paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Diablo Nightmare Paintballs / Diablo Nightmare Paintballs / Diablo Nightmare Paintballs

Diablo Nightmare Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Diablo

Buy Diablo Nightmare Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Diablo Nightmare Paintballs
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 55
Average Rating: 5.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Diablo Nightmare Paintballs are older, so they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
pbnerd Tuesday, July 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other rec paints (can't compare tourney paints to it) such as:

PMI Premiums- Identical in price and performance but the bore is larger.
Zap- Has always worked horrible for me but I can't find it fresh.
Midnight- A few bucks more but the shell consistancy is better.
Formula 13s- More consistent but more expensive as well (best rec paint).
A few others not even worth mentioning.
Marker Setup: Evil Omen
Crossfire 68/4500 w/ NXe Cover
Evo II
Evil Pipe
Extreme Rage Feedneck
Recommended
Barrels:
EVIL PIPE but any .685-.689 sized barrel will work good.
Strengths: DO NOT break in your gun if they are FRESH.
Excellent price/performance relation.
Weaknesses: DO NOT break on your opponent all the time.
Somewhat inconsistent.
Review: Almost all the reviews I've read on this product either say the paint bounced all the time on people or they broke in their gun. This isn't neccessarily the paint, but the person who bought them and didn't fix them with the bounce test, if you don't know what this is PLEASE copy the URL below and get informed (trust me you'll thank me if you actually put it to use).

http://www.automags.org/resource/te...t_testing.shtml

I really think the only thing you can rate a paint on is consistancy, fill (if you're really that picky), and price/performance relation. Nowadays you'll never find paint with the right strength of shell unless you correct them yourself---due to paint sitting for too long they become brittle so many companies have made their paint rubberier to hold a longer shelf life but for those people who have a decent shop that has fresh paint it makes it a real bummer. If you don't dry this stuff out when you get a fresh batch you're playing with soon you better rain on the paint if you hope for this paint to break.

Anyways back to the results (fresh paint):

8.25 on bounce test (pretty bouncy so I dried it out overnight and it went to a 5.5 which is good).
Consistency of shell (standard deviation of shell strength on bounce test) was 3-20 bounces which isn't very inconsistant and might give you some problems with breaking in gun or bouncing on target.
Consistency of bore was .685 to .689 which is good for cheap rec-based paint.

Field results (corrected paint):

-No curve balls because of no dimples.
-1 out of 25 or so would bounce but only one broke in my barrel which cleaned itself out (I was surprised because most rec paints are less strict on bore consistancy which makes it harder to clean the barrel out itself without a squeegie)
-Pretty accurate for a rec paint.

I think the paint was bouncing a bit becuase I turned down my velocity to 230fps or so becuase there was some small fields I was playing at (didn't want to hurt the youngin's too bad) and it was 84*F and extremely muggy out.
Conclusion: -As long as you don't mind fixing the paint you can save some money and have a paint almost as good as Midnight.

-If you don't have the time to fix the paint just buy some Midnights for a few bucks more and for even more consistent rec paint buy some Formula 13s (they are a little expensive for rec based paint but provide nearly tourney quality paint).

If I were too lazy to fix paint and I preferred to just have problems and complain about it and give this paint a bad rating then I would give it a 6 or lower like everyone else but since I'm not not like everyone else I'm going to say I really like this paint for its excellent price/performance relation and hope you consider buying some if you're just going to play rec.

However if you have an extra $10 go out and buy some Formula 13s and you won't have to putz with it plus it has better bounce test consistency.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 8th, 2005 at 6:15 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

tmhhitman Monday, February 24th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees team colors, marbs, evil, blaze, all stars. All of these worked better for me.
Marker Setup: Nasty Impulse, Freak, revvy, 68/4500
Recommended
Barrels:
One you don't like very much.
Strengths: Got a deal on it.
Weaknesses: The deal was for three cases.
Conclusion: I ruined three squegees and a day of paintball trying to shoot this poo. My marker NEVER breaks paint (low pressure, vision eye, freak barrel), but this stuff acted like it was its job to break in my gun. The ones (maybe it was the one, not too many anyway) that came out of the gun had the accuracy of a thrown paper plate. Came close to shooting myself when the balls did a 360. This was the saddest paint I have ever had the bad luck to use. I hope that it was due to being old or improper storage, but I'll never know unless someone else has some, because I'll never buy this paint again. I gave away the other two cases tio my kids and now their mad at me cause they could not make it work in a angel or hopped up spyder either. I'll give it a two to be nice.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

