paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Lapco Eight Inch Bigshot / Lapco Eight Inch Bigshot / Lapco Eight Inch Bigshot

Lapco Eight Inch Bigshot Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Lapco

Buy Lapco Eight Inch Bigshot

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Lapco Eight Inch Bigshot
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $65

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Lapco Eight Inch Bigshot is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
ebegoli Wednesday, September 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Dye excel
Stock for Tippmann 98 and A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Lapco BigShot 8"
BSA Red Dot 30 3/8
Recommended
Paintballs:
Medium bore
Strengths: Size-accuracy ratio
Aesthatical match for A-5
weight (light)
quality of finish
Weaknesses: My version of the barrel is glossy, I would prefer bead blasted
Review: Fantastic choice if you are looking for a good balance of accuracy, and maneuverability.
I've heard some people claiming that it is very loud. I compared it with stock for A-5, custom and Dye Excel for 98 cust. - It is somehow louder, but not at the point where it would get you in trouble (unmask your position,...) Paintball is a close proximity game, so loudness of the source of fire is not as much of an issue as it is in a real combat (trust me).

On the other hand - it is very accurate. I was zeroing my BSA red dot with this barrel and let me tell you what could I do with it coupled with BSA:

I used Draxxus Inferno and Dusk (yes, Dusk. I can not practice wtih $70 pballs).

At 50 ft I can hit the 12 ounce plastic bottle from the first shot.

At ~80 ft. I can hit the same bottle 80-90% of the time. I can definitely hit the helmet.

At ~105 ft. I can hit the helmet 50% of the time. Using red dot with some manual elevation compensation I could hit the water pipe (6") at some 110-120" once out of two or three trials. This is as far I went during my target practice.

I also practiced with mechanical sights and results were very encouraging. I did not measure exact distances, but at some 80-100 ft I could hit the 10-20" tree trunk 70%+ of the time.
Conclusion: If you like Tippmann A-5 or 98 custom. if you like to play fast, move, crawl and attack and still be accurate at 30-90 ft distances then you need this product. I can not think of anything better.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 17th, 2003 at 6:30 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

paintball fre@k Sunday, June 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5 stock barrel, 14 inch bigshot
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
8 inch lapco bigshot
E-Grip
20 oz. CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
medium bore paintballs
Strengths: short
maneuveravble
accurate
looks cool
loud (if you like loud)
cheap
Weaknesses: none.unless you don't like loud barrels
Review: longer isn't always better and this barrel proves that statement. this barrel is just as accurate the 14 inch at close to medium ranges. at longer ranges the 14 inch is a little bit more accurate. the price is great also. in my opinion this is the best looking barrel for the A5. with the A5, stock, fake suppressor, and fake mag it looks almost like an MP5.
Conclusion: buy this barrel. you won't regret it. don't let the size keep you fom buying it. i hope my review helps you in your decision.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 11th, 2004 at 12:14 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hr34 Monday, March 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
various barrels
Marker Setup: 2k2 intimidator
empire 10-piece barrel kit
halo-b loader
crossfire hpa tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
medium bore barrels
Strengths: short
accurate
looks sharp
Weaknesses: people say it's loud, I honestly don't think it's that bad
Review: It's short and sweet. Slap this on your A5 and you have a tasty looking marker with awesome accuracy.
Since it's so short, your turning radius is much better then the average 12 incher. In fact, it's shorter then the stock barrel.
Don't let the size fool you though, it's accuracy is as good as it's longer bretheren. So get this with a big smile.
Conclusion: If you must get a medium bore barrel, get this. You won't be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Rouge Saturday, August 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock
Jt 2Piece
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
8" Lapco Big Shot Barrel
Pro Team Intruder Foregrip
3000psi 72cu compressed air tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
I personally don't think it really matters
Strengths: -Light
-Short
-Still acurate
-Bead blasted
-looks
Weaknesses: -Not as accurate as expected
Review: For the length of this barrel its pretty accurate way more accurate than the A-5's stock barrel. I play speedball and play a front man and this barrel is perfect for my position. nice and short and can stay behind bunkers and maneuverability is no exception. The is bead blasted which is nice for when i do end up playing scenario games. This barrel just looks killer on the Tippmann A-5. The barrel is not as accurate as expected, but is nice enough for me playing up front in speed ball. I've gotten plenty of compliments on this barrel people were actually surprised by the distance i could get with this short barrel.
Conclusion: This is an excellent barrel for its length and recommende for small front players. A must for my barrel bag. And worth the money if you ask me.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 16th, 2004 at 5:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

A5Dawg Monday, December 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5 Flatline
14" All American
Marker Setup: A5 with E-Grip
HPA, Drop Forward
JCS RVA and Maddman spring kit
JCS Double Trigger
Strengths: Accuracy
Length
Look on Gun
Weaknesses: None found
Review: I have had the Flatline and All American 14". Flatline is awesome for woods ball or any wide open field. Flatline sucks for any small fields where you might have to turn your gun sideways to shoot, such as around a bunker. Al American is pretty good, as long as you keep the thing super clean.

Just ordered the Bigshot 8" and I must say this barrel is awesome!!! I was looking for a good short barrel to play speedball with and this was the shortest I could find that was getting good reviews. The accuracy of this barrel just blew me away!! And it actually did great in the woods too. I just recently switched to HPA and could only get my A-5 to shoot in the 280fps range. With the 8" Bigshot, I was nailing 300fps consistently.

