paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2

Avalon GT Commando 2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Avalon

Buy Avalon GT Commando 2

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Avalon GT Commando 2
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Micro-honed 13" barrel, High grade aluminum body, Barrel guard, Shoulder Stock, U-One (low pressure system & adaptor), Sub zero Ex-chambers, Shark sight rail, Stainless steel valve, High fashion 45 grip, DM double trigger, Light trigger action, Rapid Recoil, Designer Venturi bolt, Dual connect bottom line, and a Circular rubber grip cover.
Product Availability 
The Avalon GT Commando 2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Super Sniper Tuesday, February 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years18 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders and I once upgraded I can realte it to my cocker!
Marker Setup: 1998 STO Mini coker with 12" Freak system, Chrome Plated flame drop froward, Cross fire minibolt, 45 electro frame, and a remote with nitro set up.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Mako Storm, A good drop forward, 9 or 19 exspansion chamber, I will give people credit it does look sweet with the 21"barrel on it.
Strengths: This is a good honest review of this gun.



Ok these are the people who are full of baloney and just plain hate the commando 2 for no reason. Well I am not sure about flammable I think he might be telling the truth.

Deehrhead- More like deer with no head if you ask me. Heís full of baloney. If it started leaking like the titanic all you need to do is buy a new b/l or expansion chamber. And if that was true thatís why your gone doesnít shoot right.

Gtcommandohater- hmm the name says it all. Hey you wouldnít happened to be related to ClamChowda now would you?

ClamChowda- as he stated about a million times in forums he hates the design of the gt commando 2 because itís a hybrid of a spyder. He says ďThere are no upgrades for this piece of sh-tĒ Well sir you are obviously wrong. Itís a spyder marker. There for what ever you can upgrade on a spyder you can upgrade on the gt commando 2. That includes the Spyder Storm trigger and a spyder threaded barrel. Next time buy it and donít just make accusations.

Flammable- He might be telling the truth. There are lemons out there. But those are only the GT version. And the lemons can easily be repaired.



This gun is perfectly fine. I have never had any trouble with it once I broke it in. At first if gave me a hard time not shooting right but thatís because the factory put the detent pin in backwards. Then it wasnít accurate so I polished the all ready Micro Honed barrel and it made it shoot as good as any other barrel.

Its easily upgradeable with spyder parts. I find the Mako Storm trigger and a tactical drop go along well with it. Once I bough that not only did I have an gun that looked awesome but preformed awesome. Full Auto baby! And at 125.00 how is that too expensive? Oh yeah and they say the stock is just a gimmick well its not. I use it all the time.
Weaknesses: The horizontal feed does go the wrong way. It gets in front of your sight. You need to buy a sight rail raiser for around $13.00 and that takes care of the problem. For people who say that the gun is to heavy. Well define heavy? Tournament play heavy or tippmann flat-line heavy? Well if you consider the tippmann flat-line to be heavy than yes this gun is heavy. If you never had held either one its like holding a pellet rifle with a wood stock.
If you ever due have trouble with it you can always e-mail a professional user of the marker. I find that Matthew_Fulton18@hotmail.com helps a lot of people with questions. Or you can e-mail me at manner212@yahoo.com and I will try to answer your questions as best as possible.
Conclusion: Donít listen to the people who say my friend had one or has one. Only listen to the people who actually own one. If you listen to the people who say that have tested it. Come on who is actually going to test it? In order to test it they need to either buy it new (witch is what they should do) or barrow it from a former friend (witch would be labeled under the condition of used). You have to take good care of this marker. You have to respect it. When I first got mine I threw as hard as I could on the cement because it kept breaking balls. Then I found out that the dentin pin was put in backwards. So I fixed the problem and it was smashed and working fine. I completely demented my pressure chamber to wear the barrel guard wouldnít even fit on the gun. The expansion chamber wound u looking like a banana clip.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 6th, 2004 at 1:26 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

