paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Action Markers AM-P Illusion / Action Markers AM-P Illusion / Action Markers AM-P Illusion / Action Markers AM-P Illusion

Action Markers AM-P Illusion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Action Markers

Buy Action Markers AM-P Illusion

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Action Markers AM-P Illusion
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $299

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The first Tournament Level pump marker, the AM-P Illusion offers durability, precision, light weight, and great looks previously absent from the pump marker class. Stock Class and “pump curious” players will all love the low weight and smooth cocking stroke. The fantastic “Tattoo” style body milling also introduces a never-before-seen attention to detail neglected by manufacturers previously.
This Tournament Pump marker has been pitted in tournament play against high-end Electro-Pneumatic markers and held its own. Dual balancing pumping rods prevent jamming and maintain a silky-smooth stroke while cocking the AM-P Illusion. The light return spring in the pump handle ensures the bolt stays closed while firing without interfering with re-cocking. The Ergo-Pump Grip makes holding the marker comfortable while offering several options to the player for pump style.
Easily change this marker from standard to Stock Class or Super Stock configurations quickly with the Action Markers feed adapter and a 12g cartridge adapter.

Tech Specs:
• Height: 10”
• Length w/o Barrel: 15”
• Standard Barrel Length: 12”
• Barrel Bore: .691 +/- .002
• Weight: 2.9 lbs
• Action: Pump
• Caliber: .68 Paintballs
• Power Sources: CO2, HPA
• Effective Range: 150 + ft.
• Marker Operation: Closed Bolt
• Upper Bolt Air Flow : Direct Fire
• Lowest Firing Pressure: 300 psi
• Optimum Firing Pressure: 500-600psi
• Balls Per Second: 20 + B.P.S.
• Average Velocity consistency: +/- 5 f.p.s.
Product Availability 
The Action Markers AM-P Illusion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Meph Friday, November 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP; WGP Sniper II; Palmer Houndsooth/Pug/any other palmer pump; any other Sheridan-styled mechanics.
Marker Setup: I have too many that I own to list, I enjoy a variety.
Recommended
Upgrades:
10 or 15 round Stock Class feed adapter, 12-gram adapter
Strengths: - Light weight
- Stylish
- pump stroke
- stock barrel
- front velocity adjustor
- capable of stock class use
- Pretty efficient
- Quiet internal operation
- Being a brand new pump, of course!
- Well balanced
- consistent shooting
- easily field-stripped and cleaned
Weaknesses: - Back Block hits body when pumped
- A little pricey, but not that bad
Conclusion: This is a great new addition to the world of pumps. The dual-pump rods make for an extremely smooth and easy pump stroke. Combined with having a stock class adapter that can be mounted, this seems to soon be a nice hit. Very accurate, stock barrel is actually pretty nice, overall light weight and nicely balanced.
I would suggest getting some epoxy and adding a piece of cut out thin rubber or cloth to place between the back block and the body. Or else you'll have a metal [i]clack[/i] every time you pump. Nothing major and not that loud, but after time it could get to be an annoyance (like JT goggle fans, they work good but annoy you).

One of the best things though is that it's offered now through Hans at Siege Craft Paintball. Also the distributer of phantoms and miscelaneous items.

Overall this is a very good marker. It's good on efficiency tank wise, 12-gram wise it's decent. About 20 good shots off of one. Has a good feel, consistent, quality built. If you are interested in getting a new pump, take this one into consideration.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 12:41 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

