paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Viewloader Genesis Surge II / Viewloader Genesis Surge II / Viewloader Genesis Surge II / Viewloader Genesis Surge II

Viewloader Genesis Surge II Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Viewloader

Buy Viewloader Genesis Surge II

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Viewloader Genesis Surge II
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 56
Average Rating: 6.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Viewloader introduces the all new Genesis Surge II semi-automatic paintball marker for 2003. The Genesis Surge II is a custom grade semi-automatic marker with features that include: a field stripable pin for ease of cleaning and maintenance on and off the field, an aerospace grade aluminum alloy receiver with custom surge green pattern, a "self-locking" velocity adjustment, direct feed, two panel grip, double finger trigger and a laser engraving.
Product Availability 
The Viewloader Genesis Surge II is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Jaredb Monday, April 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month31 of 34 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Surge 2 with stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel and maybe hopper.
Strengths: Good look.
Good accuracy.
Great grip.
Weaknesses: Hopper is a little bit in the way.
A little loud.
Review: Perfect gun for the beginner. Great gun for an experienced player. I love this gun because it has this awesome paint job and good accuracy. It chops maybe 2% of the time. I wouldn't worry about it too much. Its a great gun for the money. I got mine for $85 and I have not regretted it.
Conclusion: Get this gun. Great for combat.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Smashmore Saturday, May 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months22 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Pirahna, Stingray 2.... pirahna was pretty good, stingray was ass
Marker Setup: Viewloader Genesis Surge 2, all stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
this gun doesnt need a barrel too badly, but if you got some extra money, why not?
Strengths: Accurate as hell. Strip pin is convenient
Weaknesses: top loader in the way of the sites
Review: The kit is about 300$ cdn. for starters, so thats a pretty good deal i suppose. That also includes a tank, JT mask, squeegee and tools. It is the most accurate gun I've used thus far, I can hit a 3' by 3' board from about 100 yrds away, so thats pretty good. Last time I used it, I broke 0 out of the 300 paintballs I shot, and they were the cheapest kind around. It is all made of metal and it is very durable because of this. The paint job is pretty sweet, even if I'm not wearing camo, at least the gun is! Very efficient on CO2, while still providing enough power to shoot faster than 400 if you wanted to. The stock barrel is 11 inches long, which is as much as I'll be needing. It might not be the best gun available, but everyone I play with is afraid of it. The field strip pin is the best thing since using marbles instead of paintballs. It is also very quiet, which makes it great for snipers. Since upgrading to this from a stingray 2, I've noticed a dramatic improvement in my performance. I spend less paintballs, less time holed up behind a stump, spend more time playing and less time fixing stuff. I was originally gonna get the Orion, but now I'm glad I put in the extra money for the Genesis Surge 2.
Conclusion: I think this gun is totally underrated. People gotta give this well designed and efficient gun some credit.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Brockedw Saturday, October 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: 9 ounce tank a basic viewloader hopper and thats all i needed
Recommended
Upgrades:
a progessive barrel is very helpful
Strengths: -High accuacy
-Not expensive
-Great color
Weaknesses: It can chop cheap balls
barrels kinda small
loud
uses alot of co2
Review: This one my first paintball gun that i had owned after playing with rentals at painball arenas. And lets just say this gun turned me into a totaly different kind of player. Playing with this gun will give u alot more confidence in your paintballing ability. its shoots pretty hard accurate and far. Its easy to assemble and disassemble you could do both in under a minute. its fun! and isnt that the important part.....crap i hope so i spent money to have fun and ever since ive had this gun thats what i have been doing!!!!!


