paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Evil The Pipe Barrel System / Evil The Pipe Barrel System / Evil The Pipe Barrel System

Evil The Pipe Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Evil

Buy Evil The Pipe Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Evil The Pipe Barrel System
[ View Photos (13) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 163
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A new innovative barrel from a new innovative company. From the company that brings you Evil Paintballs and other new impulse, angel, autococker, shocker and other parts comes a new barrel.

1. 5 backs: 0.683, 0.686, 0.689, 0.692, 0.695. Tolerance stack : 0.0007 of an inch of bore indicated.

2. Micro hone finish tolerance: 2 to 5 microns. -Swank!- They can't stop us, they can only hope we get hit by a bus~

3. 30degree angel venting, clears broken paint out and away, no more drips throwing off shot after shot as happens in straight porting. Porting disperses air evenly as to send ball on straight flight the whole flight.

4. Fade standard, looks great on most every marker. Silver to black fade standard, optional red to black, blue to black and green to black and optional solid black available soon.

5. Packaged in a gear bag and airport friendly protective tube. Backs are firmly held into place and the entire kit displays well.

6. Backs are optimized 6 inch length (its a good size). Front lengths vary to make overall barrel length:10, 12, 14, 16 and 18 inches available. 12 or 14 is recommended.

7. Currently made for Autococker threaded markers, Impulse, Angel, model 98 and Piranha (spyder, black dragun etc).
Product Availability 
The Evil The Pipe Barrel System is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Flash Master Friday, March 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months98 of 101 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak
Marker Setup: 03' Black Autococker
DOP Drop Foreward
Pure Energy Reg
System X Ram
Bomb 3-Way
Orracle Front Reg
Evil Pipe
1st Gen 12 Volt Revvy
68/3000 Java Nitro Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paintball that fits the bore size perfectly.
Strengths: Smoother bore than Freak
Solid Backs.
Barrel cleans itself after break.
Weaknesses: The only weakness would be lack of color choices
Review: In testing the Evil Pipe I used 3 different paint choices. Diablo Dusk, Evil Paint, and Brass Eagle. (Yes Brass Eagle). Diablo Dusk required the .683 bore. Evil required .686. Brass Eagle needed the .689 bore. All three paints shot exactly the same in accuracy, because they were fitted with the bore. (Yes Brass Eagle was just as accurate). I couldn't get my autococker to break any paint so I had to feed 4 balls into the barrel before the marker broke paint. (It would still shoot 3 balls without breaking!!) After I broke paint, the next shot cleaned all the paint out of the porting!! This barrel really does work!
Conclusion: The Pipe is a lot better than the feak, because you have solid backs and wont break them like you can the freak inserts. The pipe is also a lot smoother than the freak. In fact, the Pipe is the smoothest micro honed barrel to date! Get one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
21 Comments - Add Comment

kerdon99 Thursday, March 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month32 of 48 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak, teardrop
Marker Setup: Here is mine:
32* Impulse Vision
Custom Jewels
Serial # 69...REALLY!
Evil SS Hammer
Evil PIPE BOMB BARREL SYSTEM
ND 15* ASA
ND Integrated LPR
ND Slik Shot
ND Halo norise
Demonic Ti Tounge trigger
Eclipse DART Valve
Eclipse Fangs
Dye Grips
WERM Undertow BOLT
SP drop
Vertical Reg
68-4500 tank
BLUE HALO B Smart Parts Edition


[IMG]http://www.impulseownersgroup.com/vb/attachment.php?s=& amp;postid=146895[/IMG]
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything it is differnet bored!
Strengths: First of all the PIPE BOMB looks soo pimp just as it is in the tube....the stand is stabe and wont fall over.....taking it out....is cool...

It shoots very very straight and with the undertow bolt is very very accurate!
Weaknesses: A little louder than other barrels but when 5+ guys are shooting 12+ bps sound doesnt matter too much anyways does it?

The stand holds the barrel backs very securly and they wont fall out...it takes a little time to work the back off the orings but who cares!~
Conclusion: I would totally buy one if you are looking for the most accurate barrel on the market I love this one...and will be getting one for my cocker very shortly!

