paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airgun Designs 68 Automag Power Feed / Airgun Designs 68 Automag Power Feed / Airgun Designs 68 Automag Power Feed / Airgun Designs 68 Automag Power Feed

Airgun Designs 68 Automag Power Feed Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airgun Designs

Buy Airgun Designs 68 Automag Power Feed

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airgun Designs 68 Automag Power Feed
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 270
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $499

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Its patented, all stainless, blow forward valve system has been designed for the demands of 1000+ round tournament games. The 68Automag's phenomenal rate of fire derives from its short trigger pull and Advanced Integrated Regulator. The 68Automag Power Feed is available in both Hopper Left and Hopper Right styles.
Product Availability 
The Airgun Designs 68 Automag Power Feed is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
HIKARU Tuesday, November 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Original Spyder, it is lighter but otherwise no comparison
F2 Illustrator, it is lighter but otherwise no comparison
Marker Setup: AutoMag
[list]
[*]AGD ReTro Valve
[*]AGD LEVEL 10
[*]AGD Flatline 68ci/3000 tank
[*]black AGD powerfeed right body
[*]black AGD body rail
[*]black AGD Warpfeed
[*]black AGD Intelliframe w/blade trigger linked to 12v Revy
[*]black 12v Revy
[*]black DYE stickies
[*]black Lapco Bigshot 14" barrel
[*]black KAPP non-gas through foregrip
[/list]

Sheridan P68
[list]
[*]TASO rear velocity adjuster
[*]Polished brass body
[*]Spring loaded magazine (work in progress)
[/list]
Recommended
Upgrades:
AGD ReTro Valve if you are the type of player that shoots high volumes of paint in rapid succession. If you like shooting paint very conservatively stay with the AIR valve.

AGD LEVEL 10, this modification probably made ammends to all previous chopping problems that users suffered before its incarnation (myself included).

AGD Intelliframe, required if you like a constant reliable feed, link this to your motorized hopper and your flow of paint should never cease.

AGD Flatline tank/regulator, fast enough to keep up with your high rate of fire, if you choose to go that route.

It seems as though the modifications I have listed above all work hand in hand IF you are a player that demands a high rate of CONSISTANT AND RELIABLE fire.

Honestly, if you shoot low rate of fire because of your playing style, it is better off if you saved the money and kept your gun stock except for aesthetic things you may consider. These modifications could work perfectly fine for a player that requires only a low rate of fire, but it would be OVERDOING IT.
Strengths: I will rate this product with the modifications I have currently.

Rate of fire, EXCELLENT. I've had players and refs ask me if my gun is full auto (which it is not).

Consistancy, EXCELLENT. I have the correct paint to barrel bore size match, added with the fact that I have LEVEL 10 installed and working like a charm, AND a constant flow of paint thanks to the AGD Warpfeed and AGD Intelliframe keeping my Warpfeed fed by my linked 12v Revy all adds up to GREAT CONSISTANCY. So far I average 1-2 BARREL (not chamber) breaks per case. I haven't had a chamber break at all since I installed LEVEL 10.

Dynamics, I use an AGD Warpfeed with my current setup, coupled with my jersey being black on the upper portion makes it hard to discern whether or not I am drawing my gun when I peek out the bunker.

Velocity consistancy, my velocity is within 4 fps after proper adjustments are made.
Weaknesses: Heavy, yes this gun is heavy. And YES it becomes even MORE heavy once you add the AGD Warpfeed. However, the weight only affects me during the walk to the air fill station. In-game the weight does not have any affect on my game whatsoever, perhaps only when I am posting for long periods of time...

Price, depends solely on how you play. If you are a high rate of fire person like I am then you will spend about $1000 to get your marker with air, loader,warp and everything else I mentioned in my setup. If you prefer low rates of fire, then a classic mag is just what your looking for with a price that is alot easier to bear.

Effeciency, goes through air quicker than a hooker goes through a John's wallet. This gun operates on HIGH PRESSURE. I have my tank's output pressure set at 900 psi, feels great though! On my 3000 psi tank I get about 650 good shots before I need a fill.

