paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / War Marchine Assault 80 / War Marchine Assault 80 / War Marchine Assault 80 / War Marchine Assault 80

War Marchine Assault 80 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount War Marchine

Buy War Marchine Assault 80

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


War Marchine Assault 80
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 12
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $299

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Functions at only 80psi - unbelievable efficiency - 1500+shots with a 68cu 3000psi. Designed with easy maintenance in mind - Only One internal moving part that Will NEVER Wear Out. Push Button Electronic Velocity and Rate of Fire Adjustments - the first of it's kind. (No more Allen Keys needed)

Modular design for endless upgrades
- Dual Regulators
- CO2 or Nitrogen
- Adjustable Trigger Group
- Adjustable Feed Port For Left or Right Hand Warp Feed
- Optional upgrades include:
- high performance solenoid
- vertical reg supercharger
- tactile anti-chop eye
- voice recognition module
- online programmable downloads
- upgrade triggers (coming soon - floating trigger)
- high performance spool valve
- recoilless breech (allows use of cocker barrels & increases rate of fire)
- Upgrade select fire EPROM
Product Availability 
The War Marchine Assault 80 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
stray bullet Monday, June 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year19 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray
Raptor
98C
Zap 700 ZXS
Black Dragun
Pt xtreme Pro
A-5 w/ Flatline
Mayhem EC
B.E. Rainmaker
03 Base Model Autococker
Marker Setup: SBS Stationary Barrel System: Upgraded to Two Stage Bolt early 2004
Supercharger- not really needed: Can't outshoot stock regulator
Evil Pipe Barrel System: Shoots Darts
Remote Co2 setup w/ Inline Palmer Stablizer + Filter
2004 Upgrade to HPA 47ci 300psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
The inline filter is a MUST
Low rise collet for hopper is a must, order when getting marker.
Lighter trigger switch, avail on manufactures site.
Use a good synthetic oil for low maintence.
Strengths: Push button velocity, ROF.
Light Recoil.
Nice_trigger_with_upgrade, through_WMP
Co2 or HPA
Can_rotare_breach_for_side_feed.
Weaknesses: Front regulator a little awkward to handle as grip.
Not a trendy looking design.
Review: This may seen long winded. But since information is scarce on the Assault 80 here it is.
I played recreational ball for three hours today.
After tweaking out the LPR I started on the HPR side the night before playing. After experimenting and finding out that 500psi on my in-line Palmer gave the same performance as an 800psi input I settled for that. Reason being is I hoped to use my coiled remote as an expansion/thermal exchange unit, it worked. The A-80 body and regulator got cool but nothing like my Palmer in-line regulator. That baby was sweating like Martha Stewart on the Court House steps. Just before hitting the chrony station I turned the A-80 on. Then tap, tap, tap on the velocity control 298, 299, 286, 299.

2004 Upgrade: I'm getting no less than 500 shots from a 47/3k Crossfire tank. The shooting pressure is 135-155psi.

The recoil on the A-80 is almost non existent so placing shots in a tight grouping is fairly easy. It gets even better if you can tweak the LPR. You have probably noticed that most of the metal in the A-80 is in the front of the grip. After playing an hour or so the uneven weight distribution began to become noticeable as my hand began to feel just a tad sore. But after reworking the hoses this annoyance dissappeared. As you probably picked up from my previous ramblings I'm running a Co2 remote system. If a HPA or Co2 anti-siphon setup was mounted on the marker I have a feeling that it would probably balance it out. Yup, I was right. After putting a HPA and Warmachine dropfoward it tucks perfectly and the weight is balanced better. Wait right there I'm not finished with the front regulator setup. I have small hands, please be kind and there is no truth to the myth. Getting a grip on this assembly was slightly uncomfortable. The small size, length, and the whole Supercharger, guage and hose setup kinda leaves you shifting your hand around looking for a sweet spot on how to handle it. No longer a problem as I mentioned earlier it just too a rework of the hoses. This made no difference during fire fights in controlling the marker. For some reason the regulator assembly wobbles just a tad even when gassed. No big deal and I never really noticed when I was playing, this is just an observation. WMP fixed that.
The A-80 performed flawlessly and only chopped one ball during the day. Because the screw to secure the hopper in the neck was pointed at the rear it almost exactly lined up on seam of the neck on my EVO II. This pushed the plastic edge of the EVO II neck inward. It was either tape it on which you all know how well that would have worked or let the hopper flop around. I choose the edge option for the chop. This might have slowed the feed rate. Can't really tell if this caused the chop but because of the SBS design it didn't affect the cycling performance. WMP now has a low rise collet to hold the hopper in place so this won't happen if you get the upgrade, well worth it. I upgraded to the Two Stage Barrel and haven't chopped since. The Two Stage Bolt System is designed to to pinch paint. I put a ball in the path of the bolt and sure enough it bounced off the ball but after three bounces it chopped like a Giusu knife and goo was everywhere. As for the push button controls it became obvious while handling the marker in the safe area that the protruding button tabs need to be replaced. WMP fixed that too. It was just too easy for an accidental brush against them to change the settings. This brings up the subject of Regulated field play. Thankfully I'm a good friend with the owner. He said it was OK for me to play for the day even though this looked like a glaring opportunity to cheat. If it had been anyone else he might not have been so understanding. Thankfully Chris at WMP has heard of the problem and taken care of it. He told me that all the new A-80s being produced had recessed push buttons.
Conclusion: Now here is my personal opinion about the A-80 to date. The Assault 80 with it's incorporated features is probably the best spool design marker avaliable, haven't shot the the new Shocker.

