paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ANS GX-4 Chaos / ANS GX-4 Chaos / ANS GX-4 Chaos / ANS GX-4 Chaos

ANS GX-4 Chaos Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ANS

Buy ANS GX-4 Chaos

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ANS GX-4 Chaos
[ View Photos (13) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 95
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $450

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
New Front end Pneumatic kit. More porting has been added to the Jackhammer and 3way for faster recharge rates and higher ROF. New adjustable drop-forward assembly. New Adjustable Swing Trigger and N2 Hammer kit. Unlike the GX-3 Chaos Autococker the GX-4 comes with a 8" matching barrel.
Product Availability 
The ANS GX-4 Chaos are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
firewa11 Monday, June 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month24 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A-5 w/ RT & Smart Parts Progressive, 68/3k
Marker Setup: ANS GX-4, Pure Energy 68/3000, All American Freak, eVLution II, Marbalizer
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, obviously. I'm going to upgrade the bolt to a non quick-release delrin after I get the back bolt tapped for a straight through pin.
Strengths: Accuracy, Consistency, the drop forward & valve are very nice
Weaknesses: Barrel is 8" of crap.
Review: This is my first autococker. I've been playing for about 3 months now with a Tippman A-5 w/RT, but the cocker is in an entirely different league. I picked it up from UPS and opened it in the parking lot. Both my buddy and I were awed by how good this thing looks (yellow-black polished fade). Once I got it home, I was annoyed by the fact the eVLution hopper's neck was far too big to fit, but 5 minutes with the dremel sander, and it was good to go. I took it out in the back yard and was amazed at how quickly I dumped a hopper of paint. I compared the Smart Parts All American w/ Freak Front to the stock barrel... NOT EVEN CLOSE. My spread at 40 ft with the stock barrel was about a 15" grouping (20 balls). My A-5 did better than that (9" grouping, 20 balls). But with the Smart Parts Barrel, it rocks. 2" grouping at 40 ft. 20 times over. No joke.

Well, as anyone knows, shooting targets in the backyard doesn't compare to accuracy under duress, so how did it fare at the park? Awesome. Speed I can throw paint is amazing. And I could not believe the accuracy. At the chrono, I fired off a few shots, and was really nervous about how the consistancy would be... lined up over the chrono, and it went 281, 282, 281, 280, 281, 281, 281, 281, 282, 280, 281, 281, 281. No, I'm not making this up. I kept firing over it because I couldn't believe it. My Tippman was always an 8-10 point deviation. Anyways, on to play... The distance and accuracy with this puppy is awesome. I nailed a guy on the hopper that was behind their back standup, while I was in our back standup. A good 100+ ft. shot. And with the profile, it allows you to get very small up to bunkers and trees. I had the best day I ever did, and after 6 hours of playing, I completely lost count of how many guys I tagged. I had a grin on my face all weekend long. So not only does this thing perform, but also gets lots of ooohs and ahhhs in the staging area.

After the end of the day, I ran back through the chrono just to see if it fluctuated any. 280, 281, 281, 280, 282, 281. Heh. I absolutely love that.
Conclusion: All in all, I'm very pleased with this marker. I recommend it for ANYONE out there looking to spend money on a new marker. When you put it all together, it's really a good deal. You're getting a cocker with all premium parts, it includes a drop forward with an on-off, an awesome swing trigger, and a very shiny gun. However, even with all this said, I'm only giving it a 9 out of 10 because ANS is pushing this thing with the barrel, something about "Reduced down-time due to new marker purchase, since the barrel comes with it". That's a load of crap. They should have just knocked 50 bucks off the sticker and left the cute 8" in the scrap pile.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

FreshMeat Wednesday, February 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spider Victor
Piranha STS 2K2
Piranha E-Force STS 2K3
DragunFly Mech/LED
WPG AutoCocker 2K3
Marker Setup: GX-4 Blue to Clear Satin Fade
ANS QEV
ANS Delrin Bolt
ANS 2 Piece Barrel Kit
68ci/3000psi Crossfire HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
ANS QEV
ANS Delrin
ANS Barrel Kit
Strengths: Accuracy & Velocity Adjustments & Style
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: These markers are built with alot of care and pride and they show it. They come in many unique and not so unique colors. All parts installed are top quality parts. Each marker is timed and checked before leaving the warehouse as well.

