paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Evil Respirator / Evil Respirator / Evil Respirator / Evil Respirator / Evil Respirator

Evil Respirator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Evil

Buy Evil Respirator

Paintball Impulse LPRs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Evil Respirator
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 11
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
It replaces at least 3 upgrade parts all in one. It replaces tapeworms, volumizers and the low pressure regs that always look janky. The respirator cleans up the front end of your impulse.
Product Availability 
The Evil Respirator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
TwitchyTrigger Saturday, April 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
NDz LPR ANS Combo
Marker Setup: 2k2 Impulse with upgrades
Strengths: Pretty cool looking
Performs very well
Not Janky
No Hoses
Weaknesses: I can only be very picky
Review: The Respirator has been a very well developed product by Evil unlike their delrin bolt which was disasterous. The Respirator is the solenoid mod, valve cap, and regulator all in one part, which is very convenient and makes installation a little more "graceful."


Installing this can be a pain for the impulse owners that have the screw for locking down tapeworms, which needs to be removed and re-installed with red loctite. Evil sends you the proper instuctions for setting up the respirator or you can get them from their web site. Installation usually requires a 300psi guage, the respirator should not be higher than 160psi. If you need it that high or higher and your maxflow is at 200psi, your impulse probably needs some tuning and/or cleaning..

I didn't think it was that good looking, but it is fairly well designed except for one thing, it has very little volume. This problem is easily fixed by doing the following:
Having a 200psi inlet on your maxflow
Having an aftermarket valve such as the evil valve or the new designz valve
Having a very full flow from your tank (screw it in all the way)

When you have so little volume, the recharge of respirator is key, which is why the 200psi is nessisary, but the valve is key. A valve that has tremendously good airflow is so important, because it will give your shots the velocity they need and will actually recharge faster. I recommend the new designz valve because you don't need a valve spring increasing the volume. Evil valves have a bit of janky parts that need to be fitted which take up precious volume, but they do work well.

WIth my marker, I have a 100psi solenoid operating pressure and my maxflow is at 200psi. I shoot consistantly with reduced recoil and increased accuracy and air effeciency.
Conclusion: Product is around $100, but LPRs cost money. All regulators do. Get the new designz valve with this thing and it will recharge super fast, even at 16+ balls a second. Excellent product from EVIL.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mark00A-5 Thursday, March 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Volumizer... Thats about it :-/
Marker Setup: Stock 2k3 Impulse... - 10 Inch Freak... , AA front - eVLution II... - Crossfire 47/4500 Low Output Nitro... More to come.
Strengths: Looks very sexy.

Does what it says it does, cleans up the front end of the impulse.

Replaces, or adds in some cases, alot of upgrades already on the impulse.

Helps stop bolt jam.

Lowers operating pressure a little.

Theres more to it, but I only tested it out on my friends gun. Worth it though, great upgrade he said. Helps support is fast firing speeds and helps consistancy.
Weaknesses: Eh, Its a little expensive, but what in the sport IS'NT expensive. I beleive it has less space to help volumize, the stock volumizer has about... 9cc while this one probably has alot less.
Review: Like the evil bolt, I tested it on my friends gun. Aparently, it helps keep up with firing speeds, helps consistancy, looks verrry nice, and will replace your tapeworm and volumizer for somthing that will work alot better. Will stop bolt stick which is a REALLY annoying problem. I would'nt have it be the first upgrade you get on your gun, but after you have your gun in a good place (barrel, nitro, hopper better then 12v X-Board) Then I would suggest going out and getting one.
Conclusion: Great upgrade. Go and get one for your impulse, I know I am going to. Giving it a 10, because it does a great job at what its supposed to do.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Paintball9908 Friday, December 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Black stock impulse
I-frame
Evil valve
freak back
all american front
Evil respirator
Pace maker
richet 2k
68 and 95 cubic inch nitro
horizontal maxflow
e-paintball drop forward
gadget grip
cricket board
Strengths: easy to install! this is a great product. It took only about 5 minutes to install The first difference you will notice is that your gun will cycle smoother and faster. It will also shoot alot more consistant on the crono. It has a cap to screw on and off making paint cleaning easy when hit their.
Weaknesses: The only bad thing was that when I put it in it hit the filter were the tape worm would go. So I called up a store and asked, and they said it's nothing to wory about and the filter is not a must and should not affect it unless you are using Co2 in very cold weather. but even then it would not make any permant damage it would just have to be cleaned.
Conclusion: It's a great LPR, and will give you just as good if not better results then any other regulator for an impulse. I like it because it does not have cords running everywere. It's about $105.00 and I think is worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Bsudy Sunday, February 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Impulse Vision (18035)
Evil respirator
Twister feed tube (short)
Evo II hopper
Slick Shot ram
Rat SS hammer
Dead On Paintball Bullet drop forward
Strengths: Very clean look. Easy to adjust. Adjustment does not drift once you set it. Very consistent velocities. I have not noticed any drop off when shooting fast.
Weaknesses: None.
Conclusion: It's a great product that will let you boost your gas efficiency by letting you set the solenoid pressure lower than the valve pressure.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jokester Tuesday, May 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tested the nd lpr setup
Marker Setup: '03 gloss red nasty impulse, matching freak kit, rat factory kit, was board, evil respirator, black otb frame, black nd 15* asa, black nd halo no rise, black system x drop, crossfire 72/45 preset 450 psi tank.
Strengths: improved efficiency, cleans up the front end
Weaknesses: you can run on a lower psi with the nd lpr
Review: this is easy to adjust, and easy to install. with the nd lpr i felt the hoses where ready to leak at any second, no such worries with this. i found so far running at 190-200psi my efficiency has gone through the roof. i got 6 pods and a hopper off 2500psi fill from my stubby.
Conclusion: great product definately worth the cash. once you get it to your preference no adjustment needed
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