rayolangco Saturday, March 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
-Pmi (all)
-ViewLoader I-balls
-Evil
-Brass Eagle (all)
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra, 14"nyte stikk, modified v.bolt, 32* spring kit
Recommended
Barrels:
-Freak (both) barrel sets
-Empire(both)
-32* Nyte stikk
Strengths: -Breaks on Impact ( 3 out of 500 broke)
-cheap
-accurate
Weaknesses: 3 out of 500 balls broke in the barrel come on .... thats a good thing !
Review: -My full review......hmmmmm... i aint gonna lie to whoever is reading this... these ball performed better than i expected .. i have some pictures that i took on how accurate these balls are if you guys are interested just PM (private message) me your email add.
and i'll send the pics (it is compared with: evil, i-ballz, pmi premium, and java balls)
i had a clamp on my marker so it wouldnt move and i loaded it 1 by 1 into the powerfeed (shot it from 35ft away).i used 3 balls for each brand and the nightmares came in 3 place.
1st: evil,2nd premiums, 4th i-balls(yes a miracle).... kingman java.....so sad...tisk tisk .
Conclusion: -Buy it ... use it.... dont pick up balls and get rid of the stupid 50 word rule to post a friggin review.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

jitters93 Saturday, May 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
draxxus midnights (accuracy and occasionally bounced)
game face scorches (bounce rate and shell thickness)
diablo heat (inconsistent)
those are the only other paint that i thnk compare to nightmares
Marker Setup: -06 Black Magic SF
14" kaner
Eggy3
pmi 68/4500
---------------------------
-Smart Parts ion
yellow body kit
fire bolt
12" progressive
---------------------------
-05 Prostock
bm c-rod
Halo led frontman
14" dye ultralite
---------------------------
-2k2 Black Magic
uni-mount on/off
10"&16" dye ultralite
Halo lcd Backman
---------------------------
-Vision Impulse
strange bolt
sp tapeworm
ndz blade trigger
14" all american
Halo led frontman
pmi 48/3000
Recommended
Barrels:
Anything mid bore, or .687
Strengths: Accurate
No chops
Bright shell/fill

Weaknesses: Lots of bounces..
A couple seemed inconsistent
Review: I was using these at a local speedball field where i got um for 50$. At the time i was using my impulse with a 14" all american and this paint was pretty accurate, i had no chops or breaks in my loader and would always hit its target. The accuracy was consistent and similar to draxxus midnights and rps bigball. Although the performance was good this paint had a very high bounce factor, bouncing off tons of my opponents so i would recommend this paint be used in rec.
Conclusion: Good rec paint, no chops or breaks in my barrel or loader but bounce al0t of the time.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 27th, 2007 at 6:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Master Sniper Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
-Brass Eagle
-Draxxus
Marker Setup: -Spyder Compact Deluxe Java Edition
-16" Spyder 3-piece Spyder Sniper Barrel
-ADCO Hot Shot Red Dot Sight
-two 12oz. CO2 tanks
Recommended
Barrels:
don't know
Strengths: -shatters on impact instead of bouncing or splitting
-they're Diablos
- good in cold weather
Weaknesses: They worked pretty good with my gun; so far so good
Review: I bought a case of 2000 of these Diablos and so far I've used around 800-850. Out of that number, so far only around 5 or less have been chopped in the chamber. With my bad luck though, the majority of the ones that did breack, did so at the worst possible time because one time my friend (who had a Tippman 98 with a Flatline and expansion chamber) and I went up against a Brass Eagle Marauder, a 98 Custom, and two Syder Imagines. My friend got out by an Imagine on full-auto and I took out the 98 Custom (with one shot). Outnumbered, I retreated far back into the swamp and found a depression in the ground where the roots of an old tree had been standing. That was where I hid for about 10-15 minutes until the same guy with the Imagine came back looking for me. (The rest of his team were a bunch of panzies and stayed together farther back). When he got close enough I opened fire on him and barely missed him. My barrel got clogged up and he put it on full-auto again and scored about three shots in the head. If those balls didn't break, then my accuracy would've gotten him out a long time ago.
Conclusion: Overall, it's pretty good and even though it's not totally the paintballs fault, I'm giving it a nine because it screwed up at just the wrong time
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 14th, 2003 at 3:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sucio16 Saturday, March 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Inferno
Midnight
Blaze
-These balls are good for the price. They perform like the Midnight. Of course, like in all other balls, one will eventually break...but that is not a problem. Two balls broke in 2000 rounds.
Marker Setup: WGP E-Ranger w/Spyder barrel adapter (No upgrades available at this time besides a barrel).
Spyder TL Plus w/Drop forward & Off/On Adapter
68ci 3000psi Crossfire tank
14" Custom Products Barrel (Used for both markers)
Recommended
Barrels:
Custom Products
Dye
Strengths: Good paint for the price ($40.00)
Diablo = Good Quality
Weaknesses: You could pay about $5.00 more for the Blaze...Don't be cheap!
Conclusion: Overall, this paint is good. It occasionally breaks, but that is expected. It is very good for the price, and you know you are getting a quality product from Diablo. I would recommend these balls if you don't have enough for the Blaze or Inferno.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cryosilver Wednesday, May 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Heat
RPS Stingers

