paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Evil Omen / Evil Omen / Evil Omen / Evil Omen

Evil Omen Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Evil

Buy Evil Omen

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Evil Omen
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 205
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $450

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Omen Has Arrived. True closed bolt function. Adjustable, electronic double trigger interface. Cam operated force feed*, hence offset feed. Adjustable recock*. Independent Recock/Reload* assembly. Vertical Regulator for velocity control and Low Pressure operation. 9 nine volt rechargeable battery with AC charger included. One piece barrel with two piece function. Stiff arbor honed step bore barrel 0.690 ID first 6 inches then 0.697 remaining front. Tournament legal tail, Delrin bolt, 'Evil' style delrin valve stem and stainless steel body and on/off bottom line all standard. Barrel threads same as Autococker and feed tube threads same as 2k3 Piranhas, Impulse, Shockers and bushmasters.
Product Availability 
The Evil Omen is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (21):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
EvilOne Monday, July 14th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month100 of 115 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman custom 98, spyder flash, e-99, impulse, sto autococker
Marker Setup: Evil Omen Black
Evil Pipe Kit
WGP 70/4500 Dual reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
Any HPA is strongly recommended
Any fast loader
Evil Pipe
Strengths: Cam feeder, detonator vert reg, solid strong feel but not too heavy, closed bolt.
Weaknesses: Trigger could be a little more stiff, and more adjustable
Review: I purchased my Omen™ 2 days before a 3-man tournament so I didn't have time to mess with it much, but it performed great. The Omen is very accurate as long as you hold the gun firm and aim good; it has a little recoil that can throw your aim off. I'm not sure if it is just a fluke, but the gun is a gas HOG and very loud if you don't have paint in it.. other than that it gets pretty good gas mileage.
In the tournament I shot Ultra Evil paint(nasty stuff) with an Evil Omen gun through an Evil Pipe, wearing an Evil beanie... if anyone from the Evil factory reads this, send me a jersey, gloves, & pants to finish out my attire.. contact at bottom.

HPA is a must for this gun. I set my incoming pressure from my tank to about 480-490psi. CO2 works but spikes in the pressure can make the gun break paint due to the sensitive re-cock pressure adjuster. Once I figured out how to tune the detonator reg and the re-cock pressure it didn't chop at all. Read the instructions that come with gun closely, the reg and the re-cock are very sensitive and usually only 1/4 a turn is enough to change it.

The cam feeder actually works pretty good, but is a little difficult to clean. If you do out run your hopper the feeder will save you every time. I am not sure, but I think the only broke paint I had was from the re-cock pressure being too high and the paintball exploded when the bolt came forward.

The trigger on my Omen™ was a little too loose for my taste. It would move from side to side a little, and was not stiff enough for me. The trigger pull, however, is sweeeeeet. I am used to a blade style trigger, but this one has a hump in the middle that you can tap to get a little trigger bounce going. Once you find the bounce you can throw a quick line of paint with no problem.

The delrin bolt is no better/worse than other delrin bolts. The rubber thingy that sits on the hammer spring is a bit annoying though. Not sure exactly what it is for, but after 1 tournament it looked like my dog had been chewing on it. Luckily they send an extra with the gun. The entire rear of the gun pops out to re-cock when you shoot and looks cool when you shoot fast.... just don't too close with your mask or face.

Great gun.
Conclusion: The Omen shoots fast, and accurate. It's not too heavy, but not so light you think it will break with the first bunker dive. The Evil Pipe makes a GREAT upgrade. The trigger could be a little better so I give it a 9. I would recommend this gun to anyone, no matter what they are using now.... Angels included.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 21st, 2003 at 2:18 pm PST
I found this review  
65 Comments - Add Comment