PaintMeyster Sunday, June 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
friend's Rebel BTB
friend's 98c
Marker Setup: Avalon GT Commando 2 black with a 20 oz.
Recommended
Upgrades:
20 in. Boomstick, better trigger frame.
Remote, anodize a fade color onto it.
HI-RISE sight rail (no point in low rail if it's powerfeed)
new duckbill and LPC (low pressure chamber)
basically PIMP-ready out of the box!!!!!
Strengths: VERRRY accurate to the point, sounds like a CANNON at high velocity.
Weaknesses: feels loose, almost too loud...
Also doublefires occasionally.
Review: THIS IS THE GUN. I was soiled when I first heard it shoot. So were 10 other people.
YOU ARE &^%# IF YOU THINK IT IS &^%#.
You can be a pro with this gun. Nice barrel, noce stock, nice cocking, SWEET SOUND,
chopless! Big pin on duckbill, causes some 12 oz. tanks to leak endlessly thru barrel.
I used 200 balls on high velocity and used a COMPLETE 12 oz. on 1st day.
There is NO purpose in a low sight rail when you have PowerFeed.
I started paintball with this and love it. It is sooo powerful that it shoots 317 ft. per sec.
Not the best in speed shooting, I've gotten to 4 bps. It says 7 but...???
See my reviews on Brass Eagle balls and have yoself a laugh.
If a ball breaks, prepare to be wetted. Comes out the nameplate, feed, barrel FLOWS WITH PAINT, hopper is instantly transformed. Also it gets 1000+shots on 20 oz. and 600+on 12 oz. It shoots balls back into hopper when you're low on ammo. If you're a sniper, this gun is perfect except for when at max velocity (315+fps) IT SCREAMS LIKE A CANNON!!!, but it still sounds PIMP! CAUTION: it shreds cheap paint to no end! Get GAP or RPS. Don't recommend big nitrous tanks, would waste it like heck. Mine goes about 18 bps. with a pro finger set. CHOPLESS! This is a really INTIMIDATING ANGEL of a gun!!!! Check my coming soon website: darksportz.com or darksidesportz.com. REP!

Y'know that shirt that says:
You bought a $1400 gun, you shoot 14bps., you carry a 114 tank, you carry 1140 rds. of
paint and you still can't hit me. AND YOUR BATTERIES JUST DIED.
SHOULDA HAD YOUR
___________-*Commando*-___________
(some names changed out of sheer politeness)
Conclusion: If you don't have it, GET YOUR LAZY *_*_*_* UP AND GET ONE!
It blows the wings off of Angels and that intimidating look off the faces of
those Intimidators.
GET THIS GUN!!!!!!!
If you say its a waste you are bull**** and should be stuffed into the feed and shot out a few times!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 23rd, 2003 at 1:23 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

g_splat Wednesday, April 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL
Spyder SE
PMI Piranha
Marker Setup: Armotech SIM-4 Elite, Armotech Zeus Semi-Auto Pistol, PGP Pump Pistol, Spyder AMG Electric, Spartan Pump, Pure Energy HPA 3000, 12v Revolution, Raven Paintball Nuvis-1 1.0, Ronin Gear 5 pack, COPS 911 Scenario Vest & Military A.L.I.C.E Gear
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing. Get rid of the marker as fast as you can! I can sum up this marker in one word, GARBAGE!
Strengths: None.
Weaknesses: Jams
Accuracy is non-existant.
It goes thru both air & CO2 like mad.
Review: One word, GARBAGE! I bought this marker on it's looks and reputation as being the same if not better than Spyder. I was sorely wrong. The markers trigger broke litterally on it's third shot. In getting the trigger fixed, I had to pay for shipping both ways! The company was originally billed on thier site as a "AMERICAN COMPANY, WITH AMERICAN MADE MARKERS". True, they have a office in Texas, but their factories are in Korea. No one, NO ONE in their office spoke english except one rep who spoke broken english. She was rude, abrasive, and uncaring about the situation. At one point I was literally told, "Oh well, we have you money now so there's nothing you can do". Seriously. Once I got the marker back, it was scratched, dented in one area, & had a huge scratch down the inside of the barrel.

NEVER (I CAN'T STRESS THIS ENOUGH) NEVER BUY A AVALON PRODUCT!
Conclusion: I'd be thrilled to see Avalon as a whole go out of business. They lie, treat thier customers like crap, and take your money for the cheapest product they can give you.

