paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / CORE ZX Pistol / CORE ZX Pistol / CORE ZX Pistol / CORE ZX Pistol

CORE ZX Pistol Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount CORE

Buy CORE ZX Pistol

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


CORE ZX Pistol
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 51
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The solid and sleek design of the new ZX is marker perfection. Everything you ever wanted in a paintball gun. Its fully enclosed design eliminates the need for a loader and gives you the light and maneuverable heft you crave. Load, aim, and think Matrix and the next John Woo film. Its fly-through-the-air aluminum frame and quick-and easy, removable clips make it a force to be reckoned with.
Product Availability 
The CORE ZX Pistol is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Moden Wednesday, April 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month29 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
n/a
Marker Setup: Core Zx 2003 (x2), Cops 911 tactical Eliminator holster (left leg), Cops 911 tactical 10x 10 round tube holder (right leg), Cops 911 standard belt holster (right side), Armotech Zeus Quick Cap (x2), Armotech Laser Sight (x2), misc 12g and 10 round tube holders on belt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Some 10 round tubes, Cops911 holster(s).
Strengths: Intimidating, accurate, fun.
Weaknesses: Crappy instruction manual. Weak ring on stopper in back of magazine.
Review: THE FACTS:
- This is a semi-automatic pistol, meaning that when you fire a shot off, the gun automatically re-cocks itself.
- Magazine holds 10 balls. You can get an upgrade that allows it to use conventional hoppers.
- One 12g CO2 typically lasts for 10 to 20 shots, depending on how you've got the velocity adjusted (via the knob on the back of the gun). You can get an bottom line upgrade that allows it to use standard compressed air tanks.
- The gun shoots standard size .68 calibur paintballs.
- To reload the gun, you pull a stopper out of the back of the magazine (or switch to a new magazine). You can get an upgrade called a "quick cap" that replaces the stopper and is a bit quicker and easier to use. CO2 is inserted underneath the barrel after the gun is cocked and pushed into place with a screw-on cap.
- The gun looks and feels solid and has everything you would expect on it, including a safety.

These are my first paintball guns, and the only thing that really threw me off was the sad excuse for an instruction manual. The main thing that you need to know that it doesn't say in the "manual" is to cock the gun before inserting CO2. If you do not, the entire CO2 will discharge through the barrel. I also noticed that they were almost a tad front-heavy; I was expecting them to be a bit smaller - oh well, just makes em even cooler looking. You'll also want to find a couple heavy-dutyish keyrings to replace the weak ones that come on the stopper in the back of the magazine - the stock ones bend when you try to pull out the stopper to reload.

Other than that, I'd reccomend picking up some 10 round tubes or even some extra magazines. If you don't, it takes too long to reload. You can usually get 1 1/2 to 2 1/2 magazine's worth of paintballs out of one 12g CO2 cartrige. (Use the knob on the back to adjust this, I've got the ones on mine set about 2 and 1/5 turns out and the guns give me 20+ rounds (two clips) each every time. I say 20+ because it's usually about 21-25 rounds, but I just change the CO2 right away after the second clip unless I've got someone on me.)

Armotech Zeus upgrades work flawlessly with this gun. Get some Cops911 gear to carry everything around in too, you'll be both functional and fasionable. I've had people laugh when I tell them I use pistols as primaries, only to have them practically wet themselves in fear when they see me on the field. (Well, the dude jumped pretty good at least.) I can't express how much fun and badass these things are.
Conclusion: This is a great pistol for a sidearm or otherwise! You can find it on eBay for only $90, and it's worth much more than that.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 9th, 2004 at 3:28 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

NHBSteve Friday, June 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months17 of 35 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've played with many different markers over the years, and almost all of them have some problem at one time or another. So it's improtant that a company have good tech support to help you when you have problems. Both Tippmann and, especially, CCI (the maker of the Phantom) have outstanding support. Just be cautious and check a company's reputation before you do business with them.
Marker Setup: Phantom (C/A, grav. feed), gas-through stock, remote coil, 12 oz CO2. Backup: Tippman M98 custom with an expansion chamber. V-force Morph mask. All exellent equipment!
Recommended
Upgrades:
A different pistol!