badkarma Saturday, September 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month60 of 62 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Vertical Feed Autococker
Black Dragun
Marker Setup: Evil Omen, PMI PureEnergy 45/5000 HPA, NW o-ring Low Rise, VL eVLution II with trimmed neck, quick disconnect
Recommended
Upgrades:
see above, Evil Pipe Barrel Kit(when I have the spare $)
Strengths: Accuracy, Speed, Price, Cam Feed, low profile, On/Off rail bottomline, simplicity, reliability, tech support
Weaknesses: Manual, trigger side-to-side slop(early models only), recoil(compared to Angel, etc.)
Review: This is the most innovative marker I've seen in a long time. It combines the simplicity of the much-copied twin stacked-tube design of the Spyder, Piranha, Black Dragun etc. with the phenomenal accuracy of a true closed-bolt design a la Autococker.
I tend to look at things from the standpoint of an engineer trying to accomplish a mission with the minimum of BS. The Omen does this beautifully.
I'll get the weaknesses out of the way. The early model clear ano'd Al trigger has too much side-to-side slop. They've fixed this with the more recent powder coated Mg trigger. The manual is weak on some points, but the all-important section on tuning is great. The recoil is more significant than Angels, Timmys, Matrices, Bushys etc, but is not excessive, does not hurt accuracy and allows for easy trigger bounce sweet-spotting at a terrifying ROF.
I've passed mine around (third one in the state of NM) to a lot of guys using above-listed markers and it's never failed to impress.
The factory two-stage barrel is VERY accurate, especially combined with the closed bolt venturi design and fully adjustable electro trigger. The Pipe kit will allow size-matching to your paint as poor fit causes problems which are more prevalent in closed-bolt markers as they rely on paint-to-barrel fit to keep paint from rolling out.
For a marker of this price, it RIPS!!! HPA is highly recommended.
I love the Cam Feed as it allows a much better sighting plane over the top of the marker and only moves the feeder .7in to the right, which I have not found to be significant as far as exposure from cover is concerned.
The overall profile of this marker is quite small and with the mods I've done, local tourney team members have called it "super clean" and "tiny."
Factory equipment includes an on/off rail bottomline that is great with a small envelope tank and is very handy. The addition of a QD allows easy adjustment of the rail and/or removal/installation of the grip frame without the tension of the air line interfering.
Again, this marker is mechanically barely more complex than an electro Spyder. The adjustable recock pressure is the key to making it function reliably while using the included Evil Detonator LPR for velocity control.
Thus far, black is the only option and looks great! The anodizing is perfect and truly black, not purple in direct sunlight.
Once tuned, the Omen is super reliable as long as your hopper can keep up. I love my eVLution II, but I ran mine successfully in testing with a VL200 shake-n-shoot but the height was too much and profile matters, as does reliability while shooting rapidly or holding the marker at a cant.
Evil's tech support is awesome. I stripped a screw while messing with my Omen and they're replacing it for free even though it was my error. I sent an e-mail about the newer Mg trigger and they responded immediately.

Most recent: Got the new Mg trigger and I like it. Did some modifications to the bolt, rounding the front edges and ramping the step that activates the cam feed. This allowed me to reduce the recock pressure and therefore recoil. My Omen WILL NOT CHOP. If a ball does not feed correctly, the bolt doesn't close and that's it. Pull the back block, the ball feeds and shoots fine. A tech at PMI recommended the PD Paintball board upgrade and I will have this done. 20bps! Going to design a blade trigger and have it made as the trigger shape is the biggest hindrance to high ROF. Put some bits of electrical tape in the breech area of the barrel to hold the small bore field paint I use at my home field. Works great and cost practically nothing. I thinks with some small upgrades, the Omen has a lot of bang for the buck and is actually more reliable than my (now my roommate's) Tippmann! That's reliable!
Conclusion: This marker rocks! It has exceeded my expectations consistently and the weaknesses are truly insignificant when compared to the strengths. Way to go Evil/PMI!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 13th, 2003 at 11:30 pm PST
I found this review  
21 Comments - Add Comment