HAPPY SHOOTING! = )
Conclusion: Nice gun , easy on the pocket , fun to have , great for people of all skill levels
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 19th, 2005 at 6:34 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

RobJones Monday, August 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years11 of 37 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: I am currently using a Tippman A-5 with a freak barrel and CO2 for air. I have used everything from cheap Galyan Paintballs to Marbalizers.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The Genesis Surge df does not have any "true" upgrades available. Maybe a barrel is out there for it.
Strengths: The marker looks COOL. That's it!
Weaknesses: Leaky regulator. Faulty trigger assembly. Inaccurate.
Review: I have used this marker for 2 years and after about 6 months have started having problems. The marker shot GREAT for the first 6+/- months then problems started arising. I usually shot marbalizers and noticed the balls were curving very badly. Also the marker started chopping the balls. By the way... I use an electronic VL Hopper. The Regulator started leaking after 5 months of use. Then one of the pins fell out of the trigger assembly. This marker seemed pretty awesome for about 3 or 4 months then went down hill from there. I clean my marker after EVERY game. I take very good care of it and replace all o-rings when needed and oil before and after every game. The most I played with this marker was twice a month.
Conclusion: I do NOT recommend this marker unless you have a burning desire to cuss and fuss. For this price, $199.97, I would recommend a Tippman 98 Custom or use it for a down payment on an Auto Cocker or other highly respectable marker. The worst thing is that I read reviews about the marker before I purchased it and noticed that everyone that bought it had not had the marker longer than 3 months and now as I read the reviews I see that alot of the people that give good ratings are people who have not had the marker more than 3 months. Good Luck GUYS!
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 18th, 2003 at 3:40 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

rahu250 Wednesday, February 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: surge genesis 2 none
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrelanda new hopper
Strengths: Extremly accurate, easy to take apart
Weaknesses: Eats up co2 more than other guns
Review: I havent been playing long but i went paintballing (speed ball) and there was a bunch of intimidators and angels and my gun was holding its own. Plus my gun didnt have to be repaired, while all the other guys were out on the sidlines fixing there guns i was playing.To begginers i suggest this gun because its extremly reliable. Plus i got mine for 100 bucks mask , co2 tank ,barrel plug, and gun.
Conclusion: I gave this gun a ten but i would give it an 11 if i could
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

cowboyfranz Sunday, August 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder compact deluxe, tippman 98, stingray 2 ice
Marker Setup: 20oz. Co2 , and armson 16 inch internally rifled barrell
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrell
Strengths: Nevver chopped balls , cammo,good price
Weaknesses: Stock barrell stinks
Review: I have used 11 and a half months and it is great for using in woods cuz the piant job but if u try 2 snype you will have to get a better barrells. The stock gun is good for newb speedball. It has come through for me even when i was playing woods once and all four of my teamates were beat and they only took out one enemy. I was able 2 hide until i was able 2 pick them off 1 by 1.
Conclusion: good 2 get for price just needs a new barrell if u get it, but hey upgrading is half the fun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

