paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Zap ZXS 500 / Zap ZXS 500 / Zap ZXS 500 / Zap ZXS 500

Zap ZXS 500 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Zap

Buy Zap ZXS 500

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Zap ZXS 500
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 19
Average Rating: 4.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A high performance all aluminum semi-auto paintball marker featuring a double finger trigger, bottom line hose with drop forward, vertical feed, and a fitted wrap-around gel grip with lots of upgrade capabilities.
Product Availability 
The Zap ZXS 500 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
memphiz Thursday, April 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year14 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Marauder, Puma, XTSS, Raptor S.E.
Marker Setup: v.l 200, zxs-500,9oz co2,winchester mask,
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, thats about it otherwise is great gun
Strengths: easy to field strip, solid design, looks cool, powerful, cheap
Weaknesses: chops paintballs(not alot), barell is kinda odd
Review: this is a great gun, i have had a few problems with it but were easily fixed, it is cheap and easy to maintain, its done well playin with it through winter in the mountians in canada, it does chop paintballs but every paintball gun does, the barrel is cool, the ZAP company should come out with upgrades for it such as: new barrel,e-trigger,
Conclusion: if you want a cheap but good gun buy this
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Hitekpaint Sunday, January 4th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have used an orion viewloader
-zxs 500 dosen't come with a fore grip
Marker Setup: -zxs 500(of course)
-smart parts fore grip
-custom barrel
-viewloader 200 round hopper
-9 oz Brass EagleCO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
-better grip
-barrel
Strengths: not bad power low accuracy with balls other than zap's
Weaknesses: barrel,thats about it
Review: This gun is not a bad starter gun for your money's worth. Just get a fore grip and it'll be fine. It's not bad on gas either so as long as you have zap paintballs it will work. Try it out a few times to get the feel for it. It gets the job done at an afordable price. Maintence for it isn't bad either.
Conclusion: If you want to get a good starter gun at an afordable price this is it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 12th, 2004 at 2:42 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Travis_Norman Wednesday, January 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray 2
Marker Setup: ZXS-500 (no upgrades)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New gun
Strengths: Nothing except maybe the look.
Weaknesses: Nothing really worked on this gun.
The paintball all burst.
I think that I got 10/50 shots that actually didn't break in the gun.
On my second game the trigger spring busted and now it wont fire.
I don't like the way that the manual says that Zap is determined on bringing us quality products.
Conclusion: WARNING: do not buy this gun
My recommendation is to root around a garbage dump before buying this gun.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

crimsonmonkey Saturday, February 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none... my first gun is this piece.
Marker Setup: zap with spyder barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
buy a new gun... this thing is.... just... oh my god.... don't buy it!!! and if you are too poor or crazy to buy another gun, get a new barrel, a new bolt, expansion chamber, forgrip, trigger, grip ( feels so cheap... and it is!), and take off the stupid sight rail, since it does nothing at all!!!!
Strengths: the barrel is fun to hit people with. That's about it.
Weaknesses: Just look below ... jeeze...
Review: this gun is a worthless piece of scrap metal, my brother took the hopper off, and the feed neck came off with it, I paintballed with it for like 3 hours, and it broke, it chops balls like crazy, the ball detent tears good paint, so you have to get the crappy thick stuff which makes it even more inaccurate (if possible), you have to cut the ball detent in half with scissors or else it won't work at all, the bolt is the worst you can get, extremely uncomfortable, its got this cheap plastic grip that gives you blisters even with gloves, I ran into some dirt, and it screwed the gun up really bad, some of my shots were curving up and going behind me!!! overall, ZAP SUCKS!!!
Conclusion: Buy a new gun... don't even bother with this gun. it is truly disgusting. buy a Spyder Imagine or a Tippmann 98c, they'll do awesome.... please do not waste your money!!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pbkid39 Monday, September 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmanns, Spyders
Marker Setup: 2k3 WGP cocker w/ ups
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everything, I dont even think you can get ups for these.
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: * Stock barrel is worthless
* Feedneck is spot welded
* Kickback
* Accuracy
Review: This marker is a worthless POS. I mean, the first day I played with it, I shot a few rounds and noticed it has quite a bit of kickback and all the balls were curving and chopping and jamming inside the gun. I was getting really frustrated. Once, during a game I had a jam so I tried to take off the hopper and the whole feedneck came off with the hopper! That just shows you Zap's quality.
Conclusion: I dont recommend this to anyone. A tippmann will easily out preform this marker in every way. DO NOT GET IT DO NOT GET IT
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kyle420 Sunday, February 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Marauder, Puma, XTSS, Raptor S.E.
Marker Setup: 9 oz/14 oz Co2
vl 200 hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: inexpensive, fairly accurate, drop forward, good Co2 consistency, Low maintenaince, never had a problem with it
Weaknesses: funny lookin' barrel,(mine has one that looks like the ZXS 400 barrel) not much else, chops ball every now and then but less than a lot of markers i've tried
Conclusion: good gun for price range, all around good gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bakerboy4679 Thursday, April 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
other spyder clones
Marker Setup: Tribal BBT
LPR
EYES
Bob Long Torpedo
Fury chip
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, expantion chamber
Strengths: Price, and looks
Weaknesses: Not a spyder frame, stock barrel is light, but quite loud
Review: Out of the box this gun was compairable to an orion. but my friend got this for his sister, and there was no way he would leave her with a gun like this, as it was. so he put a Syder (yes a spyder barrel will work) quiet riot barrel on it, along with a six stage EXP Chamber, and some nice grips, he thought about a new bolt but it works fine with the stock one. it is funny, cuz people at the park think that the girl on our team has a bad gun cuz it says ZAP. but it outperforms most of the spyers at the park, the mechs, anyways.
Conclusion: Its a good cheap gun, but put a barrel and EXP chamber on it
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