And a tactical thigh holster for that different pistol.
Strengths: -balanced well (which doesn't count for much if the gun doesn't work)
Weaknesses: -Gas leaks!
-horrible customer service!
-no propper manual
-a little bulky
-tricky magazine spring
Review: I decided to order a semi-auto pistol last year as a backup to carry on the field with my Phantom. I ordered a Core Zx for about $90 (including shipping) on ebay in October 2003. I recieved the brand new pistol, and right out of the packaging, the gun leaked. (note: the bolt must be cocked to the rear when the co2 is screwed in or all the co2 will rush out also.)
Even with the bolt back, the valve failed to seal all the way, so there was a steady leak of gas. There was an audible hiss and the 12 gram emptied in 20-30 seconds. So from the time you screw in the co2, there was only 20-30 seconds to shoot before there wasn't enough gas to shoot at all.
Of corse, I sent it back and the factory agreed to repair it. The factory had my gun for 3 months before they "repaired" it and sent it back!!!!! And they only returned it after I began calling almost daily. I was given the complete run-around for two months. I was told that the gun had been fixed and sent off three different times when, in fact, it hadn't. I even talked directly to the tech guy who supposedly fixed my gun several times and was told by him that he had personaly fixed and shipped my gun off on two separate occations. Finally when I did get it back, as you've probably guessed, it had the exact same problem.
At this point I no longer had faith in their will or ability to fix the problem so I asked for either a replacement pistol or a refund. They agreed to send a replacement, but needed me to send back my old one. So I paid the shipping cost of $18.00 for a second time and shipped it back. After another month with no sight of my promised replacement, I started calling again, and just as before, I was given the run-around. I was told first that my replacement was on backorder for another month. I called a month later and was told that it would be another month before they would recieve a shipment of pistols with which to replace mine. Finally they said that they recieved the shippment and that my new pistol was in the mail.
To my surprise, when I opened the package (on May 25, 2004!) from the factory, it contained my origonal gun (along with a letter saying that they just replaced the valve again). And, of corse, it still leaks!!!!!

So in the end, I paid roughly $130.00, and waited a total of SIX MONTHS for a pistol that doesn't work!!!!!

If the gun had worked, I would note that the spring that pushes the balls from the magazine to the chamber tends to spring forward from the back position while you're trying to reload, sending paintballs everywhere. It's not as big a problem as, say, the co2 leaking, but it could be a pain to deal with in the middle of action during a game.

There is also a noticable lack of a manual for the pistol. The guys at Paintballonline.com have told me that they will have an exploded parts diagram available soon, but if you believe that, you haven't read my experiences above. This lack of diagram could be dangerous if you don't have experience with pneumatics. It is also a little confusing when they refer to a non-existant diagram in the one-page "instruction" sheet that is the only directions given.

I have heard that the Core Zx is essentially the same gun as the Armotech Zeus, so other options are available if you're serious about buying a paintball pistol.

Conclusion: I would definately NOT recommend buying ANYTHING from "Core Products", aka "Paintballonline.com", aka "Extremes". If you ordered a Core Zx, and it worked, you are lucky, but just pray that you never have any problems with their equipment because, if what I went through is any indication of their idea business ethics, you are probably more likely to win the lottery than recieve any help.

Let me make this very clear: I was shown THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE AND SUPPORT I have EVER seen from ANY company.......EVER!!!



Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

hobo_bob Tuesday, August 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Brute Pump Marker (sniping)- silencer -extended barrel
Grenades
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, just 10 round tubes for reloads
Strengths: Grip - Feel - Looks - Accuracy - Range
Weaknesses: Co2 usage (depending)
Review: I LOVE this gun. This is the first backup gun I ever purchased and it rocks. It's the best backup gun I've ever seen. And it's really accurate, even as far as far as larger markers go. though the Co2 usage can be bad if you don't turn it down like some morons. It can use a little more Co2 than other pistols, but it makes up for it all in it's range and power. At fourty feet it sunk four inches into my archery target.
Conclusion: Awesome gun, my favorite.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

speeedracerr Thursday, April 1st, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested9 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The only other paintball pistol I used is a PGP by Sheridan
Marker Setup: 2003 WGP Autococker:
-Palmers Rock Regulator
-Palmers QEV (Quick Exaust Valve)
-Planet Eclipse Worr Blade Electronic Upgrade
-Worr Blade 3-Way Solenoid
-Shocktech Superfly Venturi Bolt
-WGP Kaner Barrel
-WGP Torpedo Dropforward