STAY AWAY FROM THESE MAKRERS AT ALL COST!!!

My Rating: F - - - - (If there was anything below a F-, I'd give it to them)
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 30th, 2005 at 9:45 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

IvanBarker Friday, April 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Avalon Commando 2
32 Degrees Quiet Riot Barrel, 32 degrees spring set, 12 oz CO2
Crappy 200rnd hopper, Shoulder Sling
R-2000 Regulator, Flashlight and laser mod
Dye grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel.. thats about all that can be upgraded, CANT upgrade bolt, hammer, grips, valve, vertical adaptor
Strengths: Looks, shoulder stock, accuracy, upgraded stock parts
Weaknesses: Poor machining, useless sight, cant upgrade, trigger, barrel guard, noise
Review: I got this gun about a year ago, last summer. Me and my brother ordered one each on pressure from my brother. His friend has a commando 1, and he seemed happy with it, so we figured that we would get the upgraded version. Tell you the truth, I was a huge noob at the time, so I fell to the cool looks of the gun, and the nice description and bought it. I bought it for $130 american, before taxes, shipping and customs. After all the costs were added together, it was a small fortune I shelled out. I bought the quiet riot barrel at the same time as well.

I have never used the stock barrel. My brother uses the stock barrel though, and he seems to have an okay time with it. And he can shoot me with the stock barrel, so nothing wrong with that. As soon as I received the gun, I put the quiet riot on... or tried. The barrel guard was too small to put on the new barrel. So what did I do? I took a pair of plyers and pryed the barrel guard until it was wide enough. The problem now is, the guard is still too small, and everytime I put on my barrel, the guard scratches up the end of the barrel; the part closest to the gun. So much for guarding my barrel... It does look good though.

I guess thats another thing. While the gun is a nice colour (I got silver), it isnt a traditional silver. Its a chrome, off silver colour. So I bought a silver barrel hoping it'd match... it doesnt.

The gun shoots pretty well. I dont know what all these guys are talking about, chopping balls? I can go through a case of 2000 paintballs and break 1 or 2. Thats pretty good in my mind. It shoots the balls fairly well. Could be better though, there is a drop off of the ball fairly fast, but that could be from the barrel (I hear the barrel bore size is too big). The gun shoots pretty fast, Id say maybe 10 bps. Which isnt fast compared to Eguns... But Id rather play woodsball, so I dont really need to shoot uber fast, and I dont think this gun is meant for speedball.

The noise is way too loud for this to be a woodsball gun. When I play woodsball, I like to sneak up beside people and nail them. Well I try, until their buddies can hear me wailing away. The noise is a very large "THUM THUM THUM". I have it narrowed down to being the hammer. Even without the CO2 installed its very loud. The noise is intimidating, but only for small 12 year old kids, not the experienced paintball player.

The looks of the gun are nice. The gun itself is very scary and people ask a lot of times what kind of gun is it. When I say its an Avalon they usually ask if it really does chop tons of balls... Anyways, the looks are nice, the length of the gun is good for me and I think the shoulder stock is great. I use the shoulder stock all the time. It makes it feel more like a real gun in my mind. I wouldnt mind getting a remote line though, because the CO2 tank gets in the way, and Id feel cooler with it lol. The stock makes it feel like its stabilizing my shots, but Im not too sure if it does. The sight on the gun is practically useless. The ball feed is soddered on so a right handed person has the hopper right in the way. I need to add that it's very poorly soddered on. The dovetail mounting is nice, and I could mount a red dot sight on it.

The front air volumizer thing, for an LP setup can't be screwed off, which sucks cause I want to replace it. I think I want to get a CiP 15 degrees assault block, but I somehow doubt that it will fit in the gun.

