paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Powerlyte Hybrid Autococker / Powerlyte Hybrid Autococker / Powerlyte Hybrid Autococker / Powerlyte Hybrid Autococker

Powerlyte Hybrid Autococker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Powerlyte

Buy Powerlyte Hybrid Autococker

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Powerlyte Hybrid Autococker
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 6
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $695

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Hybrid was first developed several years ago as answer to the complicated, closed bolt cocking and firing system found on guns such as the Autococker, Blazer, etc. During the development of the Hybrid we had two main objectives; Simplify the pneumatic, closed bolt system and make the marker easier to maintain. These objectives were accomplished in amazing fashion by eliminating the need for a front block, moving the ram inside the gun body and creating an innovative swing block for the 3-way.

The Hybrid is now in its third and most advanced incarnation to date. The new 05’ Hybrid is lighter, faster and has more features than ever before. Features like a 3D milled body, high speed ram with QEV (quick exhaust valve), dual ball detents and side plates, predrilled to accept both Eblade and break beam eyes, recessed back block and all new internals.

The 05 Hybrid is available as a body kit or complete marker. Body kits come completely assembled and pressure tested. All you need to build the gun of your dreams is an E-Frame kit, barrel, air system and a hopper.

The full list of Hybrid features are listed below along with links to the online manual, diagrams and videos. If you have any questions about the Hybrid that are not answered here, please check the F.A.Q's section for more help.

* 3D Milled Body Design.
* High Speed, Low Friction, Internal Ram.
* High Precision, Burnished Ram Bore for Increased Speed.
* Delrin Bolt w/ Dual O-Rings.
* Clamping, No Rise Feed Tube.
* Recessed Back Block
* Integrated, High Flow LPR.
* Dual Ball Detents.
* Dual Aluminum Side Plates, No More Rubber Eye Covers.
* Pre-Drilled for Eblade and/or Break Beam Eyes.
* Balanced, Low pressure valve.
Product Availability 
The Powerlyte Hybrid Autococker is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
pbcrazy Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gen-x3 Cocker, GZ TImmy
Marker Setup: GZ Timmy w/ 16" Powerlyte Scepter System, Powerlyte Hybrid w/ 16" Powerlyte Scepter System
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-blade or Race Frame works great with these bodys.
Strengths: This marker is lighter than an SFL and easier to work on.
Weaknesses: None at this point!!!
Review: This marker is way before its time! I am so impressed with this gun, the speed and accurancy are superior to any cocker that I have ever shot. The milling is flawless and the internals are very well thought out. Everything is so easy to get to and replace. If the ram goes bad, just get your 7/32 socket wrench and the ram will come right out along with the hoses. The swinging 3-way block and timing plate are awesome for timing adjustments.
Conclusion: I just recently put an e-blade on my hybrid and it simply RIPS!!!! I could not ask for an easier setup. I'm getting about 2000 shots from a 68/4500 with very tight velocity consistency. I'm pretty happy to say the least.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

JohAmAsllAmAs Wednesday, December 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any WGP marker, PnP Cold Fusion
Marker Setup: My baby Hybrid, Sceptre, Torp, Empire on/off ASA (Woo i reccomend this ASA to ANYONE)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Vertical Reg, ASA etc are required. The three way can be improved (Only Evils, WGPs, and the stock Bullet have enough flow to function on a Hybrid. Besales, Bombs have very small fittings and will NOT work.) Internals are not upgradeable anyways, and no need for it. Not made for co2. It will work, but not to full potential.
Strengths: Customer Support, Innovative, Very easy to work with, Very low pressure, Autococker Strengths.. reduced weaknesses.
Weaknesses: Scrader Valve Failed, Needed tuning.
Review: Wooo This little guy and I have gone a long way. I'll start off with the reasons why I purchased it in the first place (v2 Hybrid).

Entire body is micro honed, with NO metal to metal parts
the Valve sits farther back, which moves the blast port farther away from the feed tube.
the Valve has a wider face and shorter stem (more consistency)
Hammer is delrin sleeved w/ brass center, which means better impact w/o extra spring tension (gain about 20 fps)
Largest Air chamber in any 'cocker (lower pressure)
Ram is internal.. which means NO front block, Easy maintenance, less weight, and Beauuutifulness. It's also got a longer travel.. 1 1/16 inch to be exact, which clears the feed tube longer (more drop time) and stays forward longer (more consistency). The piston rod is also wider in diameter.. which decreases the forward travel force (VERY easy on paint). I could shoot my weenie without pain, if it fit in there. I dont recommend this.
Integrated, TINY, adjustable LPR, right smack dab in the center.
3 way on a separate swing block.. just swing it upwards and you have free access to timing rod, 3 way rod, ect ect. No more removing front block annoyances.
Collar lock feed tube.
comes stock with arguably the best barrel system in market: 5 bore sceptre.
Dual Delrin ball detents, Eblade ready.
Am I forgetting anything? Probably.