I don't need to shoot the Shocker the Assault has performed flawlessly for two springs, summers and one fall.

The push button digital velocity and rate of fire control is nothing more than a sign of things to come. The fact that not once did I have to look for an Allen wrench the whole day at the field is definitely worth lots of brownie points, kudos Warmachinepaintball. The light recoil and flawless flow of paintballs on a nice trigger made for a great day of paintball.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 25th, 2004 at 9:14 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Polish Guy Sunday, February 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nova 700
Marker Setup: WarMachine Assault 80
Tournement Cap
Supercharger
2-Stage Bolt
Clamping Low-rise
Vortex Barrel
PI Drop / 88/4500 CrossFire
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stainless Steel Selinoid
Tournement Cap
Supercharger
Strengths: Speed-23bps
PSI Output
Size
Weaknesses: Touchy Selinoid
Trigger Frame
Review: The gun is very good overall. It has the key strengths of a true electo and performs just as well as any Timmy or Trix on the market. It's two-stage bolt is also a great feature, using only 6psi to close the bolt, preventing chops, then going to 80psi to ensure a closed bolt and a quick return. Also, the profile of the gun, very small and definitly unique design. With this gun, you will get many looks and questions. Another thing about this gun is it's endless upgradalbility, the trigger mods, the internal mods, and other upgrades. Finally, the air pressure that the gun operates at is quite low. Mine is ripping at 120 psi which ensures plenty of shots off of any tank. The gun accepts CO2 or air/N2 which the reg and internals deal with fine. The selinoid is probably the worst part of the gun, which really isn't all that bad. The airways have a tendancy to get junk caught in them which can cause a headache anytime during the day, but can be fixed/prevented by either upgrading to a SS Selinoid or just taking it off and cleaning it out.
Conclusion: This gun is a very good investment and would get tons of looks from friends and fellow players. The price is incredible for the deal that you'd be getting and you won't be dissappointed with the quality of the product. If you do have any problems or questions, just call WarMachine and they'd guide you through anything.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sammyjr00 Monday, November 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I own both an angel and a matrix, and have used both extensively. through a buddy of mine, I just got ahold of one of the Assault 80's. This thing is incredible. It has a overdrive upgrade board that just came in, and is way faster than my matrix or angel. While I can't use any of my other barrels on it, it still shoots very straight with just a stock barrel. That is going to be the first upgrade I buy. I should be able to get a barrel mod very shortly. They are supposed to be making a recoilless barrel mod for other barrels to use.
Marker Setup: Angel, Matrix, Assault 80
Halo, Warp Feed
Recommended
Upgrades:
Mod for regular barrels to fit on
Strengths: Faster than anything else I've ever used. With my Halo, it flies. It actually goes faster with my Halo than with my Warp Feed. I can use it all day on one tank, because it shoots on so low of pressure. I can adjust the velocity with the push of one button. I can adjust the firing rate with the push of a button. It has 2 regulators. I love that blade trigger, it screams like nothing else. This gun is awesome.
Weaknesses: Noone know about it. All my buddies keep making fun of me for using a gun they have not seen before ('Till I kicked their ***) :-)
Conclusion: I love it.
It blows my matrix and angel both away.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

warfinge Friday, March 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I own a bunch of markers. I have shot a bunch of friends markers. Closest to feel and performance I have ever shot to the assault 80 would be a matrix.
Marker Setup: I bought marker with recoiless breach/ ram charger reg mod/Cheezy flat black 10" WM barrel. I have since added the overdrive chip/ SS servicable 'noid. Their Guage also is a poor match for the pressure range. Mac-Dev 0 - 300 PSI is a great replacement
Recommended
Upgrades:
Overdrive chip/ static breach/ supercharger reg upgrade
Strengths: Easily maintained
Electronic FPS control kinda neat
Sweet trigger/ grgonomics
not a gas hog
Weaknesses: Feedneck really sucks,.
CUSTOMER SERVICE
ball detent