Im gonna talk about the internals now. I have cleaned and oiled my gun after everytime Ive played. But my gun is still being scratched to crap on the inside. More namely, the hammer/striker is scratching up everything. The hammer is fairly heavy and ugly as heck. Its not smooth at all and doesnt seem to be the most efficient with the flat face. The flat face possibly leads to the amount of noise the gun has, dont quote me on that. The bad finish on the hammer may have lead to the scratching on the inside. So I decided to replace the Orings and polish it. That didnt do anything at all and it still scratches. The venturi bolt is nice, other then its been badly manufactured. There are, what i beleive, to be heat scars across the top of the bolt, and thats not nice. Its just poor making of the bolt, and Im sure I got a bad one, but my brothers has the same scarring. I have no complaints about the front valve, other then the airflow through the valve isnt the best.

So what have I done about these messed up parts? Not a danged thing! Dont get me wrong, Ive tried. My first step was polishing the internals and replacing the seals. That didnt do too much. Next I thought Id replace the internals. Contrary to what some people say THIS IS NOT SPYDER COMPATIBLE, out side of the barrel threads. I first ordered up a nice bolt. I tried to put it into my gun, and the bolt pin wouldnt fit into my hammer. So I forced it in. I then put the bolt into my gun and it was too long! The bolt covered up a quarter of the the area where the ball drops. So Im like ok, maybe the bolt is just too long... and I ordered up a 32 degrees spyder bolt. Its 32 degrees, how can you go wrong? Well... It was too long once again! So I think this gun just doesnt accept spyder bolts, I spent money on 2 perfect bolts and they dont fit. Then I tried replacing the stock valve with a 32 degrees magnaport valve. Well the stock valve is longer then the new valve. This means that I cant screw in my trigger assembly because the screw goes right up into the valves Orings. Not to mention that theres another useless hole right beside the screw hole that the replacement valve leaks out. So basically your stuck with the stock valve cause the gun body physically wont accept a new one. I also ordered a new polished stock hammer/striker from an actual spyder. I doubt this will fit, but ill post when I get it and try. I also bought a 32 degrees spring set, and this works just as planned. Although I did get a soft and hard velocity spring with the gun, I still use the 32 degrees ones. So judging from the lack of bolts I can install and the not being able to install a new valve, the commando ISNT SPYDER COMPATIBLE. The spyder barrel fit though...

After using this gun for a year I have noticed some warpage in the body. Where the cocking nob slides all the way in, there is warping of frame. I mean in the horizontal cocking hole. Whats happening is the body is not built for the hammer, and the cocking nob hits the body after it shoots. Now there is a lot of pressure, and after the nob hits the body it causes it to warp. This is annoying as crap, and I cant make the cocking hole any longer because I dont have access to a machine shop to drill out a larger hole.

The trigger sucks. The trigger has a very long pull. I dont mind the long pull, I actually kind of enjoy it, giving it a more realistic feel. What annoys me though, is that the trigger is loose. Ive tried to tighten it, but its still loose. I think ill have to buy a new trigger... If it can fit.

The gun isnt too hard to take apart, once you get use to it. Its defiantly not a pullpin, feild strip gun. Ive taken the whole thing apart many times. Ive also taken apart the expansion chamber, which I dont recommend, because its a punk to line it up right afterwards.

I like the open bolt, side cocking, but I can see it being a problem with dirt getting in it.

The guns weight is fine.

The included carry backpack is great for holding the gun.

*Edit:
I tried to add a stock hammer from a normal spyder, that didnt work out too well.... I also added some dye grips. The grips wouldnt fit so I had to alter the holes on the grips so they would fit. Who woulda thought that the trigger frame is a different size for this gun. AND then today, I got a 32 degrees vertical adaptor. (Because the U-one vertical adaptor has horrible air flow through it compared to the 32 degrees vertical adaptor, and you cant take off the volumizer) So I put on my P.I.M.P volumizer onto the 32 degrees VA and tried to put it on the commando 2... no dice. Of course the U-One VA has to be like 1/4 of an inch longer than a normal VA, so the screw holes dont line up. So heres whats messed up in the commando: the valve isnt compatible, the VA isnt compatible, the grips arent compatible, the bolt isnt compatible, the hammer isnt compatible. I think the expansion chamber is compatible, but Im not too sure about that.

