paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dead On Paintball Bullet Drop Forward / Dead On Paintball Bullet Drop Forward / Dead On Paintball Bullet Drop Forward / Dead On Paintball Bullet Drop Forward

Dead On Paintball Bullet Drop Forward Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dead On Paintball

Buy Dead On Paintball Bullet Drop Forward

Paintball Cradles, Rails, Drop Forwards and ASA's

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dead On Paintball Bullet Drop Forward
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 60
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $40

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Bullet Drop Forward moves your tank 5.75 inches forward and 2.5 inches down. The main feature is the industries smallest compact triple sealed ON/OFF valve actuator that depresses the tank pin valve for air or releases pin to shut air off. The Bullet Drop Forward also includes an extra port for a gauge if you need it. The Bullet Drop Forward has mounting holes for the standard (#10 - 3/4 apart) or staggered mounting holes for Spyders. Will work with all CO2 tanks and screw-in nitrogen tanks. Color choices Bright Red, Bright Blue, Bright Green, Bright Purple, Bright Black and Polished Silver. All come with a two tone polished ON/OFF knob except Black and Silver.
Product Availability 
The Dead On Paintball Bullet Drop Forward is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
FINITE Sunday, June 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Stock Black 2003 Autococker, DeadOn Bullet drop with on/off, 16oz co2 with anti-siphon, macroline kit.
Strengths: On/Off, Drops your tank a considerable distance forward and down.
Weaknesses: On/Off, its a pain.
Review: The On/Off feature of this drop is a pain. You have to make sure that you lube it every once and awhile. When you first get it take it apart and put a drop of gun oil on the knobs O-ring, take the 'plunger' out and put a drop on its O-ring as well. When turning it on do not turn it all the way in, just a little bit past the point (1/4 of a turn past) at which your marker gasses up. When you turn it off do it slowly, let the air bleed out of your marker. If you get frustrated and turn the knob all the way out to quickly you run a HIGH risk of breaking the O-rings. They are replaceable through DeadOn's website though and regardless of whether or not you need them now I would recommend you buy some for the time when you will, and you will I promise. I fell victim to a lack of patience and broke both O-rings and ordered 3 of each just now. They are expensive for what they are but as far as I know you can't get them anywhere else unless you know the exact sizes and a place to buy O-rings.

None of this should however keep you from getting this drop. Its very sturdy, has a huge drop, looks great, and is pretty light. If you learn how to use the On/Off feature which isn't hard, I learned my lesson, then it pretty much has no flaws. Ohh, make sure that you either lock-tight or teflon-tape the plug into the port your not using. That leads me into something else that I have not seen anyone else mention. Might be common knowledge but the port that the plug is in doesn't have to stay plugged. What I mean is that you can move it to either side using the open port for your elbow adapter and the other for a gauge or the plug. Depending on your set up it may be better to have the elbow on one side VS the other.
Conclusion: Great drop forward! Minor issues with the on/off. This may or may not be the drop for you so I would suggest that you check it out first if you can before you buy it. I didn't but I lucked out and really like it, your mileage may vary. I give it an 8 due to the issues with the on/off. I do not understand why the knob and the plunger arn't one piece. If they were then this would definitely be a 9. Awesome products get 9's, great products get 8's, this is a great product.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Oneglia82 Wednesday, May 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Rented a few guns with drop forwards
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" JJ Ceramic
DOP Pro Seal
DOP Rocket Cock II
DOP Drop Forward 5525 Bullet
Pure Energy 20oz CO2
Dark Horizon Titanium Lite Hammer
GTA Double Trigger
Polished Internals
Strengths: Strong
Easy installation
Cheap
On/Off Features
Weaknesses: Can scratch up a lot, but hey everything can
Review: I looked all around for a drop forward that gave me a large drop but kept the tank close to the gun. I find this drop forward keeps my tank in a perfect position for speedball and woodballs. It holds my heavy 20oz CO2 tank perfectly, and helps balance the gun. The ON/OFF feature definitely keeps me from having to replace my tank o-rings constantly.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this drop forward to anyone who wants a large drop.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 29th, 2004 at 1:19 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

JEDerrick Monday, July 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Drops
Dye Bullet On/Off
Karnivor Torpedo
Marker Setup: Black Karnivor w E2 Grip, Halo B w/Rip Drive, Pure Energy 68/3000 HPA, Evil Pipe Driver
Strengths: Strong
Easy To Install
On/Off
One Of The More Longer Drops
Weaknesses: On/Off Piston O-rings
Review: Ok, so I had this bad boy installed on my Tippmann A5. The A5 stock was too long, and didn't provide enough stock drop for snap shooting. After searching the online stores, and seeing one in action myself, I decided on the Dead On Paintball drop forward.