Okay Okay first hand experience time. Milling is clean, with rounded, sharp edges typical of powerlyte design. Nothing extreme like an Orracle or Dye, though... powerlyte opted to put weight reduction in higher priority than pretty. Centerflag Regs are recommended (+80 bucks), but i opted for a torpedo, which has not given me a single problem. Grab a Gauge!! NO MATTER WHAT! Exceeding 275 psi can cause damage.

When i first gassed her up, BOOM 3 way hose blew. WTF. so i took her LPR apart, got the scrader valve replaced. Good as new. Gas up time no.2. Nothin broken, but this time it cycled EXTREMELY sluggish. Called Paul at powerlyte, who referred to me by name, and helped me through what must have been an hour of tinkering. This is what i learned through the call. Sluggish ram activity could be result of Bent 3way rod, Friction of bolt, or lousy tuning. Checked the first two, perfectly fine. Ends up i had my Torp at 150, and the LPR was tuned all the way out (i was afraid it would blow another hose if i turned it in all the way.. but ends up even at that it only goes up to around 180). Also increasing velocity requires higher LPR pressure. DOH. sweet spotted it all, and WOOOT i had a perfect, fast cycling, consistent, low pressure Hybrid. Even aware of my folly, Paul said "i'll send you another bolt.. just in case. You should get it by Tuesday". Customer support ITSELF is worth purchasing this marker.

This is beginning to sound more like a journal than a review.. so I'l just list performance.
She's very light, much smaller than any other 'cocker, which fits in perfectly with me being a front player.
Trigger is very smooth, snappy. Could be shorter though.. but not by much (You can fully tune it to ur preference).
SO @#$^ QUIET.
SO @#$^ CONSISTENT.
SO @#$^ ACCURATE.
SO @#$^ GAS EFFICIENT.

After a rough start she has NEVER broken down on me.. ALWAYS performed up to par with my very very high expectations, and then some. I always get that fuzzy feeling that I own the best 'cocker at my field.
Conclusion: So much thinking has gone into this thing.. it's by far the most innovative 'cocker based marker on the market. Performance is nothing short of Awe inspiring.

I'd repeat the rough start 10 times to own the Hybrid i own now.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 6th, 2004 at 8:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MojojojoAF Friday, May 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
02 Vert WGP Autococker, Tippmann 98c,
Marker Setup: 02 Powerlyte Hybrid cocker, Dye regulator, Boomstick and OTP G3 insert barrell system and Reloader, Powerlyte Axis Hinge frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, although stock one piece truly isn't bad and you could get by with good paint match
Strengths: *Light
*Quiet
*Compact profile
*Made in America
*Innovative
*Unique design
*WOW!
Weaknesses: Nothing to date-
Review: Got this thing and was drueling from the start. Tore it down and rebuilt it to make sure I understood what was going on inside (I am a tinkerer by nature).

This gun is truly a marvel. I had some probs with my regs at first, tried an Air America, then an Ergo Reg from an STO, then a PMI Pre Energy (I was getting desperate at this point) nothing I had was getting as low as the gun needed to go- so I slapped down the dollars got a decent reg, the Dye Hyper inline reg, and bam baby! It was puring from the moment I put it on. This gun is so quiet it hurts. Chronoed at 280 and the guys in our shop literally stopped because there was almost no noise. Untill that time only their Dye's and few Angels where as quiet. Consistancy was awesome thanks to the new reg, and I am running it on almost no pressure.

The trigger is the next best thing. It is butter smooth and I can rip off a stream of paint no problem. Highly adjustable and Powerlyte threw in an extra trigger shoe. Yes! this two finger design allows for optional trigger shoes and Powerlyte threw it in for free.

The three way and lpr are in house from appearence and work great, the lpr reminds me of a micro rock with the rock knob. I am tempted later to go with the Orracle Tickler and reduce the front profile even more. The timing plate also makes adgustment very easy, as well as the three way plate helps tremendously when having to remove the frame or make certain adjustments.
Conclusion: There really is so much more but I beleive this is a great marker and when I get my E-Blade on it LOOK OUT!