S-LifeguardHP Thursday, December 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sniper 2, Phantom, Buzzard Comp, PGP, traccer
Marker Setup: AMP Illusion, palmer stabilizer, thats all I need
Recommended
Upgrades:
***NOBODY HAS METIONED THIS BUT THIS MARKER REALLY NEEDS A REG!!!!!
Strengths: -Light: this thing compares more in weight to the phantom than the sniper 2
-Smooth: this thing is milled to exact standards, it will probably be one of the smoothest guns you have ever laid your mitts on. I sometimes have to stop myself from rubbing the gun... lol!
-Pump stroke:..wow nothing compares to it , not even the phantom. forget the days of the wobbly sniper 2's lonely pump arm
-Derelin bolt: I don't think anyone here has mentioned it thus far. *note* its cheap derelin, but cheap derelin is better than no derelin.
everything else has been said by everyone below me.
Weaknesses: ****INCONSISTENT!!!!!!! I thought these things were supposed to come consistent stock,well I was dead wrong. The velocity adjuster seemed to have no effect, the velocity would read between 250 and 315 using co2 this is terrible!!! I then tried compressed air and the fluctuation was even more dramatic! ( 215 to 330!!) Now i have to go out and spend 100 bucks on a palmer reg just to get this thing to function properly!
Conclusion: The gun is very good and can hold its own against the other pumps out there, but the fluctuating fps really ticked me off so I am going to give this gun a 7. yea I know this is unfair but its cr^ppy that I now have to go out and buy a regulator
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