ANO Mildly rough
Review: Out of the box its ready to go and your average player need never do anything but maintain the marker and watch paint to barrel match. I have a halo-B and have never chopped with at least 4 cases of paint. Thats saying something. Its easy to maintain and clean. Sweet trigger with great advisability. I started down the upgrade path and ran into the worst customer/business interface imagineable. No 800 numbers here and plan to get an answering machine . Emails will NEVER be answered. If you buy from Warmachine direct, don't use Amex. Its a huge waste of time. When you get your upgrades expect no hints on how to install them from the website or email support. Your on your own dude. All that aside, this is a super smoothe marker. Absolulutely no noticeable recoil. Stable and accurate and sweet at the chroney. Trips are easy. Black being the only available color at the moment blows. Polish on the ano was lame. Brass parts were dull. Still super marker and I would'nt sell it for what I have in it. Lastly, the feedneck and the ball detent just are not working out for me. Feedneck is non standard threading so you are stuck with it. A new halo will spin loosely in it . Has a set screw to hold it. I prefer a ball detent that rolls with a shot...... this is a spring loaded point-. hate it.
Conclusion: Buy this marker if you are a looking for pro performance on a budget. Nothing in its price range (not the MSRP either, more like $350 at the moment) But be prepared for really bad / slow / incomplete support and customer service.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 19th, 2004 at 1:22 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jwa158 Monday, November 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
many different autocockers, matrix, lcd matrix, angel, ir3, shocker, impulse, and some others.
Marker Setup: stock lcd matrix, crossfire 45/4500, black halo b
Strengths: i tested this marker at World Cup, and it's a very strange one. pretty funny looking but it's very unique the way it was built. the barrel like, moves back an forth when you fire the gun. it's fairly easy to rip on it, (not as fast as my matrix though :) it's something you have to get used to. i talked to the guy who was at the booth, and he was in the middle of testing to see how efficient the gun is, it's suppose to be VERY efficient.
Weaknesses: nothing that i know of, except it's kinda funny looking.
Conclusion: i wouldn't get into a hurry to buying this marker, it was just released when world cup started (i believe it was the 22nd of Oct.) i would wait til your local store or someone else buys it and try it out before getting one. i give it a 9, it seems like it will be successfull as far as performance goes.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

timmy215 Monday, February 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just about every gun that you can think of.
Marker Setup: Assault 80-tourney cap, supercharger, flatline tank, arrowhead sight rail, low pressure breach, delrun spool
Classic Intimidator-aluminum eye covers, centerflag inline reg, clear grooved grips, drop, PBK volumizer, Gen 5 delrun bolt
99 mini STO cocker-orracle 3-way, roller sear, war machine reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
low pressure breach (now pretty much stock), supercharger, tourney cap, and overdrive board (if you play back so you can really lay the paint)
Strengths: low pressure, efficiency, speed, customer service
Weaknesses: a little wierd feeling when first picked up but you get over it quickly
Review: The gun is a very good gun, its fast ,low pressure, effecient and reasonably light and small. Because of the low pressure I almost never get any ball breaks. It breaks less balls than my Intimidator (which has an eye). The trigger pull is good feeling. I have really enjoyed this gun. I like it more than most guns that I have owned or tested. War machine has great customer service. There are very little cons though one of which is its a bit weird feeling when you first pick it up but it is gone within a game or two. It is a little on the heavy side with my halo and everything but not much worse then most guns. The wieght is better with a revvy on it though.
Conclusion: All together it is a great gun. Well deserving a 10. War machine has done a great thing with this gun. This gun keeps getting better as they are comming out with more upgrades and changing things.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 15th, 2004 at 3:18 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

bgforce Thursday, June 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, Angel, Autococker, E-cocker, Automag, Bushmaster. Well from someone who isn't afraid of most high end guns because of the availability of trouble shooting information on the internet, I would never buy one of these guns again. After 1 day of play it developed a terrible barrel leak. I e-mailed and they gave me a number to call and I was on hold and finally got a voice mail and left a message and haven't gotten a response. I don't understand why these guys just get together more technical troubleshooting information on their webpage as well as better schematics.
Marker Setup: 2003 Mech Autococker is my main gun and I frequently purchase electronic guns which I usually end up selling after fixing.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The new front end. This can never be a high end gun with this moving barrel that you cannot change out. I mail ordered this gun and got one of the old style that works like a Nova, so everyone calls it the jackhammer gun. After 1000 rounds went through it, an oring got blown out. I found pretty good information on a thread at pbreview.com and got it fixed by replacing a little o-ring in the block that the low pressure regulator screws into.
Strengths: Quietness, price, rate of fire, uniqueness, low pressure operation, fast trigger pull
Weaknesses: Customer Support, moving barrel, expensive upgrades
Review: At first I was dissappointed with the gun because of the leak that developed, but after I was able to find help at pbnation.com, it was an easy 50 cent fix. The fact that my Assault 80 came with a non-replaceable barrel is dissappointing. With all the variety in paint out there and alot of Field Paint Only events, you almost have to have a couple different barrels available to get a decent fit. It's too bad that the front end upgrade to accept regular barrels costs $120 as that is almost a neccessity.

