paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Avalon GT Commando / Avalon GT Commando / Avalon GT Commando / Avalon GT Commando

Avalon GT Commando Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Avalon

Buy Avalon GT Commando

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Avalon GT Commando
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 28
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Quick disconnect system, unstripable rear body screw, 45 grip with circular cover, honed barrel, and bottomline.
Product Availability 
The Avalon GT Commando is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
nickpbstar Tuesday, March 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 with flatline, spyder tl plus and black dragun with freak barrel system
Marker Setup: commando 1 upgraded 12" 32* terrminator barrel and 14" JandJ ceramic barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel and new bolt. especially a new bolt
Strengths: good gun for the money
accurate with the terminator i put on there for speedball
stock is ok if you keep it spotless but if not it sux
good co2 efficiency
simple design makes it easy to take apart yur gun and easy to understand if sumthin goes wrong
hardly chops paint once i got the velocity set right
Weaknesses: chops way too much paint if you dont have the velocity set right(dont turn up the velocity all the way like i did and you wont have any problems with breaking balls)
the stock is ok if you keep it spotless, but if you get dirt and other crap in it prepare to chop balls like crazy
no double trigger
trigger pull is way to hard
power feed is right in the way of the sight rail which renders it useless
needs a field strip pin
Conclusion: its a good gun for the money and an even better gun with some tweeks and upgrades.
i wood recommend this gone to an entry level player like i was when i first got it and one more thing, dont turn the velocity up or you will break so much paint it aint even funny and with the velocity down i also found out that it makes the balls shoot straighter than when i had the velocity cranked up all the way. and i wood recommed investing some money in a pair of gloves because hand shots hurt like a mofo!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Tito Thursday, May 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman w/ 14 inch barrel...... 10/10/ Spyder Java 2 in 1... double trigger good.... 9/10...... guns were more expensive... i got mine to mess around with the neighbors.... it does its job
Marker Setup: Stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I might get a barrel. It already has a 11 inch. Maybe Expansion chamber for something to hold onto .
Strengths: Cheap 60 bucks. Semi auto. Durable... twisting velocity changer .
Weaknesses: Curves a little. Single trigger. No expeansion chamber. Not the best out there
Review: Since its only a 60 dollar gun... competing against my friends 150 dollar guns i give it an 8. It does curve a little stock but if you wanna mess around this is a great paintball gun to get. Get another barrel and hopefully it will help you out. peace.
Conclusion: This gun is good for recreation and good woods. I would recomend it to a begginer.Since its only a 60 dollar gun... competing against my friends 150 dollar guns i give it an 8. It does curve a little stock but if you wanna mess around this is a great paintball gun to get. Get another barrel and hopefully it will help you out. peace.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PeTeY_Nelson Wednesday, June 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Avalon commando 1 w/ 9oz CO2 bottle
Strengths: Very light. Easy to use with one hand.
Weaknesses: If you want to hold it with 2 hands your out of luck.
Review: Even though it is my first gun, I love it.. I run around on the field slipping and sliding and never lose accuracy... Use CO2 like a dream, I dosen't waste air, I shot about 400 rounds with a 9oz tank and still have plenty of air left... Allthough I will eventually want a new gun I won't sell this one...
Conclusion: Buy it. It cost a respectable price, it's light weight, semi-auto, and easy to use.... Good for beginers....
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 28th, 2003 at 7:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BuBbA BFP Thursday, June 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Avalon Combat,lots of Spyder, And PMI's
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra
VL Revolution 12v X-Board
14" SP TearDrop
20oz and 9oz tank
(Commando 1 Back up)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get an X-Chamber,New barrel.
Strengths: 1. shots Straight
2. Reliable
3. Short trigger pull
4. Great Gun
Weaknesses: 1. May chop some balls
2. has no x-chamber
3. Crappy velocity adjuster
Review: Well guys this guns is a good gun, but mine is a lil difrent thanthe one in the pic, i actually have this as my back up instead something happens to my Electra, this gun looks ok, shots hela straight with a new barrel, even with stock is pretty koo. good gun for biginners, reliable in the field get it if your a new dude.
Conclusion: it was worth the money i spent for it only 60 bucks, then affer a coupe of months got my Electra(awsome) but yeah guys if your new i recommend this gun its pretty cheap only like 60 bucks veriaty of colors and its worth the buy. il give it a 9 out of a 10 because its a great marker for its category, it was goin against Spyders for me. but yeah Good marker. (Best one from avalon)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha Bl
Marker Setup: Commando 2, Vl electronic 200 round hopper, 14" CP Classic barrel. PMI Premium balls
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electronic hopper, 14" CP Classic Barrel
Strengths: 50+ accurate yard shots. With CP barrel fairly quiet. The stock for steady shot's.