BLENDER!!! When I first bought this gun it didn't have LEVEL 10 installed. Well even when I used marbz I would chop pretty often. It was until I bought LEVEL 10 that I became COMPLETELY satisifed with my purchase. No more walks to the car, no more long intermissions between games while you clean out your chamber and barrel, just pure play time thanks to LEVEL 10. Without LEVEL 10 you will most likely chop at high rates of fire.
Conclusion: This gun is a must buy. I bought mine from a friend and have enjoyed it 100%% after installing LEVEL 10.

This gun is heavy to carry but not that heavy in a game.

Rate of fire is awesome. Remember, this is the FASTEST mechanical gun out there.

Addicting to shoot and to play paintball with.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

pekingduck Wednesday, March 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k3 Autococker... far superior to a stock automag classic. However, after a certain and equal amount of money spent on upgrades, there won't be much of a difference.
Marker Setup: pretty Automag with all the great stuff AGD comes out with
Recommended
Upgrades:
Intelliframe. stock frame is revolting... stay away from those made by Benchmark.
If yours comes with an Emag barrel, keep it; their accuracy compares to SP progressives.
If otherwise, new barrel.
Strengths: Extremely reliable and sturdy. Backed by the best company. High potential.
Weaknesses: Upgrades required for good performance (hidden costs). Trigger never adjustable. Without slug body, inconvenient barrels.
Review: I recently sold my automag, but I'v had a good experience with it. Stock, the frame is absolutely horrid and most don't come with barrels. So you need to spend another 200 to fix this problem. Stock Grey is fugly, too... so is the rail. This particular marker has a case in which the hype is actually true... they ARE blenders. But only stock. Buy a lvl 10 and you will become an ANTIBLENDER.
But these flaws are quickly overshadowed by it's good sides.
They're built like tanks... you can fire them underwater... and they're made of stainless steel (yes, even the bolt), so wear and tear and problems arising from time are things of the past. You can start off with Co2... and stay with it (personally i prefer PMI nitrogen)... but if you want to spend 200 for the WONDERFUL Xvalve, have fun tacking on another 150 for Nitro.
This is the ONLY line of markers that accepts lvl 10 bolts, which ABSOLUTELY guarantee no chops... period... which is reason alone to purchase one.
Oh and with AGD being the most innovative company in the business, there will always be something new to do to it... provided you are rolling in dough. If you're not, their service will still be there 24-7.
Conclusion: It's a great gun... buy one. However, remember there are a LOT of hidden costs involved if an Excellent gun is what you're after.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Brian68Mag(AO) Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Emag
LCD Matrix and other trix's
Angel Lcd and a Dark Ir3
Cockers
Classic and Gz timmies
Nasty imp, Stock imp
Shocker sport
Marker Setup: 68 mag' pwr feed Level 10, J&J ceramic, retro valve aswell as AIR valve.
Emag Level 10 Stock
Pro-Carbine
Nitro duck 90ci 4500 tuffskin
Smart parts 20 oz Anti siphon Co2 with smart valve.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic hopper
Decent barrel
LEVEL 10
Intelli-frame
nitro or a good co2 setup.
Warp feed if you want to get that annoying hopper outta view( We ALL hate hopper hits!)
Strengths: * Its possibly the most reliable high end marker when in the right hands, it works everytime i gas it up.
*Consistant, +- 1/2 on nitro +- 3/4 on co2 depending on wear on regulator seat.
*No need for secondary regulator on N2, there are already 2!(tank and back of valve)
*Easy to pickup cheap when used! Used mags can be as good as new mags! A $20 dollar kit from AGD can make the marker shoot like new!
*No ball breaks with level 10!!!! We all know it sucks to break balls, this upgrade has completely eliminated them for me and hundreds of other mag users! Its a $85 dollar kit availible from AGD.
*Small, tight setup. This is no shocker or timmy! This gun is SMALL! Its a sign of good engineering when a gun twice as small with 1/3rd as many parts performs just as well or better as other markers!
*Besides level 10 NO valve changes need to be made or should be made! The valve is next to perfect! Dont mess with it!
*Short Snappy trigger pull. Some hate it, some love it. I love it. Allows for 6-10 bps with a trained finger and the retro can get 12+ easily. Not bad for a MECH marker!
Weaknesses: *Can be too heavy for someones liking. Shouldnt be much of an issue but it may be for some people.
*The ability for Shortstroking. With level 5/7 mags this was the main reason for chopping issues. It doesnt chop everytime but it will eventually. Lvl 10 eliminated the chopping and now uselly after the short stroke it will fire two balls out the barrel. Alot better then a chop that takes you out of the game huh?
*Price, for a top mag setup it can run near 1,000 dollars if you get everything, retro, nitro, level 10, warp, intelliframe, nice cradle and foregrip ect. But its worth it!
Conclusion: Overall i think its a great marker and should be considered by all. Its reliable, fast, consistant(thus accurate), tight, and fun to shoot and play with. I'd recommend mags to anyone who are having problems with their current setup or to people who are looking for something else. There is really nothing the mag doesnt have to offer that other guns do.
"A simple machine that performs aswell as a complex machine is better"-Einstein.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

