paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ronin Gear 4+3 Thunder Pack / Ronin Gear 4+3 Thunder Pack / Ronin Gear 4+3 Thunder Pack

Ronin Gear 4+3 Thunder Pack Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ronin Gear

Buy Ronin Gear 4+3 Thunder Pack

Paintball Packs / Harnesses

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ronin Gear 4+3 Thunder Pack
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 8.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Ambidextrous side loading pack with 3 honey-combed tubes for maximum paint carrying capacity (980 balls using 140 round tubes)! Elastic waist support is comfortable, and reduces twisting. Squeegee sheaths and pockets! Cushioned lumbar support, and an elastic tube retention system that helps keep loader lids shut!
Product Availability 
The Ronin Gear 4+3 Thunder Pack is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
iEl-Ricx! Sunday, May 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Horizontal stacked tube harness sytems
Marker Setup: Commando 2, custom color, custom trigger, 12volt revy, 12oz co2
Strengths: high paint capacity (more paint then i use in 4 games) w/ low profile
Weaknesses: elastic rings only work on tubes w/ atab, squeege holder is in a weird place
Review: this pack allows you to carry more paint then you'll need for a recball game. with its high capacity for paint and low profile it can be used by back or front players. that is a plus for teams who want to look more uniformed. i think Ronin gear made an excelent pack. it uses elastic rings to keep the pods shut. with them there is a dramatic reduction of the "premature pod evacuation." they are stack horizontally so if a pod dose open u wont loose all your paint like you would on a vertical setup. thought the elastic bands work best with tubes with a tab it can work with the tubes that have the finger groove thought it takes some effort. i don't even think you need the rings b/c it hold the tubes very securly. becuase it is a horizontal setup that holds tubes in tightly they have eliminated the need for straps that ,like on many harnesses, are left open and lead to an elimination. this pack is also excellent for adouble remote line if you want to use two guns.
Conclusion: great pack. i really think that Ronin Gear came across the mos versitile pack on the market. they put their uniqe touch to a fairly common style harness setup, and they add features common on their other harness sytems such ass key ring, pouch, and squege holder. BEST Pack i've used hands down.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 18th, 2003 at 2:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

filasophikal Sunday, January 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
the only other similar packs is unique's horizontal packs with the extra loops.
Marker Setup: I HAD a 2k1 angel, now shopping for a new gun.

trying to decide b/t a shocktech matrix lcd, ironman timmy, dragon timmy, akalmp viking, b2k3 w/ pds, e-orracle, or get a used cocker and install the e-blade on it.
Strengths: Its horizontal... so let's say you slide into a bunker. pods don't fall out, and pods don't open up like with vertical packs. There are retentioners, to keep the lids on, or you can use the lids as extra pod loops, instead of 4+3 (980), you now have 4+3+4 (1540). so now you're carrying 3/4 of a case of paintballs on your back. it comes with a squegee holder, keychain loop, and a barrel plug pocket. this pack is very versatile. it feels ackward, at first, but this paq is the one of the best i've used so far. the price is cheap, if you buy it online, like ebay.
Weaknesses: if you go with the 4+3+4 setup, that's alot of paint to carry. the only bad thing, is the inner 4, should have been a tighter fit, other than that, its perfect.
Conclusion: its horizontal, you can't get any better. can carry alot of paint if you want it to. price, if you buy on ebay or online. it comes with a squegee holder, keychain loop, and a barrel plug pocket. this pack is very versatile. no pack is worth a 10, there's always something that can be approved upon. so the next best score is a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gunsafety Wednesday, August 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Strengths: I bought this product at I&I Sports in San Jose, CA because of the nice features it had.

The squeege sheath and pocket, (left and right respectively) are positioned perfectly, and are quite handy for that on the field maitenance situation. The one really nice bonus which the website doesn't mention is that underneath one of the velcro flaps which goes around the waist, there is a key older which becomes EXTREMELY nifty.

140 tubes fit very nicely in this pack, and it is very comfortable to wear for smaller people, I am around 5'10" 155, so I'd consider myself in that section.