1996 WGP Autococker:
-Dye 2003 Wrap Around Grips
-Palmers Rock Regulator
-WGP STO Ram
-ACI 3-Way
-Lapco Dropforward
-10" DYE Stainless Barrel
-Shocktech Superfly Venturi Bolt
-ACI Hammer Kit
-Check-It Low Pressure Chamber

1999 WGP Sniper II
-12" Check It Prophecy Barrel
-Dye Dropforward
-Taso Hourglass Venturi Bolt
-WGP Regulator Cover

CCI PHANTOM VSC:
12" DYE Aluminum Barrel
13" Armson Barrel

Sheridan PGP:
-Cooper-T Delrin Venturi Bolt
-PMI Rubber Grips

Spyder Imagine:
-Java Highrise
-Java Inline Regulator with Dropforward
-12" Dye Stainless Barrel

SORRY A$$ CORE ZX PISTOL:
-BEYOUND HELP
Recommended
Upgrades:
First of all... I do not recommend this pistol to anyone... not even my worst enemy!!! But if you already own this pistol, then I suggest that you add a bottom line setup from anywhere other than (paintball-online.com) which has POOR customer service being an exclusive distributor of these Core... I MEAN POOR markers...
Strengths: Good Paper Weight PERIOD.
Weaknesses: POOR Customer Service
Review: I am an owner of a poor made, poor quality paintball pistol made by CORE which is exclusively distributed by WWW.PAINTBALL-ONLINE.COM which has no customer service what so ever. If you noticed... I stated that I've only tested the product. The reason being is that I cant even get the damn thing to work correctly. Believe me, Im not trying to act like a know-it-all, but I have been in the paintball scene since the early 90s and have alot of experience with markers. I am the airsmith for our tournament team, and I know that there is a product and design flaw on these pistols. After going through $50 worth of CO2 trying to figure out the problem, WE finally had enough and decided to send it out to Paintball-Online a division of Xtreme in Oregon. Believe it or not... I spoke to the Customer Service Manager named Clyde who actually told me that they had no protocols for RMA situations, and they claimed that CORE products have 90days waranty??? WTF? Did these guys actually think that CORE products would not fail at some point or another in Quality Control? In anycase, After having our pistols held hostage in Oregon for over a month, I tried to contact Clyde in regards to the status of my RMA. Sure enough, HIS DAMN answering machine keeps coming up as if he knew it was me trying to call. Also, when I finally contacted Clyde about my markers, he informed me that they were sent to another facility to get worked on which took another week of wait. Clyde transfered me to Jeremy who was the tech working on our markers. After 2 weeks, I called Jeremy and he stated that he apoligized and that he was just barely working on our pistols because he was under the weather. Being the nice person I am, we gave them the benefit of the doubt, but Clyde and Jeremy kept stalling with our waranty. 90days waranty they claimed... Yeah, they'll milk the Waranty down until its over so that they wont have to deal with the customer again.
NOW... For the kicker!!! Jeremy calls me and states that he's already done with our pistols and that he will be sending them on its way. ANOTHER 2 WEEKS later, Jeremy states that he apoligize again and that they hired a new worker that had re-shipped our markers back to the (tech facility) which was at another location. OK... So mistakes happen, and they now play me for a fool... Lucky they're located far away, coz I would have gave them a piece of my mind. NOW... TALK ABOUT THE INCONVENIENCE THEY'VE ALREADY PUT ME THROUGH... They finally sent my marker back to me, except they sent it to an affilitate store from which I purchase these markers except they were located about 60 miles away. WTF??? I live in BP not in Carson!!! Man, talk about getting their Shxt together. I really had a poor experience with CORE (POOR) Junk Products. But for those that already own a CORE product I hope that you've received a good working product as you can tell my frustration with dealing with WWW.PAINTBALL-ONLINE.COM is terrible: OH YEAH!!! WHEN I PICKED UP MY CORE ZX PISTOLS FROM CARSON APPROX. 60 MILES AWAY!!! THEY ACTUALLY SHOT BETTER, NOT I CAN SHOOT 9-10 SHOTS PER CO2 INSTEAD OF 5 SHOTS!!! WOW, THEY REALLY FIXED IT DID'NT THEY!!!
Conclusion: IN CONCLUSION!!! DONT BUY FROM WWW.PAINTBALL-ONLINE.COM AS THEY WILL SCREW YOU OVER!!! I AM VERY DISSAPOINTED WITH THE WAY THEY HANDLE THINGS AND ARE NOT VERY CUSTOMER SEVICE ORIENTED. CORE ZX PISTOLS ARE OF POOR QUALITY AND I GIVE IT A 1 OUT OF 10 DUE TO MY FRUSTRATIONS WITH DEALING WITH THE PEOPLE AT PAINTBALL-ONLINE AND THE DEFECTIVE CORE PRODUCT I'VE PURCHASED. To bad these people could'nt help me with my situation, now I will make it my mission to inform the Paintball Community about my displeasure on how Paintball-Online handled my problems with the CORE. I WILL SPREAD IT TO THE TOURNAMENT CIRCUITS AND PAINTBALL FIELDS IN CALIFORNIA... Please look for coming information regarding my dissapointments dealing with paintball-online.com as I am in the process of searching and gathering finance to create a website to bring about awareness on the poor experience I've received with CORE and its Exclusive Distributorship: www.paintball-online.com
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

