too large for the chosen bore
Strengths: -Extremely accurate
-Cleans broken balls
-Looks cool
-Fitted Bore
-Extremely light
-Hardbore is amazing
Weaknesses: -Price
Review: I was blown away by the accuracy of this barrel. It is noticeably more accurate at close range than my stock barrel (where my stock barrel excels) and is incredibly accurate at longer ranges. The barrel is a featherweight and really cleans broken balls easily. Pluss, the titanium/aluminum construction looks excellent. The hardbore finish on the barrel is incredibly smooth and durable too. My only gripe is that this barrel costs a lot. Then again, you get what you pay for.

If you plan on buying this barrel, make sure that your paint is not too big. Shooting with smaller bore paint is ok, but shooting .691 paint in a .684 bore can cause problems. Also, according to the manufacturer, there is no accuracy difference between the 12.5" and 14" barrel; it is only a matter of preference.

Conclusion: Any player, whether a rec baller or speedballer that is looking for the best barrel around can look no further. It owns the Dye Boomstick , Freak, etc. Ths barrel is the future of paintball barrels.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media