With the 8" Bigshot and after removing my front grip, I transformed my A5 into a mean looking automatic pistol!!
Conclusion: Highly recommend this barrel for all fields.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

trains are bad Tuesday, February 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock, J&J ceramic
Marker Setup: Shaved top cocking 98c
Low pressure mods
Palmer's Stabilizer
Lapco 8" Bigshot.
Revvy
Recommended
Paintballs:
Doesn't matter as long as it goes through.
Strengths: Size, accuracy
Weaknesses: Not barrel pluggable
Review: SIZE! I have no idea why everyone like long barrels nowadays. The 98c is a long marker so this is perfect for it. It's actually a tad shorter than the stock barrel. If you shoot a mag or something it would be really really short feeling-I think I'd run a 10 or 12 on a mag. This barrel is very accurate. VERY. I love it. It is quite loud though.

The end is drilled out oversize so the paintballs don't touch the bore after the porting. So you can't use a regular barrel plug with it. Not a big deal since most places require covers anyway.
Conclusion: Can't reccomend it more, best 98c barrel, unless you like long barrels. The only other short barrels I could find was the blackpoint barrels.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Neo_Enhander Tuesday, November 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just other barrels
BT APEX
J&J Ceramics(12'-16')
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Lapco 8 Inch BigShot
SpecOps MP5 Mag Kit
SpecOps MP5 SD Full Shroud
OPSGEAR AK Folding Stock
Red Hot Power Tube
APE E-Grip
TechT Vortex
QEV
---------------------------------------
Tippmann 98 Custom
OPSGEAR 18 inch Interceptor Barrel
OPSGEAR Barret Muzzle Break
OPSGEAR Raider Shroud
OPSGEAR Gas Thru Raider Mag
FX 6 Point Stock
----------------------------------
Tippmann 98C Modded to WWII Thompson Sub Machine Gun
Recommended
Paintballs:
Medium Bore
Strengths: VERY ACCURATE
Small for compact places
Price
Weaknesses: Loud(if that bothers you)
Review: Well, just got my new 8in Bigshot. I LOVE IT.
I was very skeptical when I first bought it. I kept thinking how crappy the stock barrel is and how short it is...etc. I was not dissapointed when I put this barrel on my A5. I was shooting less than a 3 inch spread from about 70-75 feet. Even closer at 30-50 feet.
Paint I was using: RPS Stinger (checked, good paint/barrel match)
Velocity: 275ish
Gas: Pure Energy 72/3000 Tank
Temp: 35 Degrees
I had to keep in prespective that I wasnt shooting my Apex. Ive used the Apex for about 2 years, only reason I swichted is because I got the SO MP5 SD Long shroud.
I am, by no stretch of the imagination, upset or dissappointed by this barrel.
Look for a Accuracy vid on http://fearpaintball.net soon!!!!
Conclusion: Dont let the length full you, this barrel rocks!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mills-pb Tuesday, December 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
12" Lapco Big Shot, Stock Tippmann 98 custom barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Reactive Trigger, Lapco Big Shot 8" Barrel, NW 8" Drop Forward with on/off, Revolution 12 v Electronic Hopper w / x-board, 12 oz CO2 tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything - Lapco Big Shot Barrels are not too picky
Strengths: Short, Accurate, Quality Built
Weaknesses: Kind of Loud
Review: After reading the other reviews on this barrel, I decided to get one for myself. I was skeptical at first because of its short length but when I actually got the barrel on my gun, I was very impressed. The 8" barrel is shockingly accurate. I tested it against my 12" Big Shot and it is as accurate from close to medium distance. I don't play on a very large field so I don't need the extra distance that a longer barrel would provide. This barrel looks great on my marker, the finish matches pretty well. If you want a barrel that is not too long, get this barrel. You won't be dissapointed.
Conclusion: Excellent product. Get this barrel if you don't want a barrel that is really long. It is very accurate and looks great. What more can you ask for?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

adot14 Friday, November 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline barrel
Marker Setup: 98 custom
Pro-Team Products Intruder Expansion System
Lapco bigshot 8 inch
BSA red-dot sight

Recommended
Paintballs:
Medium bore
Strengths: Short, accurate, nice bead-blasted finish, makes the marker more compact, and well built
Weaknesses: Loud (if that matters to you)
not as accurate as longer barrels at longer distances.
Review: Before I got this barrel I was playing with the Flatline barrel system, which was fine but it was not my style. I wanted a shorter barrel so I bought myself the Lapco Bigshot and it is great, especially in urban set games and anytime you need to play tight. I like to be in the front lines and move around a lot so a compact set-up for my marker is a must have. The barrel is very consistent and shoots at the same place every time. Anything within 100 feet will be a sure hit with this barrel. In one game I dove into a bunker and ran the barrel into a pile of dirt and it got all in the barrel, but I just shot off a few rounds and I was back in action. Moreover, the barrel was fine! there were no scratches or anything and I really hit the barrel hard. It is a good barrel.
Conclusion: Get this barrel if you don't mind one that is a little louder. It is accurate and very well built. The bead-blasted finish is really nice. If you want a compact set-up and you are looking to move around a lot, this is the barrel for you. Hope this helped.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 30th, 2007 at 3:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The American Sunday, March 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
16in Thunder Pig-haha!
Marker Setup: A-5 with egrip, double trigger, lapco 8in bead blasted barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Medium bore size balls work fine!
Strengths: Makes gun Compact
Looks cool
Price
accurate
What more could you want?
Weaknesses: Loud-does it really matter?
Review: This is a really good barrel, I have mine Bead blasted which takes away the shinny look which matches the A-5 pretty good, but costs about $5 extra. Great for the Price, especially if you are just looking for a decent upgrade for playing around with friends in woodsball/speedball. I really don't understand why people give it a lower rating just because of the loudness, once you shoot no matter how quiet people are gonna spot you out. I prefer the 7.5in (same as 8in) over the 12in because I like to stay more compact, some people like the 12in though because they say it helps them aim better, so its up to you, but it doesn't really matter.
Conclusion: Great barrel, something every player should have! Come on just buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media