COPS Saturday, March 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I Have Also owned PT Extreme, and Armotech Zeus
Marker Setup: 2003 Core Zx, I added a Flaslight, for Low Light Conditions, which is really Nice
Also Use a COPS911 Holster, two reasons for that, I am the Owner of COPS911, and its the Best Holster on the Market
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flashlight and or Laser Sight
Caster Troy Holster
Strengths: Very Accurate, Durable Pistol, Good Balance, Reliable, about 15-20 Shots per Co2
Weaknesses: There is Nothing Negative I can say about this Pistol, maybe Better Instruction Manuel
Review: Very Accurate, Durable Pistol, Good Balance, Reliable, about 15-20 Shots per Co2, it get alot of Attention, Very Intimidating, Reliable Pistol, Shoots HOT right out of the Box, but Turn it down and your Ready to Go, Alot of People Cut the Spring, but I was able to Turn it down to 255

But this Pistol, and Your will be Set, in case your Primary goes down
Conclusion: Buy this Pistol, Its a Great Primary in a Stock Class type game, and a Super Back-up in a Scenario Game
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 29th, 2003 at 3:24 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Cdave Tuesday, March 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
12 gram CO2 cartridges
Marker Setup: Pro-Shot 4000 Lazer Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extra 10 ball clip
Holster
Strengths: -The Core zx had great accuracy and is extremely powerful
-Very maneuverable in dense woods or in tight places
-Extremely reliable (so far)
-12 grams give full power until they run out of gas
-Looks good
Weaknesses: -10 shot clip capasity
-12 grams only give about 25 shots
Conclusion: A great side arm possibly best made so far. Maneuverable. A gun certainly worth buying. Buy it!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Simmons Sunday, January 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other pistols used.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro-Lite
>>Custom Stock
>>ADCO Square Shooter II
>>Some Other Tid Bits

Core Zx Pistols (2)
>>Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
A holster and some 10-round tubes.
Strengths: Accurate
Reliable
Durable
Easy to Use
Weaknesses: CO2 System (See below)
Poor Manual
Review: The Core Zx pistol (same as the origional Zeus) is a great marker. It feels good to hold, is very accurate, and is reliable. You could use it as a primary for its accuracy, but 10 shots to reload the mag and 25 for the 12 Gram CO2 limits its ass-kicking capabilities.

When I first got my Zx, I loaded it up quite easily and took it into the backyard to squeeze off a few into the side of the clubhouse at maybe 60 or 70 feet and was pleasantly surprised. The ball goes exactly where you want it to and at max velocity, the Zx reaches a little over 300 FPS (so turn it down a bit).

It is quite easy to strip down and clean when it does chop a ball, which isn't often because it feeds very well. It has never leaked on me.


Now to the CO2 "problem": To load a 12 gram, you have to unscrew a large cap at the front, cock the bolt, put the cartridge in, and screw the whole thing in for a satisfying "PFFFT" sound. The process takes a minute even after you get used to it and occationally I've forgotten to cock the bolt, resulting in a wasted 12 gram. Another problem with the gas system is that you have to know what brand of cartridge to use. Some have slightly thicker caps than others and I found that after using a good number of Copperhead cartridges that the needle dulled and would not penetrate and (before realizing this problem) the screw on cap that holds the 12 gram in stripped.

