paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Palco Marketing Splatmatic XJ40 / Palco Marketing Splatmatic XJ40 / Palco Marketing Splatmatic XJ40 / Palco Marketing Splatmatic XJ40

Palco Marketing Splatmatic XJ40 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Palco Marketing

Buy Palco Marketing Splatmatic XJ40

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Palco Marketing Splatmatic XJ40
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 8.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
More Efficient better Accuracy more Compact than a .68 caliber paintball pistol. Fires up to 100 + .40 caliber paintballs per (1) CO2 cartridge. No large CO2 tanks to buy and refill. Does not freeze up when the game is hot and heavy, like its .68 caliber counterparts. Its sleek design, lightweight and compact size makes this an excellent paintball gun on the field, or just plain fun!

Still Made by and can be bought from Palco sports
Product Availability 
The Palco Marketing Splatmatic XJ40 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
faultie Monday, September 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT-Extreme and Zeus
Marker Setup: AGD 68 Classic
Right power-feed
68cc 3000psi on bottom-line
AA 12'' Barrel
J&J 14'' Ceramic

Tippmann SMG-68 (not .68 Special)
Tippmann Pro-Lite w/ 14'' thunderpig and custom spring set
Stock Zeus
RAM M4
Recommended
Upgrades:
Are there any upgrades your can get? A stock-class magazine would be a cool addition. I bet you could hold quite a few .40 cal rounds in a rather small spring-fed magazine (20 or so?)
Strengths: Nice ROF
Holds nearly 200 rounds
Great efficiency on 12gram
Surprising range and accuracy
Weaknesses: Non-upgradable
.40 caliber (less common and less range)
Review: I do not own them, and had always viewed these guns as a sort of cheap, crappy, kiddy-type gun (like a semi-auto Talon). However, my friend bought 2 a little while back and I decided to go Die-Hard/Matrix style for a game using just these 2. They are quite compact, very fast firing (most .68 pistols won't shoot this fast), holds lots o' ammo, are very efficient on 12 gram, and are very reliable and simple. I had more fun playing w/ just those 2 than many a speedball game I've played w/ my mag. It doesn't really have any downside as far as most pistols go.
Conclusion: Don't expect the ROF, accuracy, or range of a mag/cocker on this one, but it's a really great gun. W/ 2, you're totting around 400 rounds of ammo, and only need about 1 set of 12gram refils per game if they are your primaries, or no extras if you are just using the XJ as a side-arm. As a side-arm, it's extra great b/c it can cover you for a long time. As I found out using these in 1 game, it's alot easier to cover yourself while making an in-field repair than it is to make an infield repair and try to cover yourself with a 10-shot pistol (which you have to mess with constantly to reload). I'd definately recommend this to anybody looking for a nice, fun, reliable, well-performing side-arm.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Rankle Tuesday, October 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Armortech pistol
Marker Setup: Camo Piranha G3
Coiled remote to camo co2 tank
Empire Reloader II
PMI Regulator
16" J&J Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Low Price
CO2 efficient
Holds many paintballs
Very small and light
Weaknesses: Short Range
Difficult to get quarter size splat
non upgradeable
Review: This gun is quite fun when your playing and you just want to put down your main marker and test your skills with a pistol. It holds a lot of paintballs so you never have to worry about running out of paintballs in a match. You have to order the paintballs online most of the time though.
Since the paintballs are small they often won't make the required quarter size splat unless you get a shot on the mask. On the plus side of it though, it's good for playing with younger players because the paintballs barely hurt. I call it the "pea shooter."
The range is also limited. At long range you won't stand a chance against a marker. It is quite accurate though, even with its small barrel. I wouldn't recommend one for a wood-ball match if your a novice. Though I have seen a someone who was really experienced take one and take out a whole bunch of people.
It is very small and lightweight, very useful if your using camouflage to hide. I have stood straight up on a hill and have no one see me when the looked straight at me. You can't really be seen because of your marker when you have a pistol. You can also move very fast when you have a pistol.
You can't really use a holster with this gun. Unless you make your own custom holster so that you can leave the hopper on.(which I did) With the holster you buy you have to keep the hopper in a pocket and put it on the pistol when your ready to use it. And even with the custom holster I have their is a good chance for the hopper to come off if I bump something.
I've never bust a paintball in my pistol. It occasionally will shoot blanks if I fire to fast(gravity hopper after all) but I've never burst a paintball.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product if you don't want an expensive pistol. If you want it as a sidearm I wouldn't recommend. The hopper is to difficult to deal with when using a holster. It is very fun to play using it as your main weapon in a game, and its accurate enough to do so. Very good for going against younger players cause the paintballs don't hurt that much. -1 for not being able to use a holster easily. -1 for not being as accurate as a zeus of armortech, and -1 for having difficulty getting quarter size splat.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Minuteman Sunday, October 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I have used my freinds spider and his tippman 98. This is a psitol so it shouldn't be as great but it is close. It is a really light gun!!!
Marker Setup: I don't have any setups on this gun. I got it out of the box and it was great. I have a holster for it. Its heavy though, I usually just carry it around in my pocket or in the back of my pants or something like that.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend that you buy a lot of CO2 bottles. When I first got the gun I bought 9 CO2 bottle with it...
Strengths: This gun has held up perfectly for the 6 months i have been using it. I've been using it almost every day now and I LOVE it!!!!!! The CO2 tanks are great! 125 or so shots befor one 12 gram CO2 bottle is gone. You can buy 3 12 gram Co2 bottles for $1.25 on a website I found!!!!

