paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / WDP Angel IR3 FLY / WDP Angel IR3 FLY / WDP Angel IR3 FLY / WDP Angel IR3 FLY

WDP Angel IR3 FLY Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount WDP

Buy WDP Angel IR3 FLY

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


WDP Angel IR3 FLY
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 21
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1750

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Crystal Operated Paint Sensor- feature that sees the ball and prevents dry fires. Patent Pending No External Components or Wiring No Optical Sensors Unaffected by Sunlight or Weather Conditions Can be Armed/Disabled During Game Play Adjustable Sensitivity Settings 3 Base Level Settings Active LED Indicator Uni-pivotal Gated Feed System - Patent Pending 3-Styler Trigger Choice of 3 Trigger pivot points - Patent Pending 3-Styler Trigger designed for Optimum BPS Delivery, offering both double travel adjustment and 3 separate pivot points allowing truly individual firing dynamic. Space Frame - Patent Pending Perfectly balanced, the revolutionary space frame delivers improved ambidextrous firing ergonomics while offering minimal profile to your opponent. Skin Grip The new skin grip has an ultra high friction co-efficient, forming a rock steady shooting platform. Shorter, Lighter Body Advanced 3D Milling Smaller 14 Way Valve 2 Piece Ram The lighter, more compact Angel IR3 is equipped with new custom manufactured micro 14 way valve coupled with a smaller, lighter 2 piece RAM assembly delivering a more compact and efficient operation Intellifeed Ready (Included in C&C Model) The IR3 Angel is has a built in Intellifeed that features adjustable activation and duration settings enabling programming for dedicated game plans. Timer Adjustable in 30 second Increments Improved Vibes Alarm User Programmable timer alarms Metal Hydride Battery and Charger Tamper Evident Twin Layer Ecapsulated PCB Clear-Vis LCD Display User Friendly Computer Menu Interface ASTM Approved Semi-auto Firing Modes (Extra Firing Modes Activated Where Permitted) Firing Mode Display Multi-Level Infra-Red Marker to Marker Communication- Patent Pending Programmable Text Messaging Maintenance Advice System (M.A.S) Encrypted Data Storage- (E.D.S)
Product Availability 
The WDP Angel IR3 FLY is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
vtwizzie Thursday, July 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
My old markers:
98 Custom
Spyder TL+
2k2 Cocker
2k4 Impulse with WAS
2k2 Timmy
Marker Setup: 2003 Angel iR3 Fly, pewter to black dust fade
2 Twisted Volumizers
A4 Soft Face Bolt
A4 Feedneck
Bent opto-leaf for lighter pull
Egg 2 with Z
88/4500 nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
Soft face bolt
New feedneck
Barrel if you want it - i like the stock one cuz it matches my pretty gun :-)
Strengths: Light
Shorter than regular iR3
Space frame
Fast ROF
Weaknesses: Price new (got mine used though)
COPS isn't perfect
Review: This gun is the most amazing gun, for the price, that i have ever shot. I have shot timmys, imps, bushies, cockers, ecockers, and for the 600 that i paid for this marker, it is the best deal ever. Buy one now used while you still can, because soon no one will be selling them anymore.

STRENGTHS:

This gun is very fast. The night i got it i was clicking the noid and i easily hit 14 bps, without trying. And in game situations i can shoot up to like 18, it is maxed at 20 though for COPS on and off. COPS is also a strength in a way, because with it on I have never chopped. However sometimes it becomes uncalibrated, not often, but if it does all you need to do is switch it off. It does it's job. The trigger adjustability is awesome as well. Not to mention it is very light, short, compact, the space frame feels amazing to me. I thought the 90* frame thing was a gimmick, but it helps a lot. It adds new depth to my game. Another thing is the looks, this gun is so pretty I almost didn't want to play with it. But it performs as well as it looks. The LCD display is sweet as well, it tells you when to perform maintenence on the gun as well as the temperature, your max rate of fire, and it is big enough that you can always see it.