Installation
Installation was a breeze. It really isn't any different or difficult than any other drop out there. I did how ever need a special adaptor for my marker, but that was due to it being an Tippmann A5. If you can handle a screwdriver, then chances are great that you can install this drop.

Performance
Pure and simple it gave me just what I was looking for. Enough of a drop to provide me with a marker that was able to be held tight to my body, while allowing me to snap shoot. Not only was snap shooting improved, but so was overall balance. This I found was an excellent bonus to anything else I was looking for. With a balanced marker I was able to more efficiently hold my marker, without wear and strain on my arm.

The only negative I found with the whole product was the piston o-ring found inside the on/off. After several times on switching on and off, the o-ring became fragile, and had places missing in it from the barbs that were inside the on/off. This of course would not allow the on/off to work as promised without leaking air. A simple fix, but I found myself replacing the o-rings after every game. Now don't go and get me wrong. This may have been 1 in a 1,000,000 that I got that was bad. The reason I state this is cause when the on/off worked, it worked like a dream. No more wasting air, or if using co2, worrying about frozen o-rings!

Price
Price at the time of my purchase was $40.00 through Action Village. Though I have found that you can as of now in some hot places get them as low as $32.99.

Looks
Looks aren't the best i have seen. Though you have to understand that there are different strokes for different folks. It isn't the ugliest I have seen, yet then again it isn't the prettiest!
Conclusion: Overall a good product if you are looking to get quite a bit of drop and balance out of a drop forward. Just keep an eye on the piston o-ring found inside the on/off. A solid product indeed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IonPaintball82 Thursday, January 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock spyder rodeo drop forward
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ion
Deon on Paintball drop forward with on/off valve
evlution 2 hopper
pure energy 68/4500

Spyder Rodeo
Progressive barrel
shocktech spring kit
vl 200
20 oz. pure energy c02
Strengths: Has an on/off valve....which helps a lot when removing the tank
Weaknesses: None
Review: I put this drop forward on my Ion and it works great. It makes the ion even more compact and centers the gravity much better. instead of having the tank stick out really far like it does on the stock Ion, this drop forward helps you bring the gun in much closer to you face for better shooting.
Conclusion: Its a great product and does its job.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Kraus Monday, May 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock spyder dropforward
Marker Setup: LP Spyder Shutter
14 inch Dye Ultralite barrel
Dead-On Pro Blade Drop w/ ASA and On/Off
Bob Long Torpedo Regulator (in mail)
Maddman Spring Kit
Bob Long Vertical Adapter (in mail)
Maddman Rocket Valve
PMI Pure Energy 68/3k Fiber-Wrapped Tank
12V Revvy w/ X--board
Polished Internals & Removed Venturi
Strengths: Adds Great Balance to your gun! On/Off too!
Weaknesses: Have to buy fittings and apply teflon, big woop...
Review: This drop-forward IMO is the best out there! It drops your tank 5 inches forward and two inches down. It balances my spyder shutter out perfectly, and almost makes it feel a whole lot lighter. I use a 68/3k PMI tank, and you can barely feel that its even there. It moved the tank forward a whole lot, so it isn't sticking out the back of the gun really far and making it back heavy. Installation wasn't too bad, just be sure to buy a 90* connector elbow to fit to your Steel-braided line/macroline (whatever you use) and if you're connecting it to your spyder's expansion chamber, be sure to get a new hose and a spyder thread adapter. Last of all, this has an on/off which really helps save you some o-rings when un-gassing your gun. Some advice if you plan on buying this:

- Apply teflon to any threads where gas will be passing through, and to the plug on the side of the ASA adapter, OR YOU WILL HAVE LEAKS!!!