M1lkman Tuesday, October 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor
Marker Setup: ZXS-500
20oz CO2
200 round hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel this one is very odd.
Strengths: Looks cool. Fairly cheap.
Weaknesses: Double feeds alot. There are more than normal chops that come from this gun.
Review: I got this gun about 3 years ago and I though oh man this is awsome. But I really wanted a Spyder Victor. But in may ways this is just like the spyder Victor. This is a fairly good gun no better than average really. There arnt really any good aspects of this gun just the fact it is cheaper than most others are. I wouldt really say bothering getting many upgrades because it would be wiser in the long run to just get a better gun. But if you just want to get use to paintball or don't know if you really want to play it all that often, then maybe this is exactily what you need. I got this gun with a mask hopper and barrel cleaner and it was 100 dollers. I would say that the gun is worth about 50 brand new coming out of the box by itself. But isnt very reliable. I did hoever play a few games with it and it worked well. The gun worked for me when I first go it but in later days didn't come in handy very well.
Conclusion: So if you want a cheap gun to get use to paintball or decide wether or not you want to continue paintball get this. But I would Recomend that you find somthing better befor refering to this. But it worked when I had it as a novice so it was nice for the period of use. But after it had many problems not fixable, choped, double fed, and didnt aim well.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunkerboydrew Monday, April 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mardur same
Eraicator same
PMI R6 worse
98c way better
Marker Setup: 04 vert(prostock) cocker E2
sto kaner barrel kit
70ci crossfire
Empire reloader b
Super fly bolt
Pursuit custom shop quicker ram with QEV's and micro rock lpr
CP shorty
Dye attack pack
Lock lid pods
Profiler

Shocker black 05
Stiffi 14 in .689
NDZ stinger bolt
NDZ roller blade trigger
Q-lock
CIP unimount

senario gun
A-5
RT
flatline
full stock (so it looks like and MP5 or SP89)
remote
6+1 black
CP pods
Recommended
Upgrades:
none it would defeat the purpose of buy this because its really cheap
Strengths: Read review
Weaknesses: Read review
Review: I bought it for my friend to use because I wanted to get him into paintball
Pros
goes off every time
kinda durable
very cheap
for how cheap it is it has good accuracy, weight and size
can put sight on and sight rail for people who like them but its not accurate enough to be able to use a sight.
small dropforward
reg but not very good one better than none
non matt finish (I just hate mate finish)
low to no mateinace besides cleaning

Cons
air use age only like 550-600 shots off a 20 oz
hard to clean
plastic scratches easy
tall with drop
coughed when fired
hard sloppy trigger pull
uncomfortable grips
Conclusion: Good beginners marker but if you ever want to upgrade just get a new marker
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 13th, 2005 at 8:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lochblake Monday, May 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Pirhana, Tippmann
Marker Setup: Older Spyder mechanical, 16" barrel, expansion chamber CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing, it is a LOUSEY PIECE OF JUNK
Strengths: Its bright and shiney
Weaknesses: It chops balls, it eats Orings, badly designed and machined
Review: The gun chopped the 3 rd ball shot out of it. I took it appart and cleaned it, the orings had been grooved by the lousey machining of the aluminum body.

I replaced the orings, and tried again. 4th ball chopped. same as above.

3rd try, repeated above, it chopped the 2nd ball.

I figure with some dilligent hand rework I might be able to get this POS to work.

I already have the drop forward and Braided line installed on another gun.

Unless you pay less than $25 this gun is not worth it. I ended up using for parts.
Conclusion: Unless you pay less than $25 this gun is not worth it. I ended up using for parts.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media