When I brought mine home I was very excited to go out back and shoot some paint. I really set some low expectations on this thing, because I have been disappointed with my past marker decisions (uhum crappy Piranha's). I connected my two piece barrel to the marker and connected it to CO2 first. I didn't have my HPA yet. After the first few shots I realized ANS layed a golden egg. Everyshot I took actually went straight. No hooks, loops, drops this thing shot like an dart.

Later that week I took it for its first real test. I ran about 4 HPA tank fulls of air through it so I could break in the regulator. After that I took it to the shooting gallery and went in for target practice. What I liked most about this marker is, where I aimed my paintballs hit. I could shoot the long distance targets and not miss, consecutively. Where as on my Piranha's I would miss 4 out of 5 shots (I had good paint to barrel match, I just couldn't consistantly hit the tight patern of the target). When I first chrono'ed the gun I was shooting hot, about +/- 2 of 315. On the GX-4 all velocity adjustments are done at the regulator. You just unlock the turn screw and adjust (in small increments). I was easily able to get it down to the field limit of 285, and I shot +/- 2 of it with ease. That was the fasted I have ever been able to get onto the playing field without having to tweak and adjust things.

On the field, this baby rocks. At best, on a good day I could would walk away hitting my target 4-8 times (yeah I suck). Some games I wouldn't get anyone. Not anymore, I was consistently hitting my marks. I learned how to grease the sides of bunkers to hit masks, hoppers, barrels. I could never do that before with my previous markers. They seriously lacked the range and the long distance accuracy. I could play the back bunkers and my mirrors with no effort at all. I was delivering cross field shots accurately as well. This marker is definately a confidence builder. Peeps at the field were impressed to asking to shoot it. I traded off a round with a couple of Tipman users and even a Matrix user. The marker is really nice to look at, although it is a bit on the heavy side. This is a small price to pay.

I highly recommend upgrading to the QEV and Delrin bolt. Installed the total package cost me $121.00 to do. The results are better air efficiency, shorter trigger pull and more power at lower operating pressures. My marker runs at 250psi!

I don't know of any weeknesses this thing has. It is really a sweet marker and if I had to do it all over again I would, without a doubt. No regrets it was worth the money I paid for it.

RPS El Tigre works great using the .689 back.
Conclusion: This marker is beautiful, accurate, easy to operate and efficient. Make sure you order one with the 2 peice barrel kit. You can upgrade it for $124. I have a Freak set and I don't have to use it anymore. Did I mention customer service? The guys at ANS are great and will answer any questions you have. The ANS GX-4 Chaos is an excellent value and an excellent buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

okie Monday, January 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
evolution cocker,and gx3 thats bout it.
Marker Setup: grey to black fade gen-x 4
3000psi 48 ci pure energy tank
14inch smart parts tear drop
clear revie
Recommended
Upgrades:
definetly a new barrel. new drop just dependin on what ur style is
Strengths: the gun shoots really good better than most of the field of products. it is really consistant and NEVER chops paint. the on/off is top of the line (just like the rest of the gun) it is very easy to turn and never ever leaks. the trigger is awesome very smooth and very fast
Weaknesses: id say the only thing bad is the barrel
Conclusion: i highly recommend it for the people who r willin to spend the money. get a new barrel and you will be set
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mugen76 Wednesday, September 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
electro spyders, flatline a5's with egrip < ANS GX-4
Marker Setup: ANS GX-4, Halo B w/rip drive, Dye SS barrel 12", Eblade, evil pipe barrels 16", shocktech ball detent, shocktech supafly bolt, shockteck rear block, shocktech lp hoses, shocktech springs, KAPP FAT ram, KAPP cocking rod, ANS jackhammer 2 lpr, ANS genx2 reg.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Eblade, faster hopper (Halo B)
Strengths: price only $539, jackhammer II, 14" barrel, smooth & accurate
Weaknesses: this marker weighs a lot!!!
Review: this is my first autococker and i must say, i'm very impressed with this gun. this is the best bang for the buck autococker out there. i've done my research and found that this gun came stock with the most amount of parts for my money. if i were to buy any of these parts as an upgrade for a standard wgp autococker, it would still cost more to build one than to buy this ANS equipped gun. it shot very very accurately with EVIL paint. i was able to take out an entire team in an Xball game - it was VERY accurate. it looked like i was shooting strings of paint b/c the pballs followed right after each other.