peteralexander7 Friday, November 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI G2 STS Piranha, 32 degrees expantion chamber, cmi 14in thruflight
Tippmann M98, ans expantion chamber, 12in Smart Parts Tear drop
Marker Setup: AGD powerfeed automag- reactor on/off valve, thumb veloctiy adj, aluminum trigger w/ cherry wood grip, system X on/off dropforward, KAPP foregrip dropforward with PMI gas thru grip, 16in Smart Parts SS/A AA, 12in SS 32 degrees carbon fiber, AGD RT, 10in SS JJ, 8 in armson, Pure Energy 68/3000 steel tank.
carbon fiber
Recommended
Upgrades:
The biggest thing is that you need a great barrel. Smart Parts AA, Dye Boom stick, or a 32 degrees Carbon Fiber are great. Need to have a Nitro Tank. If you dont you will be in the back waiting for your gun to warm up all the time while everyone else is playing. (It is a must with Automags!) Everything else is up to you.
Strengths: The best thing about my gun is that it is super easy to clean and maintain. The second thing is that it will last forever. Mine has been threw three owners and is 10yrs old. Can you say that about other guns. It shoots great. It doesnt break hardly and they have the level 10 if you have problems. It is also the only gun that the ball drops directly into the barrel, which makes shooting a lot better. There has never been any shoot down for me and it charges faster than I can pull the trigger. Plus there is no threads for the barrels. It is so fast to exchange them, rather than clean your barrel.
Weaknesses: Honestly the weight doesnt bother me because I rather have metal than plastic and it is easier to move with it being so small. I would like it to be quieter but it has to make some noise. The only things that I really dont like about it is how much pressure that it has to have to run. But I wouldnt still trade it for a gun that has so many systems to lower the pressure that so many other things could go wrong.
Conclusion: In the end it is a great gun. It does cost a lot but not as much as others. I play with people that have angels, cockers, other e-guns, shockers, M98's and spyders. I can kick all there trash but they also can kick mine. It is a great gun if you want a gun to last forever, beat up everyone, and have fun customizing it so it doesnt look like anyone elses. Paintball is a sport that you have to trust what you are using and you can trust an Automag. It has never let me down as long as I take good care of it. I gave it a 9 because nothing is perfect and everything will have problems because of something else effecting it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 12:39 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GrayFox72 Tuesday, October 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Theres Nothing Like a Mag!
Marker Setup: Automag, Ricochet2k, shocktech drop, level 10 mod, gas thru foregrip
Recommended
Upgrades:
My setup right up there, then if you got lots of money get an intelliframe and a warp feed.
Strengths: Whats one of the biggest influence when buying a new marker? THE PRICE of course! You want a high quality marker,
one that is really upgradeable, but dosent cost a whole lot at the start. The automag is for you, sure airgun designs
could have made the mag cost $1700 by adding in a stock e-trigger frame and a foregrip, along with some nice grips
and whatever other parts you can think of. Instead they give the automag to you for $600 and dont throw in any stock
parts like that, so when you do decide that you want to spend $1700 on a marker, youve spend $600 on your mag and you
have $1100 left over for custom parts. So take your pick, spend $1700 and get a stock shocker or a totally customized
to your needs automag. Your pick.

Another big influence when buying a marker is preformance, from day 1 that I owned the automag it has continued to impress
me. Here is a few key preformance points:

Accuracy: The accuracy on the automag has always been pretty good, I added a gas thru grip so I could hold it with both
hands, and its improved my accuracy further.

