paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Barrel Sock / Dye Barrel Sock / Dye Barrel Sock / Dye Barrel Sock

Dye Barrel Sock Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Barrel Sock

Paintball Barrel Plugs and Condoms

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Barrel Sock
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 48
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $10

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Quickly replacing traditional barrel plugs, the soft barrel sock is fashionable and fits into your pocket comfortably. The unique elastic tip design catches misfired balls without breaking them. Red, yellow, blue, gray.
Product Availability 
The Dye Barrel Sock is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
paintballerx123 Monday, December 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
any thing that comes with a gun or my friends have. If you used one you have used them all.........until you use this one.
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom
J&J Ceramic Barrel
Strengths: Stops paintballs without braking (tested)
Colors
Fits over any barrel size
Safe
Weaknesses: Mone at my local store all there barrel socks are close in price.
Review: Well i bought this barrel sock when my local field stoped allowing plugs and my other one didn't fit over my barrel. This barrel sock is nicely packaged and comes with a nice set of instructions. The sock is made out of nice durable material. At first the strap seems that is wont hold up against a paintball shoot but don't worry it does, my friend has put more than enough rounds threw his. Now for where this product really stands out from the rest is that it stops paintballs without braking. When I first got this sock that was the first thing I had to check out. Whats even better is that the paintball is still good to use!
Conclusion: If you need a barrel sock like I did and don't want to be cleaning it out all the time get this one. I am giving this product a ten because I believe that this is the best barrel sock out there right now.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 19th, 2005 at 1:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

X2O Monday, April 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Neoprene Barrel sock
Vinyl Barrel sock
Barrel plug
Marker Setup: Tippman 98C with:
- 16 in CP barrel or 12 in 32 degree night stick barrel
- BT fixed sight rail
- 3-9x 32 Powerline scope
- BT sealed bolt system
- 4 position CAR stock
- Barrel mounted folding Bi-pod
- cyclone feed system
- EGD feed neck offset
- Remote line setup
- Starfire bolt
- Three point sling
Strengths: -Looks
Weaknesses: -A pain to clean
-Ball "catcher"
-Price
-Elastic draw strings
Review: The Dye Barrel sock is pretty nice and looks, and how its supposed to "function". I recently tried an expirement with this barrel sock and a supposedly accidental "misfire". first time i fired, i noticed that yellow started to ooze from the front end of the barrel sock , notifying me that the ball indeed broke, when i pulled out the barrel, i noticed that it was still clean, which is a plus. i did another test later to see if it would catch any of the balls. none catched. next came cleaning. this was a pain!! unlike the other rectangular barrel socks which you can easily reverse to clean, this one you cannot. its even hard to remove the ball shell fragments from the little pocket at the tip, since the sock was really narrow. the only way known so far to wash it is through the washing machine... but i don't know if the ball fragments are removed. Overall, when you use this.. make sure that its securely tightened because since the elastic is kinda thin, if its not tightley placed, it can fly off of the barrel
Conclusion: Looks nice and if an accedental "misfire" occurs, it will keep your barrel clean, but if it should happen to fire... make sure that you have enough time to clean it.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vulcan Saturday, April 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: -Diablo Mongose LCD
-Stock Barrel (quiet riot)
-Ricochet G2K (smoke)
-20oz CO2 with on/off
Strengths: - Looks Awesome
- Adjustable
- Won't be blasted out
Weaknesses: - Price
Review: Not only does this look very awesome, but it won't fly off the end if multiple balls are fired. The instruction sheet claims it can prevent the balls from breaking, but the ball did break when I tested it. It also comes with a very nice DYE sicker as well. I cut the sticker in half and put the text part on my hopper and the logo on the bottom of my tank.
Conclusion: It's sort of expensive , but I think its worth it because it looks so cool.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VxBlackhawkxV Sunday, February 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No-Name Proshop Barrel Condoms, Barrel Plugs, etc.
Marker Setup: 2k3 Black WGP Cocker
Dye Ultralight 14"
Dye Sticky 3's-Black
Kapp Cocking Rod-Chrome
Flame Drop-Black
On-Off Asa
Shocktech Super Fly Bolt
Y Board Egg-Black
68/4500 Crossfire Tank
Strengths: Durable, Adjustable, and Cool lookin
Weaknesses: I found that my strap frayed.
Review: This is definately the best barrel condom I have ever used. It is very durable, adjustable to your wanted length, not to mention it is the coolest one ever. Just be careful of the strap even though that may have only been mine. I'll probably just go buy another one. Mine isn't breaking or ne thing its just kinda annoying. I love this, I probably would never use another barrel condom except if i lose it but thats why u have a backup. heh.
Conclusion: I reccomend this to anyone it is definately another one of dye's hit products. Buy it. Its only 10 bux.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

goldeagle Sunday, January 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2004 Empire Barrel Condom
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro E
Tippmann 98 Cyclone Feed Hopper
20 oz. CO2 Tank with PMI on/off valve
Strengths: Looks
Stops ball breaks
Weaknesses: Hard to get on until you wear it in
Review: When I first tried to get this sleeve on, it wouldn't go on. I thought, "oh great, this will be a joy". But it turned out to be great. It actually caught a ball I had accidentally fired and the ball didn't break. The only problem is that it's hard to get on until you wear it in. Just put it in an open position for a few days, and you're good to go!
Conclusion: Buy it, you'll be glad you did.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cockercane Friday, February 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Redz, JT, Angel (that came with my marker)
Marker Setup: Angel Force Fly
CIP Unimount
Crossfire 70ci peanut low output
Halo B w/ rip & Z-code

