paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Raven NVX Goggles / Raven NVX Goggles / Raven NVX Goggles

Raven NVX Goggles Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Raven

Buy Raven NVX Goggles

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Raven NVX Goggles
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 71
Average Rating: 8.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Photochromatic lens. Polyeurathane construction. Lens is 1/4" taller than in Nuvis Masks.
Product Availability 
The Raven NVX Goggles are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
sonnemann Sunday, April 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
VForce Armor, some Scott crap...basically every low-end goggle.
Marker Setup: LP Spyder with way too much stuff.
Strengths: Secksy
Half the price of Invision or Profilers...
Weaknesses: Foam is kinda cheesy..
Review: For the majority of my paintball experience, I had been playing with some 20 dollar VForce Armour goggles. They are one of the best deals in paintball- cheap, come in black, excellent visiuon, thermal lenses, etc, etc. Anyway, after a day of play a few weeks ago, I noticed a crack in the lens near the strap. Being a stickler for safety in all forms, I looked to buy a new lens.
Rather ironically, to buy a new lens+shipping would be as much as it would cost to buy a new mask...so I decided to just "splurge" and get a better one.
After recieveing my mask in the mail, I tried it on and was astonished. Unlike the VForce, I didn't feel like I had a heavy piece of plastic on my face (that's one of the few disadvantages of the Armors-they're hard plastic and heavier.) Instead of feeling like I was wearing a mask, it felt as if I were just wearing some goggles.
I have to say that these things look sexy. There's just no other way to put it. They look ten times better than most everything except for Invisons, though I'm not exactly prepared to spend 80 dollars on a mask.
The open-cell foam, while feeling somewhat cheaper and sloppier than the closed-cell in the Armor, actually feels very comfortable when the mask is put on. It forms a nice seal on your face, and unlike the closed-cell foam it doesn't become slippery as easy.
The lower half, like most decent masks, is flexible and yet tough enough to stop anything that hits it from hurting. The venting makes it easy to hear, and also makes it easy for your teammates to hear you (I have always hated how people with ProFlexes bend up the bottom--dangerous!) The strap has a nice rubber coating so it doesn't slip around on your head.
One of the best things about this mask is that it basically doesn't fog. I wore it around the house for a while before playing with it (yeah, I'm weird like that...) and then played an entire day of paintball without ever having annoying fog on the lens. A thin layer of anti-fog fluid will help as well, but the mask alone is very good.
Conclusion: A very good mid-level mask, a definite step up from the lower-end goggles. A very solid choice.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Sneeko Saturday, April 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra, Scott Stalker, old old BE mask (not made anymore)
Marker Setup: Piranha EXT Pro G3, All American 2002 12 in, Maddman Rocket Valve, Bob Long Torpedo Reg, CP lightning drop, Kapp on/off, Booyaah ELCD
Strengths: snug fit
comfortable fit
good bounce
photochromic lens
Weaknesses: foam padding does not stick well, rips off
lense removal
Review: After playing with this mask the first few times I entirely fell in love with it. Unfortunately that didn't last, after the mask got broken in a little more than a few days worth of play its performance didn't seem all that great anymore.
It has its good-points but I am beginning to think the bads outweigh the goods.

For the good, the mask comes with extra padding you can put in anywhere, with these in the mask had a very comfortable and snug fit. The lens itself also had a pretty cool feature. It adjusts to sunlight, darkening when it is brighter and clearing up when the sky is darker. It really made seeing easier, and reduced sun glare that I saw. The mask offered me a lot of flexibility when taking hits in the mask. Many balls bounced off of the mask and the only time I have had breaks on it were lens shots.

Now for the bad...
The mask started out comfortable, but after a few times out, the foam padding all began to come off, first it was the extra added stuff. That didn't bother me too much, just made the mask a little less comfortable. Then the foam started coming off around the lens, that was a pain. I would drop down inside of the mask and get in the way. I had to glue it back into place twice already. This also makes the mask a lot less comfortable when you have to sit there and mess with the foam to get it back where it should be while playing.
Next is the removal system for the lens. The lens is relatively easy to remove with this system of pull tab kind of things and two screws to lock it securely in place. Unfortunately, the tabs don't seem to stay in very well while playing and my mask is now a few tabs short of feeling all that secure...
The mask also fogs up quite a bit. It didn't at first, but once it got a little warmer out, the mask was constantly fogging up. Compared to the Spectra I had, this mask fogs quite a but more easily.
Lastly is a purely aesthetic imperfection. I own the gunmetal/clear mask or silver or whatever it is. Anyway, the color didn't last long, the clear very quickly turned orange/pink. It stained after being hit just once.
The mask is always properly cleaned and well maintained, so there is no reason it should have failed apart so quickly.
Unless you plan on using it one or two times and getting rid of it, I would say stay away from this mask, however the price has dropped significantly since I bought mine. Because of the new price range, I would say the mask is average. However there is no way it is worth what I paid for it when it first came out.
Conclusion: Mask started out great, but fell apart very quickly. Mask and lens were always well maintained, yet the foam padding, parts of the lens, and the mask itself fell from good condition within a year. Mask is not worth what it cost when it first came out, but recent price drops bring it into a lower price range. For the new price, its not terrible, but definitely not great.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 22nd, 2003 at 9:02 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Lazro Wednesday, May 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PMI X Ray
JT Proteus
Marker Setup: Impulse
Evil Driver Barrel
Tapeworm
Super Fly Bolt
Eclipse Blade Trigger
Evolution 2 hopper with y board
48 ci 3000 psi Pure Energy N2 tank
Strengths: Doesn't Fog
Very Comfortable
Good Lense
Weaknesses: Doesn't come in Black
Padding comes off
Review: This mask is one of the best masks i have ever used (behind the JT Proteus). This mask has taken tons of shots and it still looks like its brand new. To make it easier for you to read, here are the facts:

---Pros

--Doesn't Fog - - -this mask has fogged once and i will explain why later.
--Very comfortable - - -this mask will never make you uncomfortable, ever.
--Good lenses - - -I have been shot in the lense countless time, still perfect,-it also adjusts to light
--Deflects balls - - -I have had countless balls bounce off my mask
--Cheap - - -

---Cons

--Doesn't come in Black - - -this is a preference, I dont mind.
--Padding falls apart - - - If the padding starts to fall off, the mask fogs.This is a problem but ill explain how to fix it below.*

*Fixing the foam padding - - -when you get the mask, after trying it on, you should re-inforce the padding with extremely strong super glue. What i mean is coat the sides of the padding where it lie right along the plastic part of the mask. After applying lots of glue, you should be ready.
Conclusion: This is a great mask, doesn't fog, very comfortable, good lense, deflects balls, and is cheap. I highly suggest this mask to all players!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 28th, 2004 at 12:21 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

onlyfortheweak Monday, April 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo skulz (very similar, only superficial differences)
Marker Setup: -Tippmann A-5
-Flatline
-RT/E-GRIP
-bullet drop forward
-20 oz
Strengths: very comfy
stays secure to your head
bounces shots off
very sweet lenses
ITS RAVEN!
Weaknesses: DOESN'T COME IN BLACK!!
pretty pricey for similar gogs at a much lower price
Review: Before i had these, i just use some pathetic gogs i bought from wal-mart for the past two years. Those gogs smelled bad, ripped my hair out, fogged up like no other, bulky, crappy design, lenses glared and were scratched very easily. I got these new nvx's for my birthday last feb and thank GOD. If you take all those bad characteristics from my last gogs, these gogs have the complete opposite of all those but 100x better. At the time, they were purchased for around $70 off the net.

Me and a friend of mine switched gogs for a sec just to see what they were like. He had some diablo skulz, and when i put it on i could barely tell a difference between them and mine, except for a huge difference with the lenses. Photocromatic lenses are AWESOME.

If your a low budget player or a newbie lookin to get some good gogs i suggest diablo skulz. If you can afford like $40+ more then get nvx for the lenses (maybe for a visor too).

These gogs are freakin awesome. When i first started playing way back, i would want to play paintball for the sheer thrill, but the gogs sucked... no peripheral vision, comfort, etc. When you play with these you'll forget youre wearing gogs. I just say this cuz the gogs i used to use were so bad. I dont really know how these would compare to an invision, proteus whatever. Screw them these look better.
Conclusion: IF you like indoors or outdoors, woods or speedball, these are for anyone... IF you got the cash.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