let me tell you what came with the gun for only $550. the GX-4 now comes with a stock 14" aluminum barrel which is NOT what the pictures show. it comes with ANS's jackhammer 2, gen x2 regulator, quick release bolt, an Angel style feed tube, very smooth 45 hinge trigger frame, and an adjustable dropforward w/ on/off valve. not to mention that you're also paying for a beautiful milled body and the accuracy that you can expect from any autococker. the ANS front block also come with this cool looking extended bolt that i've never seen on any other block. the ram and 3way looks very smooth too. the drop forward places the bottle so far under the gun that it completely balances out this gun. the gx-4 also comes polished or powdered in several colors to choose from so you can get your custom look and finish.

i recently upgraded to an eblade so the marker has become ready for some pro action.
Conclusion: IT ONLY COSTED $539. the shipping was fast and their ecommerce site had many colors to choose from. i recommend this cocker for the avid pballer looking to buy their first cocker. you can't beat this price for a tournament ready marker. comes ready to shoot. i'm only giving it a 9 b/c it's a heavy marker. -1
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 20th, 2004 at 2:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tempest811 Monday, January 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year10 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only other gun i have had was my first gun..a Piranha STS G3..which doesn't even compare. Its like comparing a pinto to a formula one car. I fired the two side by side at my hill...the GX-4 hit to spots 1 inch apart at about 80 feet away..the Piranha hardly even make it up the hill...(and no, its not broken)
Marker Setup: ANS GenX-4 Chaos Cocker, crossfire 68/4500 800psi set, Dye Boomstick, Revvie, and a Redz black Tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrell (duh).. other than that i am not experienced enough to know exactly what other part of the gun isnt quite as good as other accessories...the gun performs perfectly so i dont think i will have a problem!
Strengths: Looks, Accuracy, easy to adjust, on-off valve is absolutely awesome, consistent.
Weaknesses: Kinda Heavy
Review: Let me just say this: (true story) First day having this gun i had no idea what to expect...suddenly im ready to go as i walk to onto the field (speedball field with lots of barrels and lots of mud). 7 vs 7......I took out the entire team of 7. All my guys got out but i somehow managed to take out EVERY opposing player from all the way across the field, weird angles, barely sticking their heads out- i couldnt believe it. Lets just say the refs and EVERYONE couldnt believe it.
Conclusion: This gun is simply amazing and i TOTALLY recommend it. BUY IT BUY IT.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 13th, 2005 at 1:05 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

thurstonaz Thursday, October 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel - MUCH more accurate, but not as fast as an Angel (but we are comparing electro to mechanical)
E-mag - Again, the GX4 was more accurate, but the E-mag has an insane rate of fire (and is quiet a bit more expensive to operate).
Dye Ultralite - The GX4 weighs more, but also seemed to have a significantly higher recharge rate (translating into an effective rate of fire without pressure dropoff). The GX4 also doesn't have the weak point where the reg screws into the body (it's pretty think on a ultralite, a good head first slide could trash the Dye).
WGP Oracle - Same comment as with the Dye, much lighter, but the GX4 feels rock solid and performance of the GX4 seems much crisper (especially with the new hinge trigger).
Marker Setup: ANS GX-4 (prototype - didn't have barrel)
Smart Parts Freak Barrel
Ricochet 2k Hopper
Nitro Duck 68/3000 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you are a front or mid player, the stock barrel should be fine. Back players will probably want to go with a longer barrel. I prefer a Freak set. A Boomstick would be fine, but it's a fixed bore size!
Strengths: The upgraded front end and hinge trigger are the heart of the upgrades to the GX4. I actually had a ref ask me if I was shooting with an electro grip! The hinge trigger is the best I have used.

The combination of well-known autococker accuracy with the rate of fire the new front end & trigger offer is a lethal combination. From a back to mid position, I am able to get the same number of kills as an Angel or E-Mag with a fraction of the ammo!

The aesthetics of the gun is amazing. The finish is beautiful. I actually had a guy offer to trade me straight across for an LCD Angel!