No big deal. The markers come with an extra needle (though it can be tricky to replace) and a new cap is about 5 bucks, but still a hastle. I now use Brass Eagle or Crosman cartridges and they work fine.
Conclusion: Definately the sidearm to get. It's not really easy to find anymore but Ebay and google turn up a few. And if you can't find one, the newer pistols from Ariakon and Armotech I'm sure will be as good if not better.

Oh, and make sure to get black. There's nothing worse than your stealth and intimitation factor being ruined by pulling out a bright blue pistol. I know. One of mine is.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zoomie Saturday, July 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I've only used rental guns in the past. I'm new to the sport and this pistol is my first gun (and second gun. I couldn't resist and bought a second one before the first one even arrived in the mail.)
Marker Setup: Being my first gun, it's stock with no upgrades. I'm using these guys as primaries so you're gunna cover me on the field right?
Recommended
Upgrades:
I can't say for sure just yet, but I feel an air adapter attached to a 9oz co2 tank would relieve a bit of the hastle with changing air. Since it's a pistol, I only plan to do this with one of them (I got excited about bought 2 core zx's).
Strengths: Fires accurately..as long as it's clean.
Hard punch in the shots.
Weaknesses: Weight of the gun for youngsters with small hands.
Difficult attaching magazine
Review: WHY I DECIDED ON THE CORE ZX VS THE OTHER PISTOLS:
It was available and it was cheap. I got a great used deal on these guns from ebay. $101 included two holsters, 9 co2 cartridges, an extra magazine and a laser. The other one cost me $115 with a holster and extra magazine. I read all the reviews on all the guns before buying this one....literally I read over 100 reviews on this website and others. Since the Core ZX and Zeus are very similar and parts can supposedly be interchanged, I figure I couldn't go wrong with a gun that has many owners who are already talking about it and have resolved different problems. Basically, this gun has a crew to help eachother out.

If I were to get another pistol though, I'd pick the Warsensor Zeus G2. The G1 is pretty much the same as the Core ZX.

PERFORMANCE:
We test fired it on the field before the game and it has more accuracy that I can ever expect from a marker....any marker. My two friends who doubted its performance before trying it out on the field were in awe. They basically had zero respect for the gun going into the game, but that changed in just under 1 second after firing a couple rounds. This gun shoots straight at even 183 fps. I didn't measure the distance, but it hits its 3-4 inch wide target at a good 50-75 feet. I think it'll out perform a regular rental marker in distance too. I'll have to try that next time. WARNING: I'm getting raided by the other team. I watch two of my teamates get shot out. I'm alone behind a bunker and I know there's guys up close. A paintball deflects off my back shoulder. Where did it come from?.....behind the same bunker! Some guy was sharing a bunker with me! My shoot my gun and it's out of co2! The gun does not lose distance slowly. It shoots perfectly one second and when your'e out of air, it's gone in the next shot. I reach over for my second Core ZX pocketed in my holster and by the time I pull it out, I see the barrel of my opponent peaking behind the bunker. I just over the short bunker and blast him from on the side with victory. No that was just my dream. After I saw the barrel, I freaked out and surrendered. In hind sight, I should have just retreated a bit to get a better view and then shot my gun. I chickened out because this was the first time I ever lost air....ever.

COOL FACTOR:
I'm walking away and I hear someone say to their friend while looking at my pistol, "Is that a paintball gun?" The friend says to his buddy, "Yeah, and it hurts." I guess people know the pistol shoots a pretty hard punch. It's also intimidating because it looks like a real gun. Imagine getting a pistol pointed at you versus a toy paintball marker. I had no less than 7 people talk about how cool the gun was. 3 or 4 people approached me and asked me how it was. Most have never seen a paintball pistol before.

SETUP:
This gun does come out hot. It shot at 323 fps at the most on the lowest setting. I think something was wrong with the machine because the second continuous shot was at 193. This is AFTER the entire velocity controler was removed entirely. This creates for the lowest setting. No springs were cut.

WHAT'S GOOD ABOUT THIS GUN?
The color is pretty awesome. Both my Core ZX's are black and silver. The look of it is great too. In my opinion as a building designer (architect in training), it's proportioned well (except handle seems a bit on the small side), the placement of the grooves, and shape all come together quite nicely. The gun seemed big at first, but not that big after holding it for awhile.