Scalphunter Tuesday, March 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months48 of 52 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker, Impulse, Cocker, Autococker, Bushmaster, Automag, Inferno, Daystate, Sheridan, Splatmaster (showing my age!)
Marker Setup: Omen, Dead-on Drop & On/Off, Low-rise feeder
Recommended
Upgrades:
Pipe set - for Paint/Barrel match
Egg II hopper - for ease/speed of feeding paint
Low-rise - lowers the profile of the setup
HPA - for consistency at the chrono
Strengths: Cam-feed, reliability, accuracy, light-weight, consistent, one-pin field strip, cool, smooth, sexy...
Weaknesses: broken hammer plate - see below
Review: I live in the UK and ordered my Omen from an online store in the US. It arrived in 4 days (Portland to Scotland in 4 days!!) in a small, LIGHT package. Having only read reviews and seen pics of the Omen I was very impressed with the marker from the box. As expected from Evil it has a solid feel for such a small, light marker with everything locked down and ready to use; sharp, clean shape with good black anodizing matching the marker body, barrel and drop/on-off.

First off: read the manual, and I mean cover-to-cover! The marker is not set like regular markers. You set the velocity (using the ring on the regulator) then the recock pressure (tiny screw on the body) - this is relational so, as you increase the velocity, you decrease the recocking pressure. If you are patient and know your left from your right, you'll do fine. Mine was sweet from the box, but it's only a matter of time before you have to do it yourself - so learn at the start so you don't have to go hunting for that little book in 2 weeks time.

The next thing I checked was the cam-feed I'd heard so much about. It's a small wedge shape that the hopper feeds into that adds less than 6 cm X 2 cm on the right hand side of the marker. It's what's inside that is simple yet ingeneous - two thin spring-loaded 'reeds' that gently push paintballs into the breech in each cycle. Practically, this means that if you set your velocity and recocking pressures correctly (see above) the Omen WILL NOT break paint no matter how fast you fire.

The grip is sturdy '45 style with a wide trigger guard that allows even my large hands in gloves to work the trigger. I heard a lot about how poor the trigger was but I found it extremely sensitive with little slop or movement - however it is adjustable. There are not (currently) any official Omen alternatives but these and custom jobs will not be long in coming. It has a stock 15 bps rate of fire which as far as I'm concerend is more than enough (check out the review of the PDP chip for upgrading to 25 bps.) Now, I'm way too old to have decent muscle control but I could still walk it and get a good rate of fire. Besides, triggers and their settings are such a personal thing that to crticize a stock marker setting is not really valid.

The Detonator regulator is first class. After breaking-in (dry firing a couple of thousand shots) it was very consistent at the chrono. Also, I was using CO2 on a cold day so any reg that gives me that performance has won me over. It only requires a drop of oil every so often to keep it in tip-top condition.

The barrel is also a fine piece of kit. For a stock piece it compares very well with most after-market barrels I have used. If you visit different sites or your paint quality is dodgy, you might want to consider a Pipe Set. Being closed bolt and having no ball detent a good paint/barrel match will make a BIG difference and the Pipe Set will help this. However I have no plans to upgrade the barrel at the moment.

PREFORMANCE
Fully broken in and tuned at the chrono (300 fps +/-2 fps consistently), even running on CO2, the Omen is a joy to use. The range is good and the accuracy is awsome (100 ft = spread of 2 - 3 inches; 150 ft = spread of 5 - 7 inches.) The cam feed works flawlessley. If there is no ball to feed, it simply skips and feeds the next ball. Tuning the Omen I was using some ropey old site paint that had been sitting for a couple of weeks. It gobbled it up and asked politely for more. Changing to a better quality and smaller bore paint for some woodball playing, there was no noticable difference in accuracy or range. There has been a lot written about the recoil (kick) of the Omen - mostly about how it affects accuracy. Again, it's a subjective thing, (unless you're actually measuring the joules released in the fire-recock cycle), but I can't say I noticed that much and my accuracy wasn't affected. However, if you are a smaller player you might be affected more than I was. The proof of the Omen's worth were playing an entire day of scenario woodball with a light, reliable, accurate, fast and efficient marker - not a CO2/N2 hog by any manner of means!