Chopping: The automag dosent chop, unless you short stroke it. 99%% of the time, its because its been short stroked. Now with
the release of the Level 10 Mod chopping is a thing of the past, when you short stroke it, it usually just shoots 2 balls.

Endurance: Automags are built like tanks, almost impossible to break on the outside. On the inside it is a very simple system
so you can fix the marker very quickly and easily. I have not run into one problem with my automag that I havent been able to
fix at the field.

Gass Efficency: On a 68ci 3000psi Nitrogen tank, I can get about 1200 shots off, which in my opinion is pretty good.

Range: Range is nice compared to most guns, although alot of guns can also outdo it in range. I'm not even going to try and
geuss because I have the worst sense of distance.

Rate Of Fire: Like most semi markers, as fast as you can pull the trigger. The trigger pull is hard at first but once you put about 5000 rounds through it, the trigger pull becomes alot lighter and you can reach about 7 or 8 shots per second with adrenaline in your blood. That could easily be improved to a higher rate of fire with a new trigger frame.

Noise: The automag is also a very quiet marker, not extremley quiet (you can hear it when its up close to you) but from a short distance it sounds pretty quiet.

The automag is also easy to repair, having only 1 pin to get the working parts out and 2 screws to take the entire thing apart. The twist and lock system for the barrel is very quick (good if you need to clean your barrel on the field).
Weaknesses: They shouldnt even have this section for the automags, theres nothing. Except for mabey short stroking, but thats not really a fault in the marker.
Conclusion: Since day 1 that I have owned the automag, I have gotten superior preformance, with every upgrade I become more and more impressed with the quality of my automag. In conclusion now that I have owned a mag I will never purchase another non airgun designs marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Unived Micindev Saturday, April 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
a lot - no blow forwards
Marker Setup: 68p/f
- X-valve
- smart parts SS barrel
- home-made grip frame
- home-made drop fwd
- ACI bulldog 2
VM68
- ZGP grip frame
- home-made drop fwd
- torpedo reg
- dynaflow air system
- vl revolution 12v
- low pressure upgrade - 250psi
- semi or full auto 12bps
Sheridan P-12
- zgp velocity adjuster
ZGP
- stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
hmm..good barrel, good HPA...may be pneumatic reg - but for what?
Strengths: AGD quality, simplicity, accuracy with good barrel, very fast with good valve
Weaknesses: stock AIR valve is little slow, but u can buy retro or x-valve
Review: i really love stock mag body...if u have ss barrel mag is indestructible...alu bodies is very light, but inclinable to scratch...yes its heavy but average alu body is unusable after 2-3 years...
barrel system is little curious, but great designed - no threads, ball comes directly to barrel

consistancy - great
ROF - with stock frame average (just about 8-9bps), with intelliframe much better (around 16bps (with x-valve or retrovalve))
accuracy - like any other good high end semi - great
quality - absolutely perfect
Conclusion: stock 68p/f is great for scenario games because is really nearly indestructible
with some upgades great for tourneys - very little, very fast, very accurate
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 17th, 2004 at 5:03 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

nt2004 Wednesday, May 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 custom, pirahna, imagine, PGP, A-5, stingray, impulse, dye reflex, shocker, WGP 2003 stock cocker, variuos other guns
Marker Setup: 68 Automag Classic with powerfeed left, 32 degrees medium drop, 12 inch custom products barrel, 10 inch freak, VL foregrip,level 10, intelliframe hooked to revvie, warp feed Tippmann 98 custom with flatline, double finger trigger, response trigger Stingray II (im embarrassed to say that) 68 cu inch, 3000 psi pure energy nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
well nothing comes standard so buy a barrel, foregrip, and drop forward first. dont use CO2 because this gun is too good for it. then focus on maybe an intelliframe, a warp and oh yes...........A LEVEL 10!!!
Strengths: accurate, compact, accurate, quiet, accurate!!!
Weaknesses: the trigger does somethingn weird sometimes(i'll explain
Review: this gun is awesome!! its super durable ( i bought a 2 year old one off ebay and its a dream) and is soo customizable that you'll pee your pants trying to think of what to put on it. i love the level 10 ( my friend just bought it) with the level 10, you can shoot it with your finger in front of the bolt and you wont feel a thing. There is only 1 problem. when shooting fast, you might fail to release the trigger fully. i'd say if you release it only about 1 millimeter, it'll make a noise and the gun will recock, causing another paintball to be fed into the breach and they new ball might strike the old ball causing it to break. thats the only problem ive encountered