If you have any questions just ask!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

agentdowell Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month19 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
no other barrel kits
Smartparts Progressive
PMI Razor
stock Imagine barrel
Marker Setup: Black Spyder Imagine
- Viewloader eVolution II
- Phat aluminum feed neck
- 14" black Evil Pipe kit
- Gen-X2 reg
- Shocktech chrome trigger
- Shocktech chrome volumizer
- AKA Turbo valve
- AKA Lightning bolt
- chrome bottomline and PMI remote coil w/slide check
- Pure Energy 48/3000
Recommended
Paintballs:
my field only allows field bought paint which means Evil and PMI Premium
however, I've shot other paints (Diablo etc.) and I think Evil is the best
Strengths: hard backs
porting
microhoned finish
destinctive looks
Weaknesses: VERY tight lock
Review: Strengths

Hard Backs

The reason you purchase a barrel kit is to have a barrel that is capable of making a very good paint to bore match. With many kits you get multiple back inserts and a single back (like the Freak). However the inserts are delicate and can be damaged more easily than a solid back. The Pipe has five different backs each with a different bore size. Instead of keeping track of inserts you only need to grab the right back.

Porting

As far as porting is concerned, I have heard that the best results are obtained when the porting starts after about 6 or 7 inches and goes to the end. The porting on the Pipe does just that and is also bored at a 45* angle to the interior. According to the manufacturer, this eases in cleaning the barrel. I have found this to be true as the porting holes clean much easier than those that are straight in.

Microhoned Finish

The interior of the Pipe is polished to an insanely fine grade. I think it is the most perfect barrel interior of any on the market.

Distinctive Looks

The barrel looks sweet. It bevels to a sharper point at the end which gives it an aggresive stance. Any person on the field will know you are weilding the Pipe.

Weaknesses

I almost feel ashamed to write this in. After a good few games I ran out of Evil and the shop only had Premium left so I had to switch paints. I found that the bore size was mismatched so I went to exchange my backs. I found that the front of the barrel was locked supremely tight to the back and it took all my energy to unscrew it. I found though that if I let the barrel sit for a few minutes the metal would cool (or something?) and it would be easier to unscrew. But maybe I just need to hit the gym more often...
Conclusion: I use this on my Spyder Imagine and it is by far the best barrel I have ever used or tested. I recommend it fully to any Spyder user. I would recommend it to cocker fans as well but I have heard that the Kaner kit is equal if not better when used with cockers.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 11th, 2004 at 5:55 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Grimmjpr Sunday, February 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Nighkast 12 inch barrel=not bad for stock, not even close to the Pipe.
12 inch Armson=LOUD not as accurate, not self cleaning.
16 inch Smart Parts All American=More Quiet, close in accuracy, no changeable backs.
AGD 8 inch Stock Mini Mag barrel=sucks no comparison
Marker Setup: Set up 1: Blood Red Nightkast Cocker, 14 inch red to black fade Evil Pipe kit, Egg II with y board, Evil delrin bolt, Worr gas 70/4500 pre-set.
Set up 2: 96' AGD Mini Mag with level 7 A.I.R Valve, Level 10 bolt, 9 Volt Revvy, Z-Valve, HPA valve piston, Hurricane Labs 8 hole mod, 12 inch J&J ceramic, 16 inch Smart Parts All American, Smart Parts gas-thru stock, Intelliframe, HPA.(back up gun)
Set up 3: 95' F2 illustrator, 12 inch Armson rifled, 9 Volt Revvy, bottom line set up, 20 oz CO2, or my HPA.(back up back up gun hehe)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any its a kit.....
Strengths: Nice fade/looks
super smooth
self cleans
fits almost any paint
accurate
Weaknesses: Kinda loud(quieter with delrin bolt)
Review: The Evil Barrel Kit rocks. It shoots darts, ball on ball, it does self clean to a point......using old old paint i broke a ball in the barrel and after 4-5 shots the balls would pretty much go straight......not as good as if it was squeegeed but not bad. It is very light, Kinda loud not too bad but louder than a Dye Boomie, but it got quieter with my Evil Delrin Bolt weird! Has O-rings on the backs so it doesn't come loose while playing. Nice case to keep the backs and front in. you can buy different front to make the barrel longer or shorter. The finish inside the barrel is the smoothest i've ever seen......its like a mirror, very nice job......so there is very little friction, efficient. Cockers are closed bolt and i don't have to worry about my paint rolling out of the barrel and i get a god match for consistent shots with any paint. I love it. Nice addition to my Blood Red Nightkast. Red to Black fade is sick. I was able to shoot exposed hopper from across the field with a ball or 2. I had not ball breaks with fresh paint, and only 1 or 2 with 2 year old crappy paint.
Conclusion: I would recommend the Evil Pipe Kit to anyone looking for a barrel kit.....shoots darts, light and smooth.......i can't say enough good things about it......go buy it........I give it a 10 I love the way it keeps the accuracy ball on ball and looks sweet. I paid 170 bucks for mine and i think it was worth every penny.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mugen76 Tuesday, April 13th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months12 of 48 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
empire kit, dye UL, freak
Marker Setup: dye matrix 03 lcd, tadao v.4, aka scm, aka, sidewinder, evolve bolt kit, evolve vert frame, empire barrel kit, check it snatch and no rise, halo b, evil scion
Recommended
Paintballs:
evil
Strengths: self cleaning
Weaknesses: threads
Review: i had problems with my kit. this kit seriously it too fragile. look at the tip and you'll know what i mean. the edge of the tip is very thin. the metal thins out at tip so it's not as durable as other barrels out there.