UPDATE: I have played more days since writing the initial review. The Omen remains reliable 6 months after buying it. Apart from a broken hammer plate (see below) - which was most likely my fault for having the recock pressure too high - I have had flawless days of enjoyable playing, seeing off countless autococker, impulse and angel users. If you are image conscious or care about how cool your marker looks, rest assured the comments on my Omen were all complimentary. As this is a family forum, the comments upon seeing it in action are unprintable - but I took these to be complimentary also!
Conclusion: This is a well conceived, marker with a lot going for it. For a stock marker it is superb - the reg, barrel and cam-feed make it worth the money alone. Add the electro-trigger and you have a potent package that is light, reliable, accurate and fast - well worth $400. Since I first wrote this review, my hammer plate broke and caused re-cocking problems (probably because my re-cock pressure was set too high - my bad). However, PMI Europe tech-support (based in the UK) was great: I simply posted my Omen to them. It was back in 10 days, working sweet-as-a-nut.

The Omen is a rare thing in PB - a marker that has a genuine player fan-base, guys who are passionate about the marker and are enthusiastic for others to try it out. What other marker do you know where the players themselves are designing and making custom triggers, flush cocking, grips, ASAs etc? There are plenty of friendly, knowledgable guys on the various Evil / Omen forums that will give good, sensible and easy to understand advice if you need a quick question answered.

Some would criticize the lack of upgrades for the Omen, but the stock marker is a great performer without the need for 'bling' or paint chucking enhancements. With Evil providing the performance and PMI providing the tech support you can be confidant that the marker is quality and, should the worst happen, you will be well taken care of. Try it then buy it. Learn how to use the marker and the only problem you will have is paying for the paint you use!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 7th, 2004 at 11:37 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Fatboy Thursday, April 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested45 of 62 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker - big old and slow compared to the Omen
Eblade Clocker - still clunky, obviously not made to be an electro
Marker Setup: I also have an Impulse. The field I play at got an Omen for testing and it riiiiiips. Super accurate and super fast.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel where you can size paint like the Pipe. The no drop on/off is perfect. Very nice stock set up.
Strengths: Way too accurate for words & the cam-feed makes sure you don't break paint.
Weaknesses: Only available in black.
Review: Cam feed is much better than I thought it would be. It doesn't get in the way and it is nice to never chop paint, even when you outchase your hopper. I used it with an eggolution and it was bloody fast. I could outchase the egg with it, but it would never chop. It just dry fired a shot. The Omen is way faster than the eBlade. I've never even outchased a 12 volt rev with an eBlade but the Omen is faster than an Egg 2 cranked all the way up.
Conclusion: Well worth the money. I'm saving up for it. Super fast and easily as accurate as a cocker. Plus the on/off drop is very nice.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
43 Comments - Add Comment

daboz Friday, May 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month42 of 50 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
gently upgrading over time.....Raptor..Spyder Flash..Pirahna E-force..now Omen. Only the E-force has been close to the rate of fire of the omen, but there is more to a marker than just that.
Marker Setup: Of course the marker I am using is the one that I am reviewing. hmmm No mods to marker because none exist and the simple fact that the marker seems to have to best parts on it already, we will see. 14" pipe kit, Pure Energy 68 carbon fiber nitro tank, Ricochet hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The only accessories that I currently recommend are a pipe kit and good hopper. Because this marker is closed bolt and has no ball detent, it is crucial that you size the ball to the barrel.
Strengths: Absolutely no ball chop. Flawless operation. Tournament parts already on marker.
Weaknesses: I see no weakness to this marker.
Review: I had preo-ordered this marker back in early March, hounding my supplier almost daily on it's arrival. Sorry Pb Os! I had the pipe barrel kit for over a month even before I had a marker to put it on. That is how much faith I had in the Evil company. After several months the marker is here and I am not disappointed. This marker can really put out the paint. With an experienced player handling it, it's rate of fire is awesome. String of pearls has been mentioned. Very nice electronic trigger and light trigger pull help to accomplish this. The marker comes with several parts that seem to be upgrade items for some other tournament grade markers; delrin bolt, bottom line shut-off, high flow reg., and even electronic trigger. Of course the ball feed system on this marker is what peeps are talking about, and from my experience, it works extremely well. I am beginning to forget what it is like to have to clean paint out of the inside of a marker. That is a GOOD thing!
The extras that you get with the purchase of this marker are just great. AC and DC charger, rechargeable battery, barrel condom, and don't forget the beloved cardboard box!
Conclusion: Do not buy this marker....I do not want competition getting their hands on this! Seriously, it is a great marker in a great price range and I highly recommend it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