The operating pressure is incredibly low. ANS claims 250-300, I was fortunate to have a really talented airsmith work on mine. The gauge on the reg shows 180! This low pressure configuration together with the redesigned front end translates into the first Autococker I have used that merely sips air (most cockers are gas hogs). I can shoot nearly 1000 rounds on my old 47/3000 tank. My new 68/3000 runs all day.

The new beaver tail doesn't have the ringing problem the old GX3's did.

The GX4's come with the redesigned ANS bolts. The new ones were specifically redesigned to address the issue of bolts coming loose and shooting out the back.

The quality is top notch. So is ANS' customer service.
Weaknesses: Production models don't come with a shroud (but how many cocker owners play with a shroud)? ANS will sell you one for $29. They will even match the color if you send them a part.

It's a bit heavy (as compared to a Dye Ultralite).
Conclusion: If you're going to spend under $600 for a marker, I like the GX3. But if you are even remotely thinking of buying a GX3 and upgrading, or you are looking at an Outkast, Ultralite, Oracle, etc., do yourself a favor and go with the GX4. It sets a new standard for high end Autocockers without breaking the bank.

The enhanced consistency and higher rate of fire found in the GX4 compared to the GX3 means more kills with (suprisingly) less ammo.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cockerzrule Friday, January 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Black Magic, STO, Impulse,Dragon Intimidator, ir3,and other high end guns
Marker Setup: ANS GX-4 red to black fade, 12 in. DYE boomstick, 12 volt revvie with x-board, KAPP delrin Ball detent, Crossfire 88 ci. fiber wrapped nitro tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Delrin ball detent, delrin bolt, nitro, revvie or ricochet
Strengths: Very accurate and dependable marker.
Weaknesses: Kinda slow but hey, it's a cocker. no other weaknesses that ive seen.
Review: This cocker is by far the best that I have used. I would take this over other high end guns such as impulses and other WGP cockers. They both are very close seconds though. This gun is neck and neck with Intimidators and angels except alot less money. It has better accuracy but the speed isn't there. Whose looking for speed with a cocker though?? I just like the consistency. The ano job on these are beautiful. There were no flaws on mine at all. Also the regulater is the best that i have found. The drop is top of the line and very compact. Ever component of this gun is very high end. It shoots like a dream and never chops a single ball. The stock detent scraped up my bolt so i got a delrin one which is very nice. Also they come with Dye stickies.
Conclusion: I love this gun. Even though its a cocker and not super fast, It can hold its own against the high end elctros. Overall i am very pleased with this marker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Agoo Tuesday, October 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98- No contest. JT Excellarator- Please! Spyder Imagine- Haven't used it since I picked up my GX-4.
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine with- Dye Boomstick 14", Bob Long Cyclone bolt, VL Rev 12v with X-board. ANS GX-4 w/ 14" AA, 12" Freak fronts, 12v w/Xboard, and 68ci 3000psi ACI tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Marker is ok stock. But the stock bolt will scratch the body internally. I installed all Free flow internals, Free flow back block, oracle bolt(It's delrin, no need to lubricate and treats the insides much,much better), Kapp twisted cocking rod, and 03 Dye stickies.
Strengths: Shoots paint as if it were laser guided. ROF is awesome.
Weaknesses: Mine leaked just a little, no biggie though. Read below for more on this.
Review: This thing is sweet!! I picked this gun up about 3-4 weeks ago, and let me tell you, the finish and quality is second to none. I swear you will look at it for hours just admiring the way it looks. But looks don't mean a thing if it's a rat, so here it goes. I got mine off of Ebay for $525.00, which just can't be beat. Just to let you know, the gun now comes with a 2pc 14" barrel from the factory, not with the 8" that's on the factory website. I called ANS to confirm, and they have been shipping the 14" barrels for a few months now. Anyway, I took the gun down to my local paintball shop, got the air, and had it timed to my liking. Gassed up, went to the chrono station/target area and 282,280,282,281,281,280. I took five more shots and 281,281,280,282,281. Good God Almighty!!! I almost cried. My previous guns never could shoot something as consistent as this gun did. I mean that's +/- 2fps. I shot it a few more times and that's when I started to hear a hiss. Took it back to the airsmith and said there was a little leak in the regulator, a little teflon, done end of story. The rest of the day went without a hitch. I thought I died and went to paintball heaven. Done with the love story, but I think you know where I'm getting at here.