the other problem that i had was that the threads between the two halves, back to front, are very thin threads. 4 of the 5 of my thread stripped. i've returned the kit to evil/pmi, they replaced only the front half but the kit began to strip out again.

if you have the money, use it wisely. i play really hard and if you do also, this barrel system is NOT strong enough for you. although it may be light, the threads and the tip is just too weak for rough play. i recommend an empire barrel kit b/c of their construction and quality.
Conclusion: i play hard. i'm rough on my equipment during a game. this barrel system is simply not strong enough. that's just my experience. if you disagree then please look at my pipe kit after 3 months and look at my empire kit after 9 months. go to your local store and look for yourself. the threads that srcrew the two halves together are too thin and will strip through usage.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
30 Comments - Add Comment

kung fu joe Saturday, April 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak system
Marker Setup: eblade orracle w/ green to light green fade, evil pipe system, flame drop, apoc tank.
Recommended
Paintballs:
i only use all star paint with this paint ball system. you can never go wrong with all star paint. marbs are also good
Strengths: always have good paint to barrel match
Weaknesses: There are really no weaknesses that i found on this barrel system.
Review: This barrel system is really good. Its different bore sizes are very convienient. The fade on the barrel is really nice and with my gun its very quiet. The freak system is also good but were i shop the evil barrel system is a bit cheaper and in my oppinoin its better.
Conclusion: This barrel system is very good. Id get this barrel system. Some people say that its expensive, but not really because u get like a barrel for every bore size of paint
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SECURITY RISK Monday, July 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DYE Ultralight with multiple backs
Marker Setup: 04 Cocker, Worr Blade
DYE Matrix
Spyder Imagine
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Very smooth
Multiple backs
light
Shoots through broken paint very well
Weaknesses: Thin tip
loud
Review: This barrel kit is extremely accurate. The report on the receiving end is loud though. I bought an Ultralight and I lent another player my Evil kit, and It was loud. He usually shoots an Excel barrel on his cocker and I can barely hear it if at all. The tip is very thin also. I slid into a bunker made of pipes and I just nicked the tip on it and it bent the very end of the tip. A friend in a machine shop fixed it for me though. The case protects the pipes well.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product depending on where you play and your playing style. If you like to play in the woods and want quite, get a barrel with allot of porting like DYE Ultralight. For speedball this is great, it shoots through broken paint in about 3 shots(depending on how thick of fill). If you are a front player and are aggressive, the last thing you want to do is worry about your barrel when you are trying to slide into a bunker under fire.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jhorgan Saturday, July 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Freak Barrel System, WGP Kaner Barrel System,and many other barrels
Marker Setup: X-mag C&C blue to silver fade, Evil Pipe Barrel Kit, Evo II with Y-Board, AGD warp-feed, Air Gun Designs 3,000psi 68ci Flat Line air system
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Accurate, inside mirror finish, carrying case, excellent quality, strong construction
Weaknesses: Loud??? But not much Thin anno at inside tip of barrel Tip's alittle thin
Review: Bottom line: THIS BARREL KIT ROCKS!
Out of all of the barrels and barrel kits I have ever used and tested The Pipe is THE best kit I have EVER shot!

Pros:
This kit is accurate beyond belief. This kit is capable of putting ball upon ball and will give the ability to make shots that are impossible with lesser kits.
The finish on the inside of the barrel is mirror quality. Not one single flaw. The exterior finish is nice as well. Though not a shiny as other barrels I've had.
The carrying case it comes in is quite nice. It's in the shape of a pipe. One end unscrews to reveal the kit. It is very strudy...you wont need to worry about the kit getting damaged on your way to the field.
The Pipe is of excellent quality with a very well thought out construction and design. No need to worry about this kit just falling apart on you. Although I would advise that when you are attaching the barrel tip to the base to be careful of the threads....they could be potentially cross-threaded.
The porting on this thing is a marvel. If you happen to break a ball don't worry just fire 3 or 4 more shots and you are back in business. The porting is angled to the paint is squeegeed by the balls following a break as well as blown out of the ports.