bbwolf25 Tuesday, July 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month23 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've tested an angel and a DM4 IMO the OMen competed well with them. I owned an auotmag for years, the omen blows it away.
Marker Setup: I have a stock Evil Omen.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none really. An adjustable bore barrel like the pipe or the freak would be nice, but the gun shoots great without it, and you might want a drop forward.
Strengths: See below.
Weaknesses: See below.
Review: My First Time Omen Story...
I got my Omen about two weeks before the tournament and I thought that I would have time to get everything working and figured out before that, but...
The local field hadn't got set up for HPA yet, and all I was getting was promises of "just another day or two". Well I didn't want to use CO2 so I decided to wait. It drug on and on, and it turned out he wasn't going to get air until the day before the tournament. We I was out of town that day so I had no choice but to wait until the moring of the tournament to fire my Omen for the first time.

Due to a lot of people on this forum who seemed to have problems with their Omen right at first, I was really worried about this.
Well Tournament day arrived, and I came early to have some time with my gun. It turned out that the field was not able to get air, and they had worked it out with another field to supply air for them, but they weren't there yet. So it did me no good to come early.

Air finaly got there. I had worked it out with a buddy of mine to use his Nitro tank, and I took it over to get it filled. Guess what! The regulator on the Tank was shot and it was leaking bad.

"I'm screwed" I thought. My mind starts racing with all the posible problems with CO2 (like loosing recock pressure with rapid fire due to bottle temperature drop.) but I had no choice so I went to the chrono with my anti-siphon tank, and hoped for the best.

I tuned up the Omen according to the manual, and practice fired it a few times. (first time mind you.) This gun was incredible. It really ripped.

I was still bummed about the CO2, but after our first game I was over it because we blew out another team who had two DM4's and a Timmy. (I had two of the three eliminations)

Later in the day I was able to get a Nitro tank to play with, and I got to tell you.... it was great! Keep in mind the gun was already performing very well on CO2, but then when I went to air it was like night and day. So much better if that was even possible.

For the day: No breaks... No problems.... recocked reliably. shot accurately. We got second for the day. I was in heaven.

Thanks Evil... I couldn't ask for a better Marker for my money.

Strengths:
Rate of fire, Accuracy, excellent parts (it comes with a lot of parts that would have to be purchased as upgrades for other guns such as the Evil Detonator Regulator, the Evil Driver Barrel, the Veturi Derilin Bolt, and the on/ off bottom line), if you follow the tuning instructions in the manual you will NEVER chop paint.

Weaknesses:
The recock pressure has to be set every time you use the Marker, and it is a several step process. You MUST, MUST, MUST follow the instructions in the manual for tuning, or you WILL break a cup seal or a hammer, or break paint, but if you take care to do it right your experience will be very positive.
Conclusion: This gun is an incredible bargin. It's already priced lower than guns such as the impulse, and you don't need to upgrade a thing to make it perform well. You will not be ashamed to show this gun off to your rich buddies with the DM4's and the timmy's. I'm completely happy. Oh, and FYI the Evil forums at www.pbnation.com are very helpful.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

radishboy Friday, August 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing similar really.
Marker Setup: evil omen
j&j edge kit
evo2 w/ y board
pmi pure energy 68/300 hpa
psyco ballistics bullet drop
new designs low rise
Recommended
Upgrades:
you dont really need anything, but a lowrise would be nice. after awhile you probably want to get a barrel kit.
Strengths: its light
its FAST.
the trigger.
the cam feed.
the reg.
Weaknesses: tuning it seems to confuse certain people.
Review: well, first of all, i have to say this: this thing is fast. i can rip on this thing faster than i can on any gun ive ever used. faster than on my friends RAT, faster than my friends 2003 shocker, faster than on my friends matrix.