gaston gavrage Saturday, November 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Orion, Tippmann 98's, some kind of no-name powerball guns, and a couple more Wal-Mart/Canadian Tire guns
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix ACS
eVLution 2 w/ Y-Board
14" Smart Parts Progressive
Pure Energy 68/4500 HP
DYE Sticky3's
Recommended
Upgrades:
-holy crap, a new barrel the stock one is between 8 inches and 8.5 inches long, I dunno wut it is fer sure lol
-and i found a drop forward for it, i didnt wanna waste money on it, but it looked cool
u dont need a new tank, a 9oz is fine fer a day of shooting, but im trigger crazy
Strengths: -Looks off the Hizzle
-Hardly chops
-Cheap
-Cool color (Camo)
-Built to last
Weaknesses: -Paint around safety starting to bubble
-One ball chops, the rest will, (barrel's fault)
Review: This gun is a beast, it was my first gun, it did the trick and looked squirrely while doin it, definately the most un-ugly viewloader out there, the expansion chamber makes a great grip.
I even out shot it lol (somethin to be proud of) and it chopped, but i found that if one ball chopped and you dont clean it out right after, they just keep chopping until its almost impossible fer anythin to even make it outta the barrel, i know i probably shoulda used an electric hopper, but c'mon, its a VL, u usually wont b tearin it up, so i didnt buy one, it was good draxxus paint too.
Other then that i loved using this gun, its perfect fer just goin in back yards, fartin around, or woodsball, cuz its camo, but you hafta make sure if its not a stock barrel, the barrel sumtimes starts to come loose, but thats like the smallest, most un-annoying problem out there, and even if it is a bit loose, it wont chop.
Oh ya i forgot to mention, shooting with no barrel is super loud, and its perfect for annoying the neighbours that wake u up at 7 in the morning with their tractor trying to cut the grass before they go to work. Enjoy!
Conclusion: I think this gun is great for beginners, but you might want an electric hopper (like 8bps is perfect), and that you'll like it as much as i did, it'll last for as long as you wanna use it (i have only cleaned it once in 2 years, replaced no components). Definately a good buy for a starter who is too lazy or irresponsible to baby a gun
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 26th, 2007 at 2:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr.XIII Friday, December 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder xtra, vl orion, and some other cheap semi auto markers.. all the guns are relatively the same.. the genesis surge df does seem to be a little heavier then the others..
Marker Setup: Genesis Surge df
2 piece 16" 3-A KO barrel
Pure energy 20 ounce co2
Brass Eagle electronic feed port sight (which is pretty much just for looks)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not a whole lot.. a new barrel for sure though..the stock barrel isn't very accurate.. the gun comes stock with a regulator and expansion chamber..
Strengths: Looks good
Reliable
Easy on wallet
Quiet (after purchasing a new barrel)
Weaknesses: Kind of heavy
Paint job chips after a while
Lack of upgrades
Review: my experience with this gun has been good.. other then the ball stopper somehow breaking (which i replaced for like $1) its been a very reliable gun. Its pretty quiet and fairly co2 efficient..and every now and then it chops a ball.. maybe 1 out of 500...depending on what kinda paint your using and how fast your shooting.. ive read the other reviews on this gun and people are saying how horrible it is, its loud it chops all your balls, its inaccurate, its a co2 hog.... i think those people are being too critical.. every gun will someday chop a ball.. co2 efficiency isn't all in the gun, it has to do with temperature, whether or not you have an siphon/anti siphon valve installed..the velocity you have set and so on.. and as far as accuracy goes..something as simple as wind will throw even the most accurate guns off..
Conclusion: I'd get it if you could find it for around $150 or so.. i paid around $180 for mine.. all in all its a good gun for starters and novices..i'd give it a 10 if it wasnt for the lack of upgrades
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Aninnocentchild Wednesday, October 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98c other tippmanns pirhanas, other guns
Marker Setup: viewloader genesis surge 2, 16 inch spyder sniper barrel, 9 oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel will help but not entirely necessary
Strengths: power
Accuracy
Somewhat co2 efficient
Lightweight
Durable
Easily dissasembled
Weaknesses: very loud
Kind of long trigger pull
Review: This gun is great, it's in a lower price range and can stand up to some pretty decent guns, it's good on power and also has wonderful accuracy, I got several people out in one round on a pretty big field and used less than 50 paintballs. it has pretty good rof but really doesn't need itthat much due to accuracy, my only problem with this gun is really the trigger. (also people need to stop saying this gun is heavy, it's not heavy at all)
Conclusion: I think this gun is a great buy and about the best bang for you're buck, it's easy and cheap enough for beginners to use but good enough for experienced players
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippycustom Friday, January 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
automag, shutter, tippmann A5
Marker Setup: i'm getting a mag pretty soon but
tippmann 98c blk
revvy-less hopper
dbl trgr

sl-68 II
Recommended
Upgrades:
i don't know. it is very nice stock.
Strengths: very acurate
quite
fast shooting
nice trigger
mid weight
spyder barrel threads
somewhat easy to field strip
Weaknesses: i can't really think of anything wrong with this. this thing is perfect.
Conclusion: i gave it a 10 because i recomend it to everybody. it is the most acurate i have ever seen.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media