Cons:
Maybe a little loud compared to some other barrels but it isnt that loud....not like a Lapco Bigshot or something.
The annodizing is a little thin at the inside tip of the barrel....but it doesnt affect performance at all.
The tip is a bit thin...but it's really nothing to worry about. Just don't go digging it into the ground or into a bunker. If you are a front/ real aggresive player you may want to consider either a shorter Pipe kit or a different barrel.
Conclusion: This is the best kit I have ever used. It tops the Freak & Kaner hands down.
If you are looking for a barrel kit that will impress you, improve your game, and give you an edge over your opponent the Pipe is the kit for you. This kit is a solid 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 12th, 2004 at 11:27 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

saltilance Tuesday, March 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak
Marker Setup: black -silver fade C&C X-Mag, 68/4500 fiberwrapped tank, drop, 12volt revvie, silve-black 14in pipe
Recommended
Paintballs:
don't matter
Strengths: It is reliable, light, looks nice, and shoots straight.
Weaknesses: The front end of the barrel seems a little weak.
Review: i was sick and tired of my freak being so freaking tempermental. shooting great one day and the next day not shooting well at all. changing inserts was also getting to be an annoying pain, so i broke down and bought the pipe.

my first impression was on the container it comes in, i really like it and it makes the kit compact and very easy to fit in a bag.

I took out the barrel and the second thing i noticed (besides the nice anodizing) was that the front end of the barrel felt a little flimsy, light and weak. the back ends which are the most important parts felt solid and well constructed though.

DAY 1:
When i got out to the field it was pretty chilly, about 40 degrees, so i figured that the paint had probably shrunk a little. after doing a quick bore sizing i thought i had a good match at .683 if i remember right. the paintballs shot nice and straight. for my first two games though, every 20 or 30 shots, a paintball would just break/explode in the of the barrel. needless to say, it was very frustrating. but a fellow paintballer said i should probably go up a bore size or two and so i took that advice and moved to .689, and all i have to say is that it was a whole new monster of a barrel. it was shooting straight before (after i cleaned the breaks), but it was very impressive now. i'd have groups of 5 consecutive paintballs literally just land right on top of one another. very impressive, my freak never managed to pull that one off. i don't think the barrel was quite as quiet as my freak, but it certainly had a distinct noise. i can't think of how to describe it, just a whole different tone.

ALSO I've played 3 days worth of paintball since Day 1, and i haven't broke ANY paint all since then.

Onto the bad. The barrel didn't really shoot through the breaks all that well. but considering it already had a bad paint/barrel match to begin with, the breaks were probably the straw that broke the camels back. i can't blame it entirely on the barrel, a lot of that was my own impatience to find a correct match to begin with.
Conclusion: I certainly do recommend this barrel kit. I think it is superior to the freak in durability and in accuracy.
Even with the poor barrel match i had in the beginning, the barrel still shot straight, that's one thing that really had impressed me.
And it NEVER broke paint again after i fixed the bore size problem i had.
This is the best barrel I have ever used.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DrunkZombie Wednesday, March 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Barrel Kit (Spyder Thread)
Marker Setup: ProMaster
CP 3 inch Drop
CP On/Off ASA
Evil Pipe Kit
Halo B w/Rip
Air @ 3k psi 48cu
Recommended
Paintballs:
What ever paintballs you like to use!
Strengths: Bore sizes
Looks
Accuracy
Solid Back
Case
Light
Weaknesses: O rings
Weak Front?
One colour
Case
Review: Key Strengths

Bore sizes - Can fit a lot of paint sizes and the size goes up in 0.003 in every stage.
Looks - It looks good, not as good as the Empire Barrel kit but it still looks good.
Accuracy - Shoots very straight and in a tight ball cluster at a slow bps rate and at high bps rates.
Solid Back - The backs feel very tough and the threading on both front and back seem to be great, I have not even come close to messing up the threading.
Case - The case holds the barrels in VERY well. the case has a hard outside and looks good and does not take as much room up as an empire barrel kit case.
Light - The barrels feel light, not as light as some but lighter than others.

Key Weaknesses

O rings - The O-rings can come off easy (I have a few left, but then I bought it second hand and have lost none myself)
Weak Front? - The front seems to be thinner and not as strong as the backs. A hard hit might damage the front and so would not advise running into a tree barrel first (but then thats not advised anyway)
One colour - " You can have any colour as long as its Black" Indeed, Black is the only option you have when buying this barrel kit, So Black it is.
Case - The case is so good at keeping the barrels in, its too good. It is quite hard to get the Backs off of the case and so i bought myself a Dye Boombox case which fits all 5 Backs and 1 Front.
Conclusion: A very good barrel kit, and a must have if you are shooting lots of different paint requiring different bore sizes.
If you can get one second hand then even better (as long as its in good condition)

8 out of 10
Marked down because the case is too good at keeping the barrels in (-1 point)
Marked down because the front seems a little weak (-1 point)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media