second of all, its light. you know when you to get a carton of milk out of the fridge, but its empty so you just yank the thing out really fast becasue you thought it would be alot lighter? thats what i did when i picked this bad boy up. it weighs about 2.2 pounds, yet still has alot of meat on it to be milled.

the trigger. you can adjust this so that the screw is constanly touching the frame, and the gun can be fired by just touching the trigger, while i dont recomend this, for many reasons, the fact that it can be done is awsome. when adjusted the way you like it, you will be able to rip on this thing like no other.

the cam feed works like a charm. it moves when the back clock moves, so when you have the rocock pressure working perfectly, you will never chop, ever.

the reg looks nice, and it works even better. at the chrono i get 144 every time, and i fire 6-7 times while im there.

the only thing i can see that might turn some peopel off is udjusting the recock pressure. people seem to find it complicated, but its not hard at all.the manual gives perfect directions.

Conclusion: a wonderful gun. totally blew away my expectations. you wont regret buying this, its an amazing gun, expecially for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

captaincodeblue Wednesday, July 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year21 of 99 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Icon E- much better
spyder e-99- much better
autococker nightkast-much much better.... than the omen
dye matrix-much much better
dm4- much much much better
Marker Setup: "Evil Omen, 32 degress drop (with omen on/off attached), 2 48 cu inch 3000psi pure energy nitro tanks, egg hopper, freak barrel" till i sold all that crap (especially the omen) and got a real gun

Nightkast Autococker(worrbladed), 68/45 pure energy tank, wgp blue flame drop, evil on/off, evil delrin bolt, Empire reloader B, freak barrel kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, throw it away, and buy a new gun....
Strengths: It makes a good blender, good for throwing at people
Weaknesses: Chops everthing, crappy design, cam feed sucks, 75% dont work right out of box.
Review: My team was sponsored by evil so we got a sweet deal on a package of crap including the omen. Little did we kno we were about to receiver the worst gun on earth. Now the reason this gun sucks so very very bad is not cuz its constantly broken, its cuz it will pretend to work right before a tourney and then once u start playing it has a tendency to..... not work. It chops paint, the settings change themselves from vibrations. The kick on this gun is like shooting a 12 guage shotgun, its also as loud. Our whole team had to send our guns in to pmi and we have all already sold them all. The reg literally exploded on one of my backmans gun. This gun not only sux, but statistically, u have a 43% chance of dying when using the omen. If the point didnt get across to u yet, here is a reivew from a local field owner:


Ummm, where to start with this one.....

well for one, look at it. It doesn't look like a respectable paintball gun. I don't know what PMI was doin' with the "snake" like trigger. I'm sorry but that trigger is VERY uncomfortable, and it doesn't ripp at all. Next, look at the mongle high rise, man you could climb to the moon and back on that beast. The pipe kit is the only semi respectable thing on the gun. The slogan for the pipe is, 'Everyone takes a hit"....this proves that they are one crack.....which I'll get to later.

Although they sound like a semi automatic pistol shooting (loud) and the are paper thing, so that when you dive into a bunker they turn into the flatline style barrel, they do shoot semi straight.

The reg they come with stock has the same consistency as a gas though grip, and has occasional tendency's to make the gun not work. As PMI calls it, the detonator sux monkey ballz.

The flipper....known to many who have shot the omen....AKA the "BLENDER"... I don't know if the PMI staff was smokin' crack or some kind of drug, b/c you can't even use a hopper that feeds more than 13bps or it will not flip fast enough and it will chop paint. The PMI staff must have thought that this flipper would serve a better purpose than any kind of eye system.... since the omen does not have any eye.

The grips suck....period.

Those were all the things wrong with the gun from just lookin' at it.

Now for Just some of the horrible things wrong with the performance of this "marker". The back blocks come from the factory too small so that they fling off the cockin' rod and smack you in the face. Then you will have to send it in to get re-milled , and that will take about 3-4 weeks and by that time you will have bought a new gun and thrown the omen in the trash.