WEAKNESSES:

Hmmm....how does none sound? Nothing I have found is wrong with this gun, volumizers don't do anything on iR3's anyways, so they just make it look better. The stock barrel is great too, plus it's annoed to match the gun. The bolt is probably the only real weakness, so simply get a soft face bolt for 30 bucks and you're set. The new price would have been a weakness, but now that you can find them used everywhere for under 650 price is no longer an issue.
Conclusion: Overall this is an amazing gun, worth every penny I paid for it. It has amazing looks and performs well enough to back them up. And everyone knows that Angels are low maintenence - oil the gun when it tells you to, and you're set. Overall get this gun if you can, and at the price I paid it is a steal!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

toast181 Sunday, October 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
'03 Shocker
Naughty Dogs Timmy
ICD B2k

My old guns:
Smart Mag
Phantom
Bone Daddy (Spyder Clone)
Marker Setup: Ir3 Fly
-borrowed Nitroduck 45/45
-revvy w/ xboard
-psychoballistics drop (im poor)
Recommended
Upgrades:
new trigger, egg or haloB, decent drop, new bolt, some time to tweak it, maybe a new barrel.
Strengths: Tough, Fast, Accurate, Reliable
Weaknesses: Stock Trigger, Weight vs. Pricerange
Review: Ok... so here goes... I got my Ir3 fly for about 500$ on ebay, used. It came preset for someone else. I got it the night before I went to a tourney, and thought, "Bah, I'll tweak it later." The next day, the field was covered in mud... and it wouldnt stop raining. I play snake. None the less, my new toy could pretty much keep up with me. I had mud in the barrel and all over the sides, yet it still shot. Unfortunately, this being my first electro, I couldn't figure out how to change velocity, and I was stuck at 215-230 all day.

Now as compared to other guns... My friend has gone through 3 guns in the last month... a B2k w/ PDS, an '03 Shocker, and a Naughty Dogs Timmy. Compared to the B2k, the angel is smaller, more comfortable (with the space frame), faster, but heavier. I also like the blade-styler (B2k) trigger better. The Shocker was much more temperamental/picky... It wouldn't fire for the first hour of the day he took it out, and even after the tech toyed around with it, there was a 2nd (and beyond) shot drop-off. When it did work (which was rarely) it was quite a decent gun... light, fast, tough, and comes with a blade trigger... but its not reliable, period. The Timmy is much lighter than my angel, and again, I like the blade/samurai style trigger better, but I would worry about something like that on the field... What would happen if mud got into the bolt from the sides or behind?

All in all, I think the Angel is a great marker if you can get one cheap. The breach is a pain in the ass to clean if you chop enough, so you need to tweak the software to match your hopper & paint. The trigger pull is short and light, but I think it's pretty difficult to walk the stock Ir3 trigger. This gun is sturdy; it stood up to a tournament in the Pacific Northwest (it was 45 degrees, raining, and muddy). This gun is reliable; it will work as long as the parts are there, and the charges last for 48k shots. This gun is fast; after the tourney when I had time to tweak my software, I was shooting 14bps. This gun is accurate; all guns drop considerably more than a cocker, but the shots otherwise go where you put them. This gun is NOT light for its price range; for 1250, a Naughty Dogs Timmy weighs in at about 1.25lb... my Ir3 fly weighs as much as my all mechanical mag, which is all steel... close on 5lbs.
Conclusion: I love mine. There is no perfect gun, but this is an excellent one. A gun is just a gun, but in the end you need something that fits you. If you need an sturdy, reliable, fast, accurate, and otherwise excellent gun, go buy one (used is good). (Edit: There are only two guns that will NEVER die, if given proper maintenience: a Mag and an Angel.)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 24th, 2004 at 7:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DuckHunt1320 Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye DM4
Viking
Impulse
Shocker

Marker Setup: My marker:
'03 Angel IR3 Fly
48cu 3000psi tank
CP volumizers
Dye mini cradle
CP on/off
Freak Kit
Dye Boomstick
Evolution II a.k.a. "egg"
Recommended
Upgrades:
Accurate fast and quiet enough for my preference but if your not satisfied with.....
Accuracy: buy a FREAK KIT worth every penny
Speed: buy a Angel Speed board if 20+ bps is to slow for you
Quiet: none
Strengths: Very fast
VERY quiet
Very light weight
Very accurate stock barrel
Weaknesses: If you can out shoot 20 bps get a new board
Review: This is an incredible gun, its so QUIET and its fast enough for any tournament, scenario, speed, rec, or hyper ball player out there. The accuracy on this gun is unbelievable for a stock barrel, i got this gun after using a Tippmann A-5 for a year (great gun) and i couldnt believe the performance in this gun. ITS AMAZING!!!
Top of the line gun in 2003
Conclusion: If you have the money and the chance to buy this gun, BUY IT you wont regret it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyda_shutta_yo Thursday, July 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
03 ,04 Shocker, E orracle, Karnivor, Dm4, Timmies (a bunch of em), Nearly every angel known to man
Marker Setup: Angel ir3 fly, Max Flow, Freak System, Evo 2