Meh I think Im might quit this sport, this gun is costing me way too much and not getting any better.
Conclusion: Ok so I guess I ripped my gun to shreads with this review and after writing it, I think I'm going to try to sell this gun and buy maybe a tippman, or maybe a cheap spyder. The gun has it's big time flaws, with it's internal failures. But it does have its nice looks going for it. What pissed me off most was the lack of being able to upgrade. I thought this was spyder compatible? No its just the barrel. I was hoping to write a nice review after I upgraded, so I could be like "It takes a little work, but this gun is nice." Looks like I cant write that. I wont give this gun a terrible rating, because it has served me decently for the past year, and my brother does seem to enjoy his. I wont give it a good rating either due to its manifacturing flaws, lack of spyder compatibilty and other major drawbacks.

Damn, thats enough of this essay. Hope you find this helpful! Yeah I could use the money so I think Im going to sell this.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 4th, 2005 at 1:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KevonPaintballa Monday, April 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used an avalon gt commando 3 and a Pirahna STS 2k3 G-force
Marker Setup: right now, i am still using the avalon GT commando 2 because it shoots so straight and it is so nice when you shoot it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
i would upgrade from the stock barrel to maybe a 21"barrel that may be $30 and it works much much better with mine.
Strengths: this gun shoots straight, and hard ive never had a better 1
Weaknesses: the stock barrel
Review: i have paintballed for 7 years, and thsi is 1 of the best, cheapest gun i have used. i would reccomend using this gun because it shoots so nice and accurate. you can upgrade many parts on this gun too, it is one of the best guns i have used, i have had it for 2 years, and it almost never chops a ball.
Conclusion: i would deffinitley reccomend buying this product because of how good it is for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Tl, spyder Tl+, Bruizer Fugitive, Tippmann 68 carbine
Marker Setup: 4x15 scope and 16" tru-flight barrel and 32 degree grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
like any other maker on the market a new barrel is just what the doctor orders.
Strengths: extremely quick recoil and fire rate , accuracy , a real fun gun for the money. The commando is a real peice of work. Just the look of fear in your opponents eyes is worth buying this marker. I'v put over 6000 rounds of JT elite paintballs through this marker and not a one of them busted. I'v read some of the other reviews and if you didn't like this maker, you just didn't know what u were doing.
Weaknesses: not field stripable
Conclusion: Love this marker!!! If you only buy one marker in your life it should be the commando gt 2.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sergeantslauter Wednesday, November 28th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Revelation, Tippman model 98 and 98 custom
Marker Setup: Avalon GT Commando 2, completely out of the box. 20oz tank and regular 200 round hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel would be nice but is definately not needed.
Strengths: I love this gun i have only tried it out in my backyard but, i am going to play over the weekend. I shot over 500 paintballs through this barrel with no breaks although the balls might have had something to do with it( RPS all stars) the gun is extremely fast and accurate. I think this gun is better than a 98 and it costs around the same. The gun fires faster than the 98 and just as accurate. It will fire as fast as you can pull the trigger. The engineering of the gun looks like a modified spyder in my opinion. This gun also fits all spyder barrels.
Weaknesses: I have heard people tell me this gun is heavy this is because they are holding it wrong they put the sholder stock on their shoulder then support it with the hand on the expansion chamber. Of coarse this would make it feel heavy try holding your gun with one hand and see if it gets a little heavy. I have no problem with the weight because i am not a whimp. I also heard it won't fit a 20oz tank i have a 20 on it and it fits fine even with the shoulder brace on.
Conclusion: I love this gun for the money the only thing that might possibly compare to it is the 98 custom, although the customs i used curved before this does. Overall i would recommend this gun to anyone wishing to go amature or just playing for fun. If you want a gun for pro i would go with an electronic gun but for the non-electronic field this will compete against anything if you have a little skill. This is worth the money you pay i would pay 250 for this gun it is worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:30 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hman769 Tuesday, March 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL +, E-99, M98, System X Cocker
TL + is 2X better
M98 is 2X better also
E-99 has full auto and is a spyder not an off brand so its 3X better
The Cocker is a whole different world
Marker Setup: Texas Storm Timmy
Evil Pipe/Empire 7 piece
Alias LPR, Front Block, and Volumizer
Shocktech Bolt
Shocktech Ram
Hybrid Ram Cap
CP roller
W.A.S. 2.7
Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Air
Strengths: Spyder Compatable
looks cool
has a stock
Weaknesses: Cheap
breaks easily
dosen't live up to what Avalon says
Review: Spyder compatible can get great upgrades (but waste the money get a spyder) Looks sweet, all metal, it is kinda cheap, works ok in hot weather, can keep up with spyders and all other guns in the price range on a good day. It was a good learning experience for me. Ok accuracy nothing like a cocker but its not in that price range either.
After about 1/2 a year the stock bolt went to $hit as well as the rest of the internals ( I cleaned and oiled the gun before and after every use ). It sucks in cold weather unlike what the company says, the expansion chamber leaks around were it connects to the gun, the new bolt i got from Avalon was really different from the original it was grooved to miss the detent which was a smart move but the bolt was all scratched up and mangled I would recommend this gun to someone who doesn't have enough for a spyder they are really just about the same price so don't be cheap spend the extra 10-20 bucks on a spyder. If it is really what you want then go for it but be prepared for a rough ride.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to someone who doesn't have enough for a spyder they are really just about the same price so don't be cheap spend the extra 10-20 bucks on a spyder. If it is really what you want then go for it but be prepared for a rough ride. It served me fine till i got enough for a cocker and oh yeah also that part when it went retarded for about 3 weeks
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 17th, 2007 at 12:22 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Alex98 Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
My tippy with lapco big shot, spyder e-99, genisis surge, A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C
Flatline and lapco big shot
Folding stock
Expansion chamber
preformance power tube and bolt
mad man spring kit
tac strap
tasco red dot site 1X
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, all spyder theads work on this gun
Strengths: LOOKS, it can use a scope, cheap, overall good woodsball gun
Weaknesses: Certain parts break easily, ball latch(just keep a spare)
Review: I have tested this gun may times and for the price it is a good gun for woodsball.