chichimonkey188 Tuesday, May 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Almost all JT masks and the dye invision. None of these are as good.
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99 - PMI Pure Energy Reg - CP Flame Drop Forward - Freak Kit - 47ci,3000psi
Strengths: The photocromatic lenses, low profile, comfort, and soft matierial which causes bounces
Weaknesses: The only weakness I can think of is the lack of colors.
Review: I have used many different masks and this is my favorite. I think the main things people look for in a mask are comfort and whether or not it fogs up. I have never had this mask fog even in the coldest of conditions. It is also extremely comfortable. The soft padding makes it fit like a glove. The padding is even replaceable. IT never comes loose either.
Conclusion: All and all this is the best mask on the market today.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ck8l4 Thursday, July 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Ion With Pepper sticks
45/300 PMI Pure Energy
HALO TSA Frontman
Strengths: Cheap (Got em for free)
Weaknesses: Fog
Ear Pices fall off
Review: They are good googles but fog sometimes. Very easy to adjust the Size. Also the Side parts that proicect the ears fall off. But The are extreamly cheap and comfortable. extreamly cheap and comfortable. Take note of that. The Fogging only happens sometimes but is alright and lastly I need to fill up word space so you should buy them
Conclusion: It was a great get and pick up as long as you don;t mind a little fog and sometimes putting on the ear proctection things then your ok.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brg1875 Monday, December 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Nvader, Jt Flex
Marker Setup: 2003Vision Impulse, Smart parts Clamping feedneck, Smart Parts Drop Forward, Tapeworm, Voodoo Delrin Bolt, Soon to be J&J edge elite kit.
Strengths: Does not fog AT ALL, and is very comfortable on your face.
Weaknesses: Glue on the foam is weak
Review: This is the best mask for the money, it was like 40 bux on pbgear.com, IT DOES NOT FOG UP AT ALL, and the photochromic lens is very cool, the color adjusts to the sunlight, the glue on the foam on the inside of the mask comes off after a lot of use but nothing a little glue cant fix, and the mask even comes with extra foam padding for you to put whereever you want.
Conclusion: GREAT mask doesnt fog, looks cool, buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 7th, 2005 at 10:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gewahlten Thursday, May 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Strengths: Very light, has awsome vision looks kool and it doesnt fog!
Weaknesses: Foam doesnt stick that great, hard to find replacement lenses and not alot of colors
Review: I got the mask i was so syked. i wore it all over the house and stuff the one thing i did find though was that the foam wsnt that great and i had to get medical tape and put it on the nose in the inside of the mask cause it would hurt my nose when i was playing with it. but other than that i love it the only i cant really stand about it is that my white mask sticks out in the woods. isnt a very good woods ball mask for camo reasons.
Conclusion: Pretty good the price has gone down you can find it pretty cheap
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pyro8854 Saturday, May 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-force armor mask- dosn't compair!
Marker Setup: Spyder imagine 04 with teardrop barrel and odessy tsa lcd hopper.
Strengths: -Built to last, strong.
-Looks.
-I like the way the lens change tent.
Weaknesses: -The lens are a little hard to get out.
Review: Hey guys/girls this really is a great mask for anyone. I would recomend this mask to anyone, it's strong durable and it can take a beating. My frinds tried my mask out and they said it's the best mask they have ever worn. It's abolutly great and its cheap! BUY! BUY! BUY! BUY!
Conclusion: if your looking for a good mask get this one!!!!!!! BUY! BUY! BUY!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ta2maki Thursday, January 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VForce Armour, Proto FS Switch, Dye Invision, JT Flex-7
Marker Setup: E99 Avant
CP 2 piece barrel .689, .696, 16" front
Halo B
Bandit Nylon Bolt
Dark Horizon Ti striker
32* Spring Kit
Stock Valve modded for high flow
CiP 15* Assault Block
CiP Speedy drop forward
A/S 20 oz. CO2/ 4500psi 70ci crossfire HPA
Dye Sticky grip
CiP Sweet Spot Trigger
IS 50g switch
CiP Spyder to Impulse feed port adapter
CiP Surefit Impulse Low rise feedneck
Palmers Male Stabilizer
Bob Long 1200 psi gauge
CiP Spyder Dragon Grip
Strengths: Very soft. Wide field of vision.
Weaknesses: Very soft. Lens attachment
Review: One of the main reasons that I purchase this mask was that it had photo-chomatic lenses, lenses that darken in sunlight. Problem is that they don't darken unless there is direct sunlight hitting them so even if it is bright out, the lenses wont darken because the visor shades the lenses. When they do darken, its not that much so it still end up squinting. This mask is really, really, really soft, which is a good and bad thing. Most hits to my mask bounced, but I play mainly outlaw with no refs. So i have to check each time i get hit in the mask and end up getting more hits or bunked cause i'm trying to see if any balls broke on my mask. Another problem with the softness was that, If i didn't use 2 hands to put on or remove the mask, it fell apart(the ear pieces). Not good if you are playing rec ball/outlaw, where you are playing 15-20 games in a day. The way they have the lens attacked to the mask is also a bad point. To remove the lens from the mask you have to take out 10 plastic pins and 2 screws(which you need a micro screwdriver to take out). this take a few minutes to do and if you take the lens out regularly the plastic "nut" will strip out. So you have to buy a replacement to make sure the lens is totally secure. On the plus side though, the field of vision on this mask is definitely the best, far Superior to any other mask on the market. When wearing this mask you don't have the closed in feeling of other masks.. Also, I've heard of the padding falling off, but I have yet to experience that happening to me. Although, I have pressed down on the padding to make sure it is stuck on the mask before each use. The NVX also comes with extra pads to make sure it is comfortable for anyone, tho for my face none was needed. This is the most comfortable mask I have ever owned.

I have replaced this mask with the Proto F.S. because of the above faults(and also because I lost one of the ear protectors), but if i were going to play in tournaments exclusively, this would be the mask I'd use.
Conclusion: This is the mask to get if you want to have maximum bounces off your mask and maximum visibility, if you can live with the hassles of having to putting on and taking off your mask with 2 hands. This gets a overall rating of 8 because, for tourney play it gets a 9 but for rec play it gets a 7 due to it's fragileness and lens change difficulty.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media