I would buy a quality squeege (not a PMI one), b/c you will be choppin' SOOO much paint. This is due to the flipper, and the no eyes. Although PMI lovers will just tell you that you must have just gotten a bad one, the reality is that all omens suck.

So don't be fooled kidz, this contraption is not cool. It is not suitable for playing paintball with, it is more suitable for sitting on the work bench getting fixed.... the Evil Omen is one more reason that PMI sux.
Conclusion: Now seriously, this gun has caused me so much pain and grief i wish i could destroy each and every one ever made. Now apparently.... according to some ppl, if u get one of the few properly made omens in existence, it at least functions at the same level of a spyder. if i could i really swear to god, would give this gun a 0.

Oh yeah and if u omen lovers think i just didnt read the manual or take proper care of my gun, i sent my gun to 3 proshops, who sold omens, and not a single one had any idea wat was wrong with my gun. in fact all 3 proshop owners, the same ones who sold omens, suggested i just buy a new gun.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 31st, 2004 at 10:07 am PST
I found this review  
43 Comments - Add Comment

pntbll248 Tuesday, June 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker Freeflow, E-Cockers, Tippmann 98-decked out (not comparable, but i love my tippy, it was my first gun) and a few other guns. I've only gotten my hands on a Angel (IR3) once to use for a day so I can't compare to any Angels.
Marker Setup: Evil Omen with a few odds and ends added, but nothin really major.
Nitro-48cu. in. at 4500 PSI
CO2- CO2 with anti-siphon kit
Various Barrels
Revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA tank- I wouldn't buy this gun unless you can afford a Nitro tank
Evil Pipe Kit if you wanna stick with Evil
-or-
A J&J Edge for a low priced alternative to a Freak or Evil
A Total Freak kit if you want to splurge
A WGP Kaner works very well also

A fast hopper, but u don't need one that feeds 22+ bps, 15-18 will suffice.
Strengths: Accuracy
Speed
Looks
It's an Evil
Weaknesses: Takes some screwing with to work
A few makes of the gun suck
Review: I've tested quite a bit of guns from my friends and I can't say an Omen is the best gun I've ever used. It's up there though. What gets me is when people compare a $500 gun to a $1500 gun. It isn't designed to function like a decked out Angel. I can say that it will hold its own on the field, though. This is my general view, but the gun doesn't make the player. I can't stand it when some snotty kid goes out and has his parents buy him the most expensive gun there is when he has never played a game in his life. My friend who has been playing for 7+ years can easily whip me or anyone else with a Brass Eagle Talon. But back to the Omen. There are a few strengths I wanna explain and a few weaknesses also.
STRENGTHS:
-SPEED-This gun for the price is very fast and the trigger pull is so light that you can't rest your finger on the trigger or it might shoot. Sure, you could go buy a Tactical Electronic Sniper for less than half the price (not a diss on T.E.S.), but you won't get the same quality.
-Quality-The Omen has Evil quality behind it. Countless people say Evil sucks because it's made by PMI, but hey, Ford owns Jaguar and Aston Martin, so why can't a lower end company have another division for higher end products
-Accuracy-I truly don't think there is much of a difference between a closed-bolt and open bolt system in accuracy, but I know I'll be called an idiot and newbie if I say that. Either way the Omen is very accurate for the price
-Looks- With a PIPE kit, you will drool
-Strong-I ran over my stock Omen barrel with a car, on accident, and it only left a minor dent at the end that was able to be repaired.
-Doesn't Break Balls-self explanatory, but use marballizer if you need to be sure.
-Great Customer Service-Absolutely the best I've ever been in contact with.

