paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Nitro Duck Mega Reg Ajustable Tank / Nitro Duck Mega Reg Ajustable Tank / Nitro Duck Mega Reg Ajustable Tank

Nitro Duck Mega Reg Ajustable Tank Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Nitro Duck

Buy Nitro Duck Mega Reg Ajustable Tank

Paintball Air Systems and Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Nitro Duck Mega Reg Ajustable Tank
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A 4500 psi tank with a on off a doubble regulator (like two reg's in one) externally adjustible reg. Two guages output and input. Avalible in 45, 68, 90 ci tanks.
Product Availability 
The Nitro Duck Mega Reg Ajustable Tank is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Vaypourus Thursday, November 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Air America Apocalypse
Marker Setup: 1998 Automag w/ Black Teflon PF HR body, Retro Valve, Benchmark Body Rail, Benchmark Foregrip, milled Kapp Foregrip extender, Z-grip, milled Kapp Stubby Drop, Kapp Pro connect, Smoke Warp Feed, Smoke 12 volt X-board Revy
Strengths: -Performance is Top notch. Very high flow ( I can easily do 15-20 BPS with the gun in full auto "run away" mode). Dual regulation makes for a very consistant tank. Paired with the automag valve, I can shoot perfect strings at the chrono station.

-Construction is also top notch. The machining is very good; surfaces are smooth and finished. The regulator itself is chrome, with the adjustment knob on the front dull annodized to whatever color you want. High presure guage is on the right side, the LP gauge is on the left.

-The knob for the output adjustement is very easy to turn; there is also a set screw on the reg to lock the pressure adjustment knob into place. The on/off is very easy to turn. The best feature is that the tank itself unscrews from the rest of the regulator. This is great for getting the tank filled, or for storing/transporting the gun without unscrewing the regulator from the gun. The tank comes off with several turns, however, stays tightly in place when there is pressure in the regulator.

-The tuffskin tank itself has a 5 year retest. As the title describes, the Tuffskin is pretty resilient to scratches.

I bought my tank directly from Pro Paintball (FreeFlow autococker guys). I received a lifetime warranty on parts and labor directly from them.
Weaknesses: -This setup will only accept the two drop forwards made by Nitro Duck. There is no dovetail slot on the regulator body, and no place to use a Kapp DZII or similar clamp style drop. Both are cheesy, ugly, and way too long for my taste. I had to have a guy mill a stubby drop to fit the tank.

-Not as light as a Max Flo or a Conquest, but lighter than the AA tanks.

-Max pressure is 920 psi. I would preffer a higher pressure for my mag, but it does the trick.
Conclusion: I am very pleased with this setup, much more so than my AA Apoc. Even @ $400, I would highly suggest this tank. I give it a nine, simply becuase they couldn't of made it usable with any other drop forward/cradel except thiers.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

andrew@95 Monday, November 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
4 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
center flag
Marker Setup: angel ir3 c&c
Strengths: This tank is very consitent and works better then angel AIR.
Weaknesses: price and weight
Review: This is a very good tank for any gun. I have 2 of these tanks one for my black magic autocoker with a e-blade and on for my angel ir3. if you want a light mega reg go on ebay and if someone is selling the old style they are light and usulay cheap but or just as good as the new ones. I use these tanks because they are very consitent and evey at high rates of fire wich both of my guns can do. I you want the best tank out there go for this tank. you can usualy find these for a good price on ebay.
Conclusion: THIS IS THE BEST TANK OUT THERE BUT THE PRICE AND WEIGHT COULD BE BETTER.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 24th, 2003 at 8:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

buzzboy Monday, November 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have only used CO2 and a preset crossfire before this
Marker Setup: 03 Viking
WAS 1.?
CCM Clamper
Sidewinder
Javelin Barrel
Nitroduck MegaReg Tank
Xboard Revy
Strengths: Review
Weaknesses: Review
Review: (to let it be known this is an older megareg)
I just traded up to this from a screw in crossfire. So far it seems to be a great tank. The drop isn't too bad but seems a little bulky. It sits pretty welll in my arms though. Really what I like is that it has a steady output pressure and is pretty consistant even in long 15 bps strings.