'02 STO Autococker
WGP hinge frame
ANS pneumatics w/ QEV's
Shocktech Bomb 3-way
Shocktech SupaFly
ANS GX-II Reg w/ 15* ASA
System X Drop
Crossfire 68ci 3000psi (800 psi preset) HPA tank
Strengths: Looks
Strap
Clasp
Weaknesses: Weak material
Poor strap stitching
Difficult to clean
Review: The Dye barrel sock is very sleek and nice looking. It is over-sized and easy to slip on and off the barrel even with your arms full and gloves on. Its strap is strong with a great sliding clasp which adjusts the strap to a length that is convenient. I am impressed with the fact that the clasp holds strong without moving out of adjustment, which even ads to the safety and functionality of this product. The fabric that this sock is constructed from was unable to withstand an accidental shot without a small hole developing that will most likely grow larger each time a shot is fired into it. This is a result of there being no reinforcement at the end of the sock where the paintball impacts. Looks can deceive... there is stitching that prevents the barrel tip from resting at the strong reinforced section. This barrel sock; unlike its neoprene counterparts, cannot be turned inside-out to clean which makes it a little less convenient. The stitching that holds the strap to the sock is poorly done, I won't be surprised when the strap comes flying off when I sinch it down.
Conclusion: The bottom line is that a barrel sock is simple and has a simple function to complete. I would recommend any of the brands mentioned in my "similar products" before the DYE barrel sock for higher quality & convenience without compromise to functionality. Due to the fact that this product is intended to catch inadvertently fired paintballs... and was unable to do so without ripping, I give a 4/10. (4= less than average)

Recommend this product to your opponents and watch them burn in agony!
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

baller1280 Thursday, January 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
barrel plugs
Marker Setup: impulse w/ freak back all-american front, 32* drop-foward, smart parts 68/4500 with inline max-flo regulator, Velocity Jr. w/ ganstar chip
Strengths: Looks nice
Weaknesses: Doesnt catch balls
Review: My team won a tourney and these were part of the grand prize so i cant tell you what a good price on them are
When i got it and saw it claimed to catch balls instead of breaking them i had to test it. so i shot a ball into it 10 times and each time the ball broke so it didnt do what it said but no paint got into my barrel which was nice its also a pita to clean
I havent had any problems with it shooting off the gun like others had said and it hasnt shown much wear
Conclusion: It looks good on your gun and it keeps you from shooting your friends but it doesnt do what it claims to do so im going to give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Invisty Thursday, April 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Noname barrel plugs.
Tippy socks.
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine,
Viewloader Evolution II,
Smart Parts Linear 16" Barrel,
V-Force Vantage Pro Mask,
AIM pyro regulator,
Delrin ACS Bolt,
Maddog Designz Spring Kit,
50g switch mod,
Strengths: Unique "paint catcher" design.
Adjustable.
Durable.
Weaknesses: Paint catching feature isnt flawless.
Review: Well its a good all round barrel sock, is highly reliable and well built. The unique feature of it is that it has an elastic tipped end which is designed to catch paint in the event of a mis-fire. This is rather unreliable in its working, it seems to catch the paint only half the time. Of course if you happen to have a very sensitive trigger, 2 shots is going to cause 2 breaks. In all cases no paint ended up in or on the barrel, which is definitely a good thing. The adjustable strap means you can wrap the elastic cord around nearly any part of your marker, which is a bonus compared to inferior unadjustable straps.
Conclusion: Since it dosnt do (reliably) what its stated to do (with regards to the paint catching), it isnt perfect. One could consider the catching technology more of a bonus, since other barrel socks do not have this feature. For a barrel sock however, its definitely a good purchase.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ego_Trip Friday, January 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
NXe barrel sock, spyder barrel plug,
Marker Setup: I Use a Gun metal Grey 06 Ego hybrid grips (Grey), eclipse shaft two peice barrel (gun metal Grey back silver dust tip) silver dust CCU kit, Halo B w/rip & angry board, dye throttle 68 cui 4500 psi air system, Dye Rhino Bottle cover.
Strengths: Looks cool
made by Dye?
Weaknesses: Lousy construction
price
Review: Ok i bought this barrel plug because i had no choice. i was at a local field and lost mine (actually i think it was stolen!) and the refs flipped out so i ran to the pro shop next door and the only one they had was this one. first of all wow i payed about $ 13.00 dollars for it. come on overpriced is a under statement. well then i used it it scratched the tip of my barrel. next i misfired and the thing flew like 4 feet . it was full of paint well at least it caught the ball but in the process it itself became a projectile. and a month later i used this for a science fair project we tested how many paintballs the barrel plug could withstand before it was ineffective in stopping them, so we unloaded about 30 paintballs and the elastic snapped. well sucks. but i guess if you don't shoot like 30 balls you are ok.
Conclusion: All in all it is an ok barrel sock but a little over priced im kinda neutral so im giving it a 6
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Phathed Friday, April 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Uped Smart Parts Ion
Halo B
Redz Envy pack
Strengths: See review.
Weaknesses: See review.
Review: Well, its a barrel cover, i mean they all do the job well, it keeps you from shooting someones eye out while in the staging area. it looks really cool, it comes with a wicked awesome sticker. You can put it anywhere you want to too. its cool. i've heard it can not break balls but it has, but its no big deal anyway.
Conclusion: Buy, if you dont want to be sued for shooting someones eye out.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media