The elastic sleeve pod holders do actually fit some c02 tanks, I've put my 16oz tank in there before and it's quite secure. I would feel quite safe running a remote line to there.
Weaknesses: The three elastic sleeves which stack upon the main 4 are very difficult to get a tube into without using multiple hands, if not impossible.

The system using elastic bands to hold the lids down and the tubes in can be annoying. When I first played with this pack I was unsure of the use of the rings, and so I taped the lids shut. Without anything to hold the packs in, I proceeded to drop one on the opening sprint during a game. Luckily no balls broke.

Larger people may have a problem with this pack, my friend who is around 6'5" can barely wear it, and it's not very secure when he does wear it. We could be doing something wrong though.
Conclusion: This pack was a bit complicated, and certainly should come with an instruction booklet. Theres was no mention of the pack at all on Ronin Gear's website, and their only support seems to be through e-mail.

I really do like this pack, and while there was a time when I was going to take it back (before I knew how to use the elastic straps), I am definately going to keep it. The key holder among other things are very nifty, and overall I like the feel and performance. The only thing I would do differently with this pack is I'd put flaps on it instead of the elastic rings, but I may end up sewing those on myself.

To help people out who might have the same problems as I, here's a note:
-The elastic rings buckle into the top of the pack, you place them on the side where your pods open. You have to pull them down the lids of your pods and snap them around the edge of the lid. That's the only way they'll hold them in. This may not work with some pods.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

longball Saturday, April 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various cheep and poorly made "pod pouches".
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine, 20oz, 3A 16" bbl, BSA 30mm red dot sight. Stock bolt
PMI TTracer pump, Thunderpig springs, Stock except Palmers Pursuit ported my stock bbl, and went thru it for me.
Strengths: Well thought out, good design, mfr seems willing to listen
Weaknesses: poor sewing on some velcro tabs, for big guys it is a tight fit.
Review: As Harness go this I believe is one of the best values for the money. Bought thru I&I sports I found it everything I thought it would be and more. One reviewer said a manual would be nice, and I kind of agree, I did not even know about the elastic cap retainers and never saw them on my rig. (gonna have to take a closer look!) As an old fogies out on the field, I come from the old school. Lots of woods ball and such. A full hopper and seven 140 round pods is most of a whole DAY of paint! For me, 4 pods is a great of plenty, I usually carry a small backup 3.5oz CO2 in one of the +3 holders and a small bottle of water. This 3.5 has gotten me out of some tough spots too!

The stitching on one of the pod holders Velcro came loose the first day. Not good, but since this unit is ambidextrous I just reversed the pod to the other side, no sweat but it goes to quality so I mentioned it. Also they do seem to listen, On some other products people were not happy with the buckle type closure, and I am wondering if they responded.

This one has a wide belt and a Velcro closure with a second piece of material that goes over the first as kind of a safety belt to back up the first closure. Which is good because this thing is kinda small for us big guys. The second piece of material goes across your waist over the first closure to prevent it coming loose, (or add a bit of length to the waist straps as well.

Also there is both a padded back support (could use a bit more Velcro to hold it in place, and (omygod) actual adjustment for length or tightness of the pack! They have heavy duty elastic properly positioned in the lower back area with Velcro to allow you to further adjust the fit and feel of your harness.