- Be sure to order the right fittings so you can hook it up to your gun right when you get it

Overall, this is an awesome drop-forward, and I highly recommend getting one!
Conclusion: Buy this, and follow my advice above, and you'll have a perfect product!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 23rd, 2004 at 12:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyderp8balla Thursday, March 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock drop
Marker Setup: E99 Avant with:
>20oz CO2
>Egg II
>14in SP Teardrop
>Kingman ACS Delrin Bolt
>32* Expansion Chamber
>Dye Stickies
>Shocktech Blade Trigger
>DOP Drop
>Madman Spring Kit
>Macroline
Strengths: >Nice drop
>On Off is really nice
>Good Looks
>Helps balance
>Universal

Weaknesses: None!
Review: OK, I was a little nervious when I bought this because I've heard so many different reviews for it. As soon as I hooked this drop up and played, I was amazed with it. The drop hooked up to my spyder nicely (offset bottomline screws). The on off came in really handy, and the really long drop helped in accomplishing a low profile gun. I could tuck my gun in the bunkers really nicely with my 20OZ CO2 tank. Another good factor of this gun was how much more accurate my shots were. The long drop gave it a nice balance, and allowed my to put the tank on my chest. The end of the tank came out maybe a couple inches further than the bevertail is! Treat this drop well [oil the on off internal type part (when you get it, it's a little shiny from oil and that's where you would oil it)] and you will be happy with it.
Conclusion: If you're a small person (like me) with short arms, this drop will work wonders.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 19th, 2005 at 8:10 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rob77 Tuesday, October 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
freak 14"
Expansion chamber
dead on drop forward
m16 sight handle
Strengths: Saves air, no more blown o rings, EXCELLENT customer service.
Weaknesses: Has to modified.
Review: Excellent product. When I first got it, I was having problems with the o ring, It would leak allot of air. I spoke to customer service (very helpful) Sent me new o rings for piston. On the newer versions of this drop forward there are 4 purge holes under the on/off knob. When I had a 20 oz on there and started to turn the knob in the on position the piston would activate the pin on the co2 before the o ring would pass the purge holes, allowing co2 to escape, when it shouldn't be. So I know all co2 tank pins are going to be slightly different lengths, I took the piston out and filed the end that hits the co2 pin very slightly. I made sure that the o ring would pass the purge holes before it activated the pin on my co2. So now when I turn the air on, no more leaking. When I turn it off, I only turn the knob a little to deactivate the pin on my co2. There is still a little pressure built up in the gun, so I can get a few more shots off. When it doesn't have enough pressure to cock itself then I turn the on/off knob off a little farther and it will purge the remaining air which isn't much. I can see allot of people had a problem like this, So I hope this helps someone so they don't give up. Very minor work to do, but well worth it.
Conclusion: I give a 10 even though it requires a little modification, The customer service was excellent and extremely nice, which made up for any problems with the drop forward. HIGHLY recommended.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 6th, 2005 at 8:31 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TippmannPhreak Sunday, June 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: I'm tired of posting it, maybe I will later.
Strengths: Durable Anno
Huge
Degassing Knob
Looks Nice
Very Solid
Made By Reputable Company
Weaknesses: ASA Actually Separates From The Dovetail
Review: Key Strengths~

[I] Durable Anno [/I]

The anno on this drop is very chip resistant, and nice and even throughout the whole drop. At times, I've tightened the screws so much on the grip frame, that I was sure the anno would wear off, but it never did. I've heard that the Psychoballistics Bullet Drop has horrible anno, and it's made very cheaply, so I paid the extra ten bucks, and I don't regret it.

[I] Huge [/I]

This drop is enormous! My 68/45 just barely sticks off the back of the gun, which makes my 98 extremely compact, and gives me a significant advantage over people without drops, or with smaller ones. Though, for some, a drop this big might be annoying, but not for me.

[I] Degassing Knob [/I]

The degassing knob really doesn't work as advertised, but it looks very nice. It does work, but you have to unscrew it very slowly to avoid blowing an O-Ring. At that point, I'd rather just unscrew my tank and fire until it uncocks. But it does work, and it looks nice, so I can't deduct points for that. I just used the screw that came on the knob, and locked it down so it wouldn't move.

[I] Looks Nice [/I]

I don't know about some people, but for me, this drop makes my gun look all curvaceous. Along with my Reloader II, Double Trigger, and the rest of my curvy stuff, it fits right in. The anno is somewhat glossy, but not so much so that it gives away your position if you're playing woodsball. Just glossy enough to look nice. The holes are perfectly placed, and accent all the curvy stuff on my gun even more. And last, but not least, the knob is very high quality, and looks extremely nice.