In my opinion, you might be better off buying someone's used impulse or bushmaster off ebay. It would be much easy to find cheap upgrades and compatible barrels and at least you can find customer support and trouble shooting information online.

Though this gun does appear to be compiled of quality components and when it's working, it's really quiet, not too hard on the gas and pretty accurate. The stock trigger is also really nice with a very short pull right out of the box.
Conclusion: This gun is a good starting point. I wouldn't really recommend buying one until this company gets better automated technical support. One man handling customer care who doesn't correspond via e-mail and who doesn't answer the phone and who doesn't have a toll free number just doesn't cut it. Though I did get a call back the next day after I had taken the gun all apart and found the torn o-ring.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 4th, 2004 at 1:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mobiusmorte Thursday, April 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nova, Mayhem, Shocker SFT Nothing else really like it, Nova probably the closest.
Marker Setup: Freak Barrel, 68/4500 CF HPA Tank. Supercharger Reg. Overdrive Chip
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, maybe a new reg, since parts for the supercharger will be hard to come by. Although it is an excellent reg.
Strengths: Unique Design.
Weaknesses: Manufacturer out of business.
Review: I really enjoy this marker, it shoots pretty darned good. Very little recoil. Sure it is a bit bigger than the newer guns out there, but you can use that to intimidate some of the newbies... LOL

The Assault 80 is also pretty quiet, I'd say on par with my Shocker SFT. I don't know if that is due to using my Freak on both, or because the pressure on both is so low.

Still not as quiet as my Nova, but I don't know if there ever will be another gun that sounds quite like that again.

You will get some looks from other players when you take it out on the field.
Conclusion: If you like to collect unusual guns, you need to add this to your collection. I would not recommend it for every day use, since parts are in short supply.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A-80 Wednesday, March 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Black Dragun T.E.S.
All kinds of spyders
Angel
Autococker Nightcast
Many more but nothing compare to my 80
Marker Setup: Standard Assault 80
Evolution ll
68cu 3000psi nitro
Assault 80 aftermarket low rise collet
Psycho Ballistic on/off bullet drop forward
14" evil pipe
Recommended
Upgrades:
After market collet
Overide Chip upgrade
Evil Pipe(any lenth)
Evolution ll, or Apache
Ultralight Upgrade chip(all 80 products found at warmachinepaintball.com
nitro of any kind for sure!
needs drop forward of some kind
Strengths: 20+ balls a second stock
Not hard to maintain
Good stock barrel
Weaknesses: Bad Feed Collar
And um thats about it
*A-80's are the best*
Review: Overall i think that this is the best gun that i have shot when you get some aftermarket parts. Everyone at my hometown field (TXJ Paintball) in Brownwood Texas wants one. Everyone refers to this gun as the "Beast." i am the 4th person to get one but more and more people are going to Assault 80's, even the field and store owner switched back to his souped up 80 after playing one round with and Angel, thats right and Angel. The 80 is also HALF the price of it but it is twice the gun performance wise. These guns are not very well know but they are well worth the money trust me. Check them out at warmachinepaintball.com, and also check out txjpaintball.com to see pictures of me and my 80 taking people out.
Conclusion: This gun owns the field if you know how to work it and use the field.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

boobythepbplaye Tuesday, June 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder imagine, matrix,2003 shocker, evil omen, BKO, custom autococker, and spyder electra
Marker Setup: spyder imagine
pure energy 68ci 5000psi hpa tank
halo tsa loader
shocktech supa fly bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
if u even get it get every upgrade u can get ur hands on
Strengths: nice trigger, unique,
Weaknesses: slow, average accuracy, really ugly, almost too unique?
Review: Let me just say that before i get hate mail from all of you guys go down to your local shop or whatever and trie this thing out. I dont know what the heck these other guys are talking about. First of all this thing is only cycles 10 BPS! The board may shoot 23 but the parts only cycle 10! That makes the extra 13 completley usless! Now, i may have forgiven that if the gun was accurate. After all 10Bps isn't horribly slow. But this thing is about as accurate as my spyder imagine! And do i even ned to say anything about how it looks? I think you get the picture.
Conclusion: Instead of buying this thing, save up your money and go buy a 2003 shocker. Thos things are light(1 pound!), fast(25BPS and it actually cycles that too!), low pressure(about 200 psi!), quiet as a cocker (without the back block slamming!), and above all the MOST accurate gun ever made!
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media