The gun shoots straight, the rate of fire is awesome, I can get to about 8-10 bps with the stock trigger. Let me put it this way, an Oracle is about 800-950.00, an Angel Speed is about 900-1100.00 and a timmy will run you anywhere between 1100-1600.00. The Oracle is a little lighter as is the Angel and Timmy. The Angel and Timmy will outshoot the GX-4, but only by 2-3 bps, and practically goes punch for punch with the Oracle, but I'll throw this gun in there and it will hold it's own and then some for 300-1000.00 less! The gun has top-notch pnuematics, very nice trigger frame, and a body to die for. I've been to the field 2 more times since that first day, and not one single chop with about 4 cases through it. No leaks, no chops , no downtime, nothing. I've upgraded it with a few things and it just gets better ( refer to upgrades ). This thing smokes, enough said.
Conclusion: Would highly recommend this to anyone, newbie or pro. The gun comes set and ready to go with drop forward, on/off ASA, hinge trigger, and a 14" barrel. Just add Hopper ( electric, you will need it ) air tank, and paint and your ready to roll. Excellent job by ANS for providing a gun that the regular joe's can afford and providing us with the money saved up for field fees and paint and tournament fees. Believe me, you will enjoy it as much as I did and your wallet eill thank you for it. No gun is perfect, but this is as close as you can get without pulling a heist or selling your first born to get it. 10++++++++++
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 19th, 2004 at 2:51 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

swifterhunt908 Tuesday, March 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Black Dragun
Spyder Flash
Spyder AMG
System X Vengence
Black Magic
Marker Setup: GX4 Autococker:
All American Barrel,Freak Barrel System
Delrin Bolt
Nitro
12 volt Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately get a new Delrin bolt since they are self lubricating and allow for less problems with th gun. A new barrel should be another but that is personal preference. You get an 8 inch barrel but you might want to switch to a longer DYE or All American. DO NOT DARE USE CO2! ONLY NITRO!
Strengths: Extremely fast and accurate. Overall amazing marker.
Weaknesses: Not much but you definately need a new barrel and maybe a bolt.
Review: For the said price of 800$ is ok. I got mine for 650$ from a site. If you want the site then e-mail me. All together it is a great gun and surpasses most cockers out today. Remember to get a new barrel, nitro, and bolt.(Get the bolt out of preference). My overall view on the marker is it is amazing. I would not lie. If your budget can handle it then I suggest that you get it.
Conclusion: I stated all my reasons earlier but again it is fast, accurate, and just an overall great gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Geico not Gecko Wednesday, February 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Verticle Feed cocker, ANS gx2 cocker, Angel, WGP Black Magic
Marker Setup: Black GX4 autococker
Black Halo B loader
68/45 Nitro Duck plasma tank
Freak
2 Q.E.V.s
ANS delrin bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, Q.E.V.s, delrin bolt
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: The Good:
-Very quite
-Accurate (obviously)
-very fast for a mechanical cocker
-short trigger pull
-smooth trigger pull
-stock barrel is pretty good seeing how it is stock (14 inch two piece)
on a side not if there are people looking to buy this gun and they are confused whether the gun comes with a 8" barrel or a 2 piece 14" barrel. It first came with an 8", but it now is being shipped with a 14" 2 piece barrel. So if you buy a gun it will be with the 14" barrel.

The Bad:
-Stock bolt is a venturi which will scratch the inside of the gun sometimes (but all venturi bolts will do that no matter what bolt or what gun)
-The regulator is kind of uncomfortable to grip, but its really not that bad.

---------------------------------------------------------

This is a great buy. You can buy this gun at www.ansxtreme.com for only 450. My friend has a WGP prostock (AKA vertical feed) and another friend of mine has a WGP Balck magic. This gun out shoots booth of them. It is faster and comes with better stock parts. The great thing about ANS is that they put their best parts on all their guns. Which means that there is less to have to upgrade because it is already upgraded when you buy it. Dont listen to the people on these forums. Most of them have no idea what they are talking about and are VERY biased towards WGP.
Conclusion: If you have the money and want to great, accurate, quite gun go for the ANS Gx4. WGP is good, but besides their higher level guns (which are mcuh more expensive than ANS) they just can't match ANS in quality and service.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 21st, 2005 at 4:52 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media