2-22-04
alright i've had this gun for about a year now so i think i will update this. In the year that i have upgraded and sent this gun through hell weekly at various feilds, it has not let me down. It is still consistent as ever and freakishly accurate. With the intelliframe and a bit of practice, you can rock its trigger nicely. The warpfeed has been an amazing upgrade. I've hooked up my intelliframe to my revvie which was not too difficult and it hasnt let me down either. Great gun, it will last you forever. Intelliframes also fix that short stroking problem i talked about above
Conclusion: its awesome. its accurate, customizable, tiny(tiny=smaller target), super light weight(1.8 pounds), durable, beautiful

**updated 2-22-04
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 22nd, 2004 at 8:15 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Marius423 Friday, March 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
umm ive used spyders and clones, defiants, and tippmans
Marker Setup: Powerfed Automag, 114cu 3000psi, Empire reloader, armson 9" barrel, psycho ballistics drop forward with gauge, 20 oz co2 as backup.
Recommended
Upgrades:
well other then the basics to get it started id say a nice long drop forward, no need for a reg, gas through grip, and a nice double trigger and frame. Lvl 10 and x-valve
Strengths: Its amazing. I dont even have the lvl 10 upgrade and i can rattle out shots like a mad man. I havent had a chop or barrel break yet and ive shot about 1000 paintballs through the gun. Its definatly something that a newb or intermediate player should get. Easier care and maintance(esp when compared to a cocker)
Weaknesses: Well for people who used large guns before this will take some getting used to. Otherwise this is a perfect gun.
A full setup with all the bells and whistles will be about 10 lbs. but its weighted so good you wont know
Conclusion: Perfect in every way. Get this gun. It shoots like a dream and with the upgrades like the lvl 10 and the x-valve you can easily outshoot any gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

forum155pl Wednesday, March 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: 2002 verticle feed (blue) Some dudes crome blackmagic frame, Cp barrel, Sto ram, Roller sear, pmi drop, 68 4500 Pmi , Warped bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Boomstick forgrip of some kind
Strengths: It's accurate as hell. Nice and small. WHen you need to shoot some more paint just pull it and it will go. It never gets shootdown i love it. People say that Mags are outdated but Hey i love mine and i dont care if its 10 years out of date it works great. With my boomstick I can chop a ball and shoot through it perfect the next shot.
Weaknesses: The whole short stroking thing ...but it doest take that long to learn the trigger. THe barrel can be a pain sometimes (getting it off and on)
Conclusion: But one and you wont be disappointed at all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

teufelhunden Monday, December 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Outkast- Excellent marker, much different feel than a 'Mag.
SP Impulse- Nice ROF, a bit rough on paint though, a lower quality
Other various electros and 'Cockers
Marker Setup: 68 Mag
Hyperframe
LX
Recommended
Upgrades:
Level 10 and a new frame (Intelli, Hyper, Y/Z)
Does not come with a barrel, so you'll need to buy one
Strengths: Fast, easy on paint, reliable, twist-lock.
Weaknesses: Stock frame is bad, efficiency isn't great.
Review: My 'Mag is an excellent, reliable paint throwing machine. With the Hyperframe, it's very quick, and I don't have to worry about destroying paint at high ROF's with the Level 10 bolt. Level 10 prevents chops by utilizing a two stage design that hits the paint gently enough to stick your tounge into the breech and fire.

Unupgraded, an Automag isn't a standout marker. All that stands out is its compactness, reliabilty, and simplicity. While these are all excellent, they aren't enough to make it a true competitor in today's high ROF tourney scenes. However, upon upgrading the frame and dropping in LX, a Mag will be able to compete at any level, provided the guy on the trigger can play well enough.

Oh, of note is the twist lock barrel "threading." This is awesome for in case you ever break paint... twist the barrel like 45 degrees and pull, and it's out. No unscrewing.

Although not an excellent marker out of the box, the Automag is sufficient. However, drop in a few more dollars and you've a top notch marker.
Conclusion: An excellent buy, especially used as Automag resale is very low.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 15th, 2003 at 12:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media