1moretoy Wednesday, March 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCI VSC Phantom
CCM SS-25
Palmer Blazer w/ pump kit
Marker Setup: AM-P Illusion
CCI 12 gram changer
Lapco t-stock
Hammerhead barrel system
CCM carbon fiber barrel system
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock class feed (if you can find one)
12 gram changer
barrel kit
Strengths: Price
Lightweight
Pump stroke
Front velocity adjustor
Capable of stock class
efficient
Easy to strip
Weaknesses: No longer made
Can't run Co2 tank directly into vertical ASA
Review: I just purchased an Illusion brand new from ebay and received it yesterday. It works great and I am not experiencing any of the problems some have had in the past. I am able to adjust the velocity from not letting the paintball shoot out the barrel to a max of about 360 FPS. I tested it out using a CCI 12 gram changer and it got around 30 shots shooting hot. I have tuned the velocity down below 300fps and have yet to do another count. I like that the velocity adjustment is on the front of the marker. It is just under the barrel, through the pump. You do not need to disassemble anything in order to adjust the velocity. I am also very happy with the pump stroke. It feels better than my Phantom but not as good as my CCM SS-25. The trigger pull was a little hard at first but it has softened up after I broke it in. A little lube might have helped too. The consistency is not bad considering I am not using a regulator but it could be improved. I do love the fact that I can put a CCI 12 gram changer directly into the ASA and use a 12 gram without using a reg. This opens up the door to setting it up as a lightweight stock class pump marker. This is something I wish my SS-25 could do but it just wasn't made for stock class use. The Illusion on the other hand is great as an open class or as a stock class pump marker. It is a dream for anyone who has ever wanted the efficiency of a Phantom but preferred shooting a Sniper/Cocker type pump marker. My only real complaint is that the vertical ASA is so close to the trigger frame that I am not able to screw a 3.5oz tank directly into the ASA. I have read about others having problems with using a CO2 tank directly in the vertical ASA. This isn't the end of the world for me because I will be switching it up between a 12 gram in the vertical ASA for stock class and a Palmer Stabilizer in the vertical ASA going to a 13/3000 HPA tank, screwed into a on/off ASA under the grip frame for open class play. If I had to have only one pump marker to do it all, the Illusion from Action Markers would be it! It doesn't have the incredibly smooth and light pump stroke of my SS-25 and it doesn't have the extremely light and crisp trigger of my SS-25 but then again, my SS-25 can't do it all. The CCM SS-25 is probably the best open class pump marker you can currently buy but it is not made for stock class. I will always love my Phantom and Mike Cassidy from CCI will give you the best service in the planet (this alone is worth owning a Phantom) but the AM-P Illusion is definitely a worthy adversary. It all comes down to personal preference.
Conclusion: Highly recommended if you can get your hands on one. Not as light as the Phantom but air efficient enough to compete with it if you want to play stock class. I personally like the feel of the Illusion over the feel of my VSC Phantom but I will keep both. The Phantom is just too good to let go and the service you get from Mike Cassidy at CCI can't be matched. If you want the best open class pump and you don't mind spending the big $$, get the CCM SS-25. If you want the best all around pump that can be set up for stock class get the VSC Phantom or the AM-P Illusion depending on your personal preference.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thunnderstrukk Thursday, January 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
phantoms, brass eagles. pump cockers.
Marker Setup: tippmann 98custom progressive 16in. core univ. drop, egg2. double trigger. polished interiors, trigger stop, ( many other internal upgrades )
Recommended
Upgrades:
better reg. beter barrel. a nice t-stock.
Strengths: Really accurate. pretty quiet. fast ( for a pump )
Weaknesses: Doesnt accept ALL cocker parts. sounds funny.
Review: I really like this gun. my friend has one and i was thoroughly pleased with it. it works jsut like a cocker but its pump instead. it is built like a tank and rarely breaks down. the only thing i think i have to complian about is that it needs a reg to shoot below 280 fps. this is a real downer if you like to play indoors. but other than that its a great gun. i would suggest getting a pipe bomb for it though. the pipe bomb is amazing.
Conclusion: If you play pump...dont waste your money of a phantom... this gun is way better
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rumburak Thursday, August 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Sterling, Trracer, Hammer
Marker Setup: 12 OZ Co2 Tank, Centerfeed, 200 BallHopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing
Strengths: Very good build, accurate, nice look, good to handle. Good ROF for a punpgun
Weaknesses: No auto-trigger.Not available in Germany :-(
Review: I saw a picture of the Illusion two month ago on internet.
So I decided to get one, but usually no way in Germany, no Action Markers are sold here. But I was lucky, I found one who sold it to me. I played the marker several times and I really like it. It shoots very good, even with the stock barrel, no upgrade necessary.
Works with all paint I tried, no ball breaks no problems. It works perfekt with 214 fps (max speed allowed here). The marker is high quality! Very good made. A little expensive but ok Its cool! very often I get questions like: "Is this a pump?" I like it.
Compared with my older pump, this one is from outer space :-)
Conclusion: A great gun, cool look, nice feel! I hope they start selling their makers here! Best pump I ever used! I would like to have support in Germany! But the US support of actionmarkers is great!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mister Mongo Sunday, April 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom and PGP
There really is no way to compare the two to the Illusion it is an awesome step up from the PGP and the Phantom.
Marker Setup: Warped Sportz Angel LED with a Halo, Pure Energy 68/3000, and Freak Barrel System, Tippmann A-5 with RT Trigger, a 45ci compressed air tank, and an after-market barrel, Phantom, PGP, and an AM-P Illusion that is completely out of the box stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
An after-market barrel system such as the Evil Pipe or the Freak kit are suggested but not necessary. Thus far I have used an Evil Pipe Kit and a Dye Ultralight barrel on this gun but the stock barrel shoots nicely.
Strengths: The Illusion is accurate, quiet, the ROF is remarkable for a pump.
Weaknesses: There were not any real weaknesses that I could see.
Review: I have only had it two days at the writing of this review and I will not be going back to the Phantom though I will continue to use the PGP as a sidearm. I played a Scenario game with it today for the first time and I was shooting players out from distances that would make some of the Shocker and Autococker shooters go nuts. I cannot say enough good things about this marker. As for the complaints about inconsistancies with the air that I read in some of the earlier reviews I didn't see them personally. If you are looking for a gun that will make your stock buddies drool this is it. I'm giving this one a ten.
Conclusion: Get one. If you shoot stock or just wanna go and show the guys who shoot an Electro Pneumatic and the semi's how the Old School does it this is the marker for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mjvandine Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
talon, aci maverick. these were way out classed by the am-p.
Marker Setup: AM-P Illusion
Dye Sticky Grips
Shocktech Drop Forward
32 Degrees X-chamber
Sanchez Machine sm-1 barrel kit
macro set-up
Recommended
Upgrades:
you don't really need any.
Strengths: Easy to maintenance. doesn't break paint. accurate.
Weaknesses: You can't find 'em any more. see review.
Review: Well, when was first looking at a pump gun, I started looking at a phantom pump, but they are rather expensive. I then found the am-p illusion. the reviews on the internet were amazing and I set out to find one. What I did find was that the company had been sued out of existence by WGP and Brass Eagle for "infringing" on patents just 3 months before I began looking for their product. I kept looking though and found a used gun online for $280 with a bunch of extras. It came broken, but I stuck with it and fixed it and it paid off.