-Both better by far
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5 with response trigger, A2 kit from Spec Ops Paintball and coiled remote
12" CMI Thunder Pig barrel
Pure Energy 72/3000 HPA or 20 oz CO2

or

AGD Minimag with 14" All American Barrel, custom hopper and coiled remote
Pure Energy 72/3000 HPA or 9 oz CO2
Recommended
Barrels:
They sure as hell don't work with: All American, stock A5 or CMI Thunder Pig barrels
Strengths: They look pretty from a distance
Weaknesses: Break in your barrel, not on your target, like reverse M&Ms
Review: I picked up half a case (1000) of these to break in my new A5 and play a little rec ball with my friends. Big mistake.

These were the worst paintballs I have ever fired. They had tangible seams, and out of 1000 paintballs, almost 100 broke in the barrel. Those that made it out frequently hooked so much that I could not hit a target at 15-20 yards.

When I did hit, the paint invariably bounced. I shot a tree at 15 yards, and the ball bounced; a bloody TREE.

The only upside to this paint is that it is cheap and ever so slightly better than Brass Eagle.
Conclusion: Don't buy this paint. You're better off shooting blanks: you'll get kills just as often, you'll save money, and your gun will require less cleaning.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MiniBaller4774 Friday, March 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Visible Impact
JT tactical
Afterburner
WGP custom paint
Various other field paints
Marker Setup: Invert mini
NDZ V2 bolt and spring kit
JT 50/30 HPA tank
Viewloader Eggy2 hopper
Recommended
Barrels:
Paint to bore match.
Strengths: Not oily
Not to many dimpled balls
Weaknesses: Almost never break on target if your more than 10 feet away.
Review: These paintballs are crap, plain and simple. They are not even worth paying 45$ for. You might as well fire rocks through your marker, they are basically the same. Only good thing I can see is I didn't get any barrel breaks/chops and they didn't have too many dimples and weren't too oily.
Conclusion: Crappy balls, don't even bother with them. I recomend visible impact. It is also wal-mart paint.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 12th, 2008 at 6:23 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

20/20eyeguy Thursday, March 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Nelson Whack
Heat
Monster Balls
Marker Setup: Straight out of the box-12" barrel
20oz tank
Recommended
Barrels:
Stock barrel if you have a Mokal
Strengths: Inexpensive
Weaknesses: Some dimples
Some bounce
Review: To be fair rec balls should be compared to rec balls and not tournament balls. I would not recommend Nightmare for tournament use. The ones I received had some dimples. Also some seemed "out of round". I have had just about all the rec balls above bounce off of an opponent. This happend more with Nightmare. I took the advice of one of the reviews and allowed some of the paintballs to dry over night. This seemed to help some. I bought Heat for ~$39, I bought Whack for $35. However, I bought Nightmare at ~$20 in a bulk purchase. For the price difference I can stand a few dimples, and a few bounces. Especially since this is just for practice and rec. I probably liked Whack better, and if I could buy Whack in a bulk purchase for $20 a case I would, but.....Nightmare was a good value for the buck.
We used two cases while playing indoor speedball the other day. Only chopped one ball. One ball may have broke in the barrel. They were used in many different markers and no one had any real problem.
Conclusion: Buy Mightmare if you can get a good deal. It is fine for practice and just having fun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PunkRockLobster Sunday, August 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Too many products to name.
Marker Setup: 2002 Blue Vert Cocker, Freak Kit 14", 68/4500 Pure Energy, Rev w/ X-Board and Vortex, ANS front block kit, Eclipse hinge trigger.
Recommended
Barrels:
Freak all the way
Strengths: This paint was great I used the red insert .687 and it shot like a wet dream. The colors are pretty cool, there was like black/yellow w/ Yellow fill and Purple/ Black w/ Purple fill. This was the field paint at one of the locla tournys it's fairly new cause I've never heard of it before. Shot awesome. no breaks or inaccurate shots out of 3 cases.
Weaknesses: Nothin really. The fill could have been thicker it seemed a little sort of watery, and a I found a couple of dented balls but they were not big dents.
Conclusion: To sum it all up the paint is the kinda paint Jesus would use if he played paintball. It was suberb paint. If my local Por-shop sells it again I'm buyin like 4 cases of it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media