saucey360 Tuesday, March 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock lpr
Marker Setup: imp with lots of stuff
Strengths: looks good, reduces kick back,makes gun shoot smoother
Weaknesses: none
Review: short and sweet great lpr especially since its one of the cheaper ones, ruduces kick back,looks good up at front of gun. Works even better with the evil valve. i didnt install it so i wouldnt know about that but u do have to fidle with it to get the best out of it. all in all a great buy.
Conclusion: good for how cheap it is
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tjd10684 Saturday, April 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none for the impulse i was always turned away by the banjo wire and how fragile it looked
Marker Setup: impulse 007990
new designs derlin bolt
evil valve
evil respirator
Strengths: does what its says
Weaknesses: lowers volume in fireing chamber
Review: this is a regulator for the selnoid of the impulse it is designed to regulate and it does it well. aside from what people think it is designed to increase the presure inside the the chamber that fires the paintball. this increases the shots per tank because it uses a smaller volume of air to project the paintball the same distance that a lower pressure would take. this also allows the impulse to fire faster because you can turn the dwell down. this product is best used in conjunction with the evil valve because they are designed to work together. this product is not as good a regulator as say the rock but as far as i can tell the ajustment does not change and its as consistant as it need to be. i have experenced no noticable shoot down even dureing long strings. people who experence this may want to increase the pressure going into the regulator. that should fix the problem. the one thing that i did notice was while shooting the gun rapidly the presure goes way down about 40 psi going into the selnoid. this i would think, would cause shootdown but it did not seam to effect the proformance of the gun at least in trials.
Conclusion: in conclusion this is an exelent upgrade in my humble opinion. i also advise buying the evil valve in conjunction to get optiomal effects of these outstanding products.

i give this product a 10 because of how effective it is and how the product effectively solves the problems of low shots per bottle count
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

locostah Friday, February 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
jackhammer
Marker Setup: nasty impy with evil resp. nitro vert max flow
Strengths: Its a really good Lpr i noticed a HUGE deiference in teh kickback and the accuracy of my gun. It is definitly a good upgrade for really cheap. It is very easy to put on. It works like a dream everything and more of what i expected
Weaknesses: The looks and the fact that it doesnt come with instructions(still very easy to put on)

Conclusion: In all i think that this item is really great and is definitly worth teh money ur gonna pay for it. U will notice huge differences in accuracy/sound/kickback/consistency. GET it if u want a LPR
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Maytherman Monday, November 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock LPR
Marker Setup: 04 Vision Impulse Vert Reg,
Eclipse Blade Trigger,
NDZ EQ Bolt,
Freak Barrel System (Freak Back, A.A Front),
Halo low-rise,
Evil respirator,
Evil valve kit,
12v Revy,
System X drop,
68/4500k Tank
Strengths: Doesn't look jankey, all in one
Weaknesses: None, just wish they didn't make solenoid stabilizer flat
Review: This product is great. Works very well with the evil valve kit. I shot with this thing 2 times. First time it was working good but then I had a recocking issue which made me mad. But when i just played yesterday, everything was flowing like a dream. i was shooting very fast which I don't normally do, and the lpr was doing its job well. I operate at 200psi and have no recocking issues after the first time. This product just takes a little breaking in so ive heard.
Conclusion: This may cost slightly more than other lprs but I belive that it is worth it (costs 110 with evil valve). It weighs less, small, and makes the front of yer gun look great. Make sure that you buy the evil valve kit with it or it gets complicated. I had a friend put mine in. Come with good instructions he said.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 8th, 2004 at 7:44 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

toothpastedog Monday, October 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
my own very unusual lpr set up, smart parts lpr kit
Marker Setup: Ratpulse, vision, Adrenaline triggerframe, VFF that doesn't do anything, custom adrenaline thunder freak set, GP valve w/ lpr set-up (run through the asa), evil valve, 5" equalizer bolt, hsw derlin bolt pin, nd silk shot ram+ND mid wieght hammer, rat halo low rise, 68/4.5k maxflo tank, and the most important part, the chrome on/off button. also 12v revi and halo b
Strengths: Lowers bolt pressure while being able to have a higher valve pressure
Weaknesses: Expensive, only black, not the best, have to buy new valve
Review: First off, if i wanted the easiest to install, most user friendly lpr i would get this. I have it set up on another impulse with an evil valve, evil hammer, stock ram, voodoo bolt, and werm v2 kk trigger. It, as i said, is the easiest lpr to install. Also it is more user friendly because you don't have to use hoses. The problem is that you need to get a new valve. The new valve can either be a New Designz valve or an evil vale. This lpr also isn't the best. A rock reg or jack hammer lpr set up would function a little better, (that i only if you set your valve pressure @ 200psi or less and your bolt pressure @ 130psi or less). If you want to take the pressure release valve (pvr) of the asa or reg and put it on the back of you impulse (right below the hammer assembly on the outside), you can rase the valve pressure to 200-300psi while keeping the bolt pressure @ 130psi or less. This valve can be use with a ND valve or a Evil valve if the pressure is kept at the normal range, but the evil valve should be used if you put the pvr on the back of your impulse and rase the valve pressure to 300psi. I have both of my guns set up with lpr's set at 100psi and the valve pressure at about 280psi. Both are also used with evil valves.
Conclusion: If you buy a new valve (evil is best) then the product works much better. if you do that and you move the prv and rase the valve pressure, the performance is much, much better. My gun can shoot like 600 more shots since i put these products on them (before i was using a adrenalin tapeworm and a HFV. it gets a seven, upon thinking about it, because it isn't just as slap on and go upgrade-evil seems to expect you to go out of your way to make it work... and that doesn't really seem right.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 31st, 2004 at 5:40 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media