It was really easy to fix; i just needed to take the gun apart, clean it, and oil it and it worked like a dream.

This gun is awesome. the accuracy is great right out of the box. the stock barrel has a bigger bore (.691) so it is harder to find a paint to bore match, but if you can it is awsome. I found a great paint to bore match and was able to hit a 4" diameter tree from 50' away 3 out of 5 times. the two that missed were about two inches away from the tree and there isn't much horizontal stray. the balls basically veer slightly left.

The pump stroke is amazing. It is so smooth that I can get about 5 bps out of it in bursts. Even my Grandma can cock the gun without breaking a sweat. In one word: butter.

I haven't played a game with it yet, but it promises to woop butt.
Conclusion: If you have the opportunity to buy a used one, jump on it and run. this thing is awesome.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006 at 10:29 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thecraxyhorse Monday, January 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
misc pumps like sniper 2 and 3, trracer, sl68-II
Marker Setup: cci phantom w/ bottom line 14 inch barrel 45 grip and custom painted in gun metal black
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel if u wanna look sexy but not really needed
Strengths: really good pump. the pump is really nicely placed,and i love the drop fwd it has. good accuracy (feels like sniper 2), and the gun feels really nice 2 hold . can be converted to stock class easily
Weaknesses: y does a pump need center feed? only for the stock set up! action markers should make a model where u can have right or left feed. little pricey
Conclusion: get product, get thin or a phantom if you want a pump,
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AmericanPaintba Friday, November 15th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used pump guns for 10 years and I have found one to replace my trustworthy SL-^* II this marker is amazing
Marker Setup: I am currently using the AM-P Illusion w/12 oz co2, 12 v evolution, I removed the drop forward, the balance was great but just wasnt what i like for my reach when i shoot my marker
Recommended
Upgrades:
an aftermarket barrel
Strengths: i love the way this marker feels in your hand. very well designed, great pumping action, love the spring returned pump, love that its able to be converted to stock class in a matter minutes, the stock barrel is very accurate, very well built not a cheap pump gun in material design. Action Markers did a wonderful job, glad to see a company care about the pump users in the world!!!
Weaknesses: no autotrigger, and im not big on vertical feed but i have found the sweetspot.
Conclusion: this is a great marker for the price watch out for it on a field near you!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jeezalex Tuesday, October 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none really, the total grief guys told me they liked it better than the phantom (a bunch of them bought one)
Marker Setup: 2000 cocker w/ dye hinge, bomb 3way, micro rock, APB bolt(anti pinch), THOR reg, KAPP dovetail dropzone Crossfire 68/4500

AM-P Illusion- pretty much all stock except I use my freak stock class feed tube and 12 gram changer
Recommended
Upgrades:
the stock feed tube and a 12gram changer if u wanna play stock. a new barrel( the stock one is BIG bore) maybe a set of DYE stickies
Strengths: Everything!
cocker barrel threads
angel threaded feed tube plus available stock feed tube
air effiecient
can use CO2 or nitro/compressed air
comes with drop/bottomline
nice accurate (with all kinds of paint) stock barrel (except its big bore so your balls may roll out and it has less efficiency)
its pretty good lookin
you get a lot of sideways looks when you take it into a semi game(i especially like the looks after you shoot them with it!)
Weaknesses: no autotrigger- not an issue for me since I think autotriggers kinda ruin the point of a pump but an issue for some
mine doesn't seem to like CO2, it won't go over 220 w/ CO2 (even on HOT days)
The pump arm rubs on alot of cocker barrels b/c some cocker barrels have that "bump" that helps hold the shroud on. especially freaks! beware I had to sand down my pump arm to use my freak. I read that AM is working to fix this problem.
Conclusion: GREAT GUN! buy one and start a pump revolution or at least have fun playing pump w/ the semi guys, it really makes you a better player.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media