The squeegee holder and bbl plug /bbl condom pocket are a great addition. Most people don't know there are actually two key pockets/hides on this rig not just one.
Conclusion: One of the best values I have seen for my money. Although I have not had the opportunitiy to see how well it holds up over the long run, I am very happy with it's features and design. It is a bit tight for us bigger guys but other than that I would have a hard time improving it. The stitching on the velcro seems a bit low in the quality department, but when you figure it is build piecework in china, sometimes even the best miss a stitch now and then. I am not easy in the praise department but this is a great rig for the price. But as someone said, there is always room for improvement, so it gets a 9.6 in this judges opinion.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cbol90oAZ Saturday, October 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 98, Dye barrel, Extras
Strengths: Easy to put on. Pods go in very easy.
Weaknesses: Pods come out very very easy. Pods don't want to stay in.
Review: Harness comes with elastic bands to help hold pod in and keep lids closed. But if you are an extreme competetor and do alot of moving, very quick sprints, ect. the pods will not stay in at all. The quality of the harness is top notch. The design is top notch except for the pod coming out unexpectedly.
Conclusion: Unless you plan on modifying this harness don't but it 'cause you'll constantly worry about loosing your pod of paint.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ecfiffer Monday, October 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: dont laugh brass eagle raptor hey i siad dont laugh!
Strengths: holds a lot of pod, room galour. comfy as can be
Weaknesses: kinda hard to get the pods out.
Review: i got mine off ebay. (shipped it was half the price of msrp) though it took a while to get it due to a mess up with their computers. but not a biggie. the pack is great and easy to use. the staps for the lids are really only good for those pods that have a spring loaded lid. not a pop off lid like most of my pods have. i think that the 4 main pod holders are best suited for pods that are 140-150 round pods and not 100 round pods. again that is what i have mostly. the bottom elastic pod holder is suitable (i guess) for holding a tank. no larger then a 14 oz tank though. i love the pockets on it. there is plenty of room for your barrel plug/condom and extra tools and o-rings. there is another holder of some sort on the other side but i dont know what thats for. oh and there is a cool little key clip on the left large strap. its covered by the other adjustable strap. trust me its worth the little extra money you will spend on it.
Conclusion: buy it you will be happy. it has many features that will make you a happy palyer. just get use to how the pods are set up and you will be a happy man. i would give it a 10 but i have not tested anything else so i want to be as fair as possible.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jbuckwheat Friday, August 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Renegade 4+3, topstitch horizontal 3 pack,
Marker Setup: Oracle, crossfire 68/4500,
Sniper 2, 68 mini-reg, BOA barrel
Shocker Sport (hypersports)werm mount, air assist hard line, Kapp drop zone 2 cradle,
Palmer Stroker,
Strengths: well made, lots of pockets, lower back support, excellent fit, no bouncing, POCKETS!
Weaknesses: 2 more places for pods. more padding in pack like the topstitch pack.
Review: Very well made, I have used a lot of different packs. this one seems to fit the bill. I like the horizontal packs they are easier to get the pods out. This one is excellent. I love all the pockets. it has a place for keys, a pocket for a jerk squeegee, a tube for a battle swab.
the pod retainers will require a bit of practice to master. but it is not a big deal at all. once you get used to them they become like second nature for you.
This one is so much better than the recoil pack made by Jacko. much easier to get pods out.
Conclusion: This is an excellent pack. It would be nice if it was better padded so you would get some bounces off of it like in the topstitch pack. But it is great! probably deserves a 10 but that means it would be perfect. that would load the gun without having to use pods.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shutter_guy Sunday, March 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PBJ 4+3- wasn't very comfortable to me
Strengths: very, very comfortable
holds plenty of paint
Weaknesses: Pods can fall out
Pods can be difficult to remove with gloves at first
Review: This pack is very comfortable. It holds plenty of pods (I only carry 4). My only gripes would be: When you are first getting used to this harness, it can be somewhat dificult to remove the strap from the pod lid to pull the pod out if you are wearing gloves. Once you get used to it it is no problem. Second, I play both recball and speedball, and when you are in a recball game you generally can't just toss the pod away like in speedball, so I just shove the pod back in as far as I can. I've lost 3 pods as a result, but oh well they're just pods.
I definately like this harness and do not plan on selling it anytime soon, but If I were to do this again I would have gotten an NXe 5 (+4?) harness cause I prefer the vertical pod arrangement and it is just as, if not more, comfortable than this one. However, I'm getting used to the laydown pod setup.
Conclusion: I definately like this harness and do not plan on selling it anytime soon, but If I were to do this again I would have gotten an NXe 5 (+4?) harness cause I prefer the vertical pod arrangement and it is just as, if not more, comfortable than this one. However, I'm getting used to the laydown pod setup.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media