WHAT'S BAD ABOUT THIS GUN?
I won't talk about reloading after only 10 shots and changing co2 cartridges as a weakness b/c all pistol owners know this getting into it. All pistols have the same characteristics in terms of reloading stuff. I've been having the hardest time finding the CORE website! Please let me know if you find it. The grip feels a bit soft and the size of the handle is a bit small. For the weight of this gun, a larger grip would help balance it out much better. I feel like I'm using a straw to hold a full 1 liter coke bottle. I hear changing the magazines on the Overlord is much easier. Young kids with small hands might have trouble changing the magazine. It takes a bit of getting used to. It's true that the keychain ring that's used to remove the plug that holds the paintballs in is weak. I'm definitely getting a Quick Cap for these when time comes. If you lose your plug, you're screwed. Be very careful when changing the magazine. One slip and you'll mess up your skin. I was showing my friend how to change the mag before wearing gloves and it slipped and bamb, my skin tore open. Wear gloves!

WHY I DECIDED ON A PISTOL AT ALL:
I thought a paintball pistol would be cool and I didn't even know they existed. I looked it up online and there it was. Everyone said it would be inaccurate and reloading is a hastle. Both may be true, but with all the upgrade parts for it, I figure I can convert it into a traditional marker if I wanted to. It's like having 2 guns in one!

UPDATE: I decided not to do that. The pistols are already accurate. I'm just going to continue running around with double pistols as long as you guys on the field can back me up while we're under fire. I don't shoot a lot. After renting markers at paintball fields 3 times, I found myself using an average of about 75 paintballs each game. I carry two loaded 10 shot pistols, each with an extra magazine and four 10 round tubes. That's 80 paintballs per game which is plenty for my particular shooting style.

ADVANTAGES OF USING A PISTOL:
- You can run and slide faster....much faster. This means you can advance towards your opponents much more quickly than your teammates. Don't leave 'em behind b/c you'll need them for backup.
- You can shoot in two directions at once.
- Easier to hide behind trees when you don't have a 9 oz CO2 tank and big hopper to lug around.
- Intimidating?
- Easy maintenance.
- You have an excuse for being the first one out of the game.

DISADVANTAGES OF USING A PISTOL:
- You got 10 rounds to make things happen before you gotta reload. (A pistol will teach you to conserve paintballs and save you some money at the same time. You'll learn to shoot only when you think you can hit someone).
- You can't shoot ropes. You won't be scaring anyone to hide behind a bunker with slow shots. It's fairly quiet and you can't be shooting 13 rounds per second like your buddy with the Ion.
- You need backup...plenty of backup.

PRIMARY OR BACKUP?
Primary all the way! The article about the tomb raider looking chick got me hooked. Not that I want to be Laura Croft, but I figured it'd be kinda cool to have a couple pistols on a paintball field. Wish me luck out there! And if you see me, I could definitely use your help on the field.

RECOMMENDATIONS FOR USING A PISTOL:
- Use the advantages you have and advance as quickly as possible. Your range with a pistol isn't great, so you're useless as a back player. If you get shot, you'll at least die trying. Moving up quickly also gives you more information you can supply to your teammates.
- At the end of the game, empty out your CO2 either by simply removing it, or shooting off your remaining rounds .There's nothing like using a fresh cartridge at the beginning of the next game feeling confident that you have shots and that you won't be left hanging with a marker out of air during the most crucial moments. Don't pay more than 50 cents per co2 cartridge. 2 sellers on ebay are selling them at 50 cents each at the time of this review. Buy them in packs of 40 or 50. Also look at anythingextreme.com

WHY A RATING OF 9?
I figure this is the only pistol I've ever owned or tried, so I can't say for sure that it's the best. The mechanism for attaching/detaching the magazine could definitely be improved. The gun grip is a bit on the small side. Accuracy is very good.
Conclusion: Be aware that accuracy has much to do with the size of paintball you use in relationship to the barrel size. As far as I know, the Core ZX is a .689 barrel size. Paintballs come in .684 and others. The accuracy is amazing. It's basically point and shoot. I couldn't ask for more. I don't know what everyone is talking about when they say the accuracy sucks. It's perfect in my book.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 24th, 2006 at 12:02 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Raiders32 Thursday, May 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
First Pistol
Marker Setup: WGP Prostock '05
Empire Barrel Kit
Pure Energy 3000 psi 48ci
Revvy 12v