Weaknesses: Only thing I have seen it is hard to clean. It's not for speed ball.
Conclusion: With different barrel this marker with the right balls will take out the opponent at 50+ yards. Went against tippman's, 68 automags classic, piranha, and several other markers and it held it's own. I have a 14" CP barrel (.689), and using PMI Premium balls and only busted 2 balls out of 500. The stock makes it very easy for a good straight accurate shot. I used a 12 oz. tank under the stock with no problems. Payed $190.00 for this marker and wish I had done it earlier. This is no doubt the best marker I have seen for the woods. If you want a good marker for the woods, check out the Commando 2, you won't be sorry.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stingray 2
spyder compact
Marker Setup: GT Commando, expantion chamber, low preasure system, 16" windforce barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, expantion chamber, lowpressure system (YOU MUST HAVE THIS TO MOUNT EXPANTION CHAMBER), raised sight rail is a must for mounting sights or scopes.
Strengths: I bought this gun brand new for $90, grip is awesome, upgrades are not essential, nice size and weight, quality parts, easy maintenance, looks sweet,
uses spyder barrels.
Weaknesses: There is nothing I can say that is bad about the gun its self, I would say that maybe this gun is not as popular as it should be, but Im sure it will get more popular, and then more cool upgrades will be available.
Conclusion: This gun is exellent, there is no need for me to replace this gun, its the perfect semi auto. the all around feel of this gun is very good
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nickpbstar Friday, February 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
j and j ceramic 14" barrel
compared 2 the stock
Marker Setup: commando 1 upgraded j and j 14" ceramic barrel and a copperhead red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel and an expansion chamber
Strengths: its a good gun for the money
quiet with the j and j
very simple design which in turn makes it easy to take apart
is upgradeable with spyder parts
real venturi bold
Weaknesses: the stock sux balls- i spent half of my time chopping paint and the other half cleaning it out
no front handle, so it makes it hard to find another place to put your hand
the power-feeder is right in the way of the sight so its kinda hard to aim
if your runnin out of co2 the whole frame of the gun gets freezing cold
the stock makes the gun soooooooo loud
Conclusion: this is a good gun for the money and i would reccomend an entry level paye to buy it, the stock sux but that is easily fixed and get an expansion chambe or any kind of grip , just sumthin to hold on 2 instead of the bottom-line.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RTR Tuesday, December 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Indian Creek Thunder Cat. No comparison.
Marker Setup: Tippman Custom 98 w/ Flatline
Strengths: Nothing
Weaknesses: I ordered two guns as Christmas gifts and thank God I tested them before giving them away. I had to shoot numerous balls to tune them in because they were chopping real bad at the get go. One gun leaked internally in the area of the venturi bolt. I took it apart and changed the o-ring, but that didn't help. I sent it back to Action Village and got another one. Well the replacement leaked even worse and no matter what I did it chopped 3 out of 4 balls and this after cleaning the barrel several times. I contacted Avalon and explained the problem and was told the inside might need to be re honed and possibly the venturi bolt was not seated correctly. This was a brand new gun and they wanted me to send it to them for repairs already?. No way, I'm in the process of sending them both back to Action. They are the worst guns I could ever imagine buying. I purchased Piranha's for $15 more and am now paying for over night shipping to get them here before Christmas. What a nightmare.
Conclusion: Don't buy this gun. Spend a little extra and buy a Pirahna or Spider.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pyro4557 Sunday, June 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra, tippmann 98
Marker Setup: nothing
Recommended
Upgrades:
another gun
Strengths: 1.saves CO2
2.can take spyder up grades
Weaknesses: it chops balls
the coking nob brakes esily
Review: The commando 1 is a sorry excuse for a gun . The only good thing about it is it saves CO2 and it comes with a free hopper. You will probably spend most of your time cleaning the barrel because it chops up bunch balls at a time. The crater of the gun needs to be dragged out in the street and shot. I donít understand how the testers at Avalon can miss this.
Conclusion: dont by it just spend like 10 or 20 dollars more and get a spyder
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

avaloncommando Sunday, September 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
diablo sabatoge(sucks), spyders, tippmans and piranhas
Marker Setup: Avalon commando ACI sub-zero expansion chamber, dye excel barrel new spring kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, expansion chamber
Strengths: accurate, simple disign easy to field strip, verty co2 efficient
Weaknesses: shoots slow if you don't put new spring in, thats about it
Review: Good beginers gun, i now have a spyder elecrta. For the rec games i played in the woods with my friends it worked great, but now we play in arenas, but still play woods ball. One thig that bothered me was that for some reason 2 balls broke in the feed, i don't know if that was the paint or anything. I put a ACI expansion chamber and it worked a hell of alot better, barrel isn't a must but it helps
Conclusion: great gun for beginers, i'd prolly save up a little more and get a spyder extra, but its a good gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media