AWESOME GUN!!!!
Weaknesses: I haven't found anything to be bad about this gun!! It has served me well during competition.
Conclusion: I love this gun. A great backup for your normal gun. It will not break during a match and is a reliable backup for your main gun!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Kayjo Saturday, October 11th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Stock Compact Deluxe, ACI Maverick
Recommended
Upgrades:
Didnt keep it long enough to think of any.
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: -CO2 leak through the barrel, at least with mine.
-Feed system.
Review: -Hopper neck is wider than the hole which paintballs load into. Makes for a very bad loading system.
I had a Co2 leak that I heard through the barrel. I tried to tighten the Co2 pushing-in-apparatus, but to no avail.
I took it back to the largest outdoor store in the world, and invested in a good ball hauler... I don't know what the problem was with mine, but Palco sucks in the way of customer service.
Conclusion: I guess other people have had a good experience with this gun, but as far as I saw, it sucked, and so does Palco for customer service.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Defiler Wednesday, May 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
None, friend has a Delta.
Marker Setup: Main Gun:
Spyder Imagine 2K4
20 oz. CO2 tank
VL Quantum hopper
16" J&J Spyder Ceramic Barrel
Spudnukl Nylatron Bolt

Side Arm:
Splatmatic XJ40
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aren't any, unless you do it yourself.
Strengths: Accurate
Quiet
Range
ROF
Weaknesses: Hopper
No upgrades
Review: Okay, lets get started. I bought a black one, because black looked better than that blue or silver one. I bought a ton of paintballs (you should because they are hard to find) and took it to my backyard. I installed a Co2 cartridge, loaded the hopper and fired a few times. It worked nicely, they all splattered against my fence about 20-30 feet away. I was shooting fast when it started to shoot blanks. I shook the hopper and tried to shoot again, but more blanks. I took off the hopper and found the problem: Balls getting jammed in the feed neck. You see, the feed neck is large, allowing 2 balls to enter at once. They get themselves wedged inside the feed neck and stop the ball flow. I fixed this by adding some of that green foam that is really easy to squish. I cut it out into a circle, punched a hole in the center and it worked fine. I then noticed another problem, if you fire too fast, your bolt hits the balls and you have to recock. I have had to for a while now, and new problems came up. It leaks Co2, and I do not know why.


----------EDIT!----------
Well, after finding the allen wrenches, I open the whole gun up, cleaned, oiled, and tightened screws. I put a Co2 cylinder in, and no leaks! It is also a little quieter due to the oil. Oh and just to let you know, the bolt on this is pathetic. It is a metal tube, but hey, it gets the job done.
Conclusion: This is a nice pistol for around $60. I do not see the point of spending $100 on a Delta that only has 10 shots. This can hold 250. It gets around 70 shots per Co2 cartridge.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 18th, 2005 at 7:19 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pnda_express Wednesday, September 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing really
Marker Setup: i have 19 and i use them all equally so that would take waaaay too long.
Recommended
Upgrades:
stick feed.
Strengths: 1) SUPER EFFICIENT!!!
2) light
3) nice accuracy
4) dirt cheap
Weaknesses: Hopper
Review: For 50 bucks or less this is a great gun, the only problem i have with it is that the stock hopper sucks, find a .40 cal tube and glue it in, that works alot better. or make a stick feed like i did. Try finding fresh paint though like 2 months old at tops.
Conclusion: Great gun for the price a good buy. Just try to find fresh paint for it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SEAL34 Friday, January 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ummm...
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Flatline
GTA expansion chamber
32* drop forward
Java remote
Tapco 6 pos. stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feed system
new spring
new grip
CA adapter
new paint job
Strengths: 1.Accuracy
2.Light weight
3.Price
4. FUN.
Weaknesses: 1.Bright colors
2. .40 paintballs
3.Range
4.Field stripping
5.Power
Review: This is an OK pistol out of the box. It has very limited range and velocity.
1.Now, when you start to upgrade this bad boy, mmmm mmmm... I started with a new spring. I got a very tight one out of, believe it or not, a Brass Eagle Eradicator. A new spring adds a kick to it and LOTS more range and power. Get the tightest spring you can find.
2.After the spring I started to work on a clip/tube-feed system. I used PVC pipe and it worked fairly well. It had a high profile hanging off the side of the gun. SO I decided to take it to the next level. I rigged a new one with a spring that fits directly on top the pistol so it's out of the way. PM me for plans and a diagram of how to do this.
3.Next, the grip and trigger. The stock grip is uncomfortable and awkward. I bought an old Spyder Xtra grip off my friend and it's way better. Buy a Spyder grip if you want a new one.
4. Now the paint job. I got a silver XJ40 and I play woodsball so that didn't work too well. I completely took apart the pistol and sanded down the body to where it was reall y rough. I put a few coats of primer on then painted it black. You probably won't have to do this if you order it in black.
5.Converting it to constant air, I went to www.cooper-t.com and bought their ez air bottom drop. I ran a gas thru grip on it and then mouted an asa adapter on the grip and..whala! Constan Air. It's as easy as that.
Conclusion: If you are the kind of person that likes to tinker on your guns and do custom mods, get this pistol. If you are a weenie that wants a good pistol out of the box, forget it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 13th, 2005 at 2:50 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