My cousin has this gun and he loves it. I like it too because of all the upgrades it comes with stock(venturi bolt, stock, raised site rail, double trigger, ect.) Although the gun has its bad rep of reliability it is really not all that bad becuase the only problem I have ever had with it is the ball latch.

The gun stock may have bad accuracy stock but dont most low end markers. All you need is a new barrel. I recamend a lapco if you got some money to spend other wise get a $19 tru flight barrel.

I have fired this gun about 500 times before the ball latch broke and I never broke a single ball.

I gave this gun a 9 becuase of its quality for the price. -1 becoase the tippy is cheaper and better.
Conclusion: This is a great gun. If you dont like tippmanns.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ClamChowda Tuesday, January 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
*Spyder TL Plus- much better in performance STOCK than the Commando. Still, when both are upgraded, the spyder is still better.
*Old School Automag- Annihilates the commando in terms of performance stock also. The commando doesn't compare at all to either of these markers.
Marker Setup: Automag Powerfeed, Old School 12" All American, Shocktech Stubby Drop forward, PE 68/3000 HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Don't waste any time or money with it, but if you must, upgrade to a better barrel.
Strengths: It shot alright when it wasn't clogged with paint. Comfortable with the stock.
Weaknesses: Loud, hungry for paintballs, crappy trigger pull
Review: My bud michael had one of these and let me use it once. I made sure it was cleaned, oiled, and the tank had full pressure. I air it up, take it into the woods, and my third shot, I have a chop. This annoyed me. I cleaned it again, and I did not have to wait much longer until the same thing happened. I was using fresh marbalizers, whcich are pure quality paintballs. I don't know if the gun I was using was defective, but overall, I completely did not like it.
Conclusion: Overall, pure crap. No, this is not a sniper marker, nothing in paintball is "sniper" unless you find something that shoots over 100 yds. accurately. Do not get it if you've read other reviews saying it is a "sniper" gun, because once again, that term does not exsist in the sport of paintball. It is detrimental to the sport if anything. Back to the gun- fortunately, I've never had to give a product less than a 5 before, but this deserves what I give it, which is a-
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 22nd, 2003 at 12:31 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media