[I] Very Solid [/I]

I had looked at reviews for the Psychoballistics one, and almost everybody said it was very flimsy, and fell apart somewhat easily, so I shelled out the extra ten bucks for the DOP one, and I'm not disappointed at all. It has also been banged around pretty good, and has held up nicely. Definitely worth the forty bucks you pay for it.

[I] Made By Reputable Company [/I]

In my opinion, if it's DOP, it's got to be pretty good. I was not disappointed this time, and don't think I will be in the future when I purchase another DOP product.


Key Weaknesses~

[I] ASA Actually Separates From The Dovetail [/I]

The only fault I found with this drop is that the ASA undoes itself from the dovetail, and doesn't go back on fully. But it doesn't affect performance, at all, and it's never actually fallen off. But if you're nit-picky like me, you'll notice.
Conclusion: Awesome drop for forty bucks, and it's well spent. Durable, cheap, comfortable, and will last for a long time.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 12th, 2005 at 4:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eat evil paint Monday, April 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock drops on diff. guns.
Marker Setup: green spyder imagine
progressive barrel
dead on pro blade dropforward with on/off
remote
co2(soon to be hpa)
empire reloader
Strengths: drops and moves your tank forward allot.
on/off
looks
Weaknesses: on/off is touchy
Review: well another kid FINITE, who also wrote a review on this product is right, the on/off is touchy, unscrew it to fast and there go's a blown o-ring. what you have to do is unscrew it till the gas starts coming out and stop, then when it stops you unscrew it a little more and gas comes out and you let it leak out, repeat if you have to. ( it only takes me two little turns to get it all out.) if you don't believe me you can buy an extra o-ring and test it out for yourselves, but trust me that this is what you have to do:) .... another thing you have to watch out for is mounting it, you have to be carefull not to scratch it, it happend to me :( nothing noticable though when its on your gun, it just realy pissed me off so i thought i should let you guys and gals know. and also you should put teflon tape on all the places the gas travels through........

this drop also looks sharp, i got allot of comments on it, i like the red and black, the red defiantly looks awesome on the A-5. another drop i like is the WGP lady drop-forward, you know that thing looks cool.

this thing is great iff your a front player and need to play tight. i don't like it when i play back though because this this is a pain to shoulder iff you can get it up there at all. i take back saying not being able to shoulder it very easy, after about a month off use i found out that i can do it pretty easily with a 20 oz tank. i was just trying to do it with a 9 oz the first time i played so i thought it was reallly hard
Conclusion: great drop-forward for anyone, it has a nice on/off feature that comes in handy iff you know how to use it, and has a hole for a gauge if you want one off them.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 14th, 2004 at 3:21 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Doorman Saturday, June 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Standard drop on Xtra
Marker Setup: Spyder TL+
J&J 14" ceramic
Dead On Bullet Drop
Palmer Stabilizer
20 oz CO2
Maddman Rocket Valve
Polished internals
Modified Bolt, VA, Trigger
Strengths: Balance, on/off, and ease of use.
Weaknesses: Teflon tape. Not really a weakness as we should all use it for every connection.
Review: Prior problems with the pin valve depression pin have been solved, it now mounts from the knob side of the ASA. This drop moved my 20 oz tank up into a position that balances the marker completely just behind the trigger with a full tank and hopper (I can balance it perfectly on a single finger). It has given me a tighter profile (hits I have taken now are on the hopper or trigger hand) and allows me to snap shoot easier and faster.

If you are mounting it to a Spyder and are worried about the screws being too long, you can fix it for less than $.25. You can either cut the screws and file them down to proper threading, or you can head to the hardware store. Take your grips off and remove the two nuts in the bottom of the handle, take these and the screws with you. Pick up nuts the same size and bolts that are 1/4" shorter than the stock ones... you can get them in either metric or standard so you don't have to try matching the 10/32 threads.

The manufacturer doesn't know what side you want your gauge and air connections, so the plug is shipped loosely fit into one side or the other. It is up to you to move it to the side you desire and apply the tape to the threads, but this is just common sense and doesn't detract from the drop in any way.

Conclusion: This is a fabulous upgrade to your marker. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a tighter profile and better balance to their marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media