isaiah Monday, March 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Pro
Marker Setup: 99 S/F Rainmaker with BMW MACmount and LAPCO AVA, Dye Stickies, PPS Stabilizer, Armson Pro and J&J Ceramic bbls, smoking nun high-flow hose kit. Blue Raptor SE with smoking nun air-agitate hopper, EW custom bbl.
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a horizontal magazine to make it a sidearm
Strengths: efficient, looks sweet, sturdy
Weaknesses: somewhat difficult to disassemble (no field strip)
Review: I was excited to get this cool new gun, but when I opened the brand new, unopened package, I was disappointed. I took the gun apart (standard operating prodecure) as per the instructions, and was shocked to discover that there was already a paintball break in the barrel. It was all over the inside of the barrel and bolt.

The hammer/bolt assembly wouldn't come out the back of the gun without excessive force, they should have just slid right out. I had to use an included allen wrench as a lever to get it out. Still don't know why it fits so tight in there.

Then, I noticed that the bolt was in upside down. The hole where the gas from the valve is supposed to go up through the bolt and into the barrel... it was in the top of the bolt! It won't do any good there. The bolt is designed so that the link pin hole goes all the way through it, and the pin is held in place by a set screw (of a very tiny metric size that nobody has on hand) but was sticking out the wrong side, so that when assembled with the hammer is upside down.

And the hammer tube was full of metal shavings.


In terms of design, there were some screws that tightened down against the outer radius of the gun. There should have been a flat machined there with lock washers, but it's not a big deal unless one comes loose (I'd suggest loc-titeing them).


Other than that, it seems to be a fairly well-made gun.

(edit/update) i got the replacement one from the factory. this one works perfectly. excellent customer service.
Conclusion: although the first one was defective, Palco quickly replaced it. i'd definitely recommend this sidearm.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 2nd, 2003 at 1:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

littlekyle666 Saturday, November 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact, Tippmann 98 Custom, Tippmann Pro Lite, Tippmann Pro Carbine, Brass Eagle Talon, Brass Eagle Blade, and Zap Point Zero
Marker Setup: everything is stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing gun is great just the way it is
Strengths: Everything is great
over 100 rounds per 12gram
small
light
cheap
accurate
able to compete with "real" markers
Nice colors
nice trigger pull
semi auto
.40 caliber, so they paint balls shoot straighter and go further
Weaknesses: Nuthin really, I havent had any problems at all with them (I have two).

Some people get scared when they find out its .40 caliber but its really not hard to find paint. Just find a near by blow gun or self defense store or order online.
Conclusion: This is a great gun. GO BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Great as a sidearm or as a primary gun. This is probaly the best gun you will find for your money, garenteed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

markedup Saturday, May 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Own more markers than is wise for a married guy
Recommended
Upgrades:
The Splatmatic XJ40 has a large hopper that is useless in play (feed tube allows balls to jam. I replaced the hopper with 1/2" rigid plastic water tubing...feeds 30 balls flawlessly.
Strengths: Light, fast, fun (if you replace the jam-prone hopper). Excellent cartridge loader.
Weaknesses: Main seal wears out in less than one year of light play.
Review: This inexpensive marker pistol is everything that the advertisements say it is. Frankly, it would be ideal for regular play if the main cartidge seal were 1) durable, 2) replaceable.

Once the seal wears out, the gun is useless. The seal is the only non-replaceable part on the gun, and the only one that has worn out (I own two, one is finished, the other nearly so). The gun is truly over-engineered in every other area. It was clearly intended for heavy-duty use. Every part can be removed, cleaned, and lubed. While the cartridge seal lasts, it is a joy to shoot.

As noted earlier, the ball hopper is poorly designed. It allows balls to consistently jam. This is easily overcome by throwing out the hopper and installing 1/2 plastic piping over top where the hopper used to sit. My version holds 30 balls (I kept it small and light) with a set of quick loader tubes that I carry with me (also of 1/2 plastic pipe). The 30 balls on the gun and the other 30 + 30 in the quick loaders is usually enough for one friendly game. With the hopper modification, I have had no "blanks" and no jams.

The .40 caliber balls generally do not break on impact with people. They can be felt, but have less "impact" than regular balls. No .40 ball has never broken in the barrel.
Conclusion: Since the non-replaceable seal is so very delicate, and will wear out long before the gun ever would, this has to be a "do not buy" recommendation. Too bad, because otherwise, it was one great little marker.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media