Buy this marker! you won't regret it. The customer service is awesome and the people very friendly.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hybrid Tuesday, April 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
2002 Autococker
Marker Setup: 2002 Powerlyte "Special Edition" Blue Hybrid. My setup is as follows: a Chrome LP Centerflag inline regulator, regulated to an operation pressure of 225psi at 280fps. Chrome Rhino front LP regulator, Custom Products Chrome flame drop forward with on/off, Crossfire 68ci 4500 Fiber Wrap LP tank, (Regulated at 450psi), Clear Evolution II electronic hopper. All stock internal parts.
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-blade, just simply because they are probably the best frame you can purchase for an autococker today! The internals are upgraded from Powerlyte free when ever they make an upgrade, and are the best for this gun.
Strengths: Performance, weight, and looks are unbeatable! Customer service is the best! Paul is the Best!
Weaknesses: None!
Review: This is the best marker, I have ever shot. It is the most consistent, eye appealing, and light, autococker on the market today. It is truly low pressure and the air efficiency is unbelievable. This gun is the talk of the day. Not only from the ones that are on my team but also from the ones that have had to go to the dead box from it.
Conclusion: This is a great marker for the price. The customer service is excellent. I had a problem with the marker when I first got it, called up Powerlyte, talked to Paul the owner and had a new part in 2 days. Then sent it to them for some tuning and they told me that there were some new parts that are on the new hybrid and put them on for FREE, and sent me the old ones back also.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SocraticB Friday, May 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
MECHANICALS

1999 WGP Right Feed 'Cocker: Less reliable, as quiet, as accurate, much heaveir;
2003 ACE bodied custom: MUCH less reliable, as quiet, as accurate, heavier;
AGD RT Automag: As reliable, louder, faster in RT mode, less efficient, less accurate;
AGD .68 Automag: As reliable, louder, almost as fast, less efficient, less accurate;
All Spyders: Less reliable, louder, slower, less efficient, much less accurate;
Tippmanns: As reliable, louder, slower, less efficient, less accurate;

ELECTRONIC MARKERS

E-Cockers: Faster, as quiet, as efficient, as accurate
Over/Unders: Faster, louder, less efficient, less accurate
Spool Valves: Faster, as quiet, much less efficient, almost as accurate
Marker Setup: 2004 WGP Karnivor with stock pneumatics and Planet Eclipse E2 Eblade upgrade.

1999 Right Feed WGP 'cocker with Bomb, Planet Hinge, Palmer's Ram/LPR, AKA Sidewinder, AKA Tornado Valve, AKA Lightining Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
None necessary; for peak performance, however, replace the reg with a Sidewinder or CP.
Strengths: Fast
Accurate Shooting Platform
Easy Maintenance
Most Upgrades Included
Efficiency
Quiet
Weaknesses: Ram not the best for e-grips
Locking feed bad for Apaches
Hard to upgrade
Review: Powerlyte's Hybrids don't have 'model years,' but generations/versions. I had a 2nd Gen Hybrid for some time, and I understand Powerlyte may be coming out with a 3rd Gen in 2005.

My Hybrid didn't have the Powerlyte grip frame, but a CCM 86 degree frame, and didn't come with Powerlyte's 3-way or Scepter Barrel Kit. I will not review either product.

I will start off by saying I couldn't be more pleased with my Hybrid. Fast, light, reliable, a very accurate shooting platform and with all necessary upgrades included, it was one of my best markers.

STRENGTHS

I. Upgrades Included

The Hybrid body kit comes with an integrated LPR, a unique internal ram, a locking feedneck, delring bolt, custom delrin sheathed brass hammer, high-flow valve, lightweight milling, very light backblock and no front block (none necessary!). The full marker adds the Powerlyte 45 degree hinge trigger grip, aftermarket 3-way and Powerlyte's Scepter barrel kit (I didn't get these, so I won't review them). Almost everything you'd want to upgrade HAS been upgraded, stock! Better yet, the upgrades are all high quality. If you want to get a great mechanical 'cocker, and don't want to mess around with upgrades, this is the best deal going.

II. Speed

The Hybrid is the fastest mechanical I've ever used (except RT mechanicals). I've gotten finger cramps from the ROF, and it clearly has more speed available to it. In part, this is due to a good grip frame; while I can't speak for the Powerlyte frame, the CCM, DYE and Eclipse frames work spectacularly on the Hyrbrid. Accuracy suffers a little at high ROF, but that's true for all guns. I can outfire a 9v and even a 12v Revolution on occasion, although not a 12v X-boarded Revvy.

III. Build Quality

My Hybrid is beautifully milled and anno'ed; there's one small blemish on my anno, but I've never seen blemishes on the anno of other Hybrids. There are no metal shavings, burrs, milling marks or errors at all. The parts and fittings are well-engineered and installed, no bad welding, stripped screws, loose parts or ill-fitting parts. Everything works exactly as its supposed to work, smoothly and without problems. The only issue I've seen is bolt swell on a buddy's Hybrid; my Hybrid had no problems whatsoever. Overall, excellent.