Recommended
Upgrades:
Mem6, C.O.P.S. version 2 (if you dont already have), Aftermarket barrel, Soft face bolt, cobra indestrucadetent
Strengths: -Reliability
-Easy to use interface
-Speed
Weaknesses: None!
Review: This is a great gun for every brand of tournament player. With a working sensi system that if programed right accualy does its job. The max ammount of cases ive gone through without any chops or breaks adds up to about 8-9 cases and those breaks in between were, to my understanding, due to bad paint.
Contrary to popular belief this gun can use a halo even without duel detents. The cobra indestrucadetent is powerful enough to keep the paint in the breech while using a Halo and believe me if your egg isnt z coded you need it! This gun rips beyond any gun without the use of bounce to keep it going.
On top of everything else the user interface is so easy to learn and use. InfaRed ports make it easy to transfer gun settings from one to the other and just the LCD programs are so simple yet effective. Game timer with lcd readout on the handgrip large enough so that even if you dont hear it go off you dont have to squint to see how much time is left.
- easy to change settings that have a HUGE impact on your gun's functioning ability. Change your dwell with the touch of a button and SEE what it is at. Change the rate of fire with the touch of a button and match your COPS settings and how fast the gun will fire according to the loader you are using - which many have yet to find out IS HOW THE GUN IS SUPPOSED TO WORK!
- people say the angel/sensi/cops system doesnt work and it sucks. they however never used it properly. It takes less than 2 minutes to set up the interface to work properly and with the use of cops, a proper loader, and the common sense to push a few buttons to make it shoot right you have yourself a kick ass gun.
-even when your not setting the interface some of the other settings are nice too.
- like the thermometer ( I had fun with this a few tournaments ago when it started snowing)
- ROF feature that will tell you your max BPS that you have acheived.
Conclusion: This is a great gun and I would suggest it to anybody who wants a great tournament gun that wont let you down. It is a QUALITY gun that will serve you well no matter what kinda 'ball you play. It shoots just as good if not better than any of the competition and has all the bells and whistles to make it even better but not hinder it from its greatness. Basically everything about this gun ROCKS! A much better model than the original ir3 so if you are looking into the angel family this is the gun for you!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AutoC Wednesday, May 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Speed, WGP 04 and 03 VF Autococker, WGP Outkast and Nightkast, Spyder E-99 Avant, Rodeo, Pheonix
Marker Setup: Angel IR3
Halo B
Dye Boomstick
Black Magic Exp. Chamber
4000 psi w/ air cover
Dye Dropforward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everything in the setup
Strengths: Fast ROF
Nice Body
Great Looks
Weaknesses: Nothing that i have found
Review: This is a great looking gun and it is a fun one to keep. If you are looking for a gun that has a fast ROF and great looks, this is your gun. I have had this gun for a whil and nothing has gone bad with it yet. I have not found that many weaknesses besides it price. But, it is worth every penny that you spend on it.

So I say, if you want this gun, than go ahead and get it and have fun. Just make sure you be careful and treat it with respect and it should never break down on you.
Conclusion: All i have to say is if you want a fast shooting gun, than this is your gun. It is a great gun just to spec out and make it your own!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

sneakyweakyguy Saturday, September 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any angel
aka viking or excalibur(never used an excalibur but my friend says their almost the same)
Marker Setup: Which one?
angel ir3 fly-freak barrel(thats probably gonna change due to the g@y things SP is doing)-shocktech drop w/p&P drop-evu2(the egg)-pure energy 68/4500

tippmann 98(not custom)-flatline barrel-proteam stock-14oz co2-9v revvy(old one)

black dragun(thats now my cousins)-AAback w/teardrop front, exp chamber-cyclone bolt/or my shocktech quickstrip-ricochet ak
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, tho stock isnt as bad as you would think, volumizers, new bolt, the stock tends to put an occasional backspin on the ball, but if your going for distance, than i guess its a good thing. AND A NICE TRIGGER JOB.
Strengths: Very fast-lighter than other angels-space frame
Weaknesses: Worst part of gun..........probably the burn hole in pocket part.
accuracy
Review: This gun is great, i got mine for 1094 or something like that. some people dont like the space frame, but i say thats all on oppinion and how you hold your gun. My bro doesnt like this gun because he shoots with only his index finger, even on a double trigger. i shoot with my middle and ring, so i find this grip nice and comfy. people also say its exactly like any other angel, generally speaking yes. but the two biggest differences are, of course the space frame, but its shorter and lighter.
Conclusion: Go to a store and see what the frame feels like, if you like the frame, get the gun. if you dont, get a cocker or something else like a timmy.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 21st, 2004 at 2:32 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

heelside336 Wednesday, April 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmys,Angels,Shockers,E2 Cockers
Marker Setup: IR3,FBM Blade Trigger,Freak Kit, Halo B, 4500 tank...and 05 Shocker, w/ vision and nerver,(same hopper and tank)
Recommended
Upgrades:
A blade trigger is a must fbmfactory.com ...i have that 1 ..real sweet
Barrel ...Freak Kit
lower feed neck
W.A.S Board
Strengths: Speed
Accurate
Weight
Cost
Doesnt Really Chop
Weaknesses: Barrel
Trigger
Feed Neck
Review: I bought this gun from a friend, real good gun, i think this is more a front man gun, cause thats what i use if for, and i bunker ppl left and right, holds its value, can easly shoot 16bps, harldy ever chops paint, its kinda a gas hog but its no shocker, umm...all the settings that the gun has are real nice to have, like the timer in it, and when it records how many bps you were shooting real cool. one of the best guns i have shot, i have had 1 major problem with the gun, and its still being fixed right now. I was shooting the Angel just to get the paint out of my hopper, and as i was walking off the field, i remeber i didnt turn the angel off, so i look down to turn it off, and the screen is already off, and it had a full battery, so i take it down to a local paintball store and he says that the board is probably fried, cause he checked all the wires, and left it to charge over night, so i have to send it to WDP to get that replace dont know what the damage is going to be, but i was wanting to get a W.A.S board any ways, but the main upgrade would be the trigger, that trigger they give sucks, if you want a cheap but nice blade trigger go to fmbfactory.com...thats what i have best upgrade for this gun by far!
Conclusion: Good Gun
Bad Stock Trigger
Cant Complian
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aiello123 Monday, February 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All angels
Marker Setup: Angel ir3 fly, halo b , soft tip bolt, drop foward, freak barrel, crossfire 68 4500 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
soft tip bolt
Strengths: Its very light, accurate, and fast
Weaknesses: None!
Review: This gun rips. Anyone that is seriously into paintball and wants to play at a tournament level should get this gun. It is a little on the expensive side but it is worth the money. It is great looking, fast, accurate, doesn't use a lot of air, and you will make all of your friends jealous.
Conclusion: This gun is awsome!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fox Friday, August 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viking
Timmy
03 Shocker
dragonfly
Marker Setup: 2003 ir3 fly
dye ultralite
Halo b and egg 2
Nitro
missle volumizer
shocktech drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
new bolt
barrel
detent
Strengths: light
fast ROF
reliable
nice body
Weaknesses: No known weakness.
Review: This is a great gun in everyway that it has to be. Such as all of the great guns you get what you pay for. When you have a gun of this level it is above most others so you just compare this with the best. It's LCD screen is great and even tell you messages such as good game and reminders of when to put some maintenance. Also very adjustable.
Conclusion: Get it if your thinking about it. It is well worth it. Only thing is it doen't say it loves you after you tell it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lexxer Saturday, March 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 / Flatline / E Grip / Stock
Marker Setup: Stock Angel ir3 Fly
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel (Freak System), EVO 2 hopper, Also MUST have N2
Strengths: Trigger pull, Speed, Anti-Chop system, Electroic Menus, Very Low/No recoil.
Weaknesses: $!!! Other than that none.
Review: Very excellent gun, LCD menus are easy when you get to know them, Adjustable, You whole set up is eletronicly set no need for tools. When you get this gun your game will improve so much you'll seriously pee your pants. So easy to clean! almost never chops. System blocks paint so it *NEVER* gets into the breach.
Conclusion: GREAT GUN! I recomend it to anyone who has the money, might want to get a new barrel, N2 is required for this gun. Best gun you can ever buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media