WEAKNESSES:
-Reliability-Not the most reliable gun in the world. You have to know how to tune it to make it work. Don't throw away that little page that comes seperate from the manual in the box that tells how to adjust the recock pressure, you'll be lost as a... very lost... thing without it.
-Love or Hate Relationship- I've noticed how much Impulse owners hate this gun. I've actually heard people say that because the name is Evil, if you buy this gun you are worshipping Satan and are going to Hell. Impulses are great guns. Omens are great guns. It's just a matter of taste. To borrow a phrase, why can't we all just get along?
-Cam Feed-This should be a strength because it works so well, but sometimes I'll have to open the little shield thing around the cam to dislodge a ball, probably something I'm doing wrong though.
-Upgrades-I HEAR (realize this is all hear-say, i don't know for sure) Evil is coming out with some upgrades for the Omen in the distant future, including an upgrade to allow full auto and a new bolt system to allow for faster firing, but please, who needs to shoot faster than 15 bps.? As of right now though, upgrades are limited to barrel, feeder, and tank.
-Loud-With some barrels on your Omen you might as well scream "Here I am, in this bush, come shoot me!", but that can be fixed with the right barrel.
-Needs Nitro- While technically you can run on CO2 with an anti-siphon kit, I've used both and I would never recommend this gun without Nitro. It is so much more consistent. If your going to buy a $500 gun, spend an extra $150 for a good tank.
-Some waves/makes of the Omen are really sucky, never buy a used one from anyone, go with the newest possible for the best results

------Edit------
Ok, I was out exploring on this site and found out about a single upgrade for the Omen to make it faster. The PDP (I don't know if those are the right letters, I'd look under accessories for the Omen on this site to be sure) is a new $50 board that will raise your speed cap to 25bps., if you really need to shoot that fast.
Conclusion: I am aware that there are just as many weaknesses as strengths that I wrote, but that was purposeful. I don't think reviews are helpful if they say there are no weaknesses or no strengths. Overall, the Omen is one of the best, if not the best, gun for the money. Even if you are a serious Tourney player, I think this gun is a good choice, even if it has a sub $500 price tag. I wouldn't, however, recommend this gun to anyone who doesn't have more than a year experience in paintball, it takes some tweaking and you really shouldn't be paying $500 for your first or possibly second gun. Work your way up.
I would definately recommend this gun to anyone who:
Is willing to tweak a gun
Loves Evil
Loves Impulses but wants to break through the current hate barrier between the two types of owners and reach a higher level of paintball enlightenment.
Wants a really good gun for the money.
Is just tired of reading my page long review so they'll humor me and buy it.
--Side note-- I added up the costs of an Omen, Revvy or Egg hopper, PIPE kit, and 68 cu. in. 4500 PSI tank and the cost comes out to around $1032 (with 7.5% sales tax included) so if you really need an expensive gun, with everything added, thats what you'll get.
IF ANYONE HAS A PROBLEM WITH WHAT I WROTE, FINDS AN ERROR, OR JUST HATES ME, DON'T FLAME ME, BE CIVIL. I'm entitled to my opinion too.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 23rd, 2004 at 9:56 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

1shocker1 Sunday, June 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Several autocockers
A couple Shockers
Electro Spyder
Marker Setup: Evil Omen
WGP Kaner
32 oz. CO2 w/anti-syphon
NW 5" drop
12V Revy X-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit
Drop of your preference
Strengths: Small, light and very well balanced. Easily tuned. Easy to maintain.
Weaknesses: Ummmm....... only available in black.
Review: I came across this marker at a charity event and fell in love. I later won the marker in the raffle. "saved me from buying it". I recently played the marker all day shooting 2000 rounds thru it and not breaking a single ball. Marker is very fast when tuned properly. With this marker its all in the tuning. If you don't take the time to set the marker up you will break paint. Marker is very very easy to tune. If any problems call PMI they will be more than happy to help. The stock barrel works great with good paint to barrel match, but I recommend barrel kit. Marker seems to be efficient on gas, ran 32oz co2 all day. The marker took a little getting used so because of feed port, but I took one shot to feed port and quickly learned to adjust style of play. The marker is also very accurate.
Conclusion: This is an excellent marker. I would without a thought put this marker up against an angel,bushmaster,shocker, or intimidator and thats before considering the price. It combines compact, light,efficient,easy to tune, very impressive rate of fire and easy to maintain all in one affordable package.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (21):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media