III. Accurate Shooting Platform

Although no marker is inherently more accurate than any other, kickback, weight, design and operating pressure all combine to make some markers better shooting platforms than others. When a marker doesn't jump around in your hands, and points where you want it to point, you will be more accurate. The Hybrid provides an excellent shooting platform. The Hybrid can operate a low pressure (about 250 psi input) and there is very little 'kick.' With a good paint-to-barrel match, the balls go where you want them, reliably. Like all other mechanicals, higher ROF reduces accuracy somewhat, but I've found that it's more accurate than other mechanicals even then.

IV. Easy Maintenance

After a day of play, wipe it down, pull the bolt and swab it, drop some oil in the ASA and you're done. No o-rings on the bolt to tear; no complicated front block to clean with Q-Tips; no messy porting or cuts in the body to clean. I've never had to perform maintenance on my Hybrid; it just works every time. The LPR is rebuilable, but haven't needed to rebuild it. The cocking rod hasn't backed out on me, either, which is unusual for a 'cocker.

V. Efficiency

Very efficient marker, I get about 1700 shots from a 68/4500.

VI. Quiet

It's not as quiet as an old Shocker or a Matrix, but it's quieter than most markers. It has a low sound signature when using LP, as well, which makes the direction the sound came from harder to pin down. Speedballers won't care much about the sound, but woodsballers, and those who like to hear their teammates, will appreciate it.

WEAKNESSES

The weaknesses listed here are all small things, and really are irrelevant if you want a mechanical-only marker. The only limitations to the Hybrid appear when you put an EBlade or Race Frame on it, and even then, they're very minor. Many people have reported great results with EBlading their Hybrid, and I can see why.

I. Small Upgrade Path

The result of having so many proprietary upgrades is that there is a small upgrade path. Although the upgrades provided are excellent, a slightly better ram or 3-way might be useful to some players. While the 3-way is easy to replace, thanks to Powerlyte's innovative swing-out attachement, you can't replace the ram, nor put QEV's on it. The feedneck is good, but doesn't work well with Apaches (see below). The bolt and hammer can be replaced, but don't need to be. The LPR is not upgradeable, either.

II. Ram Isn't Perfect for Electronic Conversion

While many people will never need a better ram ('cause it's darn good), some people who put an EBlade or Race Frame on the gun might want a Nexxus or Belsales ram, which are a little, but not much, smoother. I've heard that Powerlyte is working on the ram issue, and may have a way to put QEV's on, but I don't know for sure. A buddy of mine has had problems putting an ANS Raceframe on his Hybrid, and we suspect it's because the ram stroke is an unusual length. ANS hasn't been able to resolve this for him. Again, many people have had great results with eblading their Hybrid. The stock ram works great, and most people won' t really need the Nexus or Belsales rams, nor will they see a difference. Only if you have pro-level fingers do I suspect it will have any effect.

III. Locking Feedneck Not Good for Apache Loaders

The Hybrid's locking feed works very well, but has a problem with the Apache loaders. The Apache is too skinny to be held in the feedneck without the Apache's o-rings on, but the o-rings get chewed up by the feedneck. Halos and Revvys work just fine.

Conclusion: The Hybrid is a great mechanical marker, and a very good deal for the price considering the great upgrades installed, the reliability, the speed, the ease of maintenance, the accuracy and the efficiency of the marker. If you MUST have the very fastest ever electro, you may want to wait for the 3rd Gen Hybrid; however, those people who must have 21 instead of 20 bps are generally looking for another type of marker anyway. I can't reccomend this enough, especially for those of you who want a 'cocker but don't want to mess around with it. I give this a 10 as a mech and an 9 as an electronic conversion, 9 overall.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 6th, 2005 at 10:35 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

cowpox89 Thursday, August 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Other cockers electro and mech-some better some worse
nerve-well its a nerve
matrixes-a well ok
Marker Setup: Upgraded 03 vert feed
Recommended
Upgrades:
New bolt and internals
Barrel
Hpa
New inline reg
Strengths: Light
Fast(when you eblade it)
Reliability
Weaknesses: Cant use qevs
Review: I tested this gun at a local field and thought it ripped like crazy, so the owner let me use it in a couple of games, the first game i was in i was playing against tippmanns and cheap spyders, it killed them all the second game i played against a couple of other cockers, it was faster than the stock one but no where near as fast as the upgraded one with quevs, so i begged the owner to let me put on the eblade he bought, finally he gave in and let me install it, after about an hour of tinkering with the eblade i played some more people but this time they all had tricked out electro halfblocks(they were on a team and all had basiclly the same gun) i thought it would be way fasterer i fast wrong it turned out that since it had the stock pneumatics with no quevs it was bound to get killed it did
Conclusion: It is good if you are planning on eblade'ing it but while its mech it is no where as close to as fast as a simple upgraded cocker with quevs
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media