Strengths:
Tuff skin does as it says
Easy adjustment
Easy Mounting
Consistant

Weaknesses:
Really weird fill nipple thing thats like 3 inches long
Ugly Drop
Conclusion: I really like this tank. If you have the cash and want a good adjustable get this tank.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mechanic79 Saturday, February 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI, Center Flag
Marker Setup: RT PRO, KAPP Drop Zone lll, Level 10, Warp Feed, Ricochet 2k
Strengths: Adjustable output pressure and Customer Service
Weaknesses: Very few drops work with the reg. and hard to swtich between guns
Review: The SS reg is quality, the tanks have a 5 year hydro. Customer service is excellent. Nice gauges that read accurate.
I've used this tank for woods ball and speed ball it works great for both.
Having the adjustability is key, you can fine tune your tank pressure to your marker which is especially important when you have an Automag.
Conclusion: You get your moneys worth and it's a cheaper alternative for an adjustable regulated tank.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stockcom Wednesday, October 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
mini-reg, max flo, pure energy 68/3000
Marker Setup: VF cocker with low pressure internals, tickler, ans ram, shocktech bomb 3-way, ans quickfire trigger frame, orracle delron bolt, black magic barrel, evolution 2, and a mega reg on a mark drop
Strengths: consistency, low pressure, high flow, dependability, dual regulation, 4500 psi
Weaknesses: weight, price
Review: a few of my buddies with a lot more money than me had been using mega-regs for a long time and kept on telling me i should get one. i had a pure energy 68/3000 forever on a bone stock right feed cocker. i didn't think i'd ever need one. sure, the pure energy tank and the wgp reg worked great on a stock cocker, but when i decided to get a verticle feed low pressure cocker, i found these didn't like the low pressure, high flow situations i was putting them in. so i bought a mini-reg. it was nice, same consistency and flow as the mega-reg, but only 3000 lbs. as i started playing tournaments and scenario games, i found that i needed a little bit more air. also, i have a rat II valve, and while it is low pressure, it is also very innaficient as far as valves go. so i sucked it up and bought a mega-reg off e-bay. it was a risk, i know, to buy an air system off e-bay, and i've seen my share of bad air systems bought from there, but i had sent in my mini-reg once to nitro duck and got it back quickly and working great. i figured if the mega-reg had a problem i could do the same. turns out i have had it for over a year and a half and have had no problems. my favorite part of the system is the fact that i run my gun at 215 lbs and when my tanks starts to get below about 300 psi it will still feed my gun 215 lbs. i remember some guy getting all pissed of at his max flow because it still had 400psi in it, but it couldn't give him 100lbs to run his impulse. that gives me about 50-70 extra shots that i couldn't get with any other air system. the only two drawbacks it has is that it is a little heavy (it is solid stainless steel) and that is costs around 400. however, when you consider that max-flos and 4500 pure energy systems go for about as much, it doesn't seem that bad anymore.
Conclusion: i would recomend the mega-reg for people who run low pressure, fast firing markers. it is more consistent that anything else i have ever seen or used, and it has been problem free for me for a long time. if you don't need high flow, consistency, or dual regulation, it may be a tad expensive for the average joe. however, if you need all of the above and want to invest in a high-end dual regualted air system, get the mega-reg.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mlucasone Friday, January 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
max flo, crossfire preset
Marker Setup: aka viking
lapco autospirit
nitro duck mega reg 68/3000
12 volt revvy, x board
Strengths: its fully adjustable from 0-1000 psi. tank screws off from regulator to allow for conveniant filling and transporting. i recieve absolutely NO dropoff, very consistant. customer service is top notch
Weaknesses: its a little heavy. i have the old style and its kinda hard to turn the adjustment knob, it requires a allen key or screw driver to be put in the hole to use as a lever to turn.
Conclusion: Overall this product is great, it only costed me $150 on ebay and for that price it has performed as well as the best tanks out there. the materials this is made from is top notch. I would definately recommend this tank, especially the new style.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hey_zues69 Friday, September 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nitro duck fiber wrapped, Angel air, armageddon, but none compare to the consistancy
Marker Setup: Shocktech cocker w/ KAPP 15* adapter Chrome, had to mill it so it would fit a '99 body, System X Gas-Thru grip blue, dye hinge chrome, dye stickies blue,
KAPP F.A.T Ram blue, Palmer Rock Reg w/ blue shocktech rock knob, Bomb 3-way w/ Kapp actuating rod, KAPP Blue pump arm, blue hose kit, AKA lightning bolt, nitro duck mega reg its cradle is annodized blue, KAPP Cocking rod (twisted) Blue, RAT 3:16 valve, KAPP spring set, blue macro line,Boomstick 12in, Richochet 2k blue, and a DYE tank cover blue 68ci.
Strengths: Very Very, ultra consistant, most consistant I've ever seen! i was getting (w/ a good paint barrel match) 285,285,285,285,285,285,283,286,285,285, now if thats not good then tell me whats better! now, the tank screws off the reg so you can fill it w/o lugging that gun around! but they forgot to include a gauge on that screw off tank, but thats cool, you can fill em' up to 4500 and it has a tank pressure reg on the mount and a output gauge,which is very accurate.
It rocks! on my cocker ig ot around 1500rnds off a 68 4500 tank, not bad for a cocker. very very very good tank, you will not be dissapointed, and finally they put it on here for review, i've been sending in things telling them to put in up for like a month. very very good for the $$$ and it ahs a Tuff skin bottle, which you can skid across concrete and run it over, and over and pick it up and it works, and it looks cool too
Weaknesses: it is kinda heavy, but not as heavy as the angel air or armageddon
$410, but it is well well worth it
Conclusion: Very consistant and high flow, good for a cocker, great for a angel, super for everything!and it looks awesome too, better than anything i've seen, besides thw Worr gas adjustable reg. all in all and very super tank! very nice, go buy one now! screw armageddon and angel air! go w/ the experts! Nitroduck!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

impfan Wednesday, June 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Crossfire screw in 68/45
Centerflag screw in 68/45
Marker Setup: Impulse vision ready, vert maxflo, ND equilizer bolt, Freak kit, twister feed, OTB vert frame, Eggy 2 y board, kapp drop zone 2, Nitro duck mega reg 68/45, tapeworm.
Strengths: >Consistent
>Shiny
>Adjustable
(But you can have any other adjustable tank do this)
Weaknesses: >Very heavy
>Only fits a kapp drop forward (I dont like drops)
>Old version
Review: The consistency on this tank is great but its a friggin anvil. The reg is a big block of stainless steal. Also only like 4 drops will fit it adn i dont want a drop i just want a rail. Also the screw ins today are just as consistent yet not nearly as heavy and the thing that also sux on this tank is that you cant turn it off, adn you cant take it off the gun when its got air in it. You gotta mount it on the gun, go get it filled and leave it, also my tank leaks out of the gauge so i loose half of the tanks air over night. But i do like the adjustability but its toooooooo heavyyyyyyyyyy. So i am just going to sell it adn buy either a dye throttle, or a crossfire.
Conclusion: I would not buy this tank ever again, it is heavy, a hassle, adn you cannot turn it off, and it needs a clamping drop forward. I would say if you are buying an adjustable get a 04 maxflo, or a WGP worrgas adjustable, or maybe some sort of crossfire but stay away from these.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media