Tippmann A-5
Response Trigger
Double Trigger
Empire 4 piece barrel kit

Core Zx
Core Holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
Holster???
Not to familiar with what upgrades are available.
Strengths: Price- $100 or less
Looks Great
Gas Efficent- 20-23 shots @ 260 fps
Weaknesses: Owner's Manual is a J...O...K...E

Review: Been getting into Scenario ball alot recently and figured I would spoil myself and get a pistol as a side arm. First off, I cut 4 rings off the spring. Once I did that I was able to Chrono at 259, 260, 262...and so on. At this setting I got EXACTLY 23 shots (3 of which were just dry fires). Please remember you have a 12g catridge for goodness sake, not a 9oz-20oz Co2 tank. I can purchase cartridges for .60 at the local shop. Not to bad to keep going.

Marker is, of course, a bit bulky, but it is the world of paintball we live in today and this is what we get. It gives the marker a "futuristic" look. Due to most paintball pistol's sizes these days, they are a bit bulky strapped to your leg in their holster, just takes a little getting use to. Hostlering it as a sidearm is definately not something my son would be able to use when he is old enough to play.

Concerning size for those interested. My Core Zx is roughly the same length as my A-5 without a barrel!!!! I know it seems hard to believe, but that is the truth. I am comparing them side by side as I write this.

NOTE- Once you place the Co2 cartridge in the breech, cock the pistol, screw your lid a couple twists, then go FAST to pierce the cartridge, this will help prevent any slight leakage...which could be the difference in getting 12 shots or 23!

I found the marker to be as accurate as I expected. It is a pistol, which generally takes alot more practice then a rifle, to get accurate with. And to top it off, your shooting .68 caliber ROUND paintballs, which isn't any help either. As it stands, I was able to get decent accuracy from about 25 yards away (75 feet). I feel this may increase with practice possibly another 5-10 yards.

I read a few negative reviews concerning the paint. Rather then ignore these possible warnings, I simply gave the pistol a coat of Dull Coat finish to help seal and protect the paint. You can purchase Dull Coat finish at most any hobby shop. A cheap prevenative step.

I can't stress enough that the owner's manual is a joke. Do some research around the reviews and you will learn alot more about your new pistol then the owner's manual will ever tell you.
Conclusion: If your looking for a pistol and understand the ups and downs of the pistol genre, then this is a good pistol, from my experience. Pistols do have a place in paintball, thought I feel it is exlusively in Scenarioball and Woodsball. Not to say you couldn't use one it speedball, in fact, I would think it would be a blast, just not that competitive :)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 5th, 2006 at 2:17 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

AR55 MtM Sunday, February 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pt xtreme
and shot a friends pgp once
Marker Setup: Core Zx 2003-Silver
Ronin Gear Tatical Harness
with xtra clip
or
Core Zx 2003
with 2 Ronin Gear Wrist holder
5 12 grams and 5 tubes
Recommended
Upgrades:
probably some xtra clips or 10rd tubes or get some wrist holders
but these aren't really upgrades
Strengths: Grips
Looks
Weaknesses: Gas Efficiency
Upgrades
Heavy/Bulky
Review: Its a pistol and pistol are not worth having, unless you are a serious mil-slim player or even on a scenario team, but even then its too a certain degree.

Its a pistol so not much of the same principle would apply if you had an actual paintball gun.

Accuracy is a little hard getting use to, considering that you have a short barrel (not even that). You will find your paint swirling in all kinds of directions.

Range is just as good as any other gun, as long as your velocity is set right.

When you are shooting the gun it doesn't have a flat trajectory as other guns would. This is whats going to affect your accuracy.

Its a little on the heavy side, but the durability will make up for it.

You would expect having a lot more efficiency since there is hardly any barrel for the paintballs to come out of right? Since the smaller the barrel you have the less force needed right? Wrong. I don't understand this thing, maybe its the design of the cup seal or something but it doesn't not do a good job at getting 20+ shots from a 12 gram.

Its a pistol so there are no upgrades BUYING on it whats so ever.
Conclusion: Its a pistol, that in mind you should buy an actual marker with a $120. Pistols are not worth getting and they will never be worth getting. But comparing it to other pistols its prettier & more durable so it gets a 7 out